Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for MKS FD-7 Folding Pedals

MKS FD-7 Folding Pedals

Overall rating:
4.737 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
19 out of 19(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer reviews for MKS FD-7 Folding Pedals
Review 1 for MKS FD-7 Folding Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BigBigAl
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Sturdy

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
These are reassuringly sturdy and strong and do not feel compromised by folding at all. I'm convinced they are heavier than I think they should be and the grip isn't super sharp. Folding is very simple, and pulling back into place is even easier... great product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for MKS FD-7 Folding Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Voxac100b
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
It was bought:Online

Excellent quality pedals

PostedJune 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
I purchased these for my Tern Joe C24. I fitted them in minutes. They are very sturdy pedals that fold using a push button system. The centre section still sits out a little but all in all the pedals are an excellent product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for MKS FD-7 Folding Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DaveyB32
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Very useful and seem strong and rigid

PostedMay 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: effective
Cons: Heavy
I fitted these to a Montague folding bike. They are ideal for their role and seem strong and rigid enough as well. The folding mech seems well designed and provides an easy method with a firm hold for good support.
The all metal construction suggests these will last well and they certainly seem better engineered than some of the plastic variants. As a heavy bloke I am fully aware of the need for the strength in the pedals and unfortunately the pay-off for strength is increased weight.
The silver finish is a bit brash and there are no alternatives, but a coloured finish would also wear so these should remain looking OK.
Folding pedals are always going to be a compromise, so accept that and you should be happy with these.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for MKS FD-7 Folding Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cavan97
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Sturdy and reliable

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Have these on folding bike about 2 weeks. Not as good a grip for your feet as I thought but getting used to it and I don't mind. These pedals are really solid and easy to fold. One push and folded. Slightly pricey but I need something that I can rely on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for MKS FD-7 Folding Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
iridium
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

sturdy product

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
A very sturdy product, I've been through two sets of folding pedals on my Dahon folder about 1000 miles on each. On both sets, the bearings on the right pedal failed. These pedals feels like a they will last for more than 1000 miles.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for MKS FD-7 Folding Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FoldingBikeGuy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Good product, solid

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
I got these to replace broken plastic folding pedals. These are much more solid. Easy to fold.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for MKS FD-7 Folding Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nomadman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A good buy

PostedSeptember 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
I bought this to make my Trek Fuel EX5 more convenient to transport and store. It is solid and well engineered with a slick and smooth folding action. Gram counters might find it a bit heavy but for my requirements its great. Recommended.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for MKS FD-7 Folding Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MartiNe74
Country:Slovakia
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

simple and easy to use on my folding bike

PostedJuly 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
MKS pedals are great
- simply and easy to use,
- more durable than "plastic" original pedals on my folding bike,
- good price...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for MKS FD-7 Folding Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Minny
Country:Singapore
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality foldable pedal

PostedMay 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Definitely very good quality foldable pedal. It came with a allen key that allows it to be fix in double quick time . In fact I am now thiking of unfixing one of the pedal when I park in unsecure location so that any thief will have a surprise when they try to ride the bike away. I wld think that the pedal wld last a lifetime as compared with the original rubbery pedal from Tern which snapped into 2 when my foot slipped during one rainy day. It is very easy to unfold (slight press of the button) and has good grip. Price was a bit high but the free shipping charges and prompt delievery more than make up for it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for MKS FD-7 Folding Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

Excellent

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, easy to use, great grip
Easy folding mechanism. Great grip on the sole. Much better than the original Dahon pedals that I replaced. And they look better too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for MKS FD-7 Folding Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jayesse78
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Great quality, sturdy folding pedals.

PostedNovember 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
These pedals are great. They feel strong which gives me confidence when cycling around London. I highly recommend them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for MKS FD-7 Folding Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vochovia
from UK
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Spitalfields

Great pedals

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I swapped easy-fit pedals for these folding ones on a Dahon; they weigh a little more but once they're on they're a lot more user friendly when carrying the folded bike. They've got a good (easy) folding action and once they've been clicked into position they're nice and grippy when cycling. Very pleased (and Evans price matched them for me as well!)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for MKS FD-7 Folding Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mebor
from Yorkshire
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Well made product

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
We purchased these folding pedals to make loading two bikes onto a car cycle carrier, as normal pedals got tangled up with the 2nd cycle when load onto the car carrier. The folding pedals alleviated this problem.
If you intend carrier cycles on a car carrier they are well recomended.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for MKS FD-7 Folding Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rollercone
from Aberdeen.
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Folding pedals.

PostedSeptember 1, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, reflectors fitted
Cons: Heavy
Very solid pedals with a smooth folding action. Much more secure all round than composite pedals but quite a bit heavier. Good to have built-in reflectors.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for MKS FD-7 Folding Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BarneyBarnett
from York/Leeds
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Shiny and slick

PostedJune 8, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, shiny
Amazing that one could get so excited about a set of pedals. I have a landrover 2010 citylite and had done about 300 miles when the right pedal bearings went. Did some searching and due to Evans price match and delivery options bought from here. Pedals are great - very smooth fold and bearings. They feel very solid and the grip is very good. The Evans site is also good and I used the ship to store option as it suited me not to have the goods delivered to home or work. Delivery was three week days (5 in total). Impressed by the pedals and the servicem
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for MKS FD-7 Folding Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mwong
from Singapore
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

MKS FD-7 Folding Pedals

PostedMay 23, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I was looking for a better quality folding pedals to replace the plastic ones I had. This is a good quality product, folds and unfold easily.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for MKS FD-7 Folding Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vicski
from Essex/London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Easy to use, comfortable feel

PostedMay 18, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
After nearly two years of 5 days a week use the folding pedals on my Pinnacle Journey 1.0 were becoming dangerous by folding in by themselves during cycling. These new pedals were fitted by Evans Cycles in Spitalfields for me and they are great. So easy to use, just press a button and they fold in and flip up to fold out. Feel sturdy with a good base and comfortable when cycling too.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for MKS FD-7 Folding Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lukasan
from Rome, Italy
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

smooth and useful

PostedMay 10, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, works very smoothly
Cons: not too light
I've bought these folding pedals to replace the pedals on my dahon that broke after just a year and a half of daily commute (18 kilometers round trip).
These pedals are really weel made. No wonders MKS is a world leading company in this field. They come in a package that includes the allen key you need to mount them. The mounting operation is very simple. It takes only few minutes.
They ride just beautifully, they are incredibly smooth, the aluminum body is very strong and support my weight much better than the plastic ones I had before. (I'm not exactly a featherweight), the bearings offer very little rolling resistance making the riding experience extremely smooth and the folding mechanism is very quick and reliable.
Definitely one of the best purchase I've made for my folding bike.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for MKS FD-7 Folding Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DonnyLad
from Doncaster
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Worth every penny

PostedApril 2, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, ingenious folding action, servicable bearings
Cons: doesn'f fold quite as small as brompton pedal
I purchased these to replace the worn out pedals on my Brompton. I am quite a big fella and give the bike some "welly". I have found that the the original Brompton pedals don't last very long. I was about to replace my second right hand pedal, when I stumbled on these. They are cheaper than a pair of brompton pedals, so I thought I'd give them a try.
What a difference!
They are a direct replacement. No modification required. They feel and look like a top quality product. They spin freely as they have propper bearings. They grip better than the bromptons, even the optional metal framed ones. They are easy to fold and don't catch on the crank like the brompton can.
The only down-side is that they don't fold quite as small (only a problem on the left pedal) but it only sticks out about an inch further.
I would love to say that I would buy them again, but I honestly don't think I'll need to as I think they will last a long time.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.