Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Osprey Momentum 26 Pack

Osprey Momentum 26 Pack

Overall rating:
4.357 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
13 out of 14(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for Osprey Momentum 26 Pack
Review 1 for Osprey Momentum 26 Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
whhenson
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fantastic Bag - Well worth the cash

Posted11 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
After a good number of years of using cheaper bags, I finally convinced myself to fork out the extra cash to go for something a little more robust and with better ergonomics/features etc since I would be doing a lot of commuting this year.
I have been so impressed with this bag. I wear it for 10+ hours a week in my commute and very often lots more at the weekends as I travel a lot. Here are a few things I think make the bag really worth the extra cash:
I find it very comfortable even with heavier loads as the straps are designed with effective weight distribution in mind.
It is easy to pack thanks to the placement of the zips on all compartments.
Even without the rain cover it has proven to be reasonably rainproof, completely so with the cover.
The light clip is very sturdy and holds the light upright in the correct position.
The strap pockets are invaluable and an added post-purchase bonus was that the pocket on the right strap has an extendable keyring in. Perfect for securing your keys whilst allowing you to unlock doors etc.
The bag comes with a lifetime guarantee from Osprey.
The helmet LidLock is really quick and secure, so handy as a helmet is one of those awkward things to carry that you definitely don't want to be bashing around.
The expandable volume of the bag is great and so quick.
The zip away rain cover is really convenient.
I would definitely recommend this bag.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Osprey Momentum 26 Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
taj360

Great bag - no complaints

Posted11 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Fits a 15.6 inch lappy nicely and comfy when packed right!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Osprey Momentum 26 Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Phil99
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great bag!

Posted02 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Brought this bag for my commute to work and wanted something that specifically housed a laptop. First impressions are that it is a great picec of kit!
Plenty of pockets to keep things in and ample room for files / clothes. Particularly love the helmet holder and the way you can hide the straps.
The back of the bag is quite firm and takes a little adjusting to get comfortable whilst riding if you arch your back a lot but other than that, its great!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Osprey Momentum 26 Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RichG5412
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent pack, brilliant stowage features

Posted29 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: big
Bought for daily commute involving 2 cycles and a train ride each way. Wanted a bag with lots of pockets to arrange gear. Laptop section is a bonus - reckon it will take a hydration bladder too with the hose poking out between double zips for mountain biking.
But to be honest it was the extendable key fob that did it for me - appealed to my inner geek and ensured I never lose my keys and leave my bike locked outside work/on a train to Nottingham.
Agree with other comments that padding on the back isn't the most comfy when books/files/laptop included. But they're all flat and hard, so kinda hard to see how Osprey could have done it better. The physical size of the bag is also larger than I was expecting - sometimes when looking over my shoulder to check for traffic behind as I ride, I see the bag peering back at me. Could be remedied by loosening straps.
On the plus side, shoulder straps are so comfy that with a heavy load, it still feels lighter than my 10l Deuter with its plastic straps.
Other pluses - 26l expands to 31l with compression zip undone, so save yourself some cash and buy the small instead of large.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Osprey Momentum 26 Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
marshall137
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Well built lightweight bag with lots of features

Posted02 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is a really good bag and you can tell that it has been well made. It has a great feature where you can fold away the straps and then carry the bag like you would a suitcase. Back support is strong and the built in rain cover is quick and easy to put on. Lots of storage pockets and I like that you can extend the volume of the bag by unzipping it.
The zips do seem a little fragile so I hope they do hold out.
Overall very good and I would recommend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Osprey Momentum 26 Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JKDragoon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Great features, good size and comfortable

Posted27 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, useful extra features
Took a while to decide between the Momentum 26L or Escapist 30L.
In the end, I was too inpatient to wait for stock for the Escapist and went with the Momentum. Have not looked back since... GREAT BAG!
Main compartment provides a hefty amount of space for carrying a change of clothes + shoes (and also useful for small grocery trips. There are useful pockets for bike pumps and other things as well. The bag can be expanded with side straps to keep everything tight on your back.
In addition, there's a back compartment for a laptop/files if you want to keep things separated.
Useful features...
- The front pocket fits a U-Lock + Flex-cable easily; no need to reopen the main compartment and have everything pour out.
- Zippered compartments on the straps for keys/mobile phone, so they don't rattle in your pocket as you commute to and from work
- Helmet clip is a real life-saver if you don't want to juggle all your bike gear whilst walking around.
- Rain cover included in the base of the bag so you don't need to fork out extra cash for an Osprey cover.
Overall, excellent product and highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Osprey Momentum 26 Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GTS81
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good commuting pack.

Posted18 March 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Very good pack, plenty of space for spare set of gear, along with good protection for laptops etc.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Osprey Momentum 26 Pack
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
stevep3156

Lots of space but uncomfortable

Posted14 March 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive, Uncomfortable
Very well thought out in terms of internal storage & overall design, it took my laptop, change of clothes, lunch & tools easily, & still had room to spare without expanding the extra compartment.
However, I found it extremely uncomfortable, the back panel feels very stiff & unsupportive, almost like cardboard. Very little ventilation, & the horizontal ridges going across the panel ended up rubbing against my spine.
In fact it was so uncomfortable it gave me backache & I ended up taking it back for a refund...for an expensive rucksack designed to take a lot of weight I found this back support panel very disappointing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Osprey Momentum 26 Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
spswain1
from Korea
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Awesome bag!

Posted27 December 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, loads of features!
This is a great day sack. I use it for cycling and for walking in the mountains and around the city.
It's a high price to pay for a day sack but having used an Osprey while trekking around the Nepalese Everest region, I knew it would be comfortable, well made and packed with logical feature additions...it really is!
Highly recommended.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Osprey Momentum 26 Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mikie
from Hertfordshire
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Momentum Pack

Posted18 October 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Great commuting pack, well made and comfortable. Full zip opening to the bottom of the pack for the main compartment would make access and laying folded clothes in easier.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Osprey Momentum 26 Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
northlondon
from London 365-day commuter
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great commuter pack

Posted19 September 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy, strenum strap gets in the way
If you need to lug more than a laptop and a clean shirt then this is the bag for you.
Congratulations to Evans - it seems that they're the only retailer in the UK to carry the whole Momentum/Metron range *in stock*.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Osprey Momentum 26 Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lilgazz
from Halifax
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Awesome prize!

Posted24 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
I won a backpack with Evans who sent me this in yellow!
I commute about 8 miles uphill with fast downhills, this pack feels really secure with the weight evenly spread. It is packed with great features like the built in reflective raincover and handy mp3 pocket on the strap..... Would highly recommend this product and would have readily paid £70.00
for it......thank you Evans
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Osprey Momentum 26 Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Livse
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Very nice pack - very big though

Posted07 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Uncomfortable
I think it is a very good pack, with lots of great features, pockets, helmet lock an stuff.
But be aware that it is a very large pack, and the padding at the back is very stiff and will not form after your body. I bought M/L wich is way ti big for me - but apart from that it is a great pack. (I added uncomfortable as a con, but I don't know if it is when you have the right size).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Osprey Momentum 26 Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous

Big Thanks

Posted17 May 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Thanks to the guys at Evans, thy delivered the bag well within the delivery timeframe and at the best price online.
I'm certain this is the best deal I could have got in the contry for this produce. The bag is great, all my friends are jealous, ad I'm using it every day.
Tops.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.