Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tyres or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre

Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre

Aimed at hardcore fast commuters who need the speed of a race commuter tyre (i.e. Gatorskin or Grand Prix) but bulked out to provide a tougher cross section in case of that unseen pot-hole or scuffed sidewall on the curbs. Using a new type of casing design which folds three times from bead to bead to form a 3 ply sidewall (usually 2 ply). Duraskin is an extremely durable polyamide mesh that protects the extra-fine, high performance casing from cuts, punctures and abrasion. Adding less than 10g per tyre, Duraskin has a very high strength to weight ratio meaning that cyclists benefit from superb anti tear protection whilst still experiencing lightweight performance from their tyres. Extra tread rubber / Longer mileage. Continental uses polyester as a breaker material and rely on our experience in car tyres to utilize this material to the maximum benefits in cycle tyres. The advantages lie in the additional crossing of the individual fabric weaves in manufacturing, giving a densely woven seal with minimal space between the threads - result, Poly-X is very resistant to foreign objects without increasing the rolling resistance of the tyre.
Overall rating:
4.589 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(90 reviews) 90
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 90 reviews
5 Stars
60
4 Stars
26
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
88 out of 90Would you recommend this product to a friend?98%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 29 Answers
Customer reviews for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Review 1 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Unlucky, maybe

Posted22 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Heavy
Obvious reason to buy this tyre is the claimed puncture resistance, it's certainly why I bought it.
On my first ride after fitting and within 5 miles from home I had a puncture, a piece of glass penetrated all of the puncture resistance measures. Of course it is hard to say whether a different tyre would have suffered a puncture too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wandsworth

excellent

Posted04 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
great tyers i should of brought these at first and not the 4000s
great in the wet and as of now no punctures
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

So far, so good....

Posted06 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
So far, so good ! No problems so far, i.e. no p*nctures ! Tyres are quite heavy and stiff, don't quite have the 'feel' on the road of the Grand Prix. But that's not important, if it means avoiding fixing a puncture in the dark, howling gale and heavy rain ! Good Winter commuting tyre. Come Spring I'll be looking at something lighter and faster.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Excellent grip and no punctures!

Posted29 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
Wonderful slick tyres and no punctures - it almost rides itself to work!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Good quality tyres

Posted17 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
I wanted tyres that were not susceptible to punctures as I tend to ride primarily down country roads and lanes which aren't always the best road surface and can have pot-holes. The tyres were easy to fit and so far I have not had any punctures. They are good quality tyre and I would recommend them particularly to long distance riders.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kendal

Posted29 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality
Cons: Expensive
I had being having numerous punctures, particularly on the front wheel so I decided to upgrade my tyres. I chose the continental gator hardshell, which looked good and puncture resistant. The first thing I noticed was the difference in weight, compared to my old tyres and also after fitting there was massive increase in rolling speed of my bike. I also have not had a any punctures since, so its a win win for me. The only bad point is the price, they are quite expensive, but over time they are probably going to be worth it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Excellent winter tyre choice

Posted11 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Been using a different winter tyre for some years but changed to these on recommendation of store staff. Very pleased with them so far - more alive feel on the road, easier to fit and good grip in the wet. Excellent choice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Tough and speedy

Posted01 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Great product, hard wearing and no loss of speed at all
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fulham

A solid tyre

Posted11 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
My original tyres kept bursting on me and were pretty fragile to the slightest of spikes. These new tyres seem much more robust.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

Excellent commuting tyre

Posted10 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Been using for 2 weeks now they roll fast and the grip in the rain is very good. I have also done some light trail as they are fitted to a Pinncle Arkose 3 they have performed well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

So far, so good

Posted10 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I have these on my fixed gear urban track bike and they have been good so far. I haven't ridden them in the rain as yet, but have no reason to think they won't grip enough.
I'm a fairly aggressive skidder (as I don't use brakes) and they're holding up well so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fulham

Super tough

Posted08 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I've been using these tyres for a few years now. They really are worth the money if you don't want punctures! I cant recommend them enough.
(They're a bit heavy on thicker wheels)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Posted04 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality, Looks great
Fast, absolutely puncture free and lasts a long time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Always a good purchase

Posted03 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
The tyres are hard wearing for what I need and as a result I go back time and again for them
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Perfect for my commute - ANd made in Germany!

Posted01 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Have used these for my daily commutes, fitted to a Bianchi road bike, now for a couple of weeks. I'm very pleased and they perform well in wet weather. They of course create a bit more friction than a pair of think slicks being wider and puncture free but that's what you need for a commute. Also, they are hand-made in Germany and the quality feels great!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Good, but hard to put on

Posted17 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: hard to put on
Only put in a few miles but good performance in both wet and dry conditions.
however downside hard to put on so hoping not to have any punctures out on the road.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Good so far

Posted04 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
After having several punctures in a short space of time, mainly due to lots of resurfacing work on my commute, went for these tyres and have been very impressed
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Clapham

End to punctures on my commute

Posted28 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I got Gatorskins after suffering a puncture on average every 2-4 weeks on my daily commute on regular tyres. The Gatorskins appear to offer slightly less rolling resistance than the main alternative, Armadillo and were a similar price. So far, no punctures!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great allrounder

Posted19 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
500 miles in and these tyres are doing a great job. They replaced the stock tyres that came with my Trek and I can report an improvement in grip and touch wood, no more punctures.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Very good. Not as hard to fit as I thought.

Posted12 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great, rolls well
Bought this to replace Maxis Detonators (came with Merida speeder). The maxis got a puncture within the first two weeks. These gator skin hard shells are great. They roll well. No punctures (yet). Reviews said it would be hard to fit, but watched a youtube video on how to do it and it was easy enough.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>