Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Louis Garneau Vorttice Helmet

Louis Garneau Vorttice Helmet

When the cyclist is riding straight forward, the air must change direction to skirt around the helmet. This creates a high pressure zone in front of the helmet making it the perfect place to position the vent. Air goes in at high speed, moves around the head through internal evacuation channels and exits at the back opening. Heat produced by the cyclist's head is then wicked out through the back. Designed to improve aerodynamic performance, the Vorttice lens is ventilated and included with the helmet. The shape of the helmet, air intake system and vortex generator prove to be exceptional at managing winds from all directions allowing athletes to go faster while spending less energy.
Overall rating:
4.1 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
18 out of 20(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer reviews for Louis Garneau Vorttice Helmet
Review 1 for Louis Garneau Vorttice Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
McStopgap
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Light, comfortable and fast.

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I used it on my regular 20k route and it was over a minute faster than my previous best time - It's hard to believe that it's all down to the helmet...but...same bike / same person / same clothes and no great variation in weather conditions. Weird.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Petemadog
 
Please wait while more information about Petemadog is loaded.
Additional information about Petemadog could not be loaded.
Posted October 15, 2013
So why only 4 stars?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 2 for Louis Garneau Vorttice Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PhilO69
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Absolutely delighted with the new Louis Garneau. The day after it arrived I did my best IVCA 10 TT since 1980's!!!
The following week I did my best IVCA 25 since the same period.
Of course I'd like to think that the times are down to hard work training but Louis Garneau maybe played a part.
IVCA Vet, age 69.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Louis Garneau Vorttice Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Look586
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A super piece of kit

PostedDecember 22, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Looks like a super piece of kit; admittedly I haven’t used it yet, as it the off season, but initial inspection indicates a well made and comfortable helmet. My purchase was based on a recommendation from a fellow competitor and so far have not been disappointed, and am looking forward to trying it out soon.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Louis Garneau Vorttice Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rider21

PostedNovember 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Great quality, beautiful design, definitely a good value for money
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Louis Garneau Vorttice Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dillan
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfortable, quiet, stylish & very aero.

PostedOctober 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: no extra padding, only clear visor included
A really nice aero helmet. My old Giro aero helmet is tight around the ears (which gets very uncomfortable on long distance races), is very noisey & doesn't have a visor which means fumbling around with sunglasses in transition and usually results in poor visibility. This LG helmet is a dream by comparison...very light, very comfortable, well ventilated, feels very aero, has no road noise (unless you turn your head to the side) and the visor means perfect vision & a qiucker transition for triathletes. My only niggles are the fact that it comes with a clear visor & it costs about £50 to buy a far more useful smoked one and that there are no extra pads for fine-tuning the fit. My head is very small and even with the dial right in the helmet was still a bit loose so I have had to butcher some old padding to make it fit right. I would have expected a little more at this price.
All in all though I would definitely recommend this helmet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Louis Garneau Vorttice Helmet
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Younghutch
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Overall a comfortable helmet.

PostedAugust 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
The sizing appears to be on the big size. I had to put a couple of extra pads in the back to make it snug and not wobble about. The visor is great but soon scratches along the top edge, where it contacts the helmet when pulled down, due to it vibrating in the wind. This can be cured with a small piece of adhesive insulting foam stuck to the top edge of the visor. Despite these minor points, a good helmet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Louis Garneau Vorttice Helmet
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Harry80
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fulham

Faulty visor & very warm

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: scratched visor, hot
I used this recently at Ironman Austria & noticed the following:
1. Raising & lowering the visor leads to the front lip of the helmet scratching the inside of the visor just above the nose piece. This is a stunning design flaw for such an expensive helmet and I shall be taking my helmet back to Evans for a new visor or a complete replacement.
2. The helmet still retains a great deal of heat despite the much vaunted vent system. IM Austria this year was unusually hot & by the 2nd lap I had to resort to actually squirting water through the forehead vent in an attempt to cool down. A quarter of the field didn't finish the race, so there's a chance that I am being unfair on the helmet due to the extreme heat.
3. The helmet itself is chunkier (but not necessarily heavier) than competitors (there were many other designs to observe at the race). Whether or not its aero design made a difference to my speed - it's tough to tell as there was a full 34 min difference between my laps.
Overall, not a bad helmet if a) you don't ride in a hot country, b) you compare the price to other aero helmets (it's one of the better priced ones), c) Louis Garneau can sort out the visor design flaw.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Louis Garneau Vorttice Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graham33
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent helmet, good fit and comfortable.

