Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Locks & Security or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo

Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo

Overall rating:
4.252 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(107 reviews) 107
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 107 reviews
5 Stars
45
4 Stars
49
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
5
1 Star
0
98 out of 107(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer reviews for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Review 1 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
IHeartBike
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good Size/Quality Lock

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Kryptonite's are ace, everyone knows that. The size of this one is really good, not too small, not too big. The cable is long enough to loop around the front wheel. What else can you say about a lock...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
joep30

secure

PostedOctober 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
great lock, feels solid and secure. It also fits into the frame on my road bike and its not too heavy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
justgo88
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wandsworth

Great lock to keep the thief away

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Small but very good quality. Plus it comes with the extra cable for additional piece of mind. Due to being small it may be have to always find a spot where you can use this lock. But so far I have not had any problems. Of course due to being safe and strong this comes at a price of being heavy, but I prefer this trade off any time. So great value for money and can not recommend it enough. Also register it on their official website for extra benefits.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
LondonDave84
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crouch End

Bit fiddly but does the trick

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Light enough to carry around in my cycling rucksack but sturdy enough to feel you can leave bike locked up securely.
Lock is a bit fiddly to use, however, and if you want to use the cable seperatly to the D-lock a seperate padlock will be required.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mac357
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Proven security, well worth the price

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I already have one of these for my other bike and decided to get another after someone tried to break it.
My bike was with 2 others and despite repeated attempts on different parts of the 4ft cable including the orange rubberised bits, with what looks like bolt cutters, the thieves failed to break through.
The other bikes were not so well protected and their locks were in pieces.
The D lock can be a little small for some places but I found larger one too big for my bike, the lock mounting is very adjustable and can be fitted almost anywhere.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Peterca
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Good lock

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Fits bike and both front and back wheels easily with the flex cord. Can be a little tight, but does the job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
LShepp
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Spitalfields

Good lock but too small for general use IMO

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: secure
Cons: Heavy
Lock is good quality and secure - I was advised that the small D-lock size should ensure better security, which makes sense, however I have found it limits the places you can lock up your bike. If you know yours will be the only bike on a post then it should be fine.
Very heavy to carry. But does come with a clip that can be fixed to bike frame.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jhbh
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Only time will tell

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
My son had his bike stolen so bought this lock as part of the requirements for evans cylce insurance that we have also taken out.
Lock looks to be good quality and the cable will help to lock the front wheel to the bike as the bike has quick release wheels.
The lock is heavy.
We chose the evolution mini over the larger locks as we found that the full size D locks do not fit within the triangle of the bike frame and couldn't see where else that type of lock would fit so would need carrying separately in a rucksack etc
The only downside we can see with the lock is that when the bike is to be fitted to a fixed barrier there is not much space with the d-lock so will only be able to fix the rear wheel and 1 rear stay to the fixed barrier rather than both the seat stays and the rear wheel.
We'll see how it goes!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Geoff1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
having recently bought a combination lock that failed after 1 month I decided to avoid combination locks and ordered the Kryptonite. Although heavier than previous lock it is also significantly more secure. As far as D locks go its a great compromise between security, size and therefore weight. It's very well made and come with spare keys, the main key lighting up so you can see what you are doing in the dark. The cable that comes with it is chunkier and much better than I anticipated. Can't recommend highly enough!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Simon62
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Good lock

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Cons: Heavy, small
This is a sturdy bike lock and the additional cable helps secure a QR wheel. There are two issues. The first, is weight and is a consequence of the sturdiness -- a necessary price to pay for a quality lock, but OK to carry in a rucksack (haven't tried the supplied bracket). The second issue is size: the lock is big enough to secure the bike, but it is something of an art form finding somewhere suitable to secure the bike (especially my MTB). A slightly larger lock may make life easier
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
al6195
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

Big security from a little lock

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Great quality lock that is small enough to comfortably carry in a backpack & the cable is an extra deterrent to potential thieves. I feel a lot more comfotable locking up my bike now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Lzlzlz
Country:United Kingdom

This is a good product but does not suit me

PostedAugust 6, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Uncomfortable, not suitable for wide tires
It is a good lock - looks nice and very handy but it is not suitable for my bicycle as it is too short and narrow for my tires.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
cordilleraskid
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Easy to store and fit

PostedJuly 31, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Simple to fit to a bicycle and secure while cycling. Easy to lock to a post with the added security of the cable extension.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MonkeyBike86
Country:Romania
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Female
It was bought:Liverpool

It does the work but too heavy

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive, Uncomfortable
This lock is somewhere between 2.5-4 kg. It is heavy f you want to have it in your backpack or on teh bike. I keep it in the office to lock my bike. It does the job, but they could work on the weight part.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AxelR
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Does a great job.

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Very reasonably priced for a good quality product. Simple mechanism that feels like it won't fail like my old cheapo one did.
The bracket for attaching to bike is great, adjustable to pretty much any angle you want.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
KKCat
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Cumbersome

PostedJuly 21, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
As my bike has quick release on the wheels, the extra cable seemed like a good idea as it long enough to reach through both wheels. But I have found it a bit awkward and to hold the main lock and feed the cable through. I recommend just getting a better lock that has a long cable, rather than 2 separate pieces.
Also, for the keyhole, where the key goes in, is in sections. What keeps happening is one slot or the other keep moving so the key does not go smoothly in. The tip of the key is starting to be worn on the edges as I keeping on having to try to get the slots to line up. pretty poor given the price and that I have only had it a month. Again this makes the lock really annoying.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Willsy1973
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

A tough lock that secures well!

PostedJune 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
This is a very secure lock and I feel very confident that it will keep my bike safely secured! The colours are nice and it is easily attached to my bike's frame.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
alex4
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Excellent

PostedJune 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Great quality lock, not had any technical issues with it so far. I leave it at work as it is a little heavy to carry back and forth each day but definitely seems sturdy enough.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ameis

Superb Lock

PostedJune 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
This Lock is brilliant you can lock the whole bike thanks to the additional Cable!
Price and quality are superb
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini 7 Lock with 4 Foot Kryptoflex Cable Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nev77
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

PostedMay 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Feels solid and secure. Nice and compact to help prevent against lever attacks but might struggle to fit around rear wheel and frame on mountain bikes. The supplied cable is good and long and quite thick — will easily secure your front wheel or seatpost.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>