Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tyres or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Continental Touring Plus 700c Tyre

Continental Touring Plus 700c Tyre

Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
24 out of 24(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
21 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer reviews for Continental Touring Plus 700c Tyre
Review 1 for Continental Touring Plus 700c Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Keybo89
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Pleased

PostedOctober 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
These tyres have good durability, grip but at the same time are nice and fast. High fluro strip is good for being seen at night also.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Continental Touring Plus 700c Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
forester
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good but difficult to get on

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, robust
Cons: difficult to fit
Very good touring tyre, but like the Schwalbe Marathon Plus (and for the same reason) difficult to get onto the rim. Once on, with regular checks for embedded flints, should be fine for many miles.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Continental Touring Plus 700c Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chipko
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Excellent all-year round multi-surface tyre

PostedJune 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I've used these for 3 years, replaced them about once every 10,000 km. I ride them all year round on very mixed surfaced - regular roads, rutted U roads, sandy fire breaks, loose chipping bridleways, at night and day. Touring and commuting. They're great, run at the correct pressure they don't puncture until reaching their end of life (see distance above). The reflective rim tape gives you that extra sense of visibility in dusk and at night while commuting. Highly recommend. Only draw back is slightly high rolling resistance compared to a conventional road tyre, but then that's a compromise worth making for their intended purpose.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Continental Touring Plus 700c Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
archon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent tyre for road commutes

PostedMay 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This is an extremely sturdy tyre, which has vastly imrpoved my daily commute. It is extremely puncture-resistant, so broken glass and other debris on the road are no longer a fear. Very smooth ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Continental Touring Plus 700c Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Conwil
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Looks and feels bombproof

PostedMay 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Needed a set of strong tyre levers to get these on.
Take care to ensure they're fitted for the correct direction of rotation, there's an arrow inset into the sidewall rubber but it's quite small and not easy to find.
Once on they should be on for a long time!
They roll OK but I think I can detect a slight increase in resistance compared to Conti Gatorskins but hopefully this will be compensated for by lack of punctures. Ridden through some broken glass on the canal towpath with no ill effect so fingers crossed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Continental Touring Plus 700c Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
willow72
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

Appears to be good quality

PostedMay 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This tyre appears to be well made. Reflective strip on side wall is a good safety feature. Only used for a couple of hundred miles with no punctures so far travelling over various road surfaces and a smooth roll.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Continental Touring Plus 700c Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mala

great product

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Second time I have bought these tyres
I commute on track and roads and these tyres are robust enough to cope
Good puncture resistance
Well worth the money
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Continental Touring Plus 700c Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
manonbike
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good compromise for touring tyre

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
A decent tread depth with a solid middle ring gives this tyre some flexibility in usage. Seems very tough, though went on fine. It does seem quite slim for a 32 - it is definitely slimmer than the 32 bontragers they replaced. rolling performance is what you'd expect. I'm hoping these will be a solid dependable tyre.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Continental Touring Plus 700c Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
andrejamie
Country:Singapore
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

excellent tyres for city commute

PostedFebruary 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
I just recently installed these on my sirrus and after a week's commute, I can feel the difference: they are slower (compared to my old slicks, but of course because of the thread pattern) but gives me more confidence in navigating the uneven pavement on my way to work.
One thing to note though: the 32s are more like size 28s! Other than that, I can't find any fault. The reflective strip is very visible in low light conditions Great value!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Geoffdraw
UK
 
Please wait while more information about Geoffdraw is loaded.
Additional information about Geoffdraw could not be loaded.
Width of "28mm"
Posted October 7, 2014
Just bought a pair of 28mm Touring Plus tyres to replace my old 32mm Tour Ride tyres (which have never punctured). On the rims of my old Trek Multitrack hybrid I have measured the width of the new tyre using digital calipers and they are more like 25's.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 10 for Continental Touring Plus 700c Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BristolDom
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice quality, good performance

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
A high quality, well designed tyre that performs nicely. No punctures so far, and the reflective sidewalls are a great safety feature.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Continental Touring Plus 700c Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jimmyll
Country:Spain
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good wheels

PostedAugust 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Just put these Continental Touring Plus on my bike. So far no problems. Looking forward to having them on my bike for many kilometers. I'll be touring with them as well as commuting to the office.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Continental Touring Plus 700c Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Henna
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Puncture Free Ride

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: none
Following the snow and the subsequent flooding a lot of broken glass, small metal, bits and pieces have been washed onto the cycle path which I use to commute back and forwards to work. My stock tyres fitted to my cycle were averaging 3 punctures a week even with 'slime' inner tubes. As a result of putting these tyres on with normal inner tubes I have not had a single puncture. These tyres go way beyond my expectations. If you don't want a puncture go for these they wont let you down. With the reflective side walls they add another dimension to cycling safety.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Continental Touring Plus 700c Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Adamabs
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Brilliant two pieces of rubber.

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, bulletproof
Very good tyres with low rolling friction and still having good grip on turns.
Use them mostly for city commuting and have to describe them as bulletproof.
Did on them approximately 10k and have got 3 punctures till now but one of them was 5 cm nail so it don't count.
I would recomend them for comuting, touring. They are designed for road but I'm pretty sure they would do on not too heavy off-road as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Continental Touring Plus 700c Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shayla
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Excellent

PostedNovember 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Excellent tyre, of high quality and good value. I cycle every day for 80 mins so flat tyres are a very common ocurrence, however this one not only looks good but also rides smoothly and is keeping strong. Have had no punctures since replacing it so well pleased.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Continental Touring Plus 700c Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stephen148
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good tyre

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Brought this tyre to replace Specialized Borough XC Sport Tyre as they kept getting punctures. So far so good they fell pretty solid and provide good grip on the roads and paths. They feel good and swapped them easily and the build quality looks good so should stay puncture free
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Continental Touring Plus 700c Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ty1569
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great tyre

PostedSeptember 16, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
continental touring plus tyre is well worth the prise ticks all the right boxs
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Clarkie60
Co. durham
 
Please wait while more information about Clarkie60 is loaded.
Additional information about Clarkie60 could not be loaded.
Excellent tyre
Posted January 30, 2013
Bought these tyres as I was sick of getting punctures on my commute to work. Had them for two weeks now with no punctures to report. I would recommend them.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 17 for Continental Touring Plus 700c Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jagdeep
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Used these tyres to replace the original tyres on my Claud Butler hybrid which kept on getting punctures. Had these tyres for two weeks and touch wood no punctures.
Very nice looking tyre with the reflective rim and they have just the right amount of grip in my opinion.
I haven't given the tyres 5 stars since I have only had them for two weeks. If I have no problems in the coming weeks then I will definately give them 5 stars - very good value for money as well!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Continental Touring Plus 700c Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
atom
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedJune 13, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
good quality at good price and good service I am sure I will be buying the same product again .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Continental Touring Plus 700c Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
broadbiker

Rugged and solid but spin well

PostedJune 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Early days but will probably keep them for winter comutes and get the Gator ultras for long distant summer riding
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Continental Touring Plus 700c Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
leppard
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

good quality tyre

PostedMay 31, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
when first purchasing the tyre, i thought the actual rubber it was a bit on the thin side, but the continental quality is shining through. really good tread pattern for the rain, looks like its going to last a long time!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>