Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mudguards or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Bontrager NCS Road Mudguards

Bontrager NCS Road Mudguards

Overall rating:
4.379 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 29 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
26 out of 29(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
29 Questions | 46 Answers
Customer reviews for Bontrager NCS Road Mudguards
Review 1 for Bontrager NCS Road Mudguards
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pepsimcm
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great mudguards easy to fit, even over disc brakes

PostedNovember 12, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Great mudguards, easy to fit, even over disc brakes, I have a Cannondale with dual disks and these fitted easily.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bontrager NCS Road Mudguards
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
70psi
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

tricky to fit

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
These mudguards are light and look good on the bike. However my Trek 7.4 disc bike had a larger diameter bolt thread on the front fork than on the rear of the frame. The bolts supplied with the mudguards did not fit the front however I managed to find a suitable bolt which did the job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bontrager NCS Road Mudguards
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RodrigoLondres

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Unattractive
Mudguards, they are not the nicest one when you seem them all installed but they are good value and decent quality, I think the installation was a bit over priced though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bontrager NCS Road Mudguards
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jacey
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chalk Farm

needed these for the new Hoy bike

PostedJune 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
again, the hoy is a nice bike, but as a hybrid which I use for commute, needs mudguards since I don't wanna get to work with mud/oil/strips up my front and back, and these are the right ones to go on it...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bontrager NCS Road Mudguards
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
MontagueA8
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:York

Easy to fit.

PostedMay 27, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, easy adjustment
Cons: Unattractive, not rigid
These guards are very quick and simple to fit.
They are not as rigid as the SKS product and the front guard even more so, only having a a single stay. The plus of this is that it is easy to fit with a disc brake. The double stays adsjustment system is again easy to use but not elegant to look at.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bontrager NCS Road Mudguards
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
24Nick
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Keeping The Spray at Bay

PostedMay 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, easy to install
Fitted these to my Kona Dr Dew with 32c tyres. The fitting was relatively straight forward and fortunately my bike had all the right eyelets in the correct places. Once on and adjusted (another simple process) the mudguards look terrific and do their job well. They are very light and add no noticeable weight to the bike. Yet to find out how long they will last of course but for the moment they are keeping the spray at bay just as I wanted.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bontrager NCS Road Mudguards
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sib2004
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

EASY TO FIT-LOOKS FANTASTIC

PostedApril 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: minor adjustment needed
ok, so i did loads of research about mudguards as i needed them to fit onto my Norco CX disc brake bike for my commuting. many mudguards get poor reviews for fit & adjustment but i finally plumped for these and so glad i did.
slightly nervous about fitting them, even the helpful chap in store (manchester chill factor) said they'd need some bending to accomodate the disc caliper. so i got the tool box at the ready and began......20-30 mins later, all done!! so easy, yes i did have to make one minor bend in the steel (which i did with my hand, no special tool needed!) to go round the rear caliper but otherwise very very simple to fit and very good adjustability to get the perfect fit.
also they look really good, pretty much blending into the black frame and tyres!
overall glad i bought these and kinda looking forward to some torrential rain now to try them out properly!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bontrager NCS Road Mudguards
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Heroutdoors59
Country:United Kingdom

Functional, but chunky stays.

PostedApril 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Colour (black) suited the white frame of my bike. Stays give plenty of adjustment, but look a bit chunky.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bontrager NCS Road Mudguards
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pde2000
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

quality

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, adjustable
Cons: Expensive
i am a loyal esge (sks) customer of over 30 years, but the new mounting kit is fiddly, so I got the bontrager, which is easy to adjust. perfect, should last for ever, just like the sks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bontrager NCS Road Mudguards
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trekker999
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Look good but poor instructions

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Bought these from Lakeside, staff very helpful. Got home and spent the next two hours trying to get them to fit. They are described as fairly universal but my Trek Domane was the exception. Not only did I need to bend the metal stays to fit the QR, I also has to enlarge the brake attachment to ensure the mudguard did not rub. Finally they are on. Lets hope it rains tomorrow.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bontrager NCS Road Mudguards
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
kate14

This product performs as I had hoped.

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Looks good, keeps the spray off me and fits well. Just what I would hope for in a mudguard.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bontrager NCS Road Mudguards
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
JM1968
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

These are the worst thing about riding my bike

PostedAugust 22, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: keep water off you, people hear you coming a long way off
Cons: Expensive, noisy
I bought these with my Pinnacle Arkose bike a few months back. The shop didn't have a huge selection of mudguards and the guy in the shop said they were good, and they certainly kep the mud off, but they are a nightmare to ride with. They rattle incessantly, no matter how you try to adjust them. I'm so sorry I didn't take them straight back to the shop and get a replacement, but perhaps not so easy to do when you've used them. Never, ever buy these mudguards. For the price, they are a disgrace and I hope Evans don't get them back in stock.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bontrager NCS Road Mudguards
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mogwai2

PostedJune 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
The mud guards were already fitted when I picked up my new bike. They look like they belong rather than and added extra and I'm very pleased with them. They fit securely and are definitely stylish. A great product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bontrager NCS Road Mudguards
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
abberuk
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Bristol

Does the job

PostedMay 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
These are the first set of mudguards I've had, after years of getting soaked by the spray from my tyres I thought it was time for a change. They do seem to do the job, I've had a few really rainy days since I've had them and the back of my coat and bag have been relatively clean still when I get home. A noticeable improvement from not having any. They are black, the same colour as my bike so they look quite cool. However they are quite chunky and I'm having to get used to the slight rattling as I'm not used to having things attached to my bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bontrager NCS Road Mudguards
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simonpz
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality,light mudguards

PostedMay 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
It took me a lot longer than the "a few minutes" ,as advertised on the mudguards instructions,to fit .However,once in place they look great,and the quality is better than i expected,nice thick plastic.
There is plenty of adjustment,and they seem pretty robust.
They were also very well packaged,in plastic and cardboard.
I would certainly recommend these.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bontrager NCS Road Mudguards
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
3speeding
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect fit is easily achievable

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Perfect fit is easily achievable due to the fully adjustable stays on the mudguards. I also like the opportunity to use these mudguards on a different bike due to the adjustability.
These mudguards are tough yet light. They do not wobble about or interfere with the bike wheels as you stand up to aggressively gain speed by push the peddles and swinging the bike form side to side.
Altogether nice piece of kit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bontrager NCS Road Mudguards
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TrekSoho
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Excellent Mudguards

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
I got these for my hybrid Trek bike as I read previous reviews & the tyres & other accessories are all Bontrager. Great fit & quality, keep practically all splashes off!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Bontrager NCS Road Mudguards
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
stuart1981

Tedious!

PostedNovember 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Rear mudguard fits great, no issues but a little fiddly getting it to sit right with no rubbing when the wheel is turning. Front mudguard is a very different scenario. There is not a lot of clearance for the fitting that sits inside the mudguard. It is hard up against the tyre. I have modified the bracket but now there are only 2 threads in each hole holding the bracket to the front mudguard. I have also chopped the bracket so it sits more inside the curvature of the mudguard. Overall, a little disappointed and will look at making a new bracket to hold the mudguard in place. Nothing actually wrong with the product, there is just not a lot of space on my CAAD8 to allow it to fit. It looks good though when all assembled.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Bontrager NCS Road Mudguards
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Berka15
Country:Sweden
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very pleased with this purchase

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
These fenders were easy to assemble. They are stable, effective and actually quite stylish on my bike
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Bontrager NCS Road Mudguards
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stewart
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

Work well looks great

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought this product to go with my new Trek 7.7fx which looks great on my bike. This for sure stops most water from getting my clothing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>