Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Handlebar Grips & Tape or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape

Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape

Overall rating:
4.629 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(35 reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 35 reviews
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
33 out of 35(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Review 1 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nastybob58
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good tape.

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: a little pricey but worth it
Wow! It makes the world of difference. No more road buzz.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Finnchops
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Not great when wet

PostedAugust 13, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great, grippy when dry
Cons: Expensive, poor in wet conditions, gets dirty quickly
Bought 2 weeks ago for my cyclocross and had Evans staff fit for me. At first the tape looked great, really good cushioning and it does feel really sticky/grippy, even with bare hands.
However, i took the bike on a sportive at the weekend, 450 miles which granted is a fair amount in 1 weekend. Bar tape was great over first few days but on day 4 it started to unravel on the curved section of the drops. (Possible due to fit not being completed as well as it could have been).
I also found it slippery in wet conditions, with and without gloves. In rain, i lost most of the grip.
It also got pretty dirty, quite quickly - expected with white tape, but i've had cheaper white before that has lasted better.
Finally the bar end plugs didn't last, had lost 1 by the end of the weekend.
All in all good, but I'll be changing for something different next time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anna1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Reading

Excellent

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Very good quality plenty of padding comfortable look good purchase in white and is still white after few uses I'm very happy with this product would recommend it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
catfish440
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

The grippiest tape I've ever used

PostedAugust 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, very grippy
Cons: Expensive
I've used Lizard skin on several bikes and have always found it to be a great product - if attached correctly i.e. do not stretch it. I use it on my triathlon bikes where residual water from the swim leg can make handle bars slippery, Lizard Skin overcomes this brilliantly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mikefromuk
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Preston

Great for long days in the saddle.

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
This is my second lot of this bar tape which is by far the most comfortable bar tape I've used. First lot tore up in a encounter with the tarmac. It is ideal for those long days in the saddle and seems to reduce road vibration through the bars, it is great to grip even when wet, in my opinion it's worth every penny spent on it and will remain my first choice for my touring bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BigCityCyclist
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Squishy

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
I do like this bar tape but did wonder if it was a little sticky at first. Not too sticky though; changing positions on the bars is still fine. It's comfortable and well padded, has a slightly shiny appearance. Personal preference I'm sure so think about what you want from your tape first.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FMOAB
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

A bit different

PostedJune 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Lizard skins tape is definitely different to your normal bar tape. It feels slightly tacky but not overly so and slightly cushioned. It does look that bit different.
Two downsides. The cost is one, but the other could easily be sorted, the off cuts for wrapping around the shifters are too short. I had to use electrical tape to hold these bits in place.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RicheRich
Country:USA
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Looking Tape

PostedJune 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I have been using Lizard skins tape for 4 years now. It is comfortable and great looking too. Also lightweight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Looks and feels great, but doesn't stick

PostedJune 12, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive
Went on easily, looked very smart and felt good and grippy, but a little bit thin so cushioning wasn't great. Big downside was that it only lasted three days of commuting before it started to unravel. May have been poor application on my part, but I followed instructions closely and have never had similar problems with other tape.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ChrisN999
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Very Good But Not Cheap

PostedJune 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
Very good bar Tape, easy to apply. Only ridden twice with this but seems extremely comfortable. Not cheap
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TomMac
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

best tape ive had

PostedMay 31, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Easy to install
Great grip
Washable
Only downside was the plugs are not that durable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Saints
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product!

PostedMay 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
Very good grip. Top quality. Longlasting! And it just looks great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Matyp
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

I really like this recommended

PostedApril 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I am really happy with this bar tape. I don't ride with gloves and this is certainly comfortable. I did decide for Evans staff to fit this for me for a small extra fee, but worth the money as I am sure I would have messed it up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
thedv8design
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Very Comfortable with plenty of grip

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Worth the litle extra money. Has a great feel and is very comfortable. I have these on my Starley Carbon bars, which have a unique contour to the top part of them, the tape fitted extremely well and is very flexible. Even in the wet the grip is great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Silver1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

comfortable and grippy

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
The tape is a nice thickness and I found it wrapped around the bars well and didn't seem at all stretchy, after doing lots of internet searching I decided on wrapping the left side anti-clockwise and the right side clockwise viewed from behind the bars, no sign of any unwrapping yet. I think the small lengths for around the brake levers could do with having a bit more adhesive on as they were prone to springing off as I tried cover them whilst wrapping!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2Pedals
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

It's not sticky

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I've seen Lizard Skins every time I come to replace my bar tape and decided against it because of the 'sticky' feel to it (compared to my usual cork based tape). When shopping in my local store a member of the team convinced me to give it a go.
Nice and easy to fit that results in a good level wrap, it pads well plus (I'm told) it cleans off easily. It looks like it will wear well too.
Its good enough that I'll buy again for my other bikes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warlord
Country:Finland
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great tape

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Easy to install, great grip, looks good. Nothing bad to say.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
chris1963
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

good product and looks good too

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Purchased lizard skin bar tape before and found it easy to fit and has a definite feel of quality about it. Looks good and makes the bars comfortable to grip as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graylin
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Great bar tape

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
Lizard skin bar tape is not cheap but it is worth every penny. Its easy to work with so looks great when its fitted, feels great to ride with, kills a lot of the road vibration. Whats not to enjoy about this tape. I would reccomend this for winter and summer bikes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
robvb
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Excellent bar tape

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Really good result and very high grip. It took a couple of attempts to get it right and there isn't much room for error as the lengths are just enough.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>