Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Altura Women's Progel Short

Altura Women's Progel Short

Overall rating:
4.659 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(41 reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 41 reviews
5 Stars
30
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
40 out of 41(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for Altura Women's Progel Short
Review 1 for Altura Women's Progel Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Katbav
from Norfolk
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Excellent!

Posted05 October 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
I am training for a long charity cycle and have tried countless padded shorts to avoid soreness whilst sitting on the saddle for up to 6 hours at a time, completed an 80 mile cycle Sunday and i didn't feel a thing-wonderful!!!
Comfortable, no chaffing, perfect fit, what more can i say
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Altura Women's Progel Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Large
Large
Susie53
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Very comfortable shorts

Posted12 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I already have a pair of Altura Progel 3/4 length cycling leggings so I knew that the seat padding would be good and it is. I agree with what other reviewers have said about the sizing. I bought the same size shorts as my 3/4 leggings and they are definitely bigger but not so much that it is a problem. But I am glad that I have the larger ones when it comes to the band round my thighs. I tried my daughter's shorts on and found that a bit uncomfortable but mine feel fine. A bargain at the sale price too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Altura Women's Progel Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SkatingBadger
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

The most comfortable cycling shorts I have.

Posted15 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, great padding
These are the most comfortable cycling shorts I have tried. Great for road riding and mountain biking.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Altura Women's Progel Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dans5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great shorts, excellent value for money

Posted10 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: different colour choice would be good
Bought for my wife. She says they are very comfy and an excellent fit. They are quite high in the waist which she likes and also almost to the knees. A total bargain for a high quality shorts. She wants to buy another pair now!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Altura Women's Progel Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Large
Large
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Supremely comfortable

Posted04 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
These cycling shorts are really comfortable to wear. Started cycling again recently and worn them for a few mid distance rides. They provide good amount of padding and comfort without making you feel like you are wearing nappies! They are quite generously sized so if you are borderline you might be better off with the size down. I am a good size 14 with a generous thigh dimension and they are not at all tight.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Altura Women's Progel Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Zila
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Edinburgh

Great pair of shorts

Posted21 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I have had a few pairs of Altura shorts, cheaper than these were, and although they did me well and lasted a while these are so much better. The material is thicker, they are incredibly comfortable. The padding is good. I am a size 12, and I bought a pair to fit a 12, they are perfect. I did buy a 10, as many reviewers said the shorts came up large, but they went back, as they were not comfortable and looked tight and were just not right. I would recommend these. The bonus was I bought them at sale price and would probably not pay full price, but then again I like a bargain, which these were in the sale! I would buy again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Altura Women's Progel Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jan36
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Gateshead

These shorts make all the difference

Posted12 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Comfortable
Being new to cycling nothing had prepared me for the total agony I experienced the second time I sat on a saddle. Not wanting to give up I determined to do something about it and after careful on-line research I decided to buy the Altura women's pro-gel shorts. What a difference they made; I can now concentrate on my technique, rather than being distracted by the pain of merely sitting down. I cannot recommend this product highly enough.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Altura Women's Progel Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bikesat1

Great cycle shorts -

Posted07 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: none
This is my 4th pair of Altura cycle shorts having them in long and short lengths. They provide a comfortable fit on waist and legs, and can be worn beneath or stand alone. Ride times can be all day for several days in a row and these shorts have kept me comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Altura Women's Progel Short
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Large
Large
Scammy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great!

Posted03 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
These are just the job and very comfy - although needed a size smaller (10) than I normally am (12/14) as they came up quite large.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Altura Women's Progel Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jkg4
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

A great pair of shorts for the price

Posted03 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
I found these shorts very comfortable for long rides and bought a second pair!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Altura Women's Progel Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sarah23
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Reading

Good all-rounder

Posted14 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I bought these shorts for cycling and spinning and they fit well - they don't ride up your legs or pinch anywhere or cause chafing. They make even the saddles on the spin bikes, which are hard and unforgiving, seem comfortable. I would recommend as very good value for money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Altura Women's Progel Short
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
samthetam
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Glasgow

Posted13 November 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
very pleased with the shorts. Just wishing I had bought the small size. I bought Large
The sizing is very generous
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Altura Women's Progel Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tigger1

Excellent value for money

Posted14 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I wear these shorts for riding cycling and spinning. They are very comfortable even during a 2 hour ride. I have got several pairs of these shorts and will definitely buy more in the future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Altura Women's Progel Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
roseskeets
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Comfortable and

Posted20 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: slightly unattractive
Bought these following recommendations from this site and am pleased to wholeheartedly endorse these shorts. I wore them during a 10 day cycling trip and they protected my sensitive parts wonderfully throughout!
The thigh band does come a little tight and they are pretty high waisted. I am size 8/10 and opted for size 10 meaning they are marginally loose around the top but fit on the legs. The lycra keeps them in place so there is no riding up on your legs.
Needless to say, they're not sexy but with a normal vest top/t-shirt on top the look is softened. They wash and dry brilliantly. Highly recommended product and worth the price.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Altura Women's Progel Short
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Autumnphoenix
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Spitalfields

No chaffing!

Posted11 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Having always avoided bike wear, I finally succumbed and bought these shorts after purchasing a new road bike. I must say, I could hardly feel my saddle, the gel pads were so good and although I only rode for an hour, I could easily have jumped back on again and still felt fresh. Worth the money.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Altura Women's Progel Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mimaduck
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Fab shorts...worth the money!

Posted04 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, generous size
I was after a pair of shorts for the summer as my 3/4 lengths get a tad warm on longer rides. These were a perfect choice and I was ridiculously surprised at how generous they are in sizing. Normally I'm a 16/14 on my bottom...in these I'm a 12! Worth trying them on before buying!
A welcome addition to my kit!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Altura Women's Progel Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
emslothian
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Bristol

Excellent padding and very comfortable to wear

Posted23 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
The excellent gel padding really helps when you are doing a lot of cycling. The shorts have elastic around the bottom to prevent them riding up while riding and have reflective strips to catch the attention of any driver when the sun starts to set. I really can't imagine cycling without my shorts anymore. They are not the cheapest but you get what you buy. Thank you Liz at Evans Cycles in Bristol for helping me pick them out!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Altura Women's Progel Short
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Stacy30
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Makes cycling all the more enjoyable

Posted15 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I bought these shorts based on the reviews I had seen on this website and they definitely matched up to the recommendations. They do not completely prevent you from getting a sore bum (but that is likely an impossible task) but I would say block out about 90%. Now when cycling I can focus on working hard and improving my cycling rather than only being able to focus on how uncomfortable I was. They fit fantastically as well. Although quite pricey, I would recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Altura Women's Progel Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cyclingkim

Posted19 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Does the job.
Helps provide some cushioning.
Worth the price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Altura Women's Progel Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BradC1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Woking

Good fit and comfort

Posted03 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Bought these for my wife (training for first sportive together). Feedback after the first few longer rides is that they are very comfortable and the gel padding helps massively with preventing pain from long hours int he saddle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>