Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Castelli Sottile Jacket

Castelli Sottile Jacket

Overall rating:
4.417 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
12 out of 12(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Castelli Sottile Jacket
Review 1 for Castelli Sottile Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AHanthorn
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what its designed to do.

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
This Jacket is very packable and will fit into your saddle bag or back pocked with ease, making it ideal for all riding types.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Castelli Sottile Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Marvo
from Scotland
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it says

PostedJune 25, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Great lightweight rain jacket. Very light and nice cut (as you would expect from Castelli). Got to try it properly today and it kept the rain off and didn't cook me. Although it isn't Goretex or Event, it did the job nicely. Zip on the back to access pockets also works well. I would definitely recommend this if you are looking for something lightweight to keep in your pocket.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Castelli Sottile Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jano
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great price for a light weight jacket

PostedMay 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Great jacket, small enough to put in your jersey pocket. Only issue I have is that it is a little short in the body. This however be more about my body shape!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Castelli Sottile Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
M1keez
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Stylish and good fit.

PostedApril 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
This Jacket is ideal for short journeys.
Breathability is not great.
Looks good and packs down great.
Keeps showers at bay.
As always with Castelli clothing go a size up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Castelli Sottile Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
petemorrell01
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Light weight, easy to pack, and does the job!

PostedMarch 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought this after reading lots of different reviews and the fact that Evans had the best price anywhere. Great jacket, keeps you warm and free from the chilling effect of the wind. I wore it on a fast paced 70 mile reliability ride, the jacket worked well at keeping me warm despite the chill and damp conditions. Only when I got to the finish, grabbed a hot drink did I realise that I was a bit 'boil in the bag' my shirt was very wet, I was warm, but wet. so the breathability is not what one might expect but I guess it's not really designed to be worn for such long periods - on, off on would be best suited to this jacket. The fit is great as is the flexibility of the material when riding. I'd recommend this to anyone who's going to climb big hills and needs something to descend in or if you need a wind proof waterproof lightweight jacket to stuff in your pocket for those 'just in case' days.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Castelli Sottile Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bongok
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

light and compact to carry

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
light and compact to carry all the time on rainy seasons.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Castelli Sottile Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ste82
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Windproof doesn't cover it!

PostedSeptember 17, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, windproof
Took this out this weekend for the first time, September weather in the peak district. Initially dry but at the top of Mow Cop was in the clouds with drizzle and winds+++. Even on a 40 mph+ downhill kept out the cold, rain and wind (I was wearing only my short sleeved vest underneath). Took it off when it got more sheltered rolled it up and put it back in my jersey pocket). Great product for the price, plus you can still make out the club jersey with it on (but only just)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Castelli Sottile Jacket
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Mattn1111
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good product but small sizes

PostedMay 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
The material felt very strange to start with but actually did hold out quite well in the rain. The sizing is small I ordered a large but had to go up to extra large. I am 6ft and 11 and a half stone. The air vents good be better but for the price point you get a good looking coat that keeps the wind and rain off well. One last thing to mention is the colour, it is more grey than clear so if you want something to see race numbers etc go for a clear one!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Castelli Sottile Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
LeeWayne
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Brilliant if you get caught in a downpour

PostedMay 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
It's not an everyday commuter jacket - a bit lightweight for that.
I normally get a medium, but after reading other reviews, got a large, which is perfect.
It's lightweight, breathable & packs up small - pretty much what it says on the tin.
Good price from those nice chaps at Evans, too.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Castelli Sottile Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
laird
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This is a great product. Does what it says.

PostedMay 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
An excellent product from an excellent company. The fit is perfect. Would highly recommend the garment to friends.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Castelli Sottile Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BronzeWhaler
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Oh so warm

PostedApril 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought this jacket for those cold mornings so I can head out and bare the wind chill and cope. Tried it this morning and it fits the bill. Fits well as you would expect from Castelli and is semi transparent so a number can be seen underneath it for racing. Great part is you pack it up and store it when the sun finally warms the air. Be warned it is as per the picture ie greay not white.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Castelli Sottile Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nunowoolmez
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Castelli Sottile

PostedJune 26, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: won't stand heavy rain
I was looking for a decent wind/rain jacket that was
a) Lightweight
b) Could fit into a jersey pocket without fuss
c) Not likely to fall apart
d) Looked nice
Aswell as these specifications i wanted something a bit more substantial than the gilet's that i already have, but lighter & less bulkier than the waterproofs i usually use. This appeared to fit the bill.
The very helpful Evans staff member also gave it her seal of approval so i thought i'd give it a go.
Turns out it's not actually rain proof (atleast not in any kind of extended rain, or very heavy shower). I did think this would be the case, but i got caught in a freak rainstorm. It is quite wind proof though. Otherwise, if used for when summer showers are expected on day long rides or sportives - this is ideal! Looks great & fits very well too.
Very pricey for what is is, but if you like nice garments then this is a must!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.