Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape

Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape

Overall rating:
4.641 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(39 reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 39 reviews
5 Stars
30
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
37 out of 39(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer reviews for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Review 1 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tid13
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Super-comfy, Super-cool ;-)

Posted04 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Got the tape my bike came with changed straight away to this. It's just comfy, grippy, and looks and feels great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rayh901
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

good product

Posted27 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
Easy to fit.Very grippy and comfortable tape.Worth the extra cash
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JaseThePace
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Quite good but ...

Posted12 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: not the easiest to fit professionally, different lengths
I have now fitted this bar tape replacing the previous BMC leather tape after an accident that ripped it. Now that it is on, the lizard skin tape is well padded, nice and sticky making it comfortable and the bike safely controllable. The two pieces of tape were different lengths so I ended up having to cut one back to the length of the other which was a shame because the longer one was the correct length and they both now stop short of where I would like them to be. The back of the tape is not very sticky which is an advantage if you need to unwind and refit any portions but leaves you wondering if the fitted tape may slip. The end of the tape is tricky to make look good because the finishing tape is also thick and padded making it impossible to bevel it smoothly back to the bars and it is too short to reach the ridge. The jury is out on this one and it is a shame that I cannot write this review after 4 months of usage when I really know.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Holio
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Bar Tape

Posted01 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
This DSP bar tape is very easy to wrap, is extremely comfortable, and has a super-grippy (almost tacky) finish. In flouro-green, it's perfect to be seen on my winter bike.
The only downside is the cost - quite expensive as far as bar tapes go, and it remains to be seen how well it will stand up to bumps and scuffs. Generally though, I'm impressed and I recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nastybob58
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good tape.

Posted25 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: a little pricey but worth it
Wow! It makes the world of difference. No more road buzz.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Finnchops
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Not great when wet

Posted13 August 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great, grippy when dry
Cons: Expensive, poor in wet conditions, gets dirty quickly
Bought 2 weeks ago for my cyclocross and had Evans staff fit for me. At first the tape looked great, really good cushioning and it does feel really sticky/grippy, even with bare hands.
However, i took the bike on a sportive at the weekend, 450 miles which granted is a fair amount in 1 weekend. Bar tape was great over first few days but on day 4 it started to unravel on the curved section of the drops. (Possible due to fit not being completed as well as it could have been).
I also found it slippery in wet conditions, with and without gloves. In rain, i lost most of the grip.
It also got pretty dirty, quite quickly - expected with white tape, but i've had cheaper white before that has lasted better.
Finally the bar end plugs didn't last, had lost 1 by the end of the weekend.
All in all good, but I'll be changing for something different next time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anna1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Reading

Excellent

Posted06 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Very good quality plenty of padding comfortable look good purchase in white and is still white after few uses I'm very happy with this product would recommend it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
catfish440
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

The grippiest tape I've ever used

Posted01 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, very grippy
Cons: Expensive
I've used Lizard skin on several bikes and have always found it to be a great product - if attached correctly i.e. do not stretch it. I use it on my triathlon bikes where residual water from the swim leg can make handle bars slippery, Lizard Skin overcomes this brilliantly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mikefromuk
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Preston

Great for long days in the saddle.

Posted11 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
This is my second lot of this bar tape which is by far the most comfortable bar tape I've used. First lot tore up in a encounter with the tarmac. It is ideal for those long days in the saddle and seems to reduce road vibration through the bars, it is great to grip even when wet, in my opinion it's worth every penny spent on it and will remain my first choice for my touring bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BigCityCyclist
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Squishy

Posted04 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
I do like this bar tape but did wonder if it was a little sticky at first. Not too sticky though; changing positions on the bars is still fine. It's comfortable and well padded, has a slightly shiny appearance. Personal preference I'm sure so think about what you want from your tape first.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FMOAB
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

A bit different

Posted30 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Lizard skins tape is definitely different to your normal bar tape. It feels slightly tacky but not overly so and slightly cushioned. It does look that bit different.
Two downsides. The cost is one, but the other could easily be sorted, the off cuts for wrapping around the shifters are too short. I had to use electrical tape to hold these bits in place.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RicheRich
Country:USA
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Looking Tape

Posted22 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I have been using Lizard skins tape for 4 years now. It is comfortable and great looking too. Also lightweight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Looks and feels great, but doesn't stick

Posted12 June 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive
Went on easily, looked very smart and felt good and grippy, but a little bit thin so cushioning wasn't great. Big downside was that it only lasted three days of commuting before it started to unravel. May have been poor application on my part, but I followed instructions closely and have never had similar problems with other tape.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ChrisN999
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Very Good But Not Cheap

Posted11 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
Very good bar Tape, easy to apply. Only ridden twice with this but seems extremely comfortable. Not cheap
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TomMac
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

best tape ive had

Posted31 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Easy to install
Great grip
Washable
Only downside was the plugs are not that durable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Saints
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product!

Posted18 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
Very good grip. Top quality. Longlasting! And it just looks great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Matyp
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

I really like this recommended

Posted13 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I am really happy with this bar tape. I don't ride with gloves and this is certainly comfortable. I did decide for Evans staff to fit this for me for a small extra fee, but worth the money as I am sure I would have messed it up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
thedv8design
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Very Comfortable with plenty of grip

Posted25 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Worth the litle extra money. Has a great feel and is very comfortable. I have these on my Starley Carbon bars, which have a unique contour to the top part of them, the tape fitted extremely well and is very flexible. Even in the wet the grip is great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Silver1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

comfortable and grippy

Posted23 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
The tape is a nice thickness and I found it wrapped around the bars well and didn't seem at all stretchy, after doing lots of internet searching I decided on wrapping the left side anti-clockwise and the right side clockwise viewed from behind the bars, no sign of any unwrapping yet. I think the small lengths for around the brake levers could do with having a bit more adhesive on as they were prone to springing off as I tried cover them whilst wrapping!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2Pedals
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

It's not sticky

Posted05 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I've seen Lizard Skins every time I come to replace my bar tape and decided against it because of the 'sticky' feel to it (compared to my usual cork based tape). When shopping in my local store a member of the team convinced me to give it a go.
Nice and easy to fit that results in a good level wrap, it pads well plus (I'm told) it cleans off easily. It looks like it will wear well too.
Its good enough that I'll buy again for my other bikes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>