Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Castelli Squadra Long Jacket

Castelli Squadra Long Jacket

The "emergency" cape: water and wind resistant , yet packs away easily
Overall rating:
4.218 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(55 reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 55 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
28
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
52 out of 55(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer reviews for Castelli Squadra Long Jacket
Review 1 for Castelli Squadra Long Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
simplesi22
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great jacket, light weight keeps you warm, fine in light showers. Folds into your back pocket.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Castelli Squadra Long Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pedro72
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fantastic on and off the bike.

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This does everything it promises. It keeps a light rain off, protects from the wind and folds up to virtually nothing. Fantastic for both on and off the bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Castelli Squadra Long Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Small
Large
Mashtronaut
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fulham

Great lifeline

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: not breathable
Fit's great and looks good however I would only put this on in the rain or if the wind is really cold. Due to the material and design, it isn't at all breathable which is nice in the cold but terrible if you wan't avoid overheating. I find if you put the zip down to let some air in, water comes in too which isn't good! Overall it's definitely worth the price and it serves it's function as a packable rain jacket.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Castelli Squadra Long Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Bish10
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Tight fitting for racing snakes only.

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, comfortable if slim
Cons: not breathable
At first glance the jacket looked very small, fortunately I'm slim so it wasn't a problem. This jacket isn't breathable as you soon end up a sweety mess especially if you put the effort in up the hills. However it does roll up small and fits in a pocket easily so its great for showery days out. It looks quite good too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Castelli Squadra Long Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PeterC88
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Nice piece of kit and perfect for windy/rainy days

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Does what its supposed to really well, fits into back pocket of a jersey and shelters from wind and rain. I don't expect much from it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Castelli Squadra Long Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rushworth
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

PostedNovember 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
very good quality light coat I have not worn it yet I am going to use it in the spring it is too light for a winters ride but for keeping the rain off it is very good
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Castelli Squadra Long Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MuddyFox85
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Excellent quality

PostedNovember 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Keeps you dry even in very heavy rain, very comfortable.
Difficult to wash out mud/oil stains.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Castelli Squadra Long Jacket
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Nadsta
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

For my needs worse than useless

PostedOctober 16, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: not water resistant
I thought I'd found a reasonably priced jacket for showers - cheap, bright, ventilated back, I knew I wasn't getting breathable but its just a jacket for the back pocket so should be fine...
I got so hot in it that I soaked the inside of the jacket within minutes, and was wetter than I would have been without the jacket given that it was in light rain.
The next time I used it, it rained harder,so I rode slow enough not to generate too much heat. I was soaked through anyway as the jacket didn't keep the rain out.
I proved my point by changing all my clothes, swapping to a Rapha Pro Team Race Cape and arriving completely dry at my next stop in rain that had worsened.
If you don't ride hard enough to sweat, this jacket will be bearable. If you don't mind a looser cut, you won't mind it flapping around. But if you want to stay dry, it's useless.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Castelli Squadra Long Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jonny99
Country:United Kingdom
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

A great jacket for the money

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
It feels a bit like a shower curtain but it is waterproof enough to use in emergencies and also keeps you warm if it gets a bit chilly on the descents. Perfect for keeping in your back pocket and I find that it is a much better cut than other jackets at this price
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Castelli Squadra Long Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mart71
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Castelli Squadra jacket

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This jacket is ideal for those misty/ light rain days. Protected me in these Autumn days. Great value too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Castelli Squadra Long Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
littlemonkey
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great lightweight water/wind resistant jacket!

PostedSeptember 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Great jacket with great ventilation and see through/white colour. !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Castelli Squadra Long Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HLBee
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Really lovely jacket

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Highly recommend this jacket. A really nice length at the back and a good length in the arms additionally. Very lightweight but equally does the job perfectly. Nice in White and the reflective aspects whilst discreet, do their job effectively! Always love the logo!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Castelli Squadra Long Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PWmountaingoat

Lightweight, waterproof and stylish

PostedAugust 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, Comfortable
I was looking for a coat- jacket that would pack up nicely into my back pockets but would be functional when I needed it. This it's the bill perfectly. The week I bought It I did a 90 sportive which was panctuated with heavy showers. It's quick and easy to get on, and it's waterproof so I'm very happy. On another note, the jacket has good ventilation so you don't get wet with sweat and it also doesn't billow out and act like a parachute.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Castelli Squadra Long Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MacLu
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Light weight, small pack size

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: not breathable
Fairly decent jacket for the money. packs down to pocket size easily. Performs well in light to moderate rain but not very breathable so I imagine not great in longer spells of bad weather. Nevertheless, pleased with the purchase. As far as sizing goes I am 6'1" with a 40" chest and no beer gut and the Large is a snug fit but that's what I wanted - no wind flap
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Castelli Squadra Long Jacket
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
tombo84

Not waterproof

PostedAugust 7, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
I've used this jacket twice in the rain and both times its failed to keep me dry. Not ideal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Castelli Squadra Long Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Geert
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Lightweight jacket

PostedJuly 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Pretty standard lightweight jacket, does the job very well. Very happy with it.. Sleeves are long enough, the zipper works well. Already used it for the final downhill during the etape du tour.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Castelli Squadra Long Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dottym
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Fab little coat

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought this because I had read the reviews and seemed quite good, I bought a large just in case and I'm glad I did cause I had more room in it, it's so light compact and comfy...the only thing is its not breathable so if you sweat a lot you will know about it......fantastic product I love it..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Castelli Squadra Long Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
HighTower
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simple, Stylish Jacket, Stuffable Jacket

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: little bit sweaty, sizing is very italian (on the small size)
I've had my jacket a few weeks its become a standard item to be carried on days where the chance of rain or drizzle or commuting to work.
The jacket it lightweight, great fitting and folds away quite small to fit in a jersey pocket for when I'm out all day, I forget its there most of the time.
I've worn it through a few showers and a whole wet day on the bike and it was massively comfortable, kept me warm but got a bit on the sweaty side after a while. However, rather be sweaty than cold and wet any time
Simple, stylish, stuffable!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Castelli Squadra Long Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nelly1148
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

brilliantly light and compact

PostedJuly 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, compact
Cons: none
Just the jacket if you don't want to wear a backpack to carry the waterproofs. Compact and extremely light weight it fits nicely in the pockets on the back of my jersey. A must have for all cyclists whether its comuting, long weekend rides or racing.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Castelli Squadra Long Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
dazzyc
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Does the job at a reasonable price.

PostedJune 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
First of all it's worth mentioning that the 'white' option as pictured is actually transluscent rather than white.
Doesn't come with a stuff-sack but will fold down small enough to squeeze into an old sunglasses drawstring bag to put in your jersey pocket.
Does a pretty good job of keeping the early morning wind-chill at bay and works well enough to keep out light to moderate rain.
Not the best moisture-wicking capabilities I've ever come across but then it is only intended as a 'caught in an unexpected downpour' option rather than something you'd set out for a long day in the saddle wearing.
Overall, it's a decent brand which does a decent job at a decent price.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>