Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tyres or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Continental X-King 29" Folding Tyre

Continental X-King 29" Folding Tyre

Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
7 out of 9(78%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for Continental X-King 29" Folding Tyre
Review 1 for Continental X-King 29" Folding Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gazza42
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Pleased with my Continentals

Posted07 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
As a newbie to the mountain bike world selecting some new tyres was an absolute mine field. I spoke with friends and read a whole pile of reviews which lead me to the Continental range. I finally paid the cash and received my new tyres. I can’t confess to being a mud made mile cruncher as I tend to ride canal paths some mud as well as tarmac on my way to work. I’ve now used the tyres quite a few times and fill confident that I can happily rate these tyres as a good buy. I ordered the 29 x 2.2 which suited the frame nicely. I’ve also noticed a significant reduction in rolling resistance compared to the Schwalbe tyres I was running. Also to date I had no significant puncture issues which is always pleasing. All in all a good buy which I’m more than happy with as well as the all round serviced offered by Evans.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Continental X-King 29" Folding Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beedlebum
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job

Posted21 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I had these on my Pinnacle Ramin 3 already and after getting a rip in one I didn't really think to hard about getting anything else. Good for the money I'm able to cough up
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Continental X-King 29" Folding Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BenHzd
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Great upgrade to my Gary Fisher Trek Cobia 29er

Posted27 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
The stock rear tyre on my trek cobia 29er is bontrager 29.3 2.00, i used this tyre for over a year, in dry conditions it performed well but over the winter months in wet conditions the tyre did not have enough grip and wheel spin and slipping was a problem.
For this reason, in the winter of 2012, I decided to upgrade my rear tyre, from advise I received in Evans Nottingham i opted to upgrade to the Continental X-King 29" Folding Tyre 2.2.
The tyre so far is fantastic, cycling the snow I have noticed a big improvement in grip. I am very happy with the investment.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Continental X-King 29" Folding Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DaveAT
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good all rounder

Posted11 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Got a pair of these for my Scott Scale 29. Good in most conditions except extreme wet and mud – but that’s not what they were designed for..
Fast rolling tyre at a good price (Evans price match used again).
The only criticism is that my local store almost let me walk out with the wrong tyre in the box (a used Specialized Fastrack that someone must have returned). Good job I spotted it as I think I would have had a hard time trying to return it.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Continental X-King 29" Folding Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rob63
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

Nice Ride but Not Tough

Posted11 September 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: non-durable
These tires came fitted as standard on Boardman Comp 29. They are fast, grippy (off & on road surprisingly good in wet) and provide a comfy ride, whilst being quiet for MTB tires. I liked them on road & gravel track, grass and woodland trail. However I don't think these tires are tough & durable enough for my heavy regular use.
After 3 weeks (mileage 10-25 mls/day) I have high wear on rear central knobbles (1/2 down) and had 2 punctures in this thin light tire. Hawthorns can go straight through the Knobbles, nevermind the thinner part. This tire just isn't tough enough for daily use by me. In past I've fitted Kevlar puncture bands inside tire against thorns and roadside debris, but the 29x2.2 too large diameter for 26" MTB bands and too fat for 700c road tire bands. The less effective Slime's scuppered similarly by Presta valve & unusual tube size. The front tire wear rate has been acceptable, so perhaps these tires last longer for diminutive riders.
Don't understand why puncture reduction isn't a key selling point of all but race tires! It's really not that hard.. and kevlar isn't that heavy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Continental X-King 29" Folding Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Brick
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Woking

Excellent fit and tyre

Posted22 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Bought for my wife's 19 year old hybrid bike with 700 wheels. Went to the Woking store to discuss options as I was aware 700mm/29'' are almost identical in size.
The assistant discussed options of tyres, clearance of frame, width of wheel 20 mm, inner tubes (no need to change), brake set up which are v brakes and recommended this tyre as most likely to fit which they do with minimal clearance.
We are both very happy and the tyre performs well off road. What a 29er conversion !
Would recommend this tyre.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Continental X-King 29" Folding Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Player13
Country:Malaysia
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good Tyre

Posted21 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Orderd the 2.4 for my Stumpy 29er. Very grippy and light weight. The only problem is this may wear out much faster than others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Continental X-King 29" Folding Tyre
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Pikadoo
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

DIffcult to mount to rims and does not run true

Posted04 August 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
Orderd the 2.2 for my 29er.
Hard a hard time installing into my ZTR Crest, had to send it to my local store to get it fitted.
When it was fitted, tires wasnt running true at all. it was wobbling everywhere. Bike Mechanic try remocing and installing but still wasnt able to get the tires to run true, however when we try it with another set of X king from his store. there wasnt any issue..
LIkely to be a batch issue.
both tires also left a very strong rubbery smell.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Continental X-King 29" Folding Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Db7gta
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

This tyre has excellent grip

Posted11 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
Orderd the 2.2 but found a little narrow measured 1.95" so orderd the 2.4 and that measured 2.25" so with this on the front and the other on the rear it transformed the bike most riding at innerliethian and glentress and mostly in the wet this summer (bike is a trek superfly 29er HT)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.