Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Locks & Security or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo

Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo

Overall rating:
4.271 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(192 reviews) 192
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 192 reviews
5 Stars
81
4 Stars
91
3 Stars
13
2 Stars
5
1 Star
2
177 out of 192Would you recommend this product to a friend?92%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer reviews for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Review 1 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Bike's not been nicked yet...

Posted05 February 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
So 5 stars for the fact my bike is still in my possession. But lose a star for the bulk. I take this in my bag when I ride - which means I always need to take a bag regardless...It's not terribly heavy though.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It was bought:Wandsworth

Posted04 February 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Great purchase! Really safe, light and with a beautiful design
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Norwich

Good product

Posted01 February 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Haven't used the lock much as my bike is stored indoors, but feels very sturdy and heavy. Doubt the flex cable would take long to cut but I suppose it's just there to stop an opertunist pinching the wheels.
Overall I'm happy with the product so far, not had any issues whilst locking or unlocking. It's good that you can register the keys if you ever loose them. (Tho not sure even I could loose the three keys it comes with. It is a very short lock. Which I'm told is harder to break but also harder to find something to lock the bike too.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Good lock

Posted23 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
So far this lock has been big enough. Easy to use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:East Dulwich

Very strong lock

Posted09 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Having experienced a bike theft in the past I wanted a lock that offered the greatest security if I had to leave it outside. This is secured to a metal frame concreted into the ground and the extension cable enables me to lock through the frame and both wheels. Very secure and although could still be removed by the most determined thief it would take a while.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Heard its the best. Doesnt feel like it

Posted04 December 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Uncomfortable
Newly bought bike (3weeks ago) locked witht this lock and cable tied to structural steel in an underground secured car park.
Woke up this morning to see bike has been stolen.
Very upset
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Good lock for sub £1000 bikes

Posted01 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I bought two of these locks for use on town commuting bikes. They are heavy well made brutes. Fitting the lock bracket is a bit of a phaf but worth taking your time to get it right. I like the chunky keys with built in light.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Great lock complete with wire

Posted28 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Great lock. Comes with a 4ft wire which is a bit short however I purchased a 7ft wire to complement this. Now the two cover frame and both wheels so well protected. Comes with 3 keys one of which has an led light built in, nice touch.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Finland
Age:25-34
It was bought:Online

Posted22 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Great lock. Bought it for my wifes bike and now I don't have to worry about it getting stolen since she used to have this thin cable lock that would have been easy to brake even with normal wirecutters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job & the perfect size

Posted16 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
Having previously brought the larger model to this which couldn't fit my frame I decided to opt for the mini version.
I was a bit aprehensive as to whether I could secure the frame & wheels with the size it is but it does the job well.
I'm a happy bunny.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:West End

Confident to leave my bike

Posted16 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I like this lock as the D and the cable makes me feel confident my bike is completely secure! It's easy to use and feels very solid. Whilst the smaller size of this D lock makes its safety rating higher it also makes it slightly harder to attach both wheel and frame to a fixed rack if it's not at the ideal level. Saying that however I have always managed, it just takes some fiddling!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crouch End

Great Lock

Posted13 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Great lock really easy to use, as soon as people see the orange Kryptonite sign. Thieves just runaway, I would recommend this lock to anyone.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chelmsford

Kryptonite lock

Posted05 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Great lock, get what you pay for.had a cheap lock undone my self with screwdriver. This can only be opened with a key.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:East Dulwich

Excellant Product

Posted31 October 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Well worth the money, if you need to secure your bike this is recommended
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Rathbone Place

Great Lock

Posted30 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, secure
Not to heavy so easy to carry around with you.
Easy and simple to use and can leave bike locked knowing it safe.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It was bought:Notting Hill

Good quality lock - unsure if save

Posted29 October 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Good quality lock, also for a good price though after using it a few times I question how safe it is and do recommend to get the 10/10 security even though that's approx 30.00 £ more pricey, sure it's worth it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

difficult to say but good quality

Posted28 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I guess the only real test of a bike lock is the point where it gets wrecked, by the thieves that made you have to buy one in the first place. well nobody has tried to steal my bike yet so I will review this product on face value.
quality seems good both the actual key lock, materials used in the D-lock seem sturdy enough. the cable not so much but its a nice novelty extra which can be useful lock the front wheel and rear wheel but I have heard from other reviewers its super easy to break. that said Kryptonite make no claims the cable is a security device but more of a deterrent, which is fair enough. fairly lightweight. it is way more secure then a cable lock, and with a key its way better than a password lock. the key actually has a really nice bright LED and it comes with two extra spare keys that are a bit more rudimentary. its a tiny bit expensive but I would say its nice all round. the holder for me personally did not fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7

Posted19 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
This is a great package for a balance between a good sturdy lock & wire, and being portable enough to carry around easily. It is well made. Overall a solid purchase, literally.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
It was bought:Online

Versatile mount

Posted15 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
The way the lock mounts to the frame works very well for giving you lots of options. I was putting this on a Brompton where there is not a lot of room unless you compromise the fold. With the clever mounting block I managed to squeeze the lock onto the short piece of down tube behind the area where the cranks pass. The lock comes with an small allen key that is primary used to tighten the mounting block to the frame but can also be used to change the position of the tongue on the lock itself which engages into the mount.
The lock also comes with 3 keys, one of which has a fob that includes a light. Impressive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good all round security solution ! but heavy

Posted11 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
All in all I found this a great lock and very secure ! The weight and frame attaching facility seemed like a good idea but is just far too bulky and heavy ... Great lock to leave at a regular destination like at work etc .,, it pretty much
Doubles the weight of my bike ... Great to receive 3 keys with it and no real quibbles , you can't have the strength without the weight !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>