Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Brompton M3L 2011 Folding Bike

Brompton M3L 2011 Folding Bike

The key M Type is the M3L (also available as M3L-X EV142294) - it is the classic Brompton, featuring a new Brompton specific light weight Sturmey Archer 3-speed hub and all the fundamental advantages of the Brompton design.
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5
 / 
5
(7 reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 7 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
7 out of 7(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer reviews for Brompton M3L 2011 Folding Bike
Review 1 for Brompton M3L 2011 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
blinkydoyle
from London
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

money well spent; worth every penny

Posted27 April 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
I bought my M3L two months ago and have enjoyed my commute ever since.
To sum up, I ride 2 or 3 miles to one of two stations, get the train into town, then 3 or 4 miles into work.
So, between 10 and 15 miles per day, depending on the weather and what route takes my fancy.
The Brompton performs perfectly.
I did have concerns about only 3 gears as I was used to 21 on my Trek hybrid, but they're so well spaced I now wonder what I ever used the other 18 for!
I also suffer from a bad back and need a somewhat upright riding position. I tested the M3L and the S3, preferring the less aerodynamic but more comfortable M3 style.
It took a couple of days to master the fold/ unfold ritual but it's simple and leaves the bike easy to carry on the train, tube escalators etc.
Watch out for the small wheels; they behave differently to full size wheels when bumping up kerbs etc and I ended up on the floor once early on.
There is also the option to have the rear fold "fixed", requiring you to unlatch it before the bike will fold. This is much better if you're a kerb jumper as it stops the bike flopping about as you hitch it up.
All in all, The Brompton is faultless. Built well, feels like it's going to last for ever. Commuting can be fun.
+41points
41of 41voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Dinx
Shire of York
 
Please wait while more information about Dinx is loaded.
Additional information about Dinx could not be loaded.
money 'very' well spent
Posted 30 May 2011
To affirm your correct purchase, a mate paid some £600 for a Mezzo which is "so difficult to put up and fold down" that he really "can't be bothered with it".
I fancy the Brompton M3L to "have in the car". Slight doubt that it won't be as nice as my Giant Yukon Hardtail...
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 2 for Brompton M3L 2011 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mike04021949
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

A sturdy bike.

Posted28 April 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, good ride.
Cons: saddle
I have been delighted with my Brompton. Unfortunately, the weather recently has reduced the nujmber of times I've used it but when I have, it's been very enjoyable.
My only criticism is that, for the price, you would expect a 5* saddle but I don't feel the one on this bike meets that criteria.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brompton M3L 2011 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
minsterman
from upminster
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Brompton M3L

Posted10 December 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
The Brompton is simply the best folding bike available.
High quality build, ingenious engineering, capable and almost as fast as a hybrid over my 10 mile each way commute. Folds into the most compact package for tube travel.
Add to that the feel good factor of having bought (truly) British and the affordability of a ride 2 work scheme and i am very happy.
I will have this bike in twenty years - highly recommended.
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brompton M3L 2011 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
timof3
from Guildford
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good bike

Posted01 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, folds small
Cons: Expensive
This is probably the best folder you're likely to come across. In my opinion the 'Bike cover and saddlebag' accessory should also be purchased with the bike. Like all folders it is a compromise between ride-ability and compactness when folded, so I wouldn't want to ride it long distance - but it folds nice and small, and is VERY quick and easy to fold and unfold, with a little practice. An excellent buy.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brompton M3L 2011 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cplowe
from Wolverhampton
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Back to the Fold (literally)

Posted16 July 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Having been away from cycling for many years I wanted to get back on two wheels for fun and fitness. Because I travel a lot with my wife with frequent hotel stop overs, I wanted to be able to take two bikes with me but without the trouble of storage and security. The only option therfore was to purchase folding bikes but which one's?. After doing lots of internet research and watching some online video reviews I decide to go for two Brompton M3L's. On collection I was shown how to unfold and fold the bike and within 5 minutes had mastered what must be decscribed as a very easy procedure. The bike is extremely well made and all of the components are of high quality construction. Our first outing took place on Holiday in Barcelona riding along the sea front, the bikes were so easy to ride and the three gears proved to be more than sufficient. Both of us enjoyed it so much it became a daily event and we are now seeking good cycling locations back in the UK. First class product and purchase.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brompton M3L 2011 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
5Eurocups
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Cracking bike

Posted30 May 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
After a year of using London hire bikes to commute across the city each day, I finally lost patience with seaching for a bike or a free docking station and the sheer weight of the bikes and took advantage of the ride2work scheme and bought a Brompton M3L.
I was concerned about the wheel size and how it would feel to pedal. I was amazed at how responsive the bike is, how small it folds and the overall build quality.
This is a truly exceptional bike and it has clearly been built with quality parts.
The small wheels make it very nimble and the 3 gears are more than sufficient for commuting in London. I thought long and hard about the 6 speed gearing but was concious of uping the weight. I am now glad that opted for the M3 as the 3 gears are just right. Far better range than the hire bikes.
If you have a ride2work option, take advantage of it and get a Brompton!
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brompton M3L 2011 Folding Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wendy
from rural
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Posted09 May 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Seat adjustment excellent and the seat more comfortable than anticipated. Easy to lift in and out of car but feels sturdy. Provision of a bell very useful! Soon got used to folding technique. Very satisfied with purchase. Ideal for disused railway track rides.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.