Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Specialized BG Comp MTB Shoe

Specialized BG Comp MTB Shoe

Overall rating:
4.606 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 33 reviews
5 Stars
22
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
31 out of 33(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized BG Comp MTB Shoe
Review 1 for Specialized BG Comp MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dylan62
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value for money

PostedJune 30, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
For what you pay this is a great pair of shoes. Good quality, stylish finish and lightweight. Excellent value. I have a pair of S-Works shoes as well. These are not in the same league but are a really great backup pair of shoes and perfect for daily commenting and weekend fun rides.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Specialized BG Comp MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SupaDupa

good shoes

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
I've only tried it in a spin bike and I liked them very much. My old shoes were preaty cheap, so I felt a big diference.
My casual shoes are a 39, but I bougth a 40 and they're a perfect fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized BG Comp MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Width
Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Wide
zaskarman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Good value shoes

PostedDecember 29, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: narrow
I went for these based on my old specialized shoes which were perfect from day one. However having tried on lots of different pairs and styles they all come up narrow in comparison. Also the ratchet adjustable strap is set at the wrong angle and so pulls slightly tighter from the bottom/front instead of evenly. Overall though a well made shoe at a good price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized BG Comp MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Moss
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Specialized BG Comp MTB Shoe

PostedNovember 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
The BG Comp MTB shoes I've only had for a short while; they are a nice looking shoe with sleek styling, the sizing is just about spot on; although if you need to wear thicker socks in the winter? you'd need to size up 1, size bigger. Straps and buckle fastening have a nice secure hold. The BG insole is comfortable; and I would have given them 5, star rating; except for the finish around the toungue of the shoe; and the side of the shoe is touching my ankle bone (a slight rubbing )on the sides just behind the buckle fastening. But, I do like them; and I'm sure the slight discomfort from the ankle rub, will disappear with regular use..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Specialized BG Comp MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mickys
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

comfortable

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
I seem to get through a pair of there every 18 months or so, I am sure I could find something that might last longer but its a sacrifice I am willing to take over comfort. Very good in the hot climate with lots of nice air sections. yet fully covered foot.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Specialized BG Comp MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
yogionabike
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Holborn

Comfortable Sturdy Shoes

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
Bought these on the recommendation of the shop assistant. Wasn't sure I wanted to spend quite so much at first, but glad I did as they're much better than I hoped for. Glad I opted for the MTB version rather than road version as I can walk short distances between bike storage and office in these when I commute, due to cleats being embedded within the treads, rather than having to carry footwear with me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized BG Comp MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fleet
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice shoe and a good fit

PostedJuly 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I have low volume feet and arthritis in my big toes so finding a shoe is not easy I tried on a 9, 10 and 11 sizes and found the shoe adaptable enough to have worn any of the sizes though the 9 was very snug and the 11 would suit winter socks, the 10 is just right giving room for my big toes unlike Shimano shoes which are narrow fitting. I always add orthotics and extra "mouse mat" arch support otherwise my toes go numb in any shoes. So far these are the best shoes I have had.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Specialized BG Comp MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DB1985
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Good shoe for road cycling too

PostedJune 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Was recommended these shoes by member of Evans staff who said he used them in competitions. Was able to lump them into my finance deal so went for slightly more expensive pair than I went in for. Haven't been disappointed and can easily walk in them when I do my commute through train stations up/down steps etc.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Specialized BG Comp MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Spongo66
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Good value SPD shoe

PostedJune 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: certain spd pedals may not fit well
Having finally decided to replace my 15 year old Shimano shoes I decided to spend more than the £45 that my original shoes cost. My top requirement was for the new shoes not to have laces as these have always been a right faff to get them on and off quickly.
I chose the Specialised shoes because they had a Q/R strap and Velcro and offered a fit better for wider feet. The shoes themselves appear well made and provided good support, especially the uppers. The combination of straps and the ski style binding proved very comfortable and easy to adjust. Cleat installation was relatively simple although the aggressive tread blocks on the sole may make 'clicking' in with certain pedals difficult and you may have to remove some of the tread with a Stanley knife.
Overall a good pair of shoes for the price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Specialized BG Comp MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GerryM
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Good quality shoe

PostedMay 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
i've purchased the pro version of this shoe before, and the difference in quality between versions is negligible, and focuses on the carbon sole .
Good quality, use these shoes on road bike and very happy with them.
and good speedy delivery from Evans too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Specialized BG Comp MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CGN909
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Great fit, with good support.

PostedMay 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy
This is a great shoe, which fits like a glove and the ratchet system really lets you tighten up. For when things get a little vertical there is good grip, and enough flex in the toe to make things comfortable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Specialized BG Comp MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
theBigArc
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wandsworth

Good quality shoe

PostedApril 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I tried on just about every shoe the Evans store had in stock and this shoe came out tops on looks, comfort and build quality.
I've worn them for commuting and weekend rides for a few weeks and I'm pleased with the choice.
The build quality is excellent and the finish allows mud and grime to be washed off easily.
The only negative I can find is that they are suprisingly well ventilated so they're a bit cold on winter commutes but I'm looking forward to wearing them through the summer months.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Specialized BG Comp MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Summer01
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Summer01

PostedMarch 31, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
With the harsh winter I started spin classes in the gym to make up absent time on the road. Originally I was after a a shoe on sale, but went for a better fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Specialized BG Comp MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
accg1991
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Re-assuringly tight without feeling restrictive

PostedMarch 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought these having had problems with Shimano's shoes, as they all felt too tight. I tried these based on recommendations by the staff in store, as they have a wider fit and they feel a lot more comfortable than the Shimano range. A bit more expensive, but I think that they are worth it. Plus, the clip strap goes a long way to re-assure you that the shoe will not slide around when riding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Specialized BG Comp MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
George1995
Style:Mountain Biking

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
They are very comfortable and they are adjustable for all kind of cleats.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Specialized BG Comp MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous

Extreme;ly comfortable and lightweight

PostedOctober 22, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
These shoes are great!! very comfortable and very lightweight. I currently cycle around 80 miles per week in them and they are brilliant. cant recommend these shoes enough to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Specialized BG Comp MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Teddy67
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

Very comfortable shoe

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought these shoes for use with my road bike and initially was a little concerned that I wouldn't get used to the clip in cleat system. Within 10 minutes I was clipping in and out without even looking!
They are extremely comfortable shoes and well ventilated. Also, off the bike they are very easy to walk in.
The SPD system makes a huge difference to my cycling. No more feet slipping or movement means that my leg muscles are always working in the correct plane.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Specialized BG Comp MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mrhobbes
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Comfort

PostedAugust 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Excellent product. Extremely comfortable and easy to wear.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Specialized BG Comp MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MTBPlayer
Country:Egypt
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

I love these shoes

PostedJune 17, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I love these shoes.
Good quality shoes for hard work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Specialized BG Comp MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JMcM
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great shoes but...

PostedJune 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality
These fit great; feel secure & comfortable. They're easy to adjust. They're light, rigid and strong. I really like them.
However, I'm on my second pair because the soles came away at the toes on the first pair. After maybe 10 rides a small gap appeared between the sole and the toecap on both shoes. The gaps grew until the shoes were unwearable.
Warranty replacement from Evans with minimal fuss and no problems to report yet on the second pair - but I've only worn them twice. So I'm hoping they'll last better than the first pair.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>