PostedJune 25, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I raced Ironman Regensburg which at times was windy and hit 30 degrees Celcius. There was no buffeting of the helmet in the wind and the vents provided enough air to keep my head cool. Over the 180km's the helmet didn't feel heavy and when in aero position it felt better than my Specialised Prevail helmet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Louis Garneau Vorttice Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RunningBezz

PostedJune 15, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Comfortable, and so far cooling channel appears to work well. Although extra weight over my normal road helmet is noticable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Louis Garneau Vorttice Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
azurblauw
Country:Belgium
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A pretty nice helmet

PostedJune 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: visor is transparent
Looks great , and fits well. It' s has a bulbous profile seems to be very aero. I used it already in hot conditions 29° and a long ride 150 km, you are not toasted inside.
Side flaps are flexible for easy entry and a snug fit agains your face.
One minor point is the visor, I prefere a mirror or daker one. You can remove easiy the visor and replace it .
Overall, for me comfortable and aero helmet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Louis Garneau Vorttice Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hopclass
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Well worth the money

PostedMay 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
The Vorttice is a genuine aero helmet, it gives you a comfortable aero postion. A great venting system to keep you cool. You have to keep in the aero postion at all times the air around the helmet soon lets you know if you are out of postion. Well worth the money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Louis Garneau Vorttice Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mathew66
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great TT helmet

PostedMay 23, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The first TT helmet i have owned and it's a beauty. The thing is it looks amazing and it performs well in all conditions, I can say I have tried it in all weathers!! I bought the large one first which was to big for my head and my head messure 59, the medium fits like a glove perfect for TT's and triathlons.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Louis Garneau Vorttice Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
chilli
from north west
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

expensive but good

PostedAugust 22, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
have used helmet a few times as a relacement for my previous TT hat as found end too long which acts like a sail in wind if you move your head too much
It is more expensive than most but keeps head cool which was my issue with previous helmet and sits well in tuck position
Gives a whistling sound if you move your head out of positionso vortices and dimples must work ??
The visor is a bit flimsy but works quite effectively , i had to stick piece on back of evac channel as was loose easier to do than mess around getting a replacement
Overall pleased with .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Louis Garneau Vorttice Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cossy3
from Yorkshire
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fantastic Helmet

PostedJuly 29, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Fast helmet and extremely light. No wind buffeting as the visor pushes air around the sides or over the top of the helmet. Very comfy with good cooling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Louis Garneau Vorttice Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Biaggi

Nice lid.....

PostedJuly 21, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Seems well made, relatively and cools nicely.
You feel like you're wearing a big golf ball but needs must!
I'm usually a medium but had to get a large. The fit of the medium seemed very small.
Re the adjustment dial - there's some comments around regarding this being inaccessible and inside the rear 'tunnel'. It was on the medium once on my head, but not on the large. I guess it's size related but once adjusted I haven't had to adjust on the move anyway.
This combined with a sllghtly better front wheel helped contribute to a 3min gain on my last Duathlon. Nice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Louis Garneau Vorttice Helmet
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
IronMark
from Northants plus international triathlons
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Shame Poor quality will disqual you

PostedJuly 14, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: Poor quality
Helmet looked fantastic was comfortable but at the end of day it needs to pass the marshal's test. The plastic outer shell had become unstuck (after one wearing) from the polystyrene inner, so much so it was flapping around. The marshals at Roth Challenge were confiscating helmets in this condition because they were considered defective.
On examination I could see that the shell was not well finished or stuck flush and firmly to the polystyrene inner.
My advice is you cannot risk turning up to find your helmet is not in good enough condition to ride. For this money you expect better quality
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Louis Garneau Vorttice Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
VillageIdiot
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

first tt

PostedJune 29, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality
I got this helmet first off because of it looks, shallow i know but its how we meet up with our first girlfriends. The helmets a good fit and i like the way unlike other tt helmets if you turn your head to a side you not going to poke someones eye out as its only just a bit longer than a normal bike helmet.
Performance, only had time so far to do 1 run and it took about 1:30 mins off my best time on a 10k route i do . However it would have been faster but part of the helmet evacuation channel fell off. Its an important part of the helmet and felt a bit weak before i went out and i knew it had fallen off before it hit the ground as the flow of air went straight down my back and not over the top . So bit of a question mark about build quality .
Overall happy
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Louis Garneau Vorttice Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Abby

Happy with purchase

PostedJune 15, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, highly aero
Cons: Expensive
Cleverly designed: air intake at front - important for cooling on hotter days (I havent overheated yet on 40k rides), highly smooth surface with golf ball style dimples, incorporated detachable visor (keep screwdriver handy in box!), easy to remove in transition. The visor has not steamed up. Comfortable helmet, would appear to provide excellent protection - not tested that bit yet!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Louis Garneau Vorttice Helmet
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Chr15B
from Yorkshire
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Returned

PostedJune 7, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, Uncomfortable
The helmet itself feels very robust and I have no doubt would protect you in the event of a crash, which is, of course, its primary function. And I also have little doubt that it is very aero.
However, the way it fits to your head is a bit odd. The hard outer of the helmet seems to 'float' on the internal straps. So although your head is firmly held by the straps, the helmet itslef can move relative to your head - a bit like the head on a nodding dog. The movement is only slight, but it definitely feels like it is bobbling when your head moves.
I personally found this very off-putting and would prefer the helmet to move when my head moves, not follow a split second behind, so I returned the item.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Louis Garneau Vorttice Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mooks
from Cardiff
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fast and Cool

PostedJune 7, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: hard to adjust fit on the move
Comfortable, good cooling, easy to get on and off.
The visor works well and I have seen a definite increase in mph over my usual courses.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.