Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Child Seats or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Hamax Smiley Child Seat

Hamax Smiley Child Seat

Overall rating:
4.778 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
9 out of 9Would you recommend this product to a friend?100%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
47 Questions | 54 Answers
Customer reviews for Hamax Smiley Child Seat
Review 1 for Hamax Smiley Child Seat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
It was bought:Leicester

Good value, easy to fit child seat.

Posted12 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I was attracted to the Smiley by its reasonable price and the reputation of Hamax.
I fitted it to my Cannodale mtb in around ten mins. The supplied clamp system is very secure and the quick release makes it easy to detach the seat.
The seat itself has a reasonable amount of padding whilst the child restraint system is excellent and easy to adjust.
The metal bars that support the seat offer a good level of shock absorption for the child.
My son has certainly enjoyed his first few rides!
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hamax Smiley Child Seat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Pleasantly surprised

Posted30 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Just started cyclying again and have seen people using these seats. Very easy to set-up and attach to the bike and I was surprised by the lightness of the seat. I have read reviews that state it takes some getting used to although I attached it and took it for a quick test ride and did not find any issues to the extent that I had my son (18 months old) in the seat 5 minutes later. My son quite likes the seat and sits in it 'ceremoniously' with the side armrests.
I have just bought a Specialized Rockhopper in a small and the supplied fitting meant the base of the seat was rubbing against the 29in wheels. The fabulous people at Evans were able to provide me with an adjusted fitting which worked straight away.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hamax Smiley Child Seat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44

Good product

Posted08 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Good product. shame that it didnt fit over the package holder on the back on the TREK bike. Fitted fine after I took it of. If I had know in advance maybe I would have bought an adapter to go with it, but it works OK now anyway.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hamax Smiley Child Seat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted23 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Good product with good instructions on how to fit to the bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hamax Smiley Child Seat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfy looking, sturdy, daughter seems to like it!

Posted26 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
My choice of this product was influenced by the number of positive reviews, and they're not wrong. Great product, trust it to keep my daughter safe, and she's always smiling in it (although her view can't be too good!)
Also worth noting, I have it fitted to a mountian bike (Trek) with the front mech cable running down the seat tube, and the bracket for this seat sits neatly behind the cable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hamax Smiley Child Seat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Sitting with pedal power

Posted23 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
This seat was purchased for my Grandson, It is a good sturdy product.
Everyone is very happy with it.
Good quick efficient delivery.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hamax Smiley Child Seat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Posted09 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
My daughter seems to like this although it's taken a few weeks of perseverance. Well built and sturdy, though does detabilise the bike quite a lot (as would be expected).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hamax Smiley Child Seat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Jersey
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Hamax Smiley Child Seat

Posted30 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: does not recline
This is great value for money. I have a disc brake mountain bike so needed something that will attach to the frame. It was easy to assemble and was out riding with my 2 year old within 20 minutes.
Also when not riding with my son the seat comes off easily.
I would recommend this to anyone who has a disc brake bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hamax Smiley Child Seat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfort & Quality

Posted26 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
After looking around at the different options available I bought this child seat for my 18 month old grand-daughter. It was very easy to install on the frame of my son's Carrera and while there is slightly less clearance from the wheel to the base of the seat this has not been a problem and even when deliberately bouncing on the bike the seat hasn't touched the wheel. The colours (grey/black) are sensible, the padding is adequate and the full length arm grips are easy for little hands to hold. The foot retainer straps are a little fiddly but do the job, and there is good protection to prevent little feet coming into contact with the rear wheel. A little bit more rear 'high viz' material would have been good, but it is easy to stick your own reflector strips on the back of the seat. The only problem we have had is getting our grand-daughter to get out of the bike seat as she is thrilled with it and loves being able to go out on the bike with her dad.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.