Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Giro Monza Helmet

Giro Monza Helmet

A great helmet is so comfortable that once its on, it virtually disappears. Giro's proprietary three- size Super Fit system is based on human scale factors data and over 20 years of crafting helmets for the best bike riders in the world. The result is pure Skull Hugging Luxury, a helmet that fits 98% of the worlds population, yet looks (and fits) like it was custom made just for you.
Overall rating:
4.288 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(59 reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 59 reviews
5 Stars
28
4 Stars
23
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
56 out of 59Would you recommend this product to a friend?95%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for Giro Monza Helmet
Review 1 for Giro Monza Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
IrishMTB
from Bedford
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Giro Helmet

Posted30 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: strapps
This is my first bike helmet of which I bought it online. I was going to get a specific mountain bike helmet but felt most of my bike rides are around lakes etc so I decided to go for a road bike version. The helmet is not at all big on my head like some of the others brands. It is super light and built of high quality. The fit is really comfortable with the adjustment on the rear. The only thing I found negative about it was the straps. I found it very difficult to adjust to a comfortable position but in the end got it right. Overall I would highly recommend it for either road or off road.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Giro Monza Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Arvind
from Bangalore, India
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Well constructed good quality helmet

Posted25 March 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
I liked the way this helmet feels and looks. The materials look of good quality, its lightweight and fits well.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Giro Monza Helmet
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Small
Large
Mariya
Country:Denmark
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Too small for a small head in size Small

Posted20 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Uncomfortable
good looking and sterdy helmet, but unfortunately too small for the head, despite double checking the measurements with Evans prior to ordering. going to return the helmet and find a bigger one instead.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Giro Monza Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
thejaunce
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great lid and fantastic value in the sale!

Posted01 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Compared to my previous lid this feels so much more comfortable and secure. Adjustment for size is so easy and it feels nice and light too.
Would be very good value at RRP, but absolutely amazing at sale price.
Thoroughly recommend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Giro Monza Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
JaseyB123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Protection and Comfort

Posted07 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Purchased this helmet as a replacement for my previously beloved Giro Monza of 6 years following a heavy spill at 30mph.
I went straight for the same make and model as the last one certainly saved my bacon and only left me with mild concussion as opposed to a full head injury.
I was worried that, having worn the previous helmet for 6 years, the fit would seem alien from another. Although at first the fit was marginally different (likely as not worn) I have worn this out on a few 100 milers and the comfort remains a fantastic feature, well fitted and stays position well which is a reassuring factor especially after a recent spill.
Sizing in terms of depth is quite large, though no more so than the previous model and certainly offers that additional feeling of security for the head, not that I have any intention of crashing out again to test this.
All in all well worth the expenditure.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Giro Monza Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DC44
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

1st cycle helmet. great.

Posted29 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Looked at a few other cycle helmets but picked this one for it's looks & features.
Does my job very well, no complaints thus far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Giro Monza Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
saker999
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great helmet

Posted09 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I tried on a few helmets before I decided on the Giro Monza. It fits well, is reasonably light and looks good. What more could one ask?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Giro Monza Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Milliejules
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great entry level helmet

Posted06 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
I bought this helmet on price match and the large size is spot on (sizing is true). I recommend this to anyone looking for a decent road helmet but not really ready to pay €100 plus or so for one. Fit is great and easy to adjust.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Giro Monza Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
smce
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great helmet, well vented and comfortable

Posted04 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
I was surprised by the noticable weight difference between this and my old Giro Atmos helmet, but at half the price of the atmos, this is not a major issue. The Monza is as good as the atmos, just heavier!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Giro Monza Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Matston
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Great lid

Posted24 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Really light and a comfy fit. The tightening wheel at the back works great
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Giro Monza Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
HayleyE
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Sound Helmet

Posted11 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
I have a 57cm head and a medium fits a treat. There's enough room to thread a pony tail through the gap between above the ratchet which is handy. The venting is pretty reasonable but of course doesn't eliminate sweat completely. The padding sometimes comes out of place but is easily re-positioned and doesn't slip around during use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Giro Monza Helmet
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
savaphil86
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Not white

Posted06 February 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: Unattractive
The picture made the helmet appear quite white but it wasn't actually in the flesh.
The piece on the forehead is very thick making this feel like a helmet from the much cheaper end of the range.
However, the usual Giro quality still stands and this will suit many people.
I recommend that you get one in your hands before committing your cash.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Giro Monza Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
AJL1975
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted16 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Very pleased with this helmet. Use it for both commuting and training rides.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Giro Monza Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
woodwat
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Marginal gains

Posted04 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
You could spend £9.99 on a helmet but you don't because it seems too good to be true and you fear that you're likely to get tat. So you move up the price scale a bit and, yes, you get more. More adjustability, more thoughtfully designed ventilation, less weight, etc etc.
You do get what you pay for although each additional pound spent delivers a slightly less marked improvement than the last. Having had my previous Giro helmet preserve my head at its own expense in a nasty crash I felt a certain amount of brand loyalty when I bought this.
It does not fail to deliver. A good fit, easily adjustable, light, well-ventilated and pretty good-looking.
Lots of boxes ticked for me. Job done.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Giro Monza Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Charlie128
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Helmet at a good price

Posted21 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Well ventilated but if you pay more you can get more ventilation. I have so much hair it doesn't make a lot of difference to me. Light but again you can go lighter with more investment. Straps are comfortable and the helmet looks good. At then end of the day this is a very good helmet for the money you pay for it. If you're more of a pro or planning to cycle many long rides then a larger investment for more comfort is advisable. However this is a great helmet at a great price. Helmets need to be replaced soon anyway so I see no point in spending too much.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Giro Monza Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
cycleinstead
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good, comfortable helmet

Posted20 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
The Giro Monza was easy to fit, light and comfortable. It appears to be well made and is very easy to adjust. The venting system is great and will be well used during the Perth summer. It is a large helmet and may not suit all people but I'm very happy with it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Giro Monza Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bikeist
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

you'd have to be mad not to

Posted24 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I had to replace mine (newer model but otherwise like-for-like) because my old one cracked when I landed on my head when I came off in the park (probably going a little faster than I should have been). I hit a football that had gone astray across the road.
Anyway, it still shocks me to see people not wearing helmets. If you're considering it, GET ONE, and this one is pretty good, not too expensive, a good fit and nice and light. It could save your life - literally.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Giro Monza Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ingomax
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Value for price

Posted22 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
fits like a glove on my 61 cm circm.head, excellent value for price. Good occasional and above cycle helmet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Giro Monza Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted20 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Good looking, lightweight helmet that is easy to adjust. A great upgrade from a starter helmet for someone like me who is getting more and more into cycling.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Giro Monza Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
VH12
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great fit, very comfortable

Posted12 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Needed a new helmet and after reading reviews about this one decided to go for it. It feels so much more secure than my last one, fits me perfectly and is really comfortable.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>