Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Locks & Security or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo

Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo

Overall rating:
4.245 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(94 reviews) 94
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 94 reviews
5 Stars
39
4 Stars
43
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
4
1 Star
0
86 out of 94(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer reviews for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Review 1 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MonkeyBike86
Country:Romania
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Female
It was bought:Liverpool

It does the work but too heavy

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive, Uncomfortable
This lock is somewhere between 2.5-4 kg. It is heavy f you want to have it in your backpack or on teh bike. I keep it in the office to lock my bike. It does the job, but they could work on the weight part.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AxelR
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Does a great job.

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Very reasonably priced for a good quality product. Simple mechanism that feels like it won't fail like my old cheapo one did.
The bracket for attaching to bike is great, adjustable to pretty much any angle you want.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
KKCat
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Cumbersome

PostedJuly 21, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
As my bike has quick release on the wheels, the extra cable seemed like a good idea as it long enough to reach through both wheels. But I have found it a bit awkward and to hold the main lock and feed the cable through. I recommend just getting a better lock that has a long cable, rather than 2 separate pieces.
Also, for the keyhole, where the key goes in, is in sections. What keeps happening is one slot or the other keep moving so the key does not go smoothly in. The tip of the key is starting to be worn on the edges as I keeping on having to try to get the slots to line up. pretty poor given the price and that I have only had it a month. Again this makes the lock really annoying.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Willsy1973
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

A tough lock that secures well!

PostedJune 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
This is a very secure lock and I feel very confident that it will keep my bike safely secured! The colours are nice and it is easily attached to my bike's frame.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
alex4
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Excellent

PostedJune 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Great quality lock, not had any technical issues with it so far. I leave it at work as it is a little heavy to carry back and forth each day but definitely seems sturdy enough.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ameis

Superb Lock

PostedJune 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
This Lock is brilliant you can lock the whole bike thanks to the additional Cable!
Price and quality are superb
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

PostedMay 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Feels solid and secure. Nice and compact to help prevent against lever attacks but might struggle to fit around rear wheel and frame on mountain bikes. The supplied cable is good and long and quite thick — will easily secure your front wheel or seatpost.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cyclist76

Great and reliable lock

PostedApril 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, reliability
I bought this lock few weeks ago and it has been a great buy as it is a pretty solid and realiable lock.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
James512
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

Simple to use, small yet sturdy and safe

PostedApril 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
As a newbie to cycling to work I found the kryptonite lock easy to use and safe with (fingers crossed) nothing stolen yet!
Only minor nigle would be the bike fitting can rattle quite a bit at higher speeds on less then smooth roads.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Shirley
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular

Good lock - shame bracket doesn't hold flex cable

PostedApril 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: bracket/cable storage not ideal
Good lock. Nice and sturdy and (I hope!) will keep my bike safe. Light enough not to feel the weight when cycling too.
Only (small) problem I have is that the bracket doesn't hold the flexible cable as well as the lock. I realise that's pretty standard with this type of lock but wish they had thought of this when designing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beany76
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Doing its job. Haven't lost my bike yet!

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Great lock so far. Still have my bike so it must being doing a great job. Heavy but seems a lot sturdier than other locks I've looked at. Using this with the cable keeps everything secure and makes me more relaxed when leaving my bike locked up.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rose29
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Holborn

Good size and weight

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I needed a light lock because I usually communte with a lot of stuff. This look is small and light, but big enough to lock the frame and the back wheel to a normal bike rack. I also managed to place the lock support just under the saddle.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
johnboy555
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good sturdy lock

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
After deciding where to attach the bracket to the frame, it was a relatively easy process thou it is worth trying a few positions first and getting the angle right so as to be clear of everything else on the bike
Has proved a good lock and for short stops at the cafe or shops has been fine with just the lock and no flex.
If was leaving the bike for any period would attach the lock and flex through the relevant sections to secure everything
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Liam79
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

Compact D-lock with flexible fixings

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Staff originally recommended a larger D-lock which to be fair was cheaper however it was rediculously large for a small or medium formed bike. This lock is perfect in size and capability. The additional wire to put around the wheels is a great idea. The main key has a light in it and the bracket the lock sits on has a huge variety of positions that the lock can sit in.
Great product - annoying that it is more expensive than the larger versions but worth it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
SurreyChick
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Woking

Ok

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
It looks good and is easy to use, the flexible section could do with being longer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Notting Hill

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Good quality lock with accompanying cable to make sure you don't leave any important bits of your bike vulnerable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
pitxu79
Country:Spain
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Cons: Heavy
very secure with the combo, uncomfortable though carring them all everywhere
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
vijinho
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Tough, durable but difficult to fit to the frame

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive, Uncomfortable
I was looking for a good strong lock after having had two previous ones fail resulting in my bike being stolen! This certainly fits the bill but the issue I have with it, and can't understand, is the non-standard frame mount. Instead of screwing a bracket into the two standard frame holes you're expected to mount some rubber/nylong thing and screw onto it which just is quite flimsy. So I'll have to carry the lock with me every time instead because of it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Blakey
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Kryptonite Quality

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I have used Kryptonite products for many years and they don't let you down. I needed a lighter and smaller lock and this is just the job. Lock up my bike with confidence is all I want
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PigFace
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good solid lock.

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Does what is says on the box. Very happy with this lock & the carry bracket works well if a little stiff to remove the lock ( I hope this will improve with use ). The key light is handy for early morning lock removal in the dark.
My only worry is that with its smaller size you're not locking a bike to a lamp post or other larger objects.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>