Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Brompton Firm Suspension Block

Brompton Firm Suspension Block

Overall rating:
4.583 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
12 out of 12(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Brompton Firm Suspension Block
Review 1 for Brompton Firm Suspension Block
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
marowak
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Makes a good bike better

Posted17 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I had my Brompton for 2 months and the standard block meant by bike was not as solid as I had hoped.
After reading a lot of reviews I decided to get the FIRM block and it has totally changed my ride.
It's very easy to fit - takes 5 minutes and now means by back wheel does not bounce up and down on the many pot-holes around London.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brompton Firm Suspension Block
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
monped
Country:Portugal
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A must for the heavy rider

Posted13 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Stop the spongy feeling, when pedaling hard. Easy to install, detailed instructions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brompton Firm Suspension Block
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tim71

Stops you bouncing up and down!!

Posted05 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Fed up with bouncing up and down when pedaling hard - then get one of these
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brompton Firm Suspension Block
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SL82
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

does the trick

Posted23 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Firm suspension block turned my bouncy Brompton into a faster and sturdier city rider
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brompton Firm Suspension Block
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CommuterDazza
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Holborn

A requirement for the everyday Brompton rider!

Posted04 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Uncomfortable
I bought and installed the firm suspension block a week after purchasing my Brompton. The effect was immediate stability and increased pickup speed. I highly recommend it if you do more than poodle a long on your Brompton! I was able to install myself within 15mins.
Warning you will feel more of the road condition!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brompton Firm Suspension Block
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fefo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job

Posted21 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Stiffer and less waste of precious pedalling energy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brompton Firm Suspension Block
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yomper11
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Good if your big or like a responsive ride

Posted15 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I have this on my 2013 brompton p6, I am f602 and 15 stone so this reduces " pedal bounce" significantly, for me it doesn't make the ride any less comfortable although lighter riders would probably say otherwise, overall if your big, get it !!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brompton Firm Suspension Block
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
75tpus
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works well!

Posted22 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
replaced my 4 yo old 'normal' suspension - made the ride much sharper and more confident
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brompton Firm Suspension Block
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RoadKing1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Brompton Firm Suspension Block

Posted14 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, useful for a more powerful ride.
I wish the shop had informed me about the difference between Suspension blocks during the purchase of my Brompton. Anyway I had to purchase this firm block. It is most needed if one rides hard or you weigh more than 12 stones.
very useful gives the bike a much smoother ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brompton Firm Suspension Block
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bikebunny

Very firm

Posted19 July 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Does the job but should perhaps be described as 'solid' not 'firm' !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brompton Firm Suspension Block
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DonnyLad
from Doncaster
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good for heavyweights ... but ....

Posted24 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: squeaks until modified
I am towards the upper weight limit of Brompton bikes (110kg) and find the standard blocks too soft. This results in there being very little suspension as the rubber fully compresses.
These firm blocks put the suspension right back into the centre of its travel when I sit on it now giving a much more comfortable and forgiving ride.
The only down side is that the new blocks squeak in a rather annoying way whenever you go over a bump or when peddaling. I've ridden 2 bikes with firm blocks and they were both the same. This can however, be fixed quite easily by opening the hole in the centre up with a Dremmel (hobby grinder) circular grinding wheel (or a drill) and applying a bit of silicone grease.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brompton Firm Suspension Block
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
xspamo
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A solid replacement

Posted24 April 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I replaced the original suspension block because at 13.5 stone I was compressing it to its max.
The “firm” suspension block should be labelled “solid” because it would need someone much heavier than me to compress it even a tiny bit.
An excellent item for the heavier rider or someone who wants a firmer ride.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.