Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Handlebar Grips & Tape or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape

Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape

Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(60 reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 60 reviews
5 Stars
45
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
58 out of 60Would you recommend this product to a friend?97%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Review 1 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was bought:Plymouth

Good value product

Posted30 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
The tape is robust and comfortable. Replacing old Lizard Skin tape after 2 years of use with new.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Expensive, but excellent quality

Posted27 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Looks the business and was easy to apply. In use it is "grippy" and comfortable. Would be even better if it was a little cheaper.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

hard wearing, good grip

Posted30 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Bar tae feel/surface texture is very much a personal thing. As I us my road bike regularly and it get s leaned against a variety of surfaces, this mock leather finish gives me the desired characteristics I want in a bar tape. It's also easy to wrap the handlebars if you're more of a hands-on maintenance rider too
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Stick to your bars!

Posted21 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Great bar tape! No slipping in the wet! Rain was hammering it down. I was soked right through but didn't have any problems keeping hold in the drops!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

Best bar tape I've used

Posted15 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
This is my fourth time using Lizard Skins DSP tape -- I keep coming back to it because it's the most comfortable I've tried and very durable. There isn't much to say about a bar tape beyond this, though it's worth nothing as well that it's really easy to work with and doesn't require being stretched like a lot of other tapes, meaning it's easier to tape the bars neatly and evenly (for those of us amateur mechanics).
Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Posted02 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Really comfortable and very grippy much better than any standard tape
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

comfy tape

Posted17 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
It's just bar tape…. but it's nice bar tape. does what you'd expect and has a nice tactile feel.
Just 4 stars as its so expensive, but I only find I need to replace my tape every 1.5 years so not the end of the world
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
It was bought:Reading

good handlebar tape

Posted16 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I bought this tape in white and it seems to last well.
bit of a pain to apply like every tape but looks good when applied.
only complaint is that it could be a bit longer.
Comfortable when riding and very grippy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:Switzerland
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

excellent grip

Posted14 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
this offers excellent grip in all conditions.
it is easy to apply and looks good to.
it is possible that some may find the tape a bit too sticky in hot conditions but that is as much personal preference. I feel safe in the knowledge that i can descend at speed and my hands won't slip off the bars if i hit a bump.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

Simply the best

Posted10 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Having tried various different bar tapes for comfort, great grip and good looks I will never use anything else again except Lizard Skins. Whilst this might not be the cheapest product on the market it is, in my opinion, the best.
I've tried various different tapes and when totalled up over the past 12 months have come to over 2x what I paid for Lizard Skins.
However, beware of the lighter colours that look amazing but get dirty too quickly. I've stuck with black as boring as it might be knowing that it will last that bit longer.
Finally, out of all the tapes, this was by far the easiest to fit and beware of not pulling it too tight otherwise it will break, advice I got from one of the YouTube videos.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Nice tacky bar tape that doesn't flake

Posted05 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Simple black bar tape that does a decent job of providing grip, damping out a bit of road buzz and not falling apart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Oh Yes! What a result!

Posted02 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great, better than new
This was a "Special Case" and it had to be perfect as I was treating my son to new bar tape before the Pru 100. Whilst I am really pleased with my Evans Bar tape set on both my Tourer and Road bike I had seen Tom fitting White Lizard Skin Tape on a customer's bike and the result was so spectacular I wanted the best and was happy to pay £25 for the Lizard Skin (FWE c.£10) and Chris fitted the tape with unbelievable evenness and neatness. These guys in Guildford all take a real pride in their work and there seems to be a lovely friendly rivalry as to who can do the best job. Nice thoughtful extra touch from Dave, on collecting the bike, was to recommend a special alcohol-based cleaner to keep the white bar tape looking like new! Thanks Guildford.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Comfortable, grippy and look great!

Posted15 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I have been making some major upgrades to my Specialised Allez Sport and one of the best so far is the Lizard Skin bar tape. This has added a real look of quality to my bars and feel great, even on longer rides. The only negative is that they are a bit expensive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Lizard skins the best off the best.

Posted20 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Obviously very subjective, but this bar tape is the best feeling tape ever. Great colours and a fantastic feel. Super grippy even in the wet.
I shall never buy any other tape.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chalk Farm

Good and reliable

Posted28 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: none
Quite happy with the feel of the tape. It has a lot of grip and is quite durable. Would recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Secure to grip

Posted21 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Feels like a comfortable sticky option although it is at the higher end of the pricing for bar tape.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chelmsford

Very Comfortable

Posted15 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
So far I have been mainly riding with gloves and find the bar tape to be very comfortable. My hands in gloves don't slide around so I feel secure. What little riding I have managed out of gloves I noticed just how good the bar tape feels. Would recommend especially if you like to ride with no gloves on.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Comfy.

Posted14 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
This is a big improvement over the stock bar tape that came on my bike (not least of all because it isn't white). It's comfortable and very grippy, includes everything you need, even end plugs and a couple of extra strips for the lever brackets and it was easy to wrap even for a complete novice. It's not the cheapest tape out there, but in this case you get what you pay for.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality

Posted14 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
The thicker version, goes on reasonably easily, plenty of padding and looks good
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Quality finish

Posted02 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, can be fitted by anyone
I bought cheaper handlebar tape to start and that proved to be false economy. Firstly it was a nightmare to get the sticky backing off then the sticky tape came away from the tape. The cheaper tape also bunched up when taking it round the curve in the handlebars. When finished it didn't look or feel right.
I then threw the dummy out the pram, went on line, read the reviews and paid a small fortune for the Lizard Skin DSP Bar Tape. Went on easily, looks and feels great. Don't be put off by the price its worth every penny.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>