Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Louis Garneau Women's Pro 2011 Triathlon Short

Louis Garneau Women's Pro 2011 Triathlon Short

Delfino Fabric consists of Nylon and Lycra.
Overall rating:
4.444 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
9 out of 9(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Louis Garneau Women's Pro 2011 Triathlon Short
Review 1 for Louis Garneau Women's Pro 2011 Triathlon Short
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
coconutter
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Gateshead

Fantastic

PostedAugust 4, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The shorts are lightweight, very comfortable and great for long rides on the bike. I've yet to run in them but I'm rather impressed so far. I managed to get them very cheap in the sale for only £19.99.
Until recently I used to be a competitive rower training up to 50 hours a week, I wish I had found these shorts for my cycling training.
The sizing is a small fit, I'm a size 12-14 and I got XL and XXL which both fit me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Louis Garneau Women's Pro 2011 Triathlon Short
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
laex
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great shorts for a newbie!

PostedMay 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I bought these shorts for my first triathlon, and have found them to be very comfortable. They're light weight and soft, but really well constructed - I've used them on long bike rides, and they stayed comfortable throughout.
My only problem is that whilst they fit perfectly on my legs, the waist was a little large - I did find that they slipped down when I was running. To provide a little context, I am a shade under 6ft, a size 14 and bought an XXL.
Apart from that, they're super - and will get plenty of use during cycling training, if not for running.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Louis Garneau Women's Pro 2011 Triathlon Short
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Court78
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Victoria

Great product great shop

PostedDecember 22, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is a great product for running then jumping on the bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Louis Garneau Women's Pro 2011 Triathlon Short
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
endorphinseeker
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good fit, comfortable

PostedJuly 21, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Nice high waist but without a tight waist band to cut you in half. I have found the legs a bit narrow/tight around my thighs and am hoping they will stretch a bit with wearing. Good padding and not obstructive when running.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Louis Garneau Women's Pro 2011 Triathlon Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jellybean5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Really comfortable

PostedJuly 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
These shorts look really good on. I have run and cycled in them and they are great for both, and I was impressed at how you hardly notice the padding whilst running.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Louis Garneau Women's Pro 2011 Triathlon Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lorlorz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great shorts

PostedJuly 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought these for triathlon, but wanted to be able to get plenty of use out of them on training rides aswell. So far so good. Done about 300 miles (in total!) ranging from 30 - 50 miles in them and no probs. Love them.
Swam in open water with them under wet suit and they stayed in place when removing wetsuit, and dry quite quick,
Really comfortable, very light. Waist band soft and doesnt cut in.
Warning - come up SMALL. I'm a size 10 (sometimes 12) and bought a large. (got XL in matching top to avoid gap between the two)
Not cheapest around but you get what you pay for!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Louis Garneau Women's Pro 2011 Triathlon Short
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tridyson
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Comfort? Oh yes!!

PostedMay 22, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, in the sale!
Cons: Expensive
I've bought 2 pairs of these shorts now and would describe them as slippers for your backside :-).
The only slight minus was that they tend to want to slide down for the 1st 5/10mins if I use them in a straight running race until I've produced enough sweat to glue them in place. In a tri, they're fine and dandy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Louis Garneau Women's Pro 2011 Triathlon Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meelyd
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Finally I can ride my Ironman in TriShorts!!

PostedMay 1, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I have always suffered 'down below' on my bike, and couldn't race my ironman last year in anything less than a full chamois in bike shorts. This year though thanks to these LG shorts, I can speed my transitions up by racing in these. Comfy chamois. No horrible silicone grippers (which I'm allergic to!) plus a nice thick, but not too tight elastic waistband. Handy pocket, and look REALLY smart.... I might have to buy some more of these :)
Only thing I'd say is they as many Tri clothing come up pretty small. I would normally wear S/M but I needed a L in these.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Louis Garneau Women's Pro 2011 Triathlon Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
brokendevice
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Perfect padding and exceptional comfort

PostedApril 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I spent months trying to find some shorts with minimal padding as I find the normal thick stuff restrictive and uncomfortable.
I have now owned these for several months and think they are the best shorts I could have bought. They work wonderfully over longer distances (I've used them up to 85 miles) and provide just enough protection without being bulky. Fit nicely under tights too. These are triathlon shorts, but I have only used them for cycling. I forget I have padding when I walk around in them, so I imagine running wouldn't be a problem.
The best part about these is the wide and comfortable banding at the bottoms of the legs - not the thin elastic strips which rarely flatter anyone. There is no silicon grip, but I haven't found these to slip at all as they are quite tight.
The wide, slightly shaped waist band is also extremely comfortable. I have wide hips, and it sits at just the right height.
COMPARISON TO OTHER LG SHORTS
Louis Garneau also do an all black version of these shorts (Louis Garneau 2011 Triathlon Power Gripper Short - see 'related products') which doesn't have the wide waistband so is less comfortable.
The main body of the shorts is a very thin, lightweight stretchy material (almost like a mesh) but very comfortable. In comparison, the Triathlon Power Gripper Shorts are make of a more thicker lycra-type material all over.
The pad in both shorts is the same (see photo)
- Very thin foam material; 3mm?
- Very soft material with non rubbing stitching all the way around
- Conforms to my body and saddle shape perfectly
- Little perforations to help air flow
The 'Louis Garneau Women's Elite Lazer Tek 2011 Triathlon Short' also have the same pad, and are similar to these in every way, but aren't any better (in fact, I found them less appealing due to the fabric choices), but they do have an even more comfortable shaped and thick waistband.
SIZING
These come up -tiny-! I had to order XL/XXL and am a size 14 on the hips! Other than than being way out with the stated, they seem to fit me very well.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.