Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tyres or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Schwalbe Ultremo ZX 700C SpeedGuard Road Tyre

Schwalbe Ultremo ZX 700C SpeedGuard Road Tyre

Overall rating:
4.577 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 26 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
24 out of 26(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer reviews for Schwalbe Ultremo ZX 700C SpeedGuard Road Tyre
Review 1 for Schwalbe Ultremo ZX 700C SpeedGuard Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AJLewis
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Superb upgrade. Has brought my bike to life!

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
These tyres have brought my bike to life. I've replaced a pair of standard, wire bead tyres. It has saved a load of rotational weight - a saving that I really feel when accelerating.
I was tempted to get a pair with a white stripe but Schwable admit the pure black compound have superior grip so I went for those and haven't been disappointed.
So far, no punctures (after 400 miles).
I have them inflated to 120psi and they're very comfortable. They seem to dull road noise (compared with my old tyres) without feeling soft or sluggish.
Not the cheapest tyres but well worth the money in my opinion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Schwalbe Ultremo ZX 700C SpeedGuard Road Tyre
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Dom284
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Amazing for a race, but only a race

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive, poor puncture protection
only on the 4th ride with these and a pebble ripped straight through them, leaving a massive stab looking mark. they were wonderful tires with low weight, rolling resistance and high grip, but an emphasis on WERE is needed...
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Schwalbe Ultremo ZX 700C SpeedGuard Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Robster1978
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent grip, no punctures so far?

PostedFebruary 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Excellent grip, easy to fit and change, no punctures.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Schwalbe Ultremo ZX 700C SpeedGuard Road Tyre
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
DashingDane
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Fast and light tyre - punctures too easily

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
I hoped the HD material would solve the puncture issue but it is still too vulnerable. In good, dry conditions the rolling resistance seems superb, but losing 10 minutes to sort a flat after picking up a tiny piece of debris means I'll revert to the Conti 4000s.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Schwalbe Ultremo ZX 700C SpeedGuard Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Elvis
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great tyres

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought a pair of Ultremo ZX tyres for Cat 4 (i.e. Novice) road racing last summer and I thought the tyres were fantastic. Compared to the Bontrager Racelites that I was using for training/commuting, these were a definite improvement.
They look better, feel faster and grippier and don't seem to be more prone to punctures (although I have only covered maybe 200-300 miles on the Ultremos). I commuted on them a few times without any punctures but would probably have bought something beefier by now if I was still commuting.
Great tyres for weekend rides and racing in my opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Schwalbe Ultremo ZX 700C SpeedGuard Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Drew2000
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfortable and grippy road bike tyres

PostedSeptember 16, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
Despite being slick, these tyres are softish and sticky with superb grip. I ride mostly around Sydney's Northern beaches/National Park where the roads aren't too good, and find the Ultremo's more comfortable than the Continental 4000's I replaced.
Because of their soft compound, they do pick up some nick's. I'll have to wait and see how durable they are. In the meantime, i like them and would buy them again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Schwalbe Ultremo ZX 700C SpeedGuard Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
madpensioner
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

best tyre yet

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Ive done 1532 miles on these tyres - not one puncture - and still plenty of
miles left on them - they are very fast - the rolling resistance is neglegant
- this is the tyre for me
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Schwalbe Ultremo ZX 700C SpeedGuard Road Tyre
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
BobNasty
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good rolling poor puncture resistance

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: fragile
Maybe its me but bought these approx 2 weeks ago and have had three punctures (all in the rear tyre) whilst not the end of the world its a pain and since I use these to commute it then makes me late for work. Do approx 50 miles a week so not even that much mileage.
All other aspects of the tyre are excellent, rolling resistance, weight suppleness, etc... Yes they make the bike feel quicker bit might just keep them for the sportives as not sturdy enough for the rigours of bad English roads.
Had a set of GP4000s before these and was doing considerable more mileage and only got a single puncture in these in over a years worth of riding. For the commute on dirty rubbish filled wet roads the Ultremo's don't appear to be hard enough. Am 6ft and approx 14 stone so that might not help either but will be buying a second pair of tyres (GP's again) for day to day and keep the Ultremo for Sunday best.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Schwalbe Ultremo ZX 700C SpeedGuard Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Craig27
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great speed - not so good on puncture protection

PostedSeptember 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Excellent smooth and fast ride. Really made a difference.
However, picked up 2 punctures on first 2 rides so either I'm just unlucky or the puncture protection is not so great. Past week has been much better with no issues.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Schwalbe Ultremo ZX 700C SpeedGuard Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GarethRC
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent looking tyres, good durability

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Firstly I have to say these have got to be the best looking tyres on the market, pick the colour to match your bike and it can really carry a theme through.
I've read a lot of reviews slating these tyres, some saying they cut easily, aren't very durable etc etc
In my experience this just isn't the case, I generally stick to the roads but at times go a 'bit' off-track through park land and these tyres show no sign of wear to-date. They also seem just as good as my previous GP4000S in terms of grip and as most know the GP4000S come highly rated.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Schwalbe Ultremo ZX 700C SpeedGuard Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kestrel
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fast rolling

