Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Altura Progel Short

Altura Progel Short

Overall rating:
4.494 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(79 reviews) 79
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 79 reviews
5 Stars
48
4 Stars
25
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
74 out of 79(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer reviews for Altura Progel Short
Review 1 for Altura Progel Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
kleinmourner
from Hereford, UK
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent

Posted15 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Well-made, well-padded, comfortable, practical, good value: what more could one ask? Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Altura Progel Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PaulW2020
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Well made and very comfortable

Posted23 July 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Nicely padded - great for longer distances. No ride up of legs - highly recommended
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Altura Progel Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dakorres
Country:Greece
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very comfortable

Posted30 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Really good Altura product, feels great. Really a value for money item. I think that it feels the same as much more expensive cycling shorts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Altura Progel Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Product

Posted20 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is the first I have bought padded shorts. Very please wish I had got these years ago
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Altura Progel Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
peegee65
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

best shorts I ever wore!

Posted11 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I've tried many brands but have come to the conclusion Altura is pretty hard to beat. Like my jacket and gloves these shorts are well made, quality material and a good fit. The pro gel chamois though is something else. MEGA comfy and will keep me comfy for many miles, I'm sure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Altura Progel Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Barriem
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Progel Altura Shorts

Posted03 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Great fit. The progel is excellent in providing support when cycling. Would purchase again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Altura Progel Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Sookie71
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Really comfortable to wear.

Posted06 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I have a pair of these and bought some for my partner. They are really comfortable to wear with no chafing and stay dry no matter how long I'm on the bike. Would buy them again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Altura Progel Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Adrian767
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very comfortable shorts

Posted06 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
This is my second pair of these shorts (the first pair are still going stong - these are to replace another less-comfortable brand).
The padding makes a world of difference on a long ride and the elasticated legs are not tight around the thighs.
My previous pair are still wearing very well, and are still comfortable, so I saw no reason to change. Find something you like and stick to it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Altura Progel Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fishy2
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very comfortable shorts

Posted05 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I already had apair of these shorts bought over a year ago and they have worn very well. Well padded and comfortable. Definately recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Altura Progel Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Large
Large
gmatt
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Good value but check sizing.

Posted31 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Not sure where us cyclists would be without padded shorts and these are some of the best I have owned.
In fairness they were a bit of an impulse buy, so I didn't spend ages shopping around and checking prices, but they seem pretty good value to me. As a general rule I would usually go for a large in shorts but I was coming out as a medium in these, so I recommend checking the sizing as the last thing you want is a saggy bottom.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Altura Progel Short
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
WellyG
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Not Bad...

Posted26 January 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Expensive, Uncomfortable
I normally wear bib shorts and bought these shorts for training. The general quality appears to be quite good.
I will get the negative out of the way first. The front seams can be uncomfortable when adopting a more aggressive position especially when in an aero tuck.
The padding however is not to bad at all and is comfortable. The grippers are good and don't leave marks on your legs. Generally they give good support and the legs don't ride up.
If I had paid full price I would be a little disappointed but with 30% off they are decent value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Altura Progel Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Norider
Country:United Kingdom
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Excellent pair of shorts

Posted24 November 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This product is better than some because the length of the shorts is ideal. A bit longer than usual, apparently. I have now bought two pairs for relatives and both have been extatically received.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Altura Progel Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JW61
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Superb padding

Posted05 November 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Only used a couple of times on short 20 mile journeys but no problems with comfortability.
A minor 'fault' is that the elastic just above the knees is slightly on the loose side, which if was too much of problem am sure Evans would replace
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Altura Progel Short
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
htid
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Comfortable shorts

Posted28 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Comfortable shorts that have padding in all the right places! I can't compare them to others as this is the first and only pair of cycling shorts I have. I use them daily for commuting (10 miles each way) and they seem to do the job well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Altura Progel Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nate2021
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Really nice and comfortable

Posted30 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought these padded cycling shorts and the work perfectly and fit well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Altura Progel Short
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
col5taylor

Good value but slightly odd fit

Posted04 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
These shorts are good value with comfortable gel padding. I ordered the Medium which fit fine everywhere apart from the elastic for the opening round thighs, which are quite baggy. I don't have particularly thin upper legs so it is slightly odd. I would think if I went for a Small the shorts would be far too tight everywhere else!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Altura Progel Short
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Albz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent shorts!

Posted24 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
So much better than my Altura Cadence Shorts.
While they were good, the padding wasn't softening the ride as much as I'd have liked. I'd always be aware of how I was sitting with the previous shorts, while with these Progel shorts, I literally feel no pain!
Seem tougher lycra than the cadence too.
Recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Altura Progel Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sirrusspinner
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

An excellent pair of shorts

Posted29 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
These shorts represent good value for money and this is my second pair. Padded area is well designed to be both flexible and comfortable. More importantly, the panelled padded area keeps its shape long after others have deteriorated. Soft grippers keep the shorts in place without the irritation that comes with some elasticated trim. Reflective logos increase visibility in the dark. Excellent!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Altura Progel Short
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
evovilol
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Decent shorts

Posted06 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: poor quality control
Had a pair of these for a day until I realised they'd been put together incorrectly by Altura, didn't notice it in the shop but girlfriend mentioned my backside looked 'wonky'. Turned out the pad was not stitched on straight and one leg was slightly longer than the other.
Not Evans fault and they were kind enough to simply replace them and the new pair is fine.
The new pair then...
I'm usually a 32" waist (or at least that's what I keep telling myself) and went for 'small' which is tight but not uncomfortably so. Altura sizing chart reckon I'm a 'medium' but my experience so far is that 'small' for me is usually the better fit across brands.
They stretch nicely and provide unrestricted movement, have a good length, very good grippers in the legs (won't ride up in a hurry). Good fit with being slightly taller in the back than the front and the pad comes up to cover slightly further up in the front than some other shorts I've tried.
The pad itself isn't the best I've tried though. I've had some other shorts that's got better pads but they have a tendency of being too short, ride up, not fit properly etc. The Altura shorts are the best fitting shorts so far for me.
Price is about the top end of what I would pay for a pair of shorts like these as I'm in no way a professional rider but do like to go on 1 and 2 hour rides on a regular basis and occasionally longer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Altura Progel Short
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
AdamG
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value shorts

Posted05 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
I thought I would try this brand of shorts as The Pearl Izumi were not available. They appear to be well made, with generous length in the leg and waist. The padding seems on par with similar shorts. Time will tell how they handle repeated wear and washing. They seem good value for money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>