Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tyres or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Bontrager R3 Folding Road Tyre

Bontrager R3 Folding Road Tyre

Overall rating:
4.632 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
19 out of 19(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer reviews for Bontrager R3 Folding Road Tyre
Review 1 for Bontrager R3 Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aussiebob
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great grip almost as much as the price

Posted30 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Good cornering in the dry, not been out in the wet with them yet.
But great looking for the dosh !!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bontrager R3 Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rolling

this tyre is easy to fit and is round!

Posted06 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Delivered quickly and in good condition. Looks good and seems to be of good quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bontrager R3 Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
john24
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

easy upgrade

Posted17 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
As soon as i fitted these tyres & got out on the road i could feel an immediate difference. The bike rides faster & the cornering feels much more stable, giving confidence to ride harder into the corners.
A great tyre to upgrade to, great price too from Evans. 100% recommended as i have these on another bike & not had a puncture in over 1000 miles
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bontrager R3 Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
snove
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Durable, performs well, looks good.

Posted03 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Good all purpose tyres, perform well and look good
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bontrager R3 Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ruby21
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted31 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Excellent tyre replaced my old bontranger ones and can already feel the difference!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bontrager R3 Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Potholer
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good, light road tyre.

Posted20 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is my second set of R3's, this set being white with black central band. They have never let me down with over 1500 miles on my first set. Good grip and bite on corners. Very light for the price and have good aero properties.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bontrager R3 Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Redvers
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Really good tyre

Posted13 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Having read a number of reviews on tyres i purchased this one,being the best at an affordable price, having used the tyres on 4 rides i have been impressed with the increased speed, grip seems ok and as yet have had no punctures
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bontrager R3 Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jjdurniniho
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

High performing tyre

Posted01 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Very pleased, big step up over R1. Looks great. Set PB the first time I rode with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bontrager R3 Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Mirkenmouth

Great for racing, but not very robust

Posted22 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
These tyres came fitted to my 2.5. They were great in all weathers along with their superbly low rolling resistance. However they are quite fragile. The side walls are paper thin and did not withstand the wrath of a sharp stone. I have replaced them with race light hardcase tyres after only about 500km after the rear R3 became warped and split.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bontrager R3 Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Markyboy85
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Exceptional ride quality!

Posted06 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I changed to these tyres from an old 60tpi bontrager race lite and the difference is simply phenomenal! Over 200 miles done on these now and could not be happier So effortless on the flat and uphill and cornering even in wet conditions is a breeze. A very highly recommended upgrade at a great price!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bontrager R3 Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sindoe
Country:Denmark
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

excellent summer tyre

Posted27 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Used this one year for training on rough tarmac/aspalt. Not really a training tyre - more a race day tyre - but the compound and profile really gives this tyre an edge. - It bites! Instead of training on cheap tyres I prefer a foldable standard 700C rim tyre that rides as good as it gets. Both straight out and in the corners in dry weather. Rode it for a fortnight on Mt. Ventoux and it handles high speed (downhill) excellently and brakes confidence inspiring w/o the least sign of slipage. Haven't used it in heavy rain, though, but this is not what is it's intended usage. It's very light and thus quite vulnerable to cuts. Nice colour range. - Try it if weight, colour and riding qualities matters to you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bontrager R3 Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superted113
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent tyres

Posted12 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Brought these for a 50 mile charity run. Must say they made the bike run much smooth and faster. There are cheaper tyres on the market and i had thought about buying them but am pleased i changed my mind. Would recommend these.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bontrager R3 Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted09 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought these to replace some vittorias that got very twitchy whenever it got damp let alone wet. Really impressed so far, and very pleasant on the eye!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bontrager R3 Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
colnago
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Bontrager r3

Posted29 March 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, grip
Awesome. Same puncture resistance as a contintental gatorskin but 40grams or so lighter, and cheaper if you get it price matched. Great grip as well and a tough tire.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bontrager R3 Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Xterra
from Stratford upon Avon
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Replacement tyre

Posted08 September 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Replaced the original tyre on my trek following a cut in the sidewall.
This is slightly lighter than the original and rolls well. Can't fault it so far.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bontrager R3 Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Magnificent
from Reykjavik
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value road tyre

Posted02 September 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Have already done 1000km on rough surface asfalt road, seems to be the right choice I made this time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bontrager R3 Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ezzyboy
from Newmarket, Ontario Canada
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Bontrager R3 Folding Road Tire

Posted01 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, smooth ride
I have ridden Michelin pro race 2&3 and Hutchinson fusion 2&3. The Bontrager R3 does everything as well or better. The first thing I noticed was how smooth the ride was yet the tire accelerated and held speed very well. Braking and handling was as good as anything I have ever tried.
Bottom line, if these tires have a decent tread life I will be sticking with the R3 they are the smoothest riding clincher I have ever used.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Bontrager R3 Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Barico
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Cool rubber

Posted31 July 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great, fast, colour options
Cons: wear rate
The colours are awesome, I have blue and they really stand out.
They are durable, I ride on roads with lots of stone shards and they haven't cut up yet which is very impressive.
The compound is very sticky and is wearing. I like that I don't need tyres to last forever.
These are definitely my current preferred rubber of choice.
Oh, also, they roll really fast.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Bontrager R3 Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Stillriding
from Bristol
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

So good so far

Posted15 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Very good tyre. Seems to have pretty good rolling resistance. Grip is excellent, having had to test it on some steep and wet descents.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
surreycyclist62
Horley, Surrey
 
Please wait while more information about surreycyclist62 is loaded.
Additional information about surreycyclist62 could not be loaded.
R3 tyre review
Posted 12 July 2011
Purchased my R3`s a couple of weeks ago. I have covered around 300kms and they are superb. Good handling in wet and dry conditions with good puncture resistance too.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)