Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Giro Ionos Helmet

Giro Ionos Helmet

A great helmet is so comfortable that once its on, it virtually disappears. Giro's proprietary three- size Super Fit system is based on human scale factors data and over 20 years of crafting helmets for the best bike riders in the world. The result is pure Skull Hugging Luxury, a helmet that fits 98% of the worlds population, yet looks (and fits) like it was custom made just for you.
Overall rating:
4.63 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 27 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
27 out of 27(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for Giro Ionos Helmet
Review 1 for Giro Ionos Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
spentyouth
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Why have another ?

PostedMarch 25, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Really light and well fitting, you don't really know you've got it on. Good value for money, as you get a quality product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Giro Ionos Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RatsB
from Brighton
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Light, airy, comfy, smart and easy to adjust.

PostedJune 12, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I upgraded my old hemet as I could never get the straps adjusted properly, and it was forever tipping backwards on my head. I tried several helmets on and this was by far the most comfy and easy to adjust. It looks neat, too, and doesn't give me a 'mushroom' head.
I've only worn it in the summer, and it is considerably more airy than my previous helmet. I like the fact that it is easy to adjust on the go as well with the little dial being easy to adjust at the back with fingerless mitts on.
It isn't cheap, but it is the only piece of kit that I wear every ride, and arguably the most important, so I feel it was well worth it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Giro Ionos Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Barchop75
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
This is my second Ionos helmet I have bought after I crashed and cracked my first. Its great in the summer, lightweight and keeps your head cool on hot days in Scotland!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Giro Ionos Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TriJimmy

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
good fast delivery and a great product, i will be using evans cycles again!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Giro Ionos Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Prawncurry
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fits snug.

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
This is a replacement for a Bell helmet, it is snug, warm with the extra inner liner and feels light and usable, and it oozes quality and makes you feel like you are wearing a top class product. It is expensive, but it’s also highly rated in terms of protection. Protection one may ask!, Yes indeed that’s the reason why we buy them, not to look cool (although this does help) but to aide in the event of an incident, let’s hope we don't have to judge their performance then, but in all honesty, that’s why you pay the premium price as the Manufacturers have done this for us. Safe cycling people.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Giro Ionos Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ZPeugeot
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Safety, comfort and style, pricey but worth it

PostedAugust 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Ever since buying a Lemond Air Attack in the early Nineties, which was a massive step up in safety and ventilation from my first 7/Eleven styled hairnet, I've trusted in Giro to deliver on cranial protection if the worst happens, comfort in hot conditions and road race style. There have been steady improvements in models such as the Pneumo, Boreas and Atmos in terms of fit and comfort, but I can honestly say that the Ionos is without doubt the best fitting (for my small head), most aerated, secure road helmet I have ever had the pleasure of not noticing I'm wearing. And if it does get too efficiently draughty in the cooler weather, the supplied insert is a great idea and a handy alternative to my Buff.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Giro Ionos Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FergQ
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Recommended!

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is my 2nd Ionos, and 3rd Giro helmet. My last Ionos has been replaced by this following a crash. The helmet cracked on impact, luckily that was the worst of the damage, my head was unscathed. Apart from offering the protection I expected, it is also lightweight, well ventilated and easy to adjust.
More than happy to recommend this helmet!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Giro Ionos Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Houge
Country:Denmark
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
The helmet has a very good cooling effect, a perfect fit and is very comfortable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Giro Ionos Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
martski
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

almost feels like riding without a helmet

PostedJuly 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
lightweight, great fit, amazing ventilation. compared to the top end mavic helmet I was considering as well it was cheaper and far superior. one tiny flaw was fractionally limited adjustability v other options and found the fitting on the giro atmos marginally more comfortable but not enough to trade down the giro range.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Giro Ionos Helmet
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Annie23
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good fitting lightweight helmet

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I chose this helmet based on the reviews it had which were all good. It is light and you can forget you're wearing it and the ventilation is also good.
However, for the price, I was expecting much more. This replaced my much cheaper Giro that was very old and to be honest apart from more vents at the back the fit and weight are not much different.
One advantage is the dial at the back which makes adjustments easy.
It looks good and feels nice to wear but I don't think it does much to earn the high price tag.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Giro Ionos Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Colin13
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great helmet thoroughly recommended

PostedJune 29, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I have been considering a new road lid for sometime now and the Ionos ticks all the boxes for me. Light and comfortable with great ventilation i'd seriously think about this if you are looking for a new helmet.
With added reduction from Evans coupled with the jubilee voucher made it to attractive to miss!
Good on ya Evans.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Giro Ionos Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tonyc777
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

light and good fit

PostedJune 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
great design
nice and light to wear
fits well with good adjusting strap at the back
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Giro Ionos Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
chrisro
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best helmet so far.

PostedJune 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, rocloc 5
Fits perfect to the point where i dont even know i have it on. It doesn't swamp my head like other helmets I've used before.
It feels alot lighter than my previous helmets.
I love the RocLoc 5 adjustment system is so easy to use.
It costs more than i would normally pay but i do use it every time i ride and my wife and daughter use it when i am not using it as they find it so comfortable. Daughter likes the fact it doesn't swamp her head too.
I would definitely buy the Ionos again.
With the Evans discounts and vouchers made it less painful on my wallet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Giro Ionos Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
astley45
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great ventilation and perfect fit

PostedJune 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
i paid a bit more than i usually do for a helmet but glad i did it fits perfectly and comes with a spare set of pads and a skull cap type pad which will be perfect for winter, and as always evans cycles beat any price i could find.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Giro Ionos Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jk73
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great looks, comfort, and quality

PostedJune 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is my second Ionos. Great product which provides a great fit. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Giro Ionos Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Kinbold

Good, light, expensive.

PostedApril 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
It's a good helmet. A little bit expensive, tought. Very light and looks great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Giro Ionos Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wenrui
Country:Singapore
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great ventilation, comfortable fit.

PostedMarch 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Personally, I have been wearing Giro helmets for many years now, because what I found was that the shape of Giro helmets (the bit where you put your head) fits me best. Thing is, different helmet manufacturers make the shapes of their helmets slightly different I think, so it's best to try different brands until you get your best fit.
That aside, if Giro's your shape, then I think that you'll be satisfied with the Ionos. It's at a good price, for its weight and ventilation. It's very light, and you hardly realize that you're wearing it (unless you crash and hit your head or something).
With regards to ventilation, this has got to be one of the most well-aired helmets I've ever worn. It's very cooling, and you can feel the airflow through the vents of the helmet as you cruise at a good speed.
The locking system at the back of the helmet has been greatly improved over its predecessor, which makes it easier to adjust while riding if you ever need to. Also, it seems to be more sturdy and stronger than the previous system Giro used to employ.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Giro Ionos Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BMO1
from Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product and great price.

PostedFebruary 20, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
We all know Giro make great helmets and the Ionos is no exception.
Plenty of pros and no cons!
cheers
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Giro Ionos Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
XmLc

PostedSeptember 4, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Best helmet ever. This super light weight helmet from Giro, is absolutly worth every penny.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Giro Ionos Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cadge66
from Cumbria
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Giro Ionos Helmet.

PostedAugust 19, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I did a lot of research before buying this helmet. My main gripes were weight and comfort. The Giro Ionos is both light and very comfortable. I do tend to sweat a bit and the pads within the helmet do a great job at keeping my brow clear. They can be easily removed to clean and dry. It is a stylish looking helmet too and the vents help to keep me cool even on hot days.It fits like a glove. Good value for money as far as safety is concerned. Well pleased!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>