Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Fuji Team 1.0 2011 Road Bike

Fuji Team 1.0 2011 Road Bike

Overall rating:
4.636 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
10 out of 11(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer reviews for Fuji Team 1.0 2011 Road Bike
Review 1 for Fuji Team 1.0 2011 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Djhackett1
from Essesx - Lakeside
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male

First Road Bike

Posted01 May 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Bought this on the interest free scheme through Evans after doing some serious research and test riding on a number of other road bikes. It was my first road bike and I was looking at commuting 25 miles a day round trip from Lakeside to Romford.
Now I have nothing to compare this bike to other than the other ones I test road (Jamis, Trek, Cannondale etc..) and I was a bit nervous at the £999 price tag for a first bike as I was worried it may be a five minute wonder.
I can honestly say that over the past 5 to 10 years this is one of the best things I have spent my hard earned wages on. I hate sitting in traffic and I was getting sick and tired of it costing me nearly £70 to fill up a standard 1.6L car.
I now ride everywhere I can, this bike feels awesome, it is reactive, light and the gears change smoothly. I looked at the psychological side of cycling and new that I had to look at my bike and love the look of it, and believe me I do.
I have not regretted this purchase for one second. I am not well off, not overly fit and will say again that I was worried about the price for a first bike - The outcome is that I have already saved £150 in petrol this month and am getting fitter by the week. Worth it in my opinion.
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Fuji Team 1.0 2011 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
skinbob01
from Birmingham
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Superb bike

Posted01 December 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, 105 components
Cons: white saddle, white handlebar tape
I've deliberately waited 4 months before writing this review to make sure I'm telling the truth!
The bike is superb, you'd struggle to find any bike under £1200 with equivalent components & that factor alone sells the bike no questions. The 105s are a big step up from tiagra & sora that you get on similar priced bikes & it just makes the ride so easy & gear changes are a dream.
I've seen other reviews complaining about the saddle but I don't think it's that bad, if you excuse the colour! The colour issue applies to the handlebar tape too, why you'd have white is beyond me & mine is filthy and needs replacing.
Whilst talking about the cons, it's worth mentioning the reflectors on the wheels, they're hideously out of place & look cheap, the first thing I did was remove them!
I've mentioned a couple of things I have gripes with but in the grand scheme of things they are pretty insignificant & certainly don't affect performance at all. This is a great bike & to pick it up for sub £1k is a bargain really.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Fuji Team 1.0 2011 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speedbird1
from Surrey
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good Bike

Posted17 October 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Previously owned a Kona CinderCone (outstanding bike) mountain bike, but decided to give road bike a go after some lengthy trips that were too much for a MTB.
This bike seems to offer good value for the level of components, it's surprisingly comfortable and looks great.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Fuji Team 1.0 2011 Road Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
akrobar
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fantastic bike for the price.

Posted07 September 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
I recently bought an rode this bike from London to Edinburgh and I have to say it was a joy to ride. Pretty comfortable (for an aluminium frame anyway) and had no great discomfort doing 10 hours plus a day. I found it a huge step up from the old steel road bike i had before and it rides very fast, for those that haven't ridden a decent road bike before, in cities it is more often then not quicker to cycle on of these then to drive.
Having looked around quite extensively it is hard to find a bike with such high quality components at such a good price. I believe (although i stand to be corrected) you wont find a bike with a shinamo 105 groupset for for much under a thousand pounds (this was 900 when i bought it on evans).
A few negatives i noted however were;
Garish colour scheme, i personally didnt like it, but if it is your thing this bike really is fantastic value for money.
If you intend to use this bike for commuting you might want to look elsewhere. This bike will certainly get you to work quickly but has nowhere to attach panniers too, which may be a problem for some.
While common with most bikes at this price range be aware that you will not get any pedals with this bike. The reasoning behind it is at this price level customers are likely to be very picky about which pedals they want, some opting for toe clips, others for clip in systems. The decision is left up to the customer. Wasn't an issue for me but may come as a shock to some who would expect perhaps some basic pedals at least when forking out 900 for a bike.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Fuji Team 1.0 2011 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MrRobo
from Medway
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male

Love it!

Posted07 September 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
After many years away from cycling I decided to get back on the saddle! I purchased the Fuji 6 weeks ago. Already my level of fitness has improved after riding 3 times per week. Owning this bike has given me the motivation.
The bike looks fantastic and rides fantastic. Really smooth gear changes, the riding position is great both in and out of the saddle. The specification is excellent for the price point and amgonst the lightest for the money also.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Fuji Team 1.0 2011 Road Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Phoenixoldboy
from Brighton
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

