Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tyres or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Bontrager R2 Folding Road Tyre

Bontrager R2 Folding Road Tyre

Overall rating:
4.364 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
8 out of 11(73%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for Bontrager R2 Folding Road Tyre
Review 1 for Bontrager R2 Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sprose1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good purchase

Posted24 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Delivered in good time. Tyres appear to be of a good quality, and well made. Look forward to trying them out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bontrager R2 Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pete149
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Sun/light affected

Posted21 May 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
Unfortuneatly these folding tyres had been exposed at the ends to sun or other light, causing a discolouring,which I would not want to put on my Trek road bike.So they were returned without trying out.However, the price was discounted and were exchanged for others tyres-at the same discount even though an initial higher price.So the service was excellent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bontrager R2 Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Flawless154

Very pleased

Posted22 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Good quality tyre and excellent price on sale at £14:99. You would struggle to get a tyre of similar quality for that money. Free delivery within a couple of days. Very pleased
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bontrager R2 Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MitchD
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value

Posted15 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
No punctures after over a year of riding over 150 miles a week on the previous set. Look great as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bontrager R2 Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LarryV

Great value and looks great

Posted07 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: hard ride
After getting several punctures while using the standard tyres that came with the bike I thought it best to try something else. Since getting them I haven't experienced any problems and feel more secure at cornering.Great value for money, excellent puncture protection and looks sweet. Only downside they give a fairly hard ride, but what road bike doesn't. Would definitely recommend them to anyone looking for a good all round tyre.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bontrager R2 Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JohnPumpkin
Country:Finland
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great tyre

Posted25 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Great tires. Mines came with my Trek Madone. I’ve done so far more than 800km without problems. Fast, good grip and obviously puncture resistant. I have black/white which looks good too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bontrager R2 Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Martintri
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A perfect fit

Posted06 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought the Bontrager folding tyre and it was easy to fit to the wheel. I did a short ride to bed it in and then, on Sunday, I completed a Triathlon. The tyre behaved itself and worked perfectly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bontrager R2 Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Srolob

Posted04 June 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
Change my tire and after a couple of miles had a puncture will see what happen in the future
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bontrager R2 Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Adam4545
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great tyres!

Posted21 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I bought them a couple of weeks ago and since then raced on them for about 300 miles. So far so good! Look pretty slick as well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bontrager R2 Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
NickdSaint
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fast LOW Rolling, Rolling, Rolling!! RAWHIDE!!!!

Posted28 April 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Been using these every Easter to October half-term for the last 5/6 seasons for EVERYTHING I do!! That's training - tempo, hillwork & speed sessh's - the (VERY) occasional time trial or hill climb, or a range of Sportives/Charity events in Dorset/Hants/Wilts/Isle of Wight and both the Alps & Pyrenees
They normally last the whole time (just) and are excellent all-rounders - but fast enough to get Gold Standards - where applicable!!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bontrager R2 Folding Road Tyre
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Whitters
from Guildford
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Wish I'd spent a bit more...

Posted12 April 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Cons: Uncomfortable
After a run of puntures on my commute I decided to replace my stock tyre with an R2. After picking up a puncture after 13 miles I was slightly annoyed but it has been fine since that got sorted out.
My commute takes in a variety of rough and smooth road, on the smooth it rolls well and feels great. Unfortunately on the rough roads the feedback is terrible and quite uncomfortable. This alone is enough to make me wish I'd spent a little bit more...
The yellow stripes do make my bike look pretty cool though!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.