Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Locks & Security or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Kryptonite Bike Revolution Bike ID kit

Kryptonite Bike Revolution Bike ID kit

Overall rating:
4.462 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
13 out of 13(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for Kryptonite Bike Revolution Bike ID kit
Review 1 for Kryptonite Bike Revolution Bike ID kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
tmissenden
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

You do what you can, don't you?

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: once fitted that's it.
Cons: bet thieves know ways of cleanly removing labels.
Whether these labels deter or issue a challenge to thieves is worth debating. However, as a one-off purchase they give you some peace of mind that you've made some effort to improve the security of your bike.
Once I'd registered and sent a photograph, I was able to scan the code with my phone and see the picture I'd taken and details I'd entered. If all bikes had to be registered at point of sale, we could make theft far less attractive to criminals.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kryptonite Bike Revolution Bike ID kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BigYoung15
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great piece of kit

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, adds piece of mind
Works with any reader really. I got a Sony SP Android phone that had a reader pre-installed, which read this one just fine. As the tag was not registered first time took me directly to registration on bike shepherd website, which was fairly simple thing to do. However, you have to remember to add your bike and write the tag id down. Once that is done I tried couple of times and my bike's details pop-up just like that. Obviously you don't necessarily want to plant the tags exactly where it is suggested as the thief would easily find it so you probably want to find couple and have one on display to deter random thieves. Although please note that you can actually go to the website and register free of charge without the tags as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kryptonite Bike Revolution Bike ID kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
runskippyrun
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

This gives a bit more peace of mind about keeping

PostedOctober 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This ID kit enables you to mark your bike with a unique code that should help your bike be recovered should it be stolen.
With an easy to use website where you can register your bike and the unique QR code with stickers you can add to your bike. the high quality stickers attach quickly and with additional stickers you can personalise where to put them.
Hopefully my bike won't get nicked, but if it did it is recoverable!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kryptonite Bike Revolution Bike ID kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
digscorp25
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Time will tell

PostedJuly 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Since I put this on my bike, others at work have seen it, asked about it & subsequently put it on their bikes so I guess the word of mouth thing works & increases the number of people using this system, which is what they want.
Easy to install
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kryptonite Bike Revolution Bike ID kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TeaTwoSugars
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Might deter a casual thief.

PostedFebruary 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, Unattractive, unsure if it actually works
What can be said about this product.
It's a security sticker for your bike once you register it, if your bike gets nicked it's another way of identifying it as your bike.
It won't put off a professional bike thief as they tend to strip a bike down and sell the parts online.
However it may deter the casual opportunist thief.
But when all said and done, I think it's a good idea if every cyclist has the app that goes with this on their smartphone.
Maybe more victims of bike theft will be reunited with their pride and joy once again.
If this was a lot cheaper (half the price) maybe more people would use them, which in turn would make things far harder for the people who either steal bikes to ride for themselves or steal to make a profit or fund their next hit.
So in conclusion, yes it's a bit expensive & ugly, but the more people who have this on their bikes the better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kryptonite Bike Revolution Bike ID kit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Sammy001
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Could be good, but not ideal

PostedAugust 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: out of date product
We purchased three sets of these for our bikes. At first we were really enthusiastic with the concept of these decals, however after installing them we ran into problems with registering them.
The kits we purchased from Evans are marked as Bike Revolution stickers, and the website on the decal is bike revolution.org, however bike revolution.org has now changed to Bike Shepard.org.
As a result we spent days trying to find info on Bike Revolution on the web with nothing coming up.
After about a week of trying we eventually managed to find and register our bikes with Bike Shepard, however if our bike's are stolen I'm not convinced that our tags will be able to be tracked on the Bike Shepard site as we have Bike Revolution tags on the bikes!
If you are going to go for these tags, I would recommend purchasing tags with the correct website (BikeShepard.Org) on them, and it would be worth checking the site is functioning as well.
In addition, If you, or anyone else, want to read the tags, you need to use a QR reader on a smart phone. Two different QR readers could not read these codes during installation, and It took us downloading a QR reader from the Bike Shepard website to read the tags, posing the question whether every cycle shop, insurance company and police officer in the country has the ability to read the codes on these stickers. If the answer to this question is no, then you may be better off spending an extra £10 on a better cycle lock.
In short, the system is not without it's faults, but it's another level of protection which makes leaving your bike a little easier.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kryptonite Bike Revolution Bike ID kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pozza
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Simple but effective security

PostedAugust 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
It does exactly what is claims. Three QR code stickers that you apply to your bike and then register your bike on the BikeShepherd website. Simple and effective bike security that takes all of 5 mins to complete.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kryptonite Bike Revolution Bike ID kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bigj
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Idea !!

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
These stickers are a brilliant idea,
I applied them to three of my bikes and then registered them with Bike Shepherd.
Simply scanning the sticker on your mobile phone opens the website and lets you know if the bike is stolen.
Great for bike shops when that "suspect" bike and owner turns up ......
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kryptonite Bike Revolution Bike ID kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Parappali
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cheap price and extra security

PostedMarch 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Extra piece of mind and good online feature. If bike was ever to be stolen would have more chance of being returned if found.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kryptonite Bike Revolution Bike ID kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
VPPartner
from UK
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Essential Bike Scurity

PostedDecember 24, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Bikes are being stolen in record numbers and those that are recovered generally don't get returned to their owners. Increase your chance of getting your bike back with this ease to use kit. Once marked and registered with BikeShepherd, you bike will be easily identifiable to anyone finding it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kryptonite Bike Revolution Bike ID kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
KrazyM
from Scotland
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Bike Security

PostedOctober 30, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This product offers extra piece of mind that should my bike go missing there is still hope it can be easily identified and returned. The stickers are easy to apply and the online registration is completed in minutes. Great value so would definitely recommend them.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kryptonite Bike Revolution Bike ID kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CZdeF
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Simple and effective

PostedJune 7, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: tough adhesive
Cons: could be scratched out
Placed these on my Specialized Rockhopper Pro to deter thiefs. The phone scanner app is great for tracking purposes, in case of theft and identifying the bike if found. I highly recommend this product, if anything, as a deterent to thieves.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kryptonite Bike Revolution Bike ID kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
from PLymouth
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great idea

PostedMay 16, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Great Idea that actually works. Cant wait to gt my bike stolen. JOKE!! Easy to use and well worth it for under a tenner as i cant get insurance for my bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.