Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tyres or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Continental Supersport Plus 700c Clincher Wired Road Tyre

Continental Supersport Plus 700c Clincher Wired Road Tyre

This puncture protection comes from Continental using their Plus breaker belt. This is a thick elastomer layer beneath the tread providing a deep rubber block that helps stop sharp road debris stopping you getting to work on time. This protection also uses an extra duty, highly elastic casing belt which pushes thorns and glass away from your inner tube. Borrowing a proven tread pattern from the venerable Grand Prix, the Supersport is a fast and reliable tyre for urban riding. Put two of these on your commuter or Fixie and stop worrying.
Overall rating:
4.2 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
8 out of 10(80%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for Continental Supersport Plus 700c Clincher Wired Road Tyre
Review 1 for Continental Supersport Plus 700c Clincher Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AaronC1987
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

So far so good

PostedAugust 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Had this for just over a week now and very impressed.
It is very tough but rides easy at the same time. It is not too grippy and do not feel any speed reduction because of this.
Highly recommended for a commuter tyre
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Continental Supersport Plus 700c Clincher Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
CasualCyclist98
Country:United Kingdom

Very difficult to fit

PostedAugust 3, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Fitting these tyres was physically very demanding and, ironically, two inner tubes were burst in the process! With hindsight would have gone for ordinary, easier to fit tyres.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Continental Supersport Plus 700c Clincher Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bas673184
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very convenient

PostedMay 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Very light, convenient and comfortable tires. Also very fast delivered.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Continental Supersport Plus 700c Clincher Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
adam1979
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Really disappointed

PostedJuly 17, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, Heavy
Really disappointed worn to anti puncher belt in just 2 months about 600- 800 miles these tyres were hard to install hard to remove when I got a pinch flat would not recommend and did not spin up well, I have now gone back to All Condition Armadillos
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Continental Supersport Plus 700c Clincher Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
tundragumski
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good strong tyre but heavy

PostedJune 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy
These tyres offer great puncture resistance and they have very strong sidewalls too. They are made in India like most of Conti's cheaper tyres but the quality seems good enough. They ride well but they are not a fast tyre. They are probably aimed at urban commuters or tourers that need strong tyres. They do make good winter tyres as who wants a puncture in cold/wet/dark conditions? Just remember that these tyres are heavy and therefore quite slow so don't be tempted to fit them to your race bike in summer!!! I found them easy to fit just by using my fingers but this will depends on your technique and the rims you are using.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Continental Supersport Plus 700c Clincher Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FT1611
Country:Singapore
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quiet, comfortable, value for money

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: not foldable but this could be a pro for some
Bought the 28mm to replace the 23mm on my commuter and what a difference it has made. I don't race on these tyres so I can't comment on the speed. Ride quality has improved tremendously, as can be expected on wider tyres.
As mentioned by another reviewer, they are very difficult to fit them first time round (maybe due to my lack of skill). Broke 2 plastic tyre levers, and pierced both the new tubes I bought together with these tyres.
I then used 23mm tubes instead, which made them a little easier to fit. Once you successfully fit them, sit back and admire your handiwork.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Continental Supersport Plus 700c Clincher Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anothername
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good for general road riding and commuting.

PostedMarch 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
You can buy lighter, faster tyres than these. You can also buy more puncture-resistant tyres. However, these seem to provide just the right balance for me. (I have the 25mm model.)
I used to use Vittoria Rubino (28mm) tyres, which are much cheaper. In comparison, the Continentals are slightly easier to fit (though still fairly hard), produce much less road noise, and feel like they have a much better grip on the road. The Continentals have a harsher ride than my old Rubinos, but I expected that with smaller tyres.
I've used the tyres for about 930 miles. The rear one has worn quite a bit and will get changed at about the 1000 mile mark, but the front one looks like it'll do the same distance again. However, I commute with these (with panniers) on some not-quite-ideal roads, so I'd expect my tyres to wear slightly faster as a result.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Continental Supersport Plus 700c Clincher Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
beastofburden
from Ireland
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good. Hard to get on or off.

PostedJanuary 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
These seem to be good tyres. I've been using them for 6 months on Dublin's potholed roads and not had a puncture so far (tempting fate as I write this.) Mind you, my mileage is not high. On the other hand, I regularly carry an 18 month old on the back - 11kg for him and another 4 kg for the seat, and 84kg for me, so that's quite a load on a 28mm tyre.
One thing to note: you need metal tyre levers to get them off and on. I broke a plastic set and destroyed a tube while fitting them for the first time.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Continental Supersport Plus 700c Clincher Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Andy81
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

super sport plus 700

PostedJune 26, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Really good tyre for nice price hard wearing so fur no problem with flat tyre on London's road fast thanks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Continental Supersport Plus 700c Clincher Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RichFJ
from Lincolnshire
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

very happy

PostedApril 27, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I bought these to replace some 700x38 Continental Double Fighters on my new Cannondale Quick cx4...made a big difference in speed as you'd expect, very happy with this purchase
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.