Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Backpacks & Bags or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Deuter Cross Bike 18L Bike Backpack

Deuter Cross Bike 18L Bike Backpack

Overall rating:
4.364 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
10 out of 11(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for Deuter Cross Bike 18L Bike Backpack
Review 1 for Deuter Cross Bike 18L Bike Backpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jeroen58
Country:Holland
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice fit and plenty of room

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Very nice backpack. Good fit, very light enough room for commuting or a day trip
My Platypus 2.5l fits OK
I am looking forward to my C2C holiday this summer!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Deuter Cross Bike 18L Bike Backpack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
LeeG
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent quality

PostedSeptember 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
a great quality product, that fits well and is very comfortable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Deuter Cross Bike 18L Bike Backpack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JC72
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Roomier than it looks

PostedSeptember 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
A great backpack, light and compact, but can carry my laptop and clothes for the days work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Deuter Cross Bike 18L Bike Backpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Asas
Country:Lithuania
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedAugust 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The bag is perfect for my needs. My daily commute is about 13km each way to work/home, so the bag lets my back breath long enough not to become too sweaty. The bag itself fits basic repair kit, lunch and spare clothes for work.
The bag is comfortable and waterproof bag already saved me couple of times.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Deuter Cross Bike 18L Bike Backpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jimw79
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great commuter bag

PostedAugust 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Not a massive bag, but big enough to fit laptop. Been caught in a couple of torrential downpours already and the high vis waterproof cover kept everything inside dry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Deuter Cross Bike 18L Bike Backpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MartQBlank
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great lightweight pack for general use.

PostedJune 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, helmet holder
Decided to treat myself as, prior to this, I was either using a heavy Eastpak backpack (which was really too big for what I needed) or a light Nike drawstring bag, which would cut into your shoulders if there was a moderate weight in it. The mentioned bags were both dark colours, so I went for the red one to give me a bit more visibility when out.
It's a perfect size and shape. I've been able to fit the necessities in it without problem and it's neither to stuffed that it's bulging, nor so under packed that everything just gathers in the bottom and it sways on your back.
In the main compartment, I've had a long sleeved (thermal/winter) Nike running jacket, as well as a medium sized bento box and a 185cm coiled chain lock and there was still a room left in and it was very comfortable on the back. The helmet holder on the back is fantastic too and, when I was selecting the backpack, it was one of the main reasons for deciding on this one. When you don't have a helmet in, it's a great place to stow a jacket for almost instant access to it.
Despite the air channel, I still had a slightly sweaty back. To be honest, I'd expect that anyway, mainly because I'm a fairly upright rider so there may not be as much air filtering through, but there was no visible patches on my shirt. It nowhere near as bad as when I've used the above mentioned packs. I probably sweat more on my back just wearing a jacket in a warm car!
It's good value, in comparison to other packs on the market. But it was still quite expensive for what is basically a backpack. I would still recommend it to anyone in the market for one though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Deuter Cross Bike 18L Bike Backpack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Keca

Comfortable, good size

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
A comfortable bag and good size so it can hold a lot, but the outside straps mean you can compress it so it's not too bulky. I would find it helpful if the large compartment was divided into two so it was easier to organise my stuff but otherwise no complaints.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Deuter Cross Bike 18L Bike Backpack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
banana12
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Just what I was looking for

PostedDecember 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Arrived promptly. Very good quality and does the job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Deuter Cross Bike 18L Bike Backpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EugeneBis
Country:Kazakhstan
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good choice

PostedJuly 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Beatuful rucksack! All in - bag for helmet, various volume, 2 mesh pockets, place for camelback, rain coat, many different pockets with zip. Very light and visible. Best choice for these money!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Deuter Cross Bike 18L Bike Backpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AngryBadger
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Backpack

PostedJuly 7, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I've had mine since Aug 2011 and I'm very pleased with it. I use it both as my daily 'work' bag and also when I go biking 'lite'. If I have a lot of stuff to carry then I use my Deuter Transalpine 30L.
This 18L bag has very convenient pockets; a medium zipped one inside on the back and two more on the front (one inside the other). I put valuables inside the internal pocket and tools / misc items in the others.
Build quality appears to me to be very good (subjective opinion as I don't have experience of other brands at this price point).
There's a useful dayglo rain cover tucked away in an external pocket at the bottom of the bag (I didn't realize this for a long time and kept tying my work hi-viz jacket to the back pack when cycling to work!).
Two mesh bottle holders on the sides are useful for keeping my Lucozade in, (pockets seem a bit short but nothing has fallen out yet).
The straps are nice and comfy and the helmet holder works when I need to stow my Bern helmet. I agree with the other reviewer that it would be nice to be able to remove the helmet holder if not required - it has to be opened / closed when you want to open the main bag. Only takes a couple of seconds however.
I like my Deuter Cross Bike bag and bought the Transalpine 30L as well based on the quality of this one.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Deuter Cross Bike 18L Bike Backpack
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
MickeyP
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Not great

PostedJune 29, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: poor ventilation
A good looking, lightweight backpack. At 18L just the right size for all that is needed on your daily commute or bike ride. Not so sure about the permanently attached helmet holder though, as I feel this should be stowed away and attached only when needed. Unfortunately the ventilation system allows part of rucksack to come into contact with your back and therefore isn't very effective.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.