Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Hydration Packs or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Osprey Viper 13 Hydration Pack

Osprey Viper 13 Hydration Pack

Overall rating:
4.79 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
19 out of 19(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer reviews for Osprey Viper 13 Hydration Pack
Review 1 for Osprey Viper 13 Hydration Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
OverTheEdge
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Osprey Viper 13

PostedNovember 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, perfect for a day's ride.
This is top quality. Beautifully made and is clearly going to last a lifetime. Plenty of room for tools and equipment and it features the helmet lock. I've been on one decent ride with it and despite holding the Krypton u-shaped bike lock, it didn't feel as though I was carrying a dead weight. Very pleased with this.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Osprey Viper 13 Hydration Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sunkenvilla
from Cheshire
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fantastic hydration pack...

PostedJuly 25, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I purchased the Osprey Viper 13 after reading a stunning review in a cycle magazine. I had been looking for a cycle specific bag and hydration combo for a while, this ticked all the boxes.
Firstly, hydration. This pack is supplied with a 3 litre bladder. It has a rigid spine which makes it very easy to slot into the dedicated space in the pack. The space for the bladder is also rigid and this seems to help force very last drop of water out of the bladder, helpful on those thirsty rides. I have also noticed that the water stays quite cool. I am a large guy who gets very hot when riding but the pack seems to insulate the bladder very well and even after several hours of riding the water doesn't get warm. The bladder is very easy to fill, the bite valve works well and the magnet that holds the hose/valve in place on the chest strap is a genius idea.
As for the pack, it's also top quality. I love the distinctive colour and logo. It may only have a storage capacity of 13 litres, BUT this makes you take only what you need rather than a bigger pack which always seemed to make me pack everything I could, even the kitchen sink!!! The pack is split into several pockets/compartments and if not full you can use the compression straps to stop the contents of the bag swinging around. It even has a system so you can attach your helmet to it.
Delivery and price from Evans was perfect. All in all, a fantastic hydration pack. I'd give it more stars if I could. All my friends are impressed and they are a hard bunch to please. I'll be buying more Osprey products in the future.
BUY ONE NOW!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Osprey Viper 13 Hydration Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fireballxl100

Great storage, and a very comfy

PostedJune 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Great pack, worth the money with lots of storage, and helmet clip, the hydration pack is fantastic with a nice bite valve.
It's very comfy and can be adjusted in many ways. The only con is when you have the pack full and the 3 litre bladder topped up, it can be a bit heavy.
Osprey's are a great make, wanted a larger 13litre pack for a days riding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Osprey Viper 13 Hydration Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Oldsurfie1
Country:Australia
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedNovember 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Very comfortable fit when fully loaded. Plenty of useful storage for all the necessary trail riding equipment. Great quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Osprey Viper 13 Hydration Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
OlDirtyCyclist
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Rathbone Place

Well worth the money

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, almost fully waterproof
There isn't much more I can add to a review about this product that hasn't been covered by the other reviewers except to say that this bag is as near to waterproof as you can get. This pack has handled the English summer without a drop of rain getting through to wet whatever is inside.
The helmet holder is a nice addition and works well.
The internal bladder is good and the magnetic holder for the bite valve works a charm. Only downside is that the drinks tube mechanism can be a bit fiddly to remove but that may be just me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Osprey Viper 13 Hydration Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
creda
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
very well thought out bag and hydration bladder, having had other leading brands i must say its obvious that a lot of thought went in to the design
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Osprey Viper 13 Hydration Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trowbo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very practical for my daily commute

PostedJuly 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Very practical for my daily commute with lots of space for lunch clothes etc, but when our out for a proper ride it's not big or heavy so you hardly notice it on your back.
The magnetic valve holder is reall good and I also really like the rigid back to the water bladder make loading it in and out easy .
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Osprey Viper 13 Hydration Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Racer49
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Excellent Hydration pack

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Firstly the bladder is excellent quality a well thought out system which is easy to fill and fit back into the pack, the pack it's self has loads of room and very handy bits fitted (eg helmet holder, various compartments and expansion to take your water proof jacket)
I took this pack out up to Dalby forest and it was comfortable and the best bit for me is the magnetic mouth piece holder which is a touch of genius meaning you dont have the mouth piece hanging down it's there where it should be.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Osprey Viper 13 Hydration Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dannyh83
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Highly recommended.

PostedNovember 21, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Great capacity for a long days riding. Lots of pockets and space for tools etc. Plenty of adjustment to make sure it's comfortable. 3 litre water capacity ideal for long days out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Osprey Viper 13 Hydration Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mcginty
from Derby
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

viper 13

PostedNovember 9, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
great hydration pack , very easy to fill up the hydration bag , a very well made product , worth the money i spent
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Osprey Viper 13 Hydration Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bearintheair
from Scotland
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Hydration Pack

PostedSeptember 9, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, doesn't move, bladder and spine protector brilliant
Cons: it's not cheap - but you'll never need another pac
This is a pack that is just the right size to use on local everyday trails or day rides out in the hills or at a trail centre.
I fit everything I need into mine, all tools/tubes/pumps/ CO2/First-Aid kit etc.
Oatmeal bars, power shots, and freezer bag for wallet/car keys & mobile. All with their own pockets!
Enough room to stow my knee pads and waterproof jacket plus hand towel. And still room and places for more.
It packs and straps down nice and tidy, and for bigger rides it's got enough room to pack for all eventualities for an epic day-ride.
The 3 litre bladder is way better than my other Camelbacks for ease of use, cleaning and bite valve that has a magnet to locate it on the chest-strap - works brilliantly even when roughly thrown in the strap area! Doesn't move when your moving around and over the bike going down big technical descents with good 3 foot drops. Same going uphill. So much you don't notice it. It's even got an internal spine protector - which is a nice touch!
In short, it's the best pack I've ever bought!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Osprey Viper 13 Hydration Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Torm
from Norway
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very good.

PostedAugust 31, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
My first hydration pack and my first buy from Evans. Delivery to Norway took longer than I expected. Almost 3 weeks. I ordered during the holiday and the parcel probably got stuck in the Norwegian customs, but I had no way to know that because I was not given any tracking ID for the parcel. Just a little bit dissapointed about the delivery time, but it did arrive safe and well.
First impression on the pack was very good. I went for a 5 hours trial ride, brought tools and some extra clothes and it just disappeard. Didn't notice the pack at all.
Very good. I like the quality feeling and it is easy to pack with alle the pockets.
This weekend I used the pack racing the Birkebeinerrace, the world largest mtb race. During the 95 km race you have to wear a 3.5 kg pack. And this year there were new rules specifying what to bring in the pack. This pack got just a little small. The pack weighted in at 3.5 kg + 2 litre of fluid. After the race I got the worst back pain I have had in years. I probably can't blame the pack for that, I might have gotten back pain with any pack. But I felt like I got all the weigt pressing on my lower back. Maybe a raptor pack would have been better. Never tried it, but I see it has got a more solid waist belt. And the18 litre version might have been better suited for the race, easier to distribute the weight...?
So my conclution: The drinking system is excellent, easy to fill. Magnet holder is smart. Very good!
For long rides on the trails this back has room for what you need and it dissapears. No complaints, excellent.
For aggressive marathon XC racing with over-filled pack, I got back pain. But I might have gotten that from any pack...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Osprey Viper 13 Hydration Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gargamel
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Awesome bag but QC could be better!

PostedJuly 28, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
The bag landed in Singapore less than a week! :-)
It's light and compact and does what it is supposed to. Love the pocket on the left shoulder strap for mp3 player.
However, it seems the Osprey print logo on the outer mesh pocket was way off tilted.
Perhaps the mesh was not sewed properly. But I'm surprised it passed quality checks.
Nevertheless, still a great bag.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Osprey Viper 13 Hydration Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tomfun
from warrington
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

perfect pack

PostedJuly 25, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
i've been using this hydration pack for about a month and cannot find any fault with it,numerous pockets,easily removable reservoir,helmet lid lock clip and best of all the magnetic attachment for the mouthpiece make this the perfect all day riding pack.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Osprey Viper 13 Hydration Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ChainGang

Excellent Hydration Pack

PostedJuly 17, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, magnetic mouthpiece
Until now I've used Camelbak hydration packs which I have always been happy with, however I think this pack is even better.
It is really well designed, has a quality feel to it and is very comfortable in use, even with a full hydration bladder.
There are also nice details, like the magnetic attachment on the mouthpiece, which keeps it out of the way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Osprey Viper 13 Hydration Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Airgasm
from Denmark, Scotland
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

At last I god my self one

PostedJuly 16, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: i should have bought it long before
In the short time that I have it, i have used for a long kayaking tour, a long trail run and a long MTB tour..
The pack is very comfy, does not move around on the back and holds penty of stuff for a shorter tour.
I'm happy with it - I realy am!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Osprey Viper 13 Hydration Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
WIB888

Good all round

PostedJuly 6, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Bought by my wife as a gift after she read a review in a mountain bike magazine. Wouldn't have been my first choice on looks alone but it's a great back pack. Fits well and magnetic clasp on drinks tube is a clever design feature.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Osprey Viper 13 Hydration Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DaiBach
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent...

PostedJune 26, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Great bag. Loads of pockets and storage areas - all well thought out and designed. Really stable to wear. Quality gear, highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Osprey Viper 13 Hydration Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lesmister
from castleford
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Purchase

PostedMay 15, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, magnetic mouth piece
Bought this product just before I did a bike ride from John O'Groats to Ipswich(850miles). I did this over 14 days so my new bag got a good test. Nearly as much as I did!!!
I found it really easy to fill and then replace the hydration pack. The magnetic holder for the mouth piece is also very ingenious.
Good pockets inside for small items such as bank card, mobile and bike pump. I have used it for biking so far but will definitely be using it for short walks in the summer as plenty of space for water proofs and lunch.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.