Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Locks & Security or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo

Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo

Overall rating:
4.262 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(126 reviews) 126
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 126 reviews
5 Stars
52
4 Stars
60
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
5
1 Star
0
117 out of 126Would you recommend this product to a friend?93%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 29 Answers
Customer reviews for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Review 1 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Littlepixie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Plymouth

New lock

Posted18 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
So far, so good. Easy enough to use. Has been effective so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TheBoundary
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Preston

Solid and smart.

Posted29 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
The D-Lock is solid, if a little small. But combined with the cable, it's a a sturdy way of securing both wheels to your bike frame.
The included bracket fort the D-lock is a smart fit to most frames, compact enough to sit off the side of the vertical post without interfering with the pedals.
Tidy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fet85
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wandsworth

Small and Robust

Posted27 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good quality lock from Kryptonite, quite small, robust, it can fits into your bags and backpack or you can attach it to your bike frame while you are riding.
Great for commuting!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bryan555
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Solid little lock

Posted21 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, compact
Cons: Heavy, short cable
Great compact D lock with cable. It's small to stash in your bag but I find the cable a touch short in some situations. It works fine though, although it hasn't been 'Tested' by a thief to my knowledge.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Goldfish55
It was bought:Nottingham

OK, but a bit fiddly to use

Posted17 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, secure
Cons: Heavy
There's not much of me, so I've had to balance security and weight. Consequently, the small D ring means that it's sometimes a bit of struggle to secure around stand and frame and the cable isn't long enough to loop through both wheels and on to the D ring (unless the stand has a low level bar). However, it does pack neatly into a backpack.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ken15
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

Good over all lock

Posted03 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Good lock that sits safe on bike so no need to cover it in bag the only think I found is sometimes the key is a little bit hard to get in
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jaseyacey
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wandsworth

Its sturdy

Posted25 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
this is the best bike lock and chain i have ever used.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
METR
Country:Malaysia
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Superb security

Posted23 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
This product provides you the best security for your bikes. It gives me guarantee that I can lock and leave my bike anywhere and anytime I want. It comes with cable that allows you to lock your front wheel. Thus, it gives you total security for your bike. I have reviewed this on YouTube before I bought it and this is the lock which is affordable and the best for student like me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
zstev
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Spitalfields

Easy to use and secure

Posted18 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This lock is easy to use. The D lock and added cable means that your bike is secure and you can keep both wheels and the frame locked up.
My only negative point is that the D lock is quite short, but this does fit round most standard bike racks. Plus, with the cable it means your bike can be attached to most posts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Jburn
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Ticks most boxes

Posted16 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, extremely secure carrier bracket
Cons: Heavy, four foot cable far too short for ease of use
I originally bought a slightly cheaper gold rated D lock and cable combo but returned it as the carrier bracket (lever operated) was incapable of securely holding the D lock when going over road humps at speed. On a number of occasions the D lock flew out but luckily no damage was caused to unsuspecting fellow cyclists or road users.
This Kryptionite Mini 7 has a far more superior carrier bracket which firmly holds the D lock in place what ever the situation and weather
The four foot cable this package comes with is not ideal for securing both wheels and the frame when locking up my bike; I spend ridiculous amounts of time fighting to get everything into the required position before being able to fix the lock. On occasions its been so problematic I've left one of my quick release wheels unsecured and obviously this is totally counter productive when having bought the lock and cable combo especially for this purpose.
Overall the lock, cable and carrier bracket seem solid but I'd recommend a longer cable if you're interested in easily locking both wheels and the frame to a street post ect.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Deano67
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Great lock

Posted11 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
This is a sturdy lock. Heavy but that is an acceptable compromise for the security. For bike posts you are able to use the D-Lock and the addition lock to connect one bike wheel to the D Lock. For lamp posts you are rarely able to use the D-Lock on the lamp post and therefore are not covered by the inclusive insurance of replacement costs up to £800. I carry the lock in panniers and have no issue with the weight because of this.I would recommend this lock.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Commuter1975
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Fairly good

Posted29 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Overall a fairly good lock but the small size can be quite limiting in terms of what you are able to secure your bike to. Slightly disappointing that the registration is only valid in USA.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MaxwellNZ
Country:New Zealand
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Promising

Posted21 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
I'm onto my second one now, the first one was cut right through, but that's just the sign that I was up against someone who was out to steal a bike, not someone who was opportunistic.
As a lock, perfect. Unfortunately the one I was shipped is quite loose and, when attached to the frame, tends to rattle while I'm going over gravel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MalCG
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brentford

Great D-lock

Posted08 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, easy to use
This is a good small and lighter alternative to a full size "d-lock". Bike frame mount fells very secure and offers many flexible positioning options to find a suitable position that works for you and your bike. The on-off action is a bit stiff to start - but for me better to be stiff than loose. As a lock it is great too. Operation is simple and easy. Opening is large enough for every day use to lock bike frame to a rack or posts, with included cable providing extra security for wheel(s) as required.
Only down side was that the two parts of the lock rattled together a bit when mounted on frame riding along, spoiling my quite morning ride (I hate bike noise and rattles!). A simple wrapping of electronic tape around the 'spike' ends of the lock and sorted - a quite ride again.
Great lock and recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pauly2014
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Useful everyday lock

Posted07 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
A really handy lock that is secure & portable. Great for home and away.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lordonabike
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Good solid product

Posted17 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
This is a nice compact D lock, saving a bit of bulk when carrying but still big enough to get round cycle stands and railings etc. As with all of my Kryptonite locks the key is a bit fiddly to operate at times but maybe this is a security feature!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
alexpics
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chalk Farm

smallish but safe-ish

Posted09 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
great little lock fits well on my son's 26 Hybridbike, haven't failed yet unlike his Abus predecessor
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Adj63
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Compact and secure

Posted31 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This is an easy to use product that is far lighter than a full size lock.
For the security level the product is also very good value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MikeMathew
Country:Denmark
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Like a glove

Posted28 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, simple
The product, flawless. I knew it from various places. The service: thank you, Evans Cycles! Wonderful. And even abroad. All the way to Denmark. Free shipping and efficient! Just wonderful. Nothing to blame. Perfect, perfect, perfect.
I'm a happy man. And cyclist
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
IHeartBike
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good Size/Quality Lock

Posted09 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Kryptonite's are ace, everyone knows that. The size of this one is really good, not too small, not too big. The cable is long enough to loop around the front wheel. What else can you say about a lock...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>