Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Jackets or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Pearl Izumi Elite Barrier Jacket

Pearl Izumi Elite Barrier Jacket

Overall rating:
4.265 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(34 reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 34 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
17
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
32 out of 34(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer reviews for Pearl Izumi Elite Barrier Jacket
Review 1 for Pearl Izumi Elite Barrier Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
donski
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

excellent jacket

PostedNovember 16, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Brought this jacket as the wethers changing and the temperture started to drop. Been out a few times early in the morning with this and a base layer, perfectly warm and light
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Pearl Izumi Elite Barrier Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Armoredinca
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Visibility and Quality shell Jacket

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought this Jacket as a I required a Hi Viz, wind and light rain barrier jacket that could be easily stowed in jersey pocket and used in all seasons for Road cycling.
I have used it for a couple of weeks so far and have found it a quality jacket for the price, don't get me wrong it is not to get mistaken for a Full Gore Tex coat such as the Gore Alp X i own for Mountain biking but it is fully windproof, pretty breathable and waterproof enough for showers and light rain.
I have even started using it for running in the cold damp winters evening.
At the price I bought it for, its a top jacket at a top price,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Pearl Izumi Elite Barrier Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MrJMac
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

nice jacket for changeable weather

PostedOctober 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Nice jacket for those windy days where rain is likely. Prefect fitting body but the arms are a little loose, but this doesn't make a huge difference they flap a little a speed.
It breathes well for a jacket which will keep a shower out and is fine with a base layer or thin jersey underneath (i wore it happily for the most recent evans cannock spotive and that started cool and dull and warmed up nicely).
you can pack it down into the pocket on its back which is helpful.
really can't grumble at all at this price and i only gave it 4stars as i expect supremely expensive brands like Gore et al are worthy of 5.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Pearl Izumi Elite Barrier Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
brinker
Country:Denmark
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I'm 6'2", weighing 76kg - got a size M. Nice and slightly loose fit around upper body, length is perfect on both torso and arms. Blocks a good deal of wind and keeps the water out nicely on rainy days.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Pearl Izumi Elite Barrier Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
chr1s
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Good overall, fits into jersey back pocket and is lightweight.
Only niggle being the arms are slightly larger than should be for the body size so flaps a little.
Good value for the money as I purchased at sale price.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Pearl Izumi Elite Barrier Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Garrodster
Country:Jersey
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very well made jacket for the money

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is a great jacket, lovely fit and quality materials used.
100% windproof and very good at keeping the rain out too!
Would recommend for sure.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Pearl Izumi Elite Barrier Jacket
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
hmfcalum
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cheap Rubbish

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive, junk
Ordered and sent straight back after it arrived. Jacket is just cheap junk - you'd be better off with a poly bag... AVOID...!
-6points
1of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Pearl Izumi Elite Barrier Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lakers
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist

Great value and great fit

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Product fits really well, and allows a good amount of ventilation. The value for money is brilliant. Can be wrapped up and carried in very little space.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Pearl Izumi Elite Barrier Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JarnoSe
Country:Finland
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Lightweight and good protection against wind and rain. The yellow color is a bit brighter than in the picture.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Pearl Izumi Elite Barrier Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
alwillis82
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Todd lightweight top

PostedAugust 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
It's not that coly yet but I can already tell with a base layer this is going to be a welcome addition to the commute wardrobe.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Pearl Izumi Elite Barrier Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
NickACC
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice fit. Looks good.

PostedJuly 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Nice and slim fitting - I'm a 37/38" chest & went for S - arms flap a little bit at speed, nice and fitted across the chest and body. A little short in the back but I like that.
Seems quite breathable but can't comment on the waterproofing, because it hasn't rained since I've bought it!
I went for the Neon yellow and it's very bright indeed, great for dark mornings and evenings. Rolls up quite small, would just fit in a back pocket.
Only negatives: The zip is a bit small, not sure about the durability? The back pocket has a tiny velcro closure, so doesn't feel all that secure.
All in all, a good slim fitting top with nice features.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Pearl Izumi Elite Barrier Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Savage79
Country:Republic of Ireland
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good Quality

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
I got one of these for spins where it is wet and also for evening spins where visability and protection is required. This Jacket is perfect and is ver comfortable. The venting uncer the arms is great and they are not to big to allow water in. Fit is good, tight but that was ok for me , Im about 5' 10" and i got the medium.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Pearl Izumi Elite Barrier Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nathan232
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good rain jacket

PostedJune 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: rear pocket access
Evans exchanged item as size was to big without any problem.
Most XLs are a close fit but this item is still a bit baggy on me.
Folds up nice and small. Zip does not seem as strong as some but hasn't broken. Good sleeve length good rear length to keep your backside dry.
Rear pocket good size but a bit of a fiddle to access whilst
Riding.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Pearl Izumi Elite Barrier Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quennie58
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good value

PostedJune 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
The jacket was purchased for a gift for my husband. He was delighted with the style, colour, size etc of the cycling jacket. The reason I purchased this particular jacket was the good reviews it was given.
It was also good value for money.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Pearl Izumi Elite Barrier Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yorkshirepuddin

Superb example !

PostedMay 31, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Superb example of a good quality lightweight jacket, smart design, fits perfect and performs great in all weathers.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Pearl Izumi Elite Barrier Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Eddie1985
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Brilliant piece of kit.

PostedMay 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Lightweight but seriously breaks the wind up so u cant feel a thing.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Pearl Izumi Elite Barrier Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hockster
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Lightweight, comfortable, looks great

PostedMarch 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Went out (mtb) in the early morning freezing temperatures (literally) with a base layer, T-shirt and this jacket and found it to be more than adequate to keep me warm, comfortable and in my opinion looks quite cool too in comparison to the hi viz alternatives.
More than happy with this purchase!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Pearl Izumi Elite Barrier Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ross5252
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A great lightweight jacket

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
A great jacket, very lightweight and waterproof. Nice worn over a few layers in the winter.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Pearl Izumi Elite Barrier Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Presto
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Not bad

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Looks good, good fit, and good in all but the worst rain. I will be using it regularly through all seasons. The velcro pocket does let it down though - my fault entirely, but I lost a pump that I had carelessly put in the pocket.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Pearl Izumi Elite Barrier Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
rockyrider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kendal

Good Lightweight Windstopper

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: lacks an internal pocket
I bought this jacket as a lightweight wind-stopper to wear on cooler days. After a couple of rides wearing it over my base-layer and bib tights, I'm very pleased with it.
The material is particularly thin and lightweight and the wind-stopping also good. I would recommend it for cool autumnal days, but it would likely be too light through winter. I haven't yet tried it in the rain, but expect it would cope with a light shower. Both the styling and fit are great. I am 5' 7" with a 39" chest and the medium fits fine.
Never bought Pearl Izumi clothing before, but I will certainly consider this brand from now on. At the Evans price, this is worth it for a light, easily packable over shell.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>