Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Locks & Security or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo

Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo

Overall rating:
4.238 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(143 reviews) 143
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 143 reviews
5 Stars
59
4 Stars
68
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
5
1 Star
2
132 out of 143Would you recommend this product to a friend?92%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer reviews for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Review 1 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stephen007
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Light & extremely portable lock

Posted16 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality, 3 keys 1 with led light, keyhole cover
This is an extremely portable lock compared to much bigger D locks which weigh what seems like a metric 'tonne'. I bought this for my commute, as it fits nicely in my backpack or pannier bag, barely notice it is there. Although relatively small in size (22cm length), with the supplied cable it facilitates multiple locking positions to suit any bike/rider. I lock up against the back wheel/bike rack and use the cable around the frame and front wheel, which works extremely well. Comes with 3 keys one of which has a small LED light which is a nice touch for the dark winter nights. There is also a handy cover (twist the barrel) for the keyhole - again every little helps. It comes as Silver rated and all in all I think it is a nice unit. Ideal for a commuter if you don't want to/can't carry it on the frame, and it fits nicely in a standard backpack.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
bjorn1
Country:Sweden
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Light & easy to carry

Posted11 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality, Looks great
Lightweight and easy to carry, much more convenient than other high-grade locks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cragos76
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Secure

Posted10 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
My oys bike recently got pinched with a cheap lock all that was left. I bought this. I'll update this if it gets pinched. Hopefully you will never hear from me again
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Barnacle91
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Leicester

Posted09 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I bought this after seeing a few of them used by others where I work. Good quality and has a light on the key for when it's too dark to see.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Light, easy to carry. Just perfect for a city lock

Posted07 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable
I got it for a second bike and it does the job as good as I though. My 3rd lock from this brand and fully happy. I already recommended to a friend and he is also very pleased.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
markx2
It was bought:Online

AVOID

Posted07 June 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: none
Cons: useless
The "bracket" that attaches to the cycle frame on which this hangs?
Impossible to tighten.
The fabric/toothed metal arrangement is beyond useless.
If you want to carry this lock in your hands - it's probably great.
If you want to attach it to your bike? DO NOT BUY.
A total waste of £36. Useless.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
YorkshirePony
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:East Dulwich

Great mid range lock with top range quality

Posted03 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
This is a great lightweight lock to use in conjunction with the flex for quick tying up of one or more bikes in lower risk situations. The lock is a great weight for a D and more adaptable than a mini D.
Awesome friendly service at East Dulwich store BTW :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TrevorW
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Tough

Posted29 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Expensive bikes need expensive locks. Great bit of kit to give you piece of mind. If you leave your bike locked up. Comes with manufacturer insurance if bike stolen.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EddieP
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Compact and super secure

Posted27 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Amazing piece of accessory.
i unfortunately forgot the keys for my old lock. and after 20 minutes going at it i managed to break it. needless to say how rubbish this lock was.
So i stop in Evans Mortimer street and bought myself this bad boy.
very good price, very compact and it looks like i better not forget the keys.
Voila!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JonesDB
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

This product

Posted27 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
The extension cable is very useful but is slightly cumbersome to reattach to the lock. Having said that, I still prefer having the added safety of the cable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Syvret
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Compact and Secure

Posted26 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Excellent lock plenty big enough to secure a 54cm road bike, both wheels and frame. Comes with attachment to fix the 'D' section to the frame of the bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
CharlieX
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:GSK

well thought out additions

Posted26 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I appreciated the longer cable that come with this lock - reaosnably flexible and allows me to fix all the valuable parts of the bike when locking it up,
The mud cover over the key hole = great idea.
Missing a mount for the bike frame. Currently hangs off the bike seat and occasionally bumps my leg when I jump on/off the pavement.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nwglasgow
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Great Product

Posted18 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
This seems a really robust lock and meets the criteria (for my standard of bike) for insurance purposes. Getting the cable supplied is a bonus and makes it good value for money. On the downside - I had trouble finding a suitable place on my bike for the frame attachment bracket (due to size of lock) and therefore have to make do putting lock in my back pack. Nevertheless I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jrd43
Gender:Male
It was bought:Rathbone Place

good lock

Posted14 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
no problems with it so far - the d-lock is a little short occasionally
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
andreG
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Secure product

Posted29 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
Cons: size to small
Mini lock works well as there was limited space to fit a larger lock to my bike.. However, it is difficult to secure all wheels. I just about manage to do this.. would recommend a larger option if you have the space.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
It was bought:Sheffield

Great lock with flexible uses

Posted29 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This suite me fine as i put my lock in a backpack rather than on the frame.
The size and weight were a major consideration when looking for a lock but one that didn't compromise on security and this fits the bill perfectly.
I can easily and very securely lock mine and my sons bike together.
Very happy with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
WW123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

BIKE STOLEN whilst using this lock

Posted28 April 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality
I used this lock and cable to put my bike on a sign post outside my flat. I left it for two hours and when I came back it was gone, lock and all.
The sign was still in one piece so they must have gone through the d-lock.
I had it secured on the down pipe, through the back wheel just above the chain as is the most secure mounting point.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
zMastaa
Manchester
 
Please wait while more information about zMastaa is loaded.
Additional information about zMastaa could not be loaded.
D Lock
Posted 20 May 2015
So only the cable was around the sign post?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 18 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Littlepixie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Plymouth

New lock

Posted18 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
So far, so good. Easy enough to use. Has been effective so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TheBoundary
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Preston

Solid and smart.

Posted29 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
The D-Lock is solid, if a little small. But combined with the cable, it's a a sturdy way of securing both wheels to your bike frame.
The included bracket fort the D-lock is a smart fit to most frames, compact enough to sit off the side of the vertical post without interfering with the pedals.
Tidy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fet85
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wandsworth

Small and Robust

Posted27 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good quality lock from Kryptonite, quite small, robust, it can fits into your bags and backpack or you can attach it to your bike frame while you are riding.
Great for commuting!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>