Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Specialized Sport Mountain Shoe

Specialized Sport Mountain Shoe

Overall rating:
4.617 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(47 reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 47 reviews
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
45 out of 47(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 41 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized Sport Mountain Shoe
Review 1 for Specialized Sport Mountain Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gary0810
from UK
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good shoe

PostedNovember 21, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Had these for a couple of months now. I am a size 12 / 13 and bought a 48. They were a little tight at first but have given a bit and are now just right. Have ridden in the rain a few times in them and they get very wet but do not claim to be waterproof, so no complaints. Take a while to dry out and need to be put near a radiator. Overall look and feel is good but is what you would expect after spending £70. I use them on my road bike with MTB pedals and commute throught the city 25 miles a day several days a week.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Specialized Sport Mountain Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
trekjw36
from Leeds
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great!

PostedJune 16, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I use these shoes on my road bike and I'm very pleased with them. They're stiff very comfortable and light. Great value for money. Can't see them been any different on a mountain bike, so I recommend them to both road and mountain bikers.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized Sport Mountain Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
neily
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Just what I wanted

PostedMarch 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
The shoes were bang on what I wanted
I always have problems getting shoes to fit due to having narrow feet
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized Sport Mountain Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Graziella
Country:Italy
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

PostedMarch 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy
Excellent product for those who want a shoe quality, easy and convenient!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Specialized Sport Mountain Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rioaga
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wandsworth

Great shoe !!!!

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: not for winter
This is my first time using cleats and the shoe itself is perfect for me.
It does have ventilation so its not good for rain and really cold weather unless you have an overshoe.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Specialized Sport Mountain Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
eMOeSTe
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality, perfect fit, good price

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
This are my first proper cycling shoes. They are very comfortable, really good quality and I brought them from Evans Cycles for half price. I am really pleased with them. Size was exactly as normal shoes. Easy to put on with velcro straps. Easy to walk with shoes on. The only con would be that they not keep your fit warm. But probably not many of them do...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized Sport Mountain Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mrmcoelho
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
These were my first clipless shoes, and the instructions were very easy to follow to install the cleats.
The shoes are comfortable and have very good ventilation, for winter rides an overshoe is needed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Specialized Sport Mountain Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Noize69
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Under 50 quid, a real bargain.

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Bought these shoes for commuting to work on my mountain bike. They were delivered very quickly as usuall when I order anything from Evan's online. The shoe is high quality which you expect from Specialized, easy to get on and off with the velcro fasteners and incredibly warm, albeit with a pair of overshoes on but it has been cold cycling at 5am going too work. Bought for under 50 quid in the sale which is even better,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Specialized Sport Mountain Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dtidy72
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great looking shoes that are really comfortable!

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
These are the first pair of cycling shoes that I have bought and I wasn't expecting the level of comfort that they bring to riding. I also wasn't expecting to feel too confident when out on the road for the first time but they really make a difference and I would highly recommend these shoes to anyone thinking about using SPD's for the first time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Specialized Sport Mountain Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Plasticscotsman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfortable Shoe

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Bought these as I really like the BG in these shoes. Very comfy with a good stiff sloe.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Specialized Sport Mountain Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Zoom23
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Outstanding value

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I use these as my main MTB shoe and decided to buy a pair for in door spinning classes. On both fronts they are extremly comfortable and come highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Specialized Sport Mountain Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Waltdinghy
Country:France
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Road

The shoes were as described .

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I live in France and use a road bike which was new in 2011. prior to buying the new shoes i was using a pair of shimano's bought in 1985 and now of course looking worst for wear -the soles were very flexible but I liked the spd,cleats . Walking is much easier. The new shoes are MTB shoes but with spd cleats if i need to walk they are excellent. The soles forms a stiff base and are very effective when tramping up some of the steeper hills in my area.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Specialized Sport Mountain Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jonnomofo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Comfortable and good value

PostedJanuary 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
I'm not overly keen on Specialized products, however, I tried these on in store and they were the only shoe that I tried that didn't have any uncomfortable pressure points - a major consideration when you could be spending 3-6 hours in them. They''ve lasted pretty well considering the punishment they've had over the past 2 years. I have to have a size bigger than normal shoe - a 44 fits perfectly with Seal Skