Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Bern Nina Kids Helmet

Bern Nina Kids Helmet

The Nina Kids Helmet by Bern is an All Season skate-influenced helmet. The Nina offers all the trick features of the Bern adult lids at an economical price. With one helmet for all her action sports needs, it ensures you have money left over to buy her a bike! Bern's exclusive Zipmold foam is a liquid foam injection process that provides a better weight to strength ratio so Bern can provide customers with a lighter, lower profile helmet. Zipmold hard foam meets ASTM F 2040, CPSC and EN 1078 standards for bike and skate.
Overall rating:
4.733 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
15 out of 15(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for Bern Nina Kids Helmet
Review 1 for Bern Nina Kids Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Farki
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Good Quality Lightweight Helmet

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
This Helmet looks great, is very lightweight and offers good all round protection. This is a helmet that my boys have not complained about wearing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bern Nina Kids Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Elf1766
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:West End

Comfortable, Stylish,

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This helmet is comfortable, lightweight and fits well. You can purchase a winter liner which makes it great for use throughout the year. It has a stylish appearance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bern Nina Kids Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great helmet for kids.

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I think this is an outstanding helmet for kids. It offers greater overall protection of the child's head particularly at the back where some helmets leave the head exposed. The fit is fantastic and my wee boy is a lot more comfortable in it compared with his last helmet which he was constantly adjusting. An added bonus is that it will double up as a ski helmet if we can get the winter insert as we do a bit of that in the winter. Personally i think it looks the business. Finally we bought it at the reduced price that Evans had it on offer, and at that price i just don't think there is anything else on the market that compares.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bern Nina Kids Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous

Stylish Helmet for my young daughter

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
My Daughter loves this helmet, shes only 2 but the XS size fits her well. She uses it whilst on her balance bike and the helmet gets a lot of positive comments, in fact its hard to get her to take it off even when bored of 'biking'. The protection is good as its a multisport helmet so offers more rear head coverage than a kids cycle only helmet, similar levels of protection to a trail helmet which is what I use and its already saved her from a few spills with no issues. If we take her skiing it will be perfect for this use too. The quality is good, the only disappointing thing is the top pad has come unstuck a few times when shes not wearing it and fallen out, we failed to notice this the first time and then had to persevere without it for a weekend away which was a little annoying. If it weren't for this I would have given a 5 star review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bern Nina Kids Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cornishmummy
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Top quality, multi use helmet.

PostedAugust 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: lack of adjustability
This is very well made and very good quality. Looks really fab too on my son or daughter although I may invest in a girly one for her too soon. We will use this for cycling and then for snowboarding in the winter as the winter upgrades can be bought for these helmets.
Only down side is the adjustment is just a velcro strap at the back, this tightens the helmet but not greatly (not like a wheel on a bike helmet for example) so make sure you buy the right size.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bern Nina Kids Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
luella72
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Perfect helmet

PostedAugust 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought this helmet for our four year old who is just learning to ride. He loves it! It is lightweight, doesn't make his head hot even during the brief hot spell we had, and looks great, he wants to wear it all the time. It's is really worth the money. The sizing was a bit confusing but I worked out we probably needed a medium, which in Bern sizing is a small/medium (the confusing bit) and it fits perfectly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bern Nina Kids Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Starfish
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

PostedJune 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I ordered this helmet for my city / commuting cycling. It looks, feels and fits great (in spite of being designed for children, I'm a adult woman). It's light and snug. So far its ventilation has not disappointed either. And it's been a real hit among friends too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bern Nina Kids Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Helen99

Perfect for my 5 yr old girl

PostedJune 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: actual colour is not the same as shown
I bought this Bern Nino/Nina helmet for my 5 yr old daughter who is learning to ride bicycle. The helmet looks great, protect my little girl's head all round, very good quality, and light too. One minor com plain is though, the colour of the helmet is not as you see in the picture-it is a saturated red, not a bright red. Would have been nicer if the actual colour is the same as shown.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bern Nina Kids Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
snowbill
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Good but adjustment limited

PostedMay 29, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: limited adjustability for head size and shape
I got this helmet for my son and daughter. It fits' my daughter a treat, but my son's head was too wide (the helmet was too narrow ear to ear) so unfortunately no good for him.
They both do cycling, skating and snowsports and the helmet had done fine for all 3 for my daughter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bern Nina Kids Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
shimmoo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great quality, versatile childrens helmet.

PostedMay 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, versatile
We chose this helmet initally because my daughter (and I) thought it looked cool and was a reasonable price. Once it arrived however we realised it was far more than just cool, the quality is top drawer and it fits perfectly.
Although it looks not as well ventilated as other helmets my daughter has found it comfortable on even the longest of climbs.
One major advantage of this helmet is the ability to swap out the lining of the helmet for winter or water use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bern Nina Kids Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Eddie8805
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Excellent fitting and cool looking

PostedApril 19, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
This product looks very stylish and is a very good fit for my 5 year old son. More importantly, he thinks it is 'cool'.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bern Nina Kids Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
baggyaggy
from United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Perfect for a youngster starting to learn to ride

PostedFebruary 20, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
My three year old has just started learning to cycle with stabilisers, this helmet provided the protection I wanted for him along with the comfort he needed to use the helmet without it being forced on him. As soon as he put it on he did not want to try any others as it 'felt right'.. surely must if he is to use it as second nature when using the bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bern Nina Kids Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
microchick
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

had to change

PostedOctober 13, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
it was too small so I went to the shop to change it. my new bern helmet is really good
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bern Nina Kids Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
empirecyclery
from Singapore
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Looks great on a Fixie and an MTB

PostedSeptember 4, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is a great helmet in terms of protection and safety as well as it's style and street cred-ness....
I'm all for the less is more and trying less to look the part... so even when whizzing on the MTB, I feel safe with this helmet and hopefully i look a bit more street than mountain as well..
it's all relative and personal of course - but i would recommend this helmet on the snugness - i dont think there's a diff wearing a teen helmet as long as my head can fit it as as an adult woman.
i would put my kids in it too.
Does its job.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bern Nina Kids Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sotos

PostedJune 24, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
A very nice Helmet made from strong materials in a good price
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.