Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tyres or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Continental Grand Prix 4000 700c Folding Clincher Road Tyre

Continental Grand Prix 4000 700c Folding Clincher Road Tyre

Continental have used their revolutionary Black Chili compound on the black variant and their Activated Silica Compound on coloured variants. The fact is that Black Chili improved tyre performance in all areas. It makes a tyre to last longer, yet also grip better and roll faster. The ASC compound increases the handling threshold and reduce the rolling resistance of the Grand Prix 4000 compared to the previous ASC compound. Continental has also included their tread wear indicators so you don't prematurely replace tyres or even risk using your tyre beyond its service life. The standard for serious road cyclists, the Grand Prix 4000 provides long term performance and reliability. Put a set of these on your road bike and start feeling the difference.
Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
9 out of 9(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for Continental Grand Prix 4000 700c Folding Clincher Road Tyre
Review 1 for Continental Grand Prix 4000 700c Folding Clincher Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
crgtmp
Country:Romania
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedApril 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
good durability, the last pair last 5 years, have a good price/quality raport
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Continental Grand Prix 4000 700c Folding Clincher Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gerrob
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

PostedJune 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I love these tyres, so much more grip than the tyres that came with my bike when I bought it. I would highly recommend them
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Continental Grand Prix 4000 700c Folding Clincher Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sa7Tn
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good Stuff!

PostedApril 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
After looking through forums and reviews, i end up buying this road tyre in red. Love it. It looks good. Pretty easy to put on(even for a girl). Has a good grip on a horrible roads of West Sussex. And not particularly slow. Lovely stuff.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Continental Grand Prix 4000 700c Folding Clincher Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tiagomartins22
Country:Latvia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent product. Is the 3rd time i buy them.

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Excellent product. Is the 3rd time i bought them. Used many other brands and this is top level. Use it in all weather conditions and on rollers/trainer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Continental Grand Prix 4000 700c Folding Clincher Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Andygb
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Not as good as they were

PostedAugust 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I've used these tyres for a few years now. They look great and roll well.
Recently the quality hasn't been quite so good -
My last couple of sets have cracked badly and the last perished (you could lift the rubber off the carcass on the front tyre after only a few months). My latest set - 2 punctures in the first 2 weeks, sharp bits of stone going straight through the 'tread'. Maybe I've been unlucky but they seem to cut a lot easier than before.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Continental Grand Prix 4000 700c Folding Clincher Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
Great ride. Have been riding on these for 1000's of k's with no punctures. Have the red ones and they look great. Thanks Evans for your great service.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Continental Grand Prix 4000 700c Folding Clincher Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lilly
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

excellent, good grip, puncture resistant

PostedMay 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This is my second pair of these - old ones worn out from many km cycling, but haven't had a puncture in the whole time they have been on the bike! Definitely good value, good grip on the road, and not scared of those bits of glass or slithers of metal on the road any more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Continental Grand Prix 4000 700c Folding Clincher Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Broonie
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedAugust 25, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Great Price match from Evans - Tyres have done 400 mile, so far so good - very smooth on the road - look great - handle well in both wet and dry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Continental Grand Prix 4000 700c Folding Clincher Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
middleagecrisis
from Kent
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

300 sweet miles

PostedJune 6, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Just done L2P on a brand new set of these - a mixture of billiard-smooth and cobbled roads (some with glass on them) - without a hitch. They feel great and sure-footed in the dry. Not tried them in the wet yet.....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.