Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape

Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape

Overall rating:
4.645 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 31 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
30 out of 31(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Review 1 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mikefromuk
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Preston

Great for long days in the saddle.

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
This is my second lot of this bar tape which is by far the most comfortable bar tape I've used. First lot tore up in a encounter with the tarmac. It is ideal for those long days in the saddle and seems to reduce road vibration through the bars, it is great to grip even when wet, in my opinion it's worth every penny spent on it and will remain my first choice for my touring bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BigCityCyclist
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Squishy

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
I do like this bar tape but did wonder if it was a little sticky at first. Not too sticky though; changing positions on the bars is still fine. It's comfortable and well padded, has a slightly shiny appearance. Personal preference I'm sure so think about what you want from your tape first.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FMOAB
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

A bit different

PostedJune 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Lizard skins tape is definitely different to your normal bar tape. It feels slightly tacky but not overly so and slightly cushioned. It does look that bit different.
Two downsides. The cost is one, but the other could easily be sorted, the off cuts for wrapping around the shifters are too short. I had to use electrical tape to hold these bits in place.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RicheRich
Country:USA
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Looking Tape

PostedJune 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I have been using Lizard skins tape for 4 years now. It is comfortable and great looking too. Also lightweight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Looks and feels great, but doesn't stick

PostedJune 12, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive
Went on easily, looked very smart and felt good and grippy, but a little bit thin so cushioning wasn't great. Big downside was that it only lasted three days of commuting before it started to unravel. May have been poor application on my part, but I followed instructions closely and have never had similar problems with other tape.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ChrisN999
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Very Good But Not Cheap

PostedJune 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
Very good bar Tape, easy to apply. Only ridden twice with this but seems extremely comfortable. Not cheap
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TomMac
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

best tape ive had

PostedMay 31, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Easy to install
Great grip
Washable
Only downside was the plugs are not that durable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Saints
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product!

PostedMay 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
Very good grip. Top quality. Longlasting! And it just looks great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Matyp
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

I really like this recommended

PostedApril 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I am really happy with this bar tape. I don't ride with gloves and this is certainly comfortable. I did decide for Evans staff to fit this for me for a small extra fee, but worth the money as I am sure I would have messed it up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
thedv8design
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Very Comfortable with plenty of grip

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Worth the litle extra money. Has a great feel and is very comfortable. I have these on my Starley Carbon bars, which have a unique contour to the top part of them, the tape fitted extremely well and is very flexible. Even in the wet the grip is great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Silver1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

comfortable and grippy

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
The tape is a nice thickness and I found it wrapped around the bars well and didn't seem at all stretchy, after doing lots of internet searching I decided on wrapping the left side anti-clockwise and the right side clockwise viewed from behind the bars, no sign of any unwrapping yet. I think the small lengths for around the brake levers could do with having a bit more adhesive on as they were prone to springing off as I tried cover them whilst wrapping!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2Pedals
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

It's not sticky

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I've seen Lizard Skins every time I come to replace my bar tape and decided against it because of the 'sticky' feel to it (compared to my usual cork based tape). When shopping in my local store a member of the team convinced me to give it a go.
Nice and easy to fit that results in a good level wrap, it pads well plus (I'm told) it cleans off easily. It looks like it will wear well too.
Its good enough that I'll buy again for my other bikes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warlord
Country:Finland
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great tape

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Easy to install, great grip, looks good. Nothing bad to say.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
chris1963
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

good product and looks good too

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Purchased lizard skin bar tape before and found it easy to fit and has a definite feel of quality about it. Looks good and makes the bars comfortable to grip as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graylin
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Great bar tape

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
Lizard skin bar tape is not cheap but it is worth every penny. Its easy to work with so looks great when its fitted, feels great to ride with, kills a lot of the road vibration. Whats not to enjoy about this tape. I would reccomend this for winter and summer bikes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
robvb
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Excellent bar tape

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Really good result and very high grip. It took a couple of attempts to get it right and there isn't much room for error as the lengths are just enough.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
iamsteve17
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

VERY Comfortable Bar tape

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
This stuff is grippy and very shock absorbent. its easy to apply and pretty tough. it comes off nicely when its time to change and it looks lovely.
i use the white which does get dirty but i guess thats white bar tape for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wils
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The very best; albeit at a price.

PostedJune 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Easy to fit, and perfect to the touch in either wet or dry conditions.....with or without mitts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gnarlylondon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The best out there

PostedJune 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
It has a relatively low profile with a shiny surface which looks great.
Includes bar ends, extra strips of tape for the underside of the shifters, and finishing tape, so all you need is your own electrical tape.
The tape is very comfortable and has great grip in all weather conditions.
Quite expensive, but it's my first choice for bar tape.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Lizard Skins DSP Bar Tape
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bloodaxe
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfy bar tape at a price

PostedJune 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive, difficult to fit
Bar tape is great in use, comfy, absorbs vibration, works well in the rain. More fiddly to fit than other bar tape, and a lot more expensive.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>