Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Handlebar Grips & Tape or
Choose a category
Most popular products

Customer reviews for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape

Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape

Overall rating:
4.739 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
23 out of 23(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Review 1 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Matyp
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

I really like this recommended

PostedApril 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I am really happy with this bar tape. I don't ride with gloves and this is certainly comfortable. I did decide for Evans staff to fit this for me for a small extra fee, but worth the money as I am sure I would have messed it up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
thedv8design
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Very Comfortable with plenty of grip

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Worth the litle extra money. Has a great feel and is very comfortable. I have these on my Starley Carbon bars, which have a unique contour to the top part of them, the tape fitted extremely well and is very flexible. Even in the wet the grip is great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Silver1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

comfortable and grippy

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
The tape is a nice thickness and I found it wrapped around the bars well and didn't seem at all stretchy, after doing lots of internet searching I decided on wrapping the left side anti-clockwise and the right side clockwise viewed from behind the bars, no sign of any unwrapping yet. I think the small lengths for around the brake levers could do with having a bit more adhesive on as they were prone to springing off as I tried cover them whilst wrapping!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2Pedals
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

It's not sticky

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I've seen Lizard Skins every time I come to replace my bar tape and decided against it because of the 'sticky' feel to it (compared to my usual cork based tape). When shopping in my local store a member of the team convinced me to give it a go.
Nice and easy to fit that results in a good level wrap, it pads well plus (I'm told) it cleans off easily. It looks like it will wear well too.
Its good enough that I'll buy again for my other bikes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warlord
Country:Finland
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great tape

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Easy to install, great grip, looks good. Nothing bad to say.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
chris1963
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

good product and looks good too

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Purchased lizard skin bar tape before and found it easy to fit and has a definite feel of quality about it. Looks good and makes the bars comfortable to grip as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graylin
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Great bar tape

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
Lizard skin bar tape is not cheap but it is worth every penny. Its easy to work with so looks great when its fitted, feels great to ride with, kills a lot of the road vibration. Whats not to enjoy about this tape. I would reccomend this for winter and summer bikes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
robvb
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Excellent bar tape

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Really good result and very high grip. It took a couple of attempts to get it right and there isn't much room for error as the lengths are just enough.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
iamsteve17
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

VERY Comfortable Bar tape

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
This stuff is grippy and very shock absorbent. its easy to apply and pretty tough. it comes off nicely when its time to change and it looks lovely.
i use the white which does get dirty but i guess thats white bar tape for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wils
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The very best; albeit at a price.

PostedJune 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Easy to fit, and perfect to the touch in either wet or dry conditions.....with or without mitts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gnarlylondon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The best out there

PostedJune 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
It has a relatively low profile with a shiny surface which looks great.
Includes bar ends, extra strips of tape for the underside of the shifters, and finishing tape, so all you need is your own electrical tape.
The tape is very comfortable and has great grip in all weather conditions.
Quite expensive, but it's my first choice for bar tape.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bloodaxe
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfy bar tape at a price

PostedJune 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive, difficult to fit
Bar tape is great in use, comfy, absorbs vibration, works well in the rain. More fiddly to fit than other bar tape, and a lot more expensive.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rick707
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

you get what you pay for!

PostedMay 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Not cheap but worth every penny. right amount of cushioning and superb feel and grip, with or without gloves this tape is the tops. easy to fit to bars and easily adjusted. Usually get at least a years wear out of this tape, highly recommended
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hammer
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Great tape!

PostedMay 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, durable
Low profile, comfy, good grip and easy to clean. It's very good bar tape.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JimboP
Country:Australia
Age:25-34
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Grippy and great colours

PostedApril 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Nice grippy tape, good amount of cushioning, great colour options. Does tend to attract the dirt but washes up well. Wear rate seems to be on par with most.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mickjt
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

great stuff

PostedFebruary 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
got this with vouchers. bit expensive at 25 quid but having used it i think id probably replace like for like in the future
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JeddahCyclist
Country:Saudi Arabia
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The one I'm looking for

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I used many tapes but this one is the best , super grip , comfortable , easy to clean , so no more stain retain hard to clean up .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Scotdownunder
Country:New Zealand
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Lives up to the name

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
This bar tape offers the best grip of any tape I've touched. It cost more than some, but I reckon it's worth the extra money. I don't think anyone could be disappointed with Lizard Skins.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Spanners5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good tape for those that want thick padding

PostedAugust 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Nice looking tape, thickness dampens road vibrations, tape has a good feel to it. It is the first time I have installed tape - instructions on u tube were helpful but I found the tape has moved around on my bars and needs re-wrapping. Hence only four stars. Instructions say not to overstretch the tape when fitting, maybe I did not stretch enough although it could be because the backing tape was not very wide.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GreenMumbaGreen
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Instant Awesomeness

PostedJune 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, lots of colours
Replaced the standard tape that came with my bike. From my first ride I noticed the difference. This tape is far more lush and the grippy sticky texture meant my grip was more relaxed and I still felt I was in control. This slightly thicker tape absorbs more vibration than my previous tape. I ride on bumpy roads and the effects of above made them easier to handle. Is one of the more pricier tapes, but I'd say its worth the money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>