PostedAugust 25, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, fast rolling
Cons: Expensive
Put a pair of these (28mm's) on my Croix de Fer to see if I could gain a little more speed (not that I'm likely to be racing racing or anything, not on a CDF and with my creaky knees ...just a personal challenge). I had a set of Bontrager Race hardcases on prior to this (which are pretty sturdy / tough). I was a little concerned when I got the new Schwalbe's as they felt very light and flimsy. However they feel good on the bike, they definitely seem a bit more compliant than the previous set of tyres; they grip as well, perhaps a little better. To my surprise I gained an extra 1mph on average speed (tested on a familiar 25 mile route in same conditions etc). No punctures yet but can't really comment on long-term durability yet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Schwalbe Ultremo ZX 700C SpeedGuard Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JJTan
Country:Malaysia
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Light and Good Roll

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Easy to install. Light and good rolling. Value buy!
Recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Schwalbe Ultremo ZX 700C SpeedGuard Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reidster
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

PostedJuly 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Upgraded from specialized mondo pro II have a lot more confidence with these in corners. Light as a feather & fast as the wind, what more could you want - oh yeah they look great too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Schwalbe Ultremo ZX 700C SpeedGuard Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shearwater
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

1800 miles...

PostedJuly 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Love these tyres,fast yet comfortable!
Rode 1800 miles of Yorkshire roads without a puncture. The rear has developed a 'bulge' and has been replaced,but it has seen every type of weather , and had to contend with differing amounts of rubbish on the roads during the Spring and 'fabulous' summer of 2012.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Schwalbe Ultremo ZX 700C SpeedGuard Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
panos43
Country:Greece
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fast Durable Tyre

PostedJune 7, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I use them two weeks now, and I think this purchase it was a good choice ! They have good grip and they are fast too ! From the first time I got them on my hands I understood that they are good quality tyres, and I would highly recommend them for
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Schwalbe Ultremo ZX 700C SpeedGuard Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
michelle
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great set of tyres

PostedMay 30, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Got these tyres to replaice Kenda Kenetic Tyres that came fitted to my bike on purchase. I had suffered a lot of puctures eventually shreeding one of these tyres. Each puncture was a nightmare as very difficult to refit resulting in blistered thumbs. When the Schwalbe arrived very promptly from Evans I was very impressed with the look of them and after gettting my old tyres off, which was also a struggle I was amazed how easy the ZX was to fit. First ride out on them this morning speed seemed good also grip around corners was impressive and no puincture have had eight in 10 weeks but even if get puncture the ease of fitting the tyre will mean a puncture wont be so traumatic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Schwalbe Ultremo ZX 700C SpeedGuard Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lance7Cotty
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product

PostedMay 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: none
These tyres are brilliant, I have used many types and makes but these are by far the best ever.
Worth getting them
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Schwalbe Ultremo ZX 700C SpeedGuard Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ToddC
Country:France
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Delighted and impressed so far.

PostedApril 21, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, especially good value at evans 'offer' price.
As with one of the other reviewers comments. I too had read some great reviews of these tires in the cycle magazines. I purchased a new bike in the summer of 2011, Specialized Roubaix Comp, fitted with Specialized All condition Elite tires, which have been good for regular riding/training, especially through the winter and I have no complaints about them.
However, I was looking for something that might be a little quicker. So before forking out even larger amounts of money on upgrading the standard wheels fitted to my bike: Fulcrum Racing 6. Again, I have no complaints a good all round riding/training wheel. Having read the cycle magazine reviews and the customer reviews on Evans website I decided to try the Schwalbe Ultremo ZX tires. They seemed to tick all the boxes: good quality from a top manufacturer, lightweight, low rolling resistance and thus faster (hopefully), but still offering some puncture protection.
So far I have not been disappointed. I noticed from the first ride the benefits that I had hoped for. Quicker times on regular training routes with higher average speeds for the same effort as before fitting the Schwalbe ZX. Even climbing seems to be a bit easier. Important to me, as there are a lot of hills in this part of France and I am not a natural climber. Although it does not make me ride any quicker an added bonus is that the Schwalbe Ultremo ZX also look good.
To date, I have not had any major problems with punctures or side wall splits as reported by other reviewers. If it helps anyone I am 1.80m (5-11") and weigh 80kgs (12st-8lbs) and have been riding with tyre pressures at 9 bar (130lbs). The recommended range is 6-10 bar (approx 85-143lbs). At the time of writing this review I have only ridden a few hundred kilometers on these tires so cannot comment on their longer term durability. I am very pleased and satisfied with them thus far. I would certainly buy them again, even at the recommended retail price but especially if 'on offer' from Evans cycles.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Schwalbe Ultremo ZX 700C SpeedGuard Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
olddave
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great tyres what a difference

PostedApril 17, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
bought these as an upgrade, along with fulcrum racing 7 wheels, difference is amazing and so far (about 200 miles) no puncture issues at all. Very pleased
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Schwalbe Ultremo ZX 700C SpeedGuard Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
levers74
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

can recommend tyres

PostedApril 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
good grip in all weathers, low rolling resistance which makes very fast riding.
good value for money with Evans price codes.
delivered in quick time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>