Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Locks & Security or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo

Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo

Overall rating:
4.25 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(136 reviews) 136
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 136 reviews
5 Stars
56
4 Stars
65
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
5
1 Star
1
126 out of 136Would you recommend this product to a friend?93%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer reviews for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Review 1 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TrevorW
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Tough

Posted29 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Expensive bikes need expensive locks. Great bit of kit to give you piece of mind. If you leave your bike locked up. Comes with manufacturer insurance if bike stolen.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EddieP
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Compact and super secure

Posted27 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Amazing piece of accessory.
i unfortunately forgot the keys for my old lock. and after 20 minutes going at it i managed to break it. needless to say how rubbish this lock was.
So i stop in Evans Mortimer street and bought myself this bad boy.
very good price, very compact and it looks like i better not forget the keys.
Voila!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JonesDB
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

This product

Posted27 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
The extension cable is very useful but is slightly cumbersome to reattach to the lock. Having said that, I still prefer having the added safety of the cable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Syvret
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Compact and Secure

Posted26 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Excellent lock plenty big enough to secure a 54cm road bike, both wheels and frame. Comes with attachment to fix the 'D' section to the frame of the bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
CharlieX
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:GSK

well thought out additions

Posted26 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I appreciated the longer cable that come with this lock - reaosnably flexible and allows me to fix all the valuable parts of the bike when locking it up,
The mud cover over the key hole = great idea.
Missing a mount for the bike frame. Currently hangs off the bike seat and occasionally bumps my leg when I jump on/off the pavement.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nwglasgow
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Great Product

Posted18 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
This seems a really robust lock and meets the criteria (for my standard of bike) for insurance purposes. Getting the cable supplied is a bonus and makes it good value for money. On the downside - I had trouble finding a suitable place on my bike for the frame attachment bracket (due to size of lock) and therefore have to make do putting lock in my back pack. Nevertheless I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jrd43
Gender:Male
It was bought:Rathbone Place

good lock

Posted14 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
no problems with it so far - the d-lock is a little short occasionally
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
andreG
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Secure product

Posted29 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
Cons: size to small
Mini lock works well as there was limited space to fit a larger lock to my bike.. However, it is difficult to secure all wheels. I just about manage to do this.. would recommend a larger option if you have the space.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
It was bought:Sheffield

Great lock with flexible uses

Posted29 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This suite me fine as i put my lock in a backpack rather than on the frame.
The size and weight were a major consideration when looking for a lock but one that didn't compromise on security and this fits the bill perfectly.
I can easily and very securely lock mine and my sons bike together.
Very happy with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
WW123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

BIKE STOLEN whilst using this lock

Posted28 April 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality
I used this lock and cable to put my bike on a sign post outside my flat. I left it for two hours and when I came back it was gone, lock and all.
The sign was still in one piece so they must have gone through the d-lock.
I had it secured on the down pipe, through the back wheel just above the chain as is the most secure mounting point.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
zMastaa
Manchester
 
Please wait while more information about zMastaa is loaded.
Additional information about zMastaa could not be loaded.
D Lock
Posted 20 May 2015
So only the cable was around the sign post?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 11 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Littlepixie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Plymouth

New lock

Posted18 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
So far, so good. Easy enough to use. Has been effective so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TheBoundary
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Preston

Solid and smart.

Posted29 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
The D-Lock is solid, if a little small. But combined with the cable, it's a a sturdy way of securing both wheels to your bike frame.
The included bracket fort the D-lock is a smart fit to most frames, compact enough to sit off the side of the vertical post without interfering with the pedals.
Tidy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fet85
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wandsworth

Small and Robust

Posted27 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good quality lock from Kryptonite, quite small, robust, it can fits into your bags and backpack or you can attach it to your bike frame while you are riding.
Great for commuting!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bryan555
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Solid little lock

Posted21 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, compact
Cons: Heavy, short cable
Great compact D lock with cable. It's small to stash in your bag but I find the cable a touch short in some situations. It works fine though, although it hasn't been 'Tested' by a thief to my knowledge.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Goldfish55
It was bought:Nottingham

OK, but a bit fiddly to use

Posted17 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, secure
Cons: Heavy
There's not much of me, so I've had to balance security and weight. Consequently, the small D ring means that it's sometimes a bit of struggle to secure around stand and frame and the cable isn't long enough to loop through both wheels and on to the D ring (unless the stand has a low level bar). However, it does pack neatly into a backpack.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ken15
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

Good over all lock

Posted03 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Good lock that sits safe on bike so no need to cover it in bag the only think I found is sometimes the key is a little bit hard to get in
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jaseyacey
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wandsworth

Its sturdy

Posted25 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
this is the best bike lock and chain i have ever used.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
METR
Country:Malaysia
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Superb security

Posted23 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
This product provides you the best security for your bikes. It gives me guarantee that I can lock and leave my bike anywhere and anytime I want. It comes with cable that allows you to lock your front wheel. Thus, it gives you total security for your bike. I have reviewed this on YouTube before I bought it and this is the lock which is affordable and the best for student like me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
zstev
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Spitalfields

Easy to use and secure

Posted18 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This lock is easy to use. The D lock and added cable means that your bike is secure and you can keep both wheels and the frame locked up.
My only negative point is that the D lock is quite short, but this does fit round most standard bike racks. Plus, with the cable it means your bike can be attached to most posts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Jburn
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Ticks most boxes

Posted16 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, extremely secure carrier bracket
Cons: Heavy, four foot cable far too short for ease of use
I originally bought a slightly cheaper gold rated D lock and cable combo but returned it as the carrier bracket (lever operated) was incapable of securely holding the D lock when going over road humps at speed. On a number of occasions the D lock flew out but luckily no damage was caused to unsuspecting fellow cyclists or road users.
This Kryptionite Mini 7 has a far more superior carrier bracket which firmly holds the D lock in place what ever the situation and weather
The four foot cable this package comes with is not ideal for securing both wheels and the frame when locking up my bike; I spend ridiculous amounts of time fighting to get everything into the required position before being able to fix the lock. On occasions its been so problematic I've left one of my quick release wheels unsecured and obviously this is totally counter productive when having bought the lock and cable combo especially for this purpose.
Overall the lock, cable and carrier bracket seem solid but I'd recommend a longer cable if you're interested in easily locking both wheels and the frame to a street post ect.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>