Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tyres or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre

Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre

Aimed at hardcore fast commuters who need the speed of a race commuter tyre (i.e. Gatorskin or Grand Prix) but bulked out to provide a tougher cross section in case of that unseen pot-hole or scuffed sidewall on the curbs. Using a new type of casing design which folds three times from bead to bead to form a 3 ply sidewall (usually 2 ply). Duraskin is an extremely durable polyamide mesh that protects the extra-fine, high performance casing from cuts, punctures and abrasion. Adding less than 10g per tyre, Duraskin has a very high strength to weight ratio meaning that cyclists benefit from superb anti tear protection whilst still experiencing lightweight performance from their tyres. Extra tread rubber / Longer mileage. Continental uses polyester as a breaker material and rely on our experience in car tyres to utilize this material to the maximum benefits in cycle tyres. The advantages lie in the additional crossing of the individual fabric weaves in manufacturing, giving a densely woven seal with minimal space between the threads - result, Poly-X is very resistant to foreign objects without increasing the rolling resistance of the tyre.
Overall rating:
4.686 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(51 reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 51 reviews
5 Stars
35
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
51 out of 51(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer reviews for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Review 1 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Watts0707
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Bullet Proof Value For Money

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy
Okay, they're not cheap but they will pay for themselves within a year. No p&^%$tures in over 16 months of daily 30K commute in London. Used to use Ultremos which are wonderfully sticky and light, but I used to get through a pair every six months or so, and they were prone to you know what. Gator Hardshell really are for the "hardcore fast commuter".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
catfish440
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Great tyre from CVontinental

PostedAugust 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
As you would expect from Continetal this is a solid and dependable tyre. I'm using it on my triathlon bike where puncture resistance is of more importance to me than weight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DoubtingThomas
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Time will tell

PostedJune 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: fitting
The one puncture I have had so far did not seem to involve the tyre (see later), but it did highlight that the tyres are only slightly less difficult to fit than folding ones of the same size. Perhaps they'll loosen up with age, but at first fitting it would need superhuman thumb strength to avoid the need tor levers. As for the one tube failure, the post mortem showed that it was not a snakebite after the use of levers. But if it wasn't just a random manufacturing fault then one may need to be a bit careful about maximum inflation pressures. Having said that, the result is a distinctly more comfortable ride than on the Four Seasons.that are being rested for the summer. These tyres take the edge off our poor road surfaces and almost give a bit of a helping bounce with no discernible loss in speeds.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Damo69
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Great commuter tyre

PostedMay 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
I have been buying gator tyres for a while now. They always last well and I have gone from multiple punctures a year on the terrible roads of London to none I can remember recently. I will continue to use these tyres as they never let me down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
frequentcyclist
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good combination fo speed and toughness

PostedMay 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
I am onto my second set of these tyres, the first set lasted for about 2.5 years of constant commuting over some pretty nasty surfaces. It's a nice fast tyre but although not the best grip in the wet it never presented me with any real problems (just be a bit more careful!)
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pete101073

Bullet Proof

PostedMay 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Tried ultra gatorskin and gp 4 seasons to my regret
These are bullet proof
Just lack a bit of wet grip compared to the gp's
But slowing down adds less time than fixing punctures
Heavy, city centre commuter
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dannyblade
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Continental hard shell duraskin

PostedApril 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Truly impressed!!!!!
The product it's self is great, very hard wearing tyres, have done almost 800 miles since fitting and not a single puncture or fault, grip cannot be faulted and gives good feed back from the road surface which build confidence on difficult or cobbled road surfaces. Fitting was a little tricky as the wire rims are very tight but nothing I didn't expect. All round it's probably the very best tyre I have riden and I would recommend it to god himself. Cheap price for the quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent tyres

PostedApril 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Can tell the difference straight away, brilliant grip and feel a lot more confident and no longer worry about punctures
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Noddie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Robust tyre that does the job

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Replacing ones bought last year and if five of us can do Land's End to John O'Groats on these and suffer only one puncture in an accumulative 4500 miles, they will do for me
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ceres
Country:Croatia
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Rolles nicely

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy
I've had these few hundred km and so far so good. They roll nicely and I feel safe :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Shackersm
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Does the job

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Quite, seems to grip well. Wall not as thick as it looks in the photo though - I expected it to be really solid and puncture proof...more like a normal tyre though
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thereandback
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

I'm blown away by these tyres...

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I was so sick of getting punctures on my half hour cycle ride that I almost gave it up. Instead I found these - I thought the price was excellent. They were so much more flexible and easy to fit than my previous puncture resistant tyres; they grip the road better and whilst I'm hesitant to say this, with the cycle gods being so fickle, there has been no sign of a puncture since.
These were an excellent buy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
StephC
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Even better than expected!

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I never expected these tyres to be so good!
I cycle through quite a rough area and there can be often some broken glass around along with other shards of debris. I generally ride very cautiously but managed ok for a while with my previous tyres until I had a spell of 2 weeks of non stop punctures. When my back tyre went I was recommended these Gator hardshells and they are amazing!
Great grip, light-weight AND robust. Obviously you can never be to careful but I think I can relax a bit now with these tyres on.
Highly recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

excellent tires

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Great tires for commuting and longer weekend rides, can't vouch for more. I've had a set for 3000+ rides and no punctures or complaints. Good grip, good roll resistance..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
kekchoze
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Robust tyres

PostedDecember 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Had a few punctures with my old Specialized tyres and changed to these Hardshell. Hard to put on, very hard, but once on, it's kept my inner tube safe!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mattj967
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Haven't had a puncture yet!

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I've only done about 50k on these so far, so I can't claim that they are completely impervious to everything the winter roads can throw at you. Having said that I did have 5 punctures in less than 80 miles with my previous - and much loved - Schwalbe Ultremo ZX, two on the front and three on the back! So I can't complain yet considering the state of the roads around here. They don't feel quite as supple and light as the Schwalbe tyres, but they are still fine for commuting in winter. The grip feels great in the wet. They were a little tough to get on at first and I'm not looking forward to changing a flat at the side of the road in the rain, but hopefully that won't happen with these anyway!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MV6Matt
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Ok so far

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive, Uncomfortable
Valve leak and inner tube failure aside, they seem to be holding up so far.
I find that the compound is quite soft and a lot of tears appear quite quickly.
Not quite as grippy as I'd have hoped, but if they do give me protection, I'll be happy to sacrifice that.
Might also try a wider one on the back as they can be uncomfortable
You have to keep them very hard for best durability and I check much more frequently that with others I've tried.
Get them on-line otherwise they're very expensive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Boabsboy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I always buy continental tyres, good grip and durability, bought these for extra puncture protection during the cold months ahead, so far so good, hard to beat i'd say especially when on sale
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
richmalla

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Very good tyre using them now on my bike instead of the stock tyres as in Central London the roads are poor with potholes that have ruined other ones .. I have hit a few holes now and the tyres have stood up really well no damage and they seem to be better in the wet weather .. Down side they were a bit of a struggle to fit but I will still buy again as they are a good tyre
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Andresin
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Excellent tyre

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I´ve been using this tyre in my rear wheel and I didn´t have a puncture for almost 6 month. The best option if you don´t want to repair punctures every day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>