First Road Bike

Posted25 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Uncomfortable
I used to ride a Kona Dr Dew to and from work. That did the job perfectly well and is a quick hybrid, a little heavy, but then the disc brakes usually add plenty.
The Fuji Team 1.0 is much lighter, very quick and the gears very smooth. I can really generate a much quicker top speed and the acceleration that can be put through the bike is like nothing I have experienced before. The quick gear changes help loads due to the 105s that are fitted. The Evans shop assistant confirmed that the spec on this bike is comparable with bikes in the £1200 range.
But, it has a very aggressive riding style, perhaps too much for me. I am 6 foot 4 and it is starting to give me problems. I brought the 61cm frame size. I am going to get the stem raised to generate a more up right position. I strongly suspect that smaller riders would not suffer from this problem. If you think that may be a problem, then be careful with this one. The Evans shop assistant said that a Bianchi is usually more forgiving. Maybe think about a bigger frame than normal as well.
The white handle bar tape and saddle look good for about 50 miles before they start to look dirty. Look great in the shop but no good for actual riding. That can of course be changed quite easily.
Overall, this bike is very good indeed, very good value, good components and only the wheels that need an upgrade to reduce the weight of the bike.
I would recommend this bike, but you must have a good test ride first.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Fuji Team 1.0 2011 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sharky07
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fast and Good Value

Posted23 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I've been riding it for 2 months and I've been very impressed. I originally bought it on the 30 day trial scheme and decided to keep it after test riding similar priced Specialized, Trek and Bianchi.
Pros: Fast, lightweight, great spec for the price, surprisingly comfortable (I did a 90km ride recently and had no issues), looks good.
Cons: The handle bar grips lose their pristine whiteness pretty quick (as you'd expect).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Fuji Team 1.0 2011 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vespario
from Bristol
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Outstanding road bike!

Posted10 July 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought this just over a week ago. Covered over 100 miles in 2 medium hilly rides. Smooth gear changes, comfortable geometry and very sporty handling. Component spec is great for the money. Can't think of anything I have found wrong with the bike.
Makes a change from the hundreds of other more popular brands I ride passed most weekends and very fetching colour scheme. A head turner that will not disappoint you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Fuji Team 1.0 2011 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MccStu
from South downs
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Fast

Posted15 April 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: check big ring for damaged teeth
So this is my first real road bike and I can only compare it to my hardrock pro which it obviously isn't as comfortable to ride as, but surprisingly a lot more comfortable than I thought it would be. After a wobbly first mile or two I found my self really at home with the bike having too look a lot further ahead than I normally would due to the increase in speed which is really effortless on this machine. Shifting is instant with reassuring clunks and a gear for any hill, the brakes I found very good when on the third day of ownership the inside of a car door approached at high speed excellent tyres to but they were useless for the first ten miles I think all tyres are like that though. If you cycle mainly on nice roads or fancy a second bike for that sort of thing I cannot stress enough how impressed I am with this machine although I can only compare it to my mtb.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Fuji Team 1.0 2011 Road Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nevsky
from West London
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fuji Team 1.0 - First "grown-up" bike

Posted08 April 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I've been commuting by bike (30 miles a day) for about a year now. Up until a month ago I was on a Piccacle hybrid which was a nice enough bike. Having signed up for the Big Issue's London to Paris in July, though, I though I should upgrade to a road bike.
Having done a lot of research, I settled on the Fuji - the added bonus being that it's included in Evans's great 30 day trial offer. It took me a few days to get used to all the differences of a road bike, but I absolutely love it! The difference from the hybrid is staggering. It's surprisingly comfortable for a bike with fairly aggressive geometry, and is blindingly quick - I've been keeping up with all the hardcore cyclists in Richmond Park with no problems. This bike offers a lot of top end components for a relatively reasonable price - Shimano 105s being the obvious one. Gear changes are a dream.
I recently tried my second choice; the Specialised Secteur Elite. Same price, similar(ish) spec. Pros and cons - Secteur is more comfortable (more upright position and more absorbtion of road chatter) and brakes seem more responsive, but slower and I hated the touble-tap shifters. Getting back on the Fuji afterwards just felt right. After a little bit of though I've decided to stick with the Fuji as it feels so much crisper, faster and more responsive. The white saddle and handlebar tape are a bit pointless and are now a nice share of grey, but I'll change those for black in due course.
The only downside is that my employers haven't opened the Ride 2 Work scheme yet, so I've had to make the executive decision to pay full whack....which I don't regret at all!
Overall, a great first road bike.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Fuji Team 1.0 2011 Road Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JOeGraphics
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

60 mile Ride It day with the Fuji Team 1.0

Posted03 April 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Uncomfortable
Really enjoyed the 60 mile ride on a Fuji Team 1.0.
At a weight of 8.95kg this was the lightest bike I have personally used. The 20 gears on a 34/50T Chainring and 105 5700 11-28T Shimano Cassette made the 60 miles feel more like 30. (Im used to a 1982 Raleigh Criterium)
Tektro R540's with Shimano 105 5700 10sp brake levers/shifters allow solid braking and gear control with minimal effort.
One down-side was that the Velo VL-1205B saddle wasn't particularly comfortable. Apparently I wasn't the first to say this..
Commuting on a fixed Fuji track, 12 miles a day. I thought this 60 mile ride would be hard work considering it was a 2/4 hill rated course. It was a pleasure, besides the seat...
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.