Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tyres or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre

Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre

Aimed at hardcore fast commuters who need the speed of a race commuter tyre (i.e. Gatorskin or Grand Prix) but bulked out to provide a tougher cross section in case of that unseen pot-hole or scuffed sidewall on the curbs. Using a new type of casing design which folds three times from bead to bead to form a 3 ply sidewall (usually 2 ply). Duraskin is an extremely durable polyamide mesh that protects the extra-fine, high performance casing from cuts, punctures and abrasion. Adding less than 10g per tyre, Duraskin has a very high strength to weight ratio meaning that cyclists benefit from superb anti tear protection whilst still experiencing lightweight performance from their tyres. Extra tread rubber / Longer mileage. Continental uses polyester as a breaker material and rely on our experience in car tyres to utilize this material to the maximum benefits in cycle tyres. The advantages lie in the additional crossing of the individual fabric weaves in manufacturing, giving a densely woven seal with minimal space between the threads - result, Poly-X is very resistant to foreign objects without increasing the rolling resistance of the tyre.
Overall rating:
4.582 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(67 reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 67 reviews
5 Stars
45
4 Stars
19
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
65 out of 67Would you recommend this product to a friend?97%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer reviews for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Review 1 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Gretsch
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

puncture resistance. its good.

Posted21 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Weaker sidewalls, but that's not a problem most of the time. Got this for a delivery bike. Rides well, no punctures yet. They run undersized, the 28c is actually 26mm across. If you are after fatter tyres, you can probably afford to size up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stihl026
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product

Posted20 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
I have always used Continental tyres, Seem to be super quality with very few punctures, in fact i cannot remember my last puncture it was so long a go. Very slow wearing as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Minedesignz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Great tire for all occasions

Posted31 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This tire is good for all occasions. I've road them through the entire winter and they still hold strong. These tires have a long life and are reasonably priced.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jrb72
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wandsworth

does what it says on the tin

Posted23 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
So far no punctures. cant say more than that really
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
awrigh
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

A lot of cash... for few miles!

Posted17 March 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive
Bought a set of theses back & front for my commute roadie, fitted them on the Sunday night and had a tear in the rear wheel by Tuesday morning, having covered just 30-35 miles. I'd love to say I was off-roading, but this was caused by a large piece of gravel on a main road that I found lodged into the tyre.
I've bought cheaper hardshell's from the likes of Bontrager in the past that have lasted well over a year, covering 1,500 - 2,000 miles with only minor nicks to the tyre surface.
My advice stick to the cheaper hardshells, I've never had any issues with them in the past 7 years I've been commuting in London.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
WDram
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Continental Gator Hardshell

Posted23 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Tyers took a bit of effort to get on initially and wouldn't want to fit a new one at the side of the road. However, no punctures so far. Ride is slightly harder with the hardshell but absolutely fine for training.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TG38
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Good but commuters beware!

Posted04 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Tyre provides a great ride for the racers out there. However not as puncture resistant as you might expect. On London roads already had two punctures. If you are after reliable puncture free commuting the schwalbe marathon is a better bet. If you want to fly across the Tarmac and can put up with the ocassional puncture go with these.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DJWillis14
Country:United Kingdom
It was bought:Wimbledon

Great tough tyre, very durable

Posted03 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
I'd highly recommend this tyre, gives you great purchase on the road and feels ok on the occasional rough patch of road which is absolutely essential in parts of London.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
docandyhutch
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

Excellent puncture resistance - lightweight

Posted02 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Always reliable, only needed a new one because I'd done 5000 on the previous - commuting miles through London.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dizzy37
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great tyres

Posted31 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
After reading many reviews, I decided to buy these tyres, the first thing was how easy these tyres were to put on, I didn't get any sore hands like with some other hard tyres, pump at low preasure the tyres felt well pumped up, plus they look good, out on the road they roll really well, giving that feeling you're moving fast, plus in the wet they grip very well on the straight and round corners, I'm happy I would recommend these to anyone who wants a good puncture protection tyres, that rolls well and has good grip in the wet, I'm happy and believe you might be as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
sneakybear
It was bought:Canary Wharf

No better than gatorskins

Posted17 January 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, Heavy, Expensive
Although billed as "Like gatorskins but tougher" I've found them more prone to punctures than standard. They're also so wide and hard that they are difficult to get on standard rims. Save yourself a few quid and get the standard Gators as they're better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MRHILL
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Very tough

Posted12 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I found this to be a much more reliable alternative tot he more expensive Grand Prix 4 season tyres i had before. These have proven to be much better at dealing with all the rubbish on London roads and i have not had nearly as many punctures as i had with the other tyres. Pretty grippy to even in the wet
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Baresi22
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good strong tyres

Posted18 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good strong tyres. Using these as winter tyres. No punctures yet & good grip in the wet
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Stehenmaginn

Good

Posted13 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Definitely go for the wire bead hardshells. Hard waring for the daily commute.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Igelati
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

This product lives up to its expectations

Posted08 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I'm really happy with these tyres, so much so that I bought a second set for one my other bikes. I like the grip they have offered over the weeks I've been using them. Much better than anything I've used before.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
J0EE
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Gender:Male

Really durable and lightweight.

Posted19 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Really durable and lightweight. I do lots of miles on it and it is even good in bad weather.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Watts0707
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Bullet Proof Value For Money

Posted05 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy
Okay, they're not cheap but they will pay for themselves within a year. No p&^%$tures in over 16 months of daily 30K commute in London. Used to use Ultremos which are wonderfully sticky and light, but I used to get through a pair every six months or so, and they were prone to you know what. Gator Hardshell really are for the "hardcore fast commuter".
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
catfish440
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Great tyre from CVontinental

Posted01 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
As you would expect from Continetal this is a solid and dependable tyre. I'm using it on my triathlon bike where puncture resistance is of more importance to me than weight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DoubtingThomas
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Time will tell

Posted16 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: fitting
The one puncture I have had so far did not seem to involve the tyre (see later), but it did highlight that the tyres are only slightly less difficult to fit than folding ones of the same size. Perhaps they'll loosen up with age, but at first fitting it would need superhuman thumb strength to avoid the need tor levers. As for the one tube failure, the post mortem showed that it was not a snakebite after the use of levers. But if it wasn't just a random manufacturing fault then one may need to be a bit careful about maximum inflation pressures. Having said that, the result is a distinctly more comfortable ride than on the Four Seasons.that are being rested for the summer. These tyres take the edge off our poor road surfaces and almost give a bit of a helping bounce with no discernible loss in speeds.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Duraskin Wired Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Damo69
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Great commuter tyre

Posted27 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
I have been buying gator tyres for a while now. They always last well and I have gone from multiple punctures a year on the terrible roads of London to none I can remember recently. I will continue to use these tyres as they never let me down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>