Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mudguards or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Bontrager NCS Road Mudguards

Bontrager NCS Road Mudguards

Overall rating:
4.455 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
20 out of 22(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
25 Questions | 40 Answers
Customer reviews for Bontrager NCS Road Mudguards
Review 1 for Bontrager NCS Road Mudguards
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pepsimcm
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great mudguards easy to fit, even over disc brakes

PostedNovember 12, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Great mudguards, easy to fit, even over disc brakes, I have a Cannondale with dual disks and these fitted easily.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bontrager NCS Road Mudguards
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pde2000
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

quality

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, adjustable
Cons: Expensive
i am a loyal esge (sks) customer of over 30 years, but the new mounting kit is fiddly, so I got the bontrager, which is easy to adjust. perfect, should last for ever, just like the sks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bontrager NCS Road Mudguards
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trekker999
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Look good but poor instructions

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Bought these from Lakeside, staff very helpful. Got home and spent the next two hours trying to get them to fit. They are described as fairly universal but my Trek Domane was the exception. Not only did I need to bend the metal stays to fit the QR, I also has to enlarge the brake attachment to ensure the mudguard did not rub. Finally they are on. Lets hope it rains tomorrow.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bontrager NCS Road Mudguards
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
kate14

This product performs as I had hoped.

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Looks good, keeps the spray off me and fits well. Just what I would hope for in a mudguard.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bontrager NCS Road Mudguards
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
JM1968
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

These are the worst thing about riding my bike

PostedAugust 22, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: keep water off you, people hear you coming a long way off
Cons: Expensive, noisy
I bought these with my Pinnacle Arkose bike a few months back. The shop didn't have a huge selection of mudguards and the guy in the shop said they were good, and they certainly kep the mud off, but they are a nightmare to ride with. They rattle incessantly, no matter how you try to adjust them. I'm so sorry I didn't take them straight back to the shop and get a replacement, but perhaps not so easy to do when you've used them. Never, ever buy these mudguards. For the price, they are a disgrace and I hope Evans don't get them back in stock.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bontrager NCS Road Mudguards
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mogwai2

PostedJune 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
The mud guards were already fitted when I picked up my new bike. They look like they belong rather than and added extra and I'm very pleased with them. They fit securely and are definitely stylish. A great product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bontrager NCS Road Mudguards
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
abberuk
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Bristol

Does the job

PostedMay 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
These are the first set of mudguards I've had, after years of getting soaked by the spray from my tyres I thought it was time for a change. They do seem to do the job, I've had a few really rainy days since I've had them and the back of my coat and bag have been relatively clean still when I get home. A noticeable improvement from not having any. They are black, the same colour as my bike so they look quite cool. However they are quite chunky and I'm having to get used to the slight rattling as I'm not used to having things attached to my bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bontrager NCS Road Mudguards
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simonpz
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality,light mudguards

PostedMay 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
It took me a lot longer than the "a few minutes" ,as advertised on the mudguards instructions,to fit .However,once in place they look great,and the quality is better than i expected,nice thick plastic.
There is plenty of adjustment,and they seem pretty robust.
They were also very well packaged,in plastic and cardboard.
I would certainly recommend these.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bontrager NCS Road Mudguards
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
3speeding
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect fit is easily achievable

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Perfect fit is easily achievable due to the fully adjustable stays on the mudguards. I also like the opportunity to use these mudguards on a different bike due to the adjustability.
These mudguards are tough yet light. They do not wobble about or interfere with the bike wheels as you stand up to aggressively gain speed by push the peddles and swinging the bike form side to side.
Altogether nice piece of kit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bontrager NCS Road Mudguards
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TrekSoho
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Excellent Mudguards

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
I got these for my hybrid Trek bike as I read previous reviews & the tyres & other accessories are all Bontrager. Great fit & quality, keep practically all splashes off!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bontrager NCS Road Mudguards
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
stuart1981

Tedious!

PostedNovember 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Rear mudguard fits great, no issues but a little fiddly getting it to sit right with no rubbing when the wheel is turning. Front mudguard is a very different scenario. There is not a lot of clearance for the fitting that sits inside the mudguard. It is hard up against the tyre. I have modified the bracket but now there are only 2 threads in each hole holding the bracket to the front mudguard. I have also chopped the bracket so it sits more inside the curvature of the mudguard. Overall, a little disappointed and will look at making a new bracket to hold the mudguard in place. Nothing actually wrong with the product, there is just not a lot of space on my CAAD8 to allow it to fit. It looks good though when all assembled.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bontrager NCS Road Mudguards
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Berka15
Country:Sweden
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very pleased with this purchase

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
These fenders were easy to assemble. They are stable, effective and actually quite stylish on my bike
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bontrager NCS Road Mudguards
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stewart
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

Work well looks great

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought this product to go with my new Trek 7.7fx which looks great on my bike. This for sure stops most water from getting my clothing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bontrager NCS Road Mudguards
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Lancsman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Difficult to fit

PostedJune 23, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Having spent over an hour and a half trying to get these mudguards fitted, I had to eventually give up after the heavens opened up. Whilst there wasn't a problem getting them on, trying to position them so they wouldn't rub against the wheels proved extremely difficult. Will have another go when I get chance but not overly optimistic.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bontrager NCS Road Mudguards
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
panther918
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Just the job!

PostedMarch 29, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I had been looking for some form of protection for a while for my Trek hybrid. I had tried clip ons, but they seemed flimsy and I kept knocking the rear mudguard when getting on an off the bike. Also I couldn't find a suitable clip on front mudguard that would fit.
I had tended not to look at full mudguards, as I felt they where a bit 'old fashioned', and not 'cool'. However these look great, and do the job very well. They are easily adjustable, so would fit most bikes, and they come with all the fixings.
They are lightweight, and very sturdy when fitted. Thoroughly recommended!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bontrager NCS Road Mudguards
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hambone
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crouch End

Excellent fit/Quality

PostedMarch 21, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Ideal for bikes with disc brakes. I have them on my Jamis Coda Elite. No bending or cutting of struts.They are very adjustable which makes them easy to fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bontrager NCS Road Mudguards
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
giant1
from united kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good quality relatively easy to install

PostedJanuary 23, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
a good quality mudguard that is fairly easy to install and easily adjustable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Bontrager NCS Road Mudguards
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RosieBoy
from Cumbria
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Solid

PostedOctober 7, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, sturdy
They seem really well made, robust plastic but still flexible enough to absorb any knocks. All metal parts are stainless steel. Easy to fit with no sharp spiky bits sticking out and nothing needing to be cut off. I am expecting that these will last several years without causing any problems.
Recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Bontrager NCS Road Mudguards
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bboy
from Surrey
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to fit, good durable product

PostedSeptember 28, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I've used SKS mudguards for a number of years on my commuter bike. The SKS product has worked well but I find after 6 months of commuting on pot-holed roads the SKS guards end up breaking. So I thought it would try an alternative.
If anyone has had the pleasure of fitting a SKS mudguard you'll know the difficulty of 'customising' them to fit your frame - the Bontrager guards on the other hand were much easier to fit, no cutting of the guards were required to get them in place. The adjustable stays are also very easy to adjust and result in a perfectly snug fit.
Like other reviewers have said the adjustment system is not the prettiest, but it is certainly the easiest.
The guards seem very robust and they look great on the bike. I would highly recommend this product to anyone looking to stay dry on the road over the winter months.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Bontrager NCS Road Mudguards
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dutchie76
from Near Glasgow
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

It's all good

PostedSeptember 19, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
The adjustment mechanism is not the prettiest, but apart from that these are good looking mudguards that feel like quality. The flaps at the bottom make a big difference and seem more robust than the soft rubber mudflaps you get on some other mudguards. Easy to fit and adjust, it's all good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Dutchie76
 
Please wait while more information about Dutchie76 is loaded.
Additional information about Dutchie76 could not be loaded.
Bracket broke
Posted November 11, 2012
Update: the bracket that holds the mudguard at the rear brake was always a bit loose and rattly. I tried fixing this with various rubber inserts and tape but nothing really helped. A few weeks ago the rattling got worse and coming home i found that the bracket had snapped off entirely. These mudguards have done maybe 1000 miles. So not all good anymore for me!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
1 2 next>>