Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Backpacks & Bags or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Osprey Escapist 18/20 L Bike Pack

Osprey Escapist 18/20 L Bike Pack

Overall rating:
4.524 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
20 out of 21Would you recommend this product to a friend?95%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for Osprey Escapist 18/20 L Bike Pack
Review 1 for Osprey Escapist 18/20 L Bike Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Sweden
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect backpack for commuting

Posted29 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, good design, integrated rain cover
Initially I intended to buy a Osprey Talon 22, but after some research I ended up with the Osprey Escapist 18, which was a good choice for me. I think it's the perfect backpack and size for commuting. Earlier I had a backpack designed for running (Haglofs Ace M 12 litres). The Escapist has a good design which makes it comfortable to wear and easy to stow useful stuff. The size is perfect for bringing the lunch meal and some clothes to work and makes a snug fit on the back. I really like the integrated rain cover, even though it tends to steal some space when stowed away in its pocket. No hip belt pockets on the Escapist 18/20 L version which suits me fine since I don't use the hip belt.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Osprey Escapist 18/20 L Bike Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Solid and well-made

Posted04 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Great day sack. High quality materials, lots of features (e.g. mesh back and raincover). Would definitely recommend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Osprey Escapist 18/20 L Bike Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

Packed with features

Posted17 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: good features
Cons: bulky when stuffed
Replacement for old Evoc CC 16ltr - went for Escapist 20 ltr.
Like - waterproof cover, refelective detail, extra pockets, light attachment, back system, .
I put all my saddlebag necessaties in this bag now and dont use a saddle bag. Mainly use it for communting so it carries work clothes, lunch, waterproofs, tools - no laptop or work related items.
When I use the addtional pockets and features it does restrict the space in the main compartment.
It feels good on my back, but isnt as sleek or close profile as the old Evoc - and I only carry a few more things in the Escapist.
Still a good bag overall - welll made and attention to detail for the cyclist.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Osprey Escapist 18/20 L Bike Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great pack

Posted08 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Light, well made and with plenty of space and separate pockets for sensitive items like glasses and phones, wet pocket at the bottom with rain cover and a hydration pocket thats separate from the main bag
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Osprey Escapist 18/20 L Bike Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfortable backpack

Posted16 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
I chose the Osprey Escapist 18/20 => 18litres.
I found the backpack comfortable on and off the bike.
For biking, it holds all my tools+food+spare chain/tube.
For shopping, it holds 3*bottles wine+weetabix easily.
There's a nice pocket for holding phone.
The zips seem durable => I find there always the 1st thing to go!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Osprey Escapist 18/20 L Bike Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Cardiff

Posted15 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Really pleased with this bag, comfy with lots o nifty ideas! Waterproof cover, waterproof compartment, hook for keys etc
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Osprey Escapist 18/20 L Bike Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great for commuting

Posted16 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Use the external water bladder pocket for my waterproofs instead which gives easy access quickly without opening main pack. Suits me great and easy access to all other stuff. Cover is great in rain etc. Great price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Osprey Escapist 18/20 L Bike Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

An ideal size for a days biking.

Posted15 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Very good delivery service. The product was in good condition and details just as discribed. Very pleased.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Osprey Escapist 18/20 L Bike Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34

Great bag for cycling.

Posted12 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Great bag for cycling/walking etc. Comfortable to ride with. Good reflective waterproof bag cover.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Osprey Escapist 18/20 L Bike Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This pack is very well made.

Posted25 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I normally ride with a small 13L pack and 2L hydration bladder as I don't like to feel bulked down with size and weight, but I needed more space for my full day rides and decided on this! it has 2 main compartments one for spare kit with lots of useful pockets and one larger space for anything else! its a bit wider on the back than im used to but when you get all the straps tied to your body shape its very comfortable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Osprey Escapist 18/20 L Bike Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fantastic bag and not just for cycling!

Posted23 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is a great light bag for day hiking, cycling or as a small overnight bag. It is small enough to not be cumbersome, but large enough to store everything you need for an every day rucksack.
It is built as a cycling specific bag, which leads to my only real criticism.. and that is the interior tool pockets in the front are separated into 3.. with the 2 yellow pockets being long and thin... i would imagine to fit a minipump..... not a lot of use for anything else unfortunately!
Overall Top bag from a top company!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Osprey Escapist 18/20 L Bike Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Turkey
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

really good

Posted17 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
after receival, I am quite happy with the back pack.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Osprey Escapist 18/20 L Bike Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great Cycling Backpack

Posted21 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I bought this for cycling to work (around 6miles each way) - it has wide straps and fits comfortably on my back with no moving around, and has lots of useful pockets to keep things separate and organised so you're not fishing around in the bottom of the bag for something.
The two bottle holders on each side are handy, as is the small pocket on the strap - suitable for a phone for example.
It is quite expensive, and as I'm only 5"3 I am wondering whether I should have gone for the smaller back length, but I opted for the slightly larger capacity option.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Osprey Escapist 18/20 L Bike Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Great Bag

Posted25 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is clearly a very well made product, there has been a lot of thought put into the details of the bag. It is very comfortable to wear over long distances, in fact, I tend to forget it is there at all.
The one thing I am not sure on is the capacity, I still haven't decided on whether I should have gone for the next size up or not? However, that is much more reflective of my personal needs rather than the quality of the product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Osprey Escapist 18/20 L Bike Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:Bhutan
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Day Pack

Posted10 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: no pockets in the waist strap
i got this backpack few weeks backs from Evan Cycles. The size was just i wanted not too small for my day ride or not too clunky/heavy. it has many useful pockets.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Osprey Escapist 18/20 L Bike Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Uzbekistan
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Very fast international shipping

Posted16 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The item arrived in 5 days (incl weekend) which is first time treatment from evans. We are very happy with the bag, all the features are well thought and creative.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Osprey Escapist 18/20 L Bike Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great product

Posted11 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The size is perfect for me .I can get a clipboard in easily, very helpful for work in France with Backroads. Plenty of pockets for all the other bits & pieces, fits snugly doesn't move around when riding.Great product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Osprey Escapist 18/20 L Bike Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good but slightly flawed in details

Posted14 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: straps not stowable
Lovely, comfortable, light pack.
I would have like be able to remove/store the chest/waist straps when they're not required. You can't, and that makes the pack a bit 'flappy' when you get off the bike, and for casual use.
V. high quality bit of kit though.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Osprey Escapist 18/20 L Bike Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A great day out ruck sack

Posted24 September 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I bought this ruck sack as I was tired of lugging around heavy old ones. I was not sure if it would really be big enough, but the other day I managed to get all the usual essentials (wallet, phone, keys, money, change of top etc) as well as managing to get a shorty wetsuit and a large towel in too.... really does make it the perfect size for a day out.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Osprey Escapist 18/20 L Bike Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from London & South East
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The Best

Posted01 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I agree with MBR and Mountain Bike Uk, this is the best day pack (for the money) out there, Superb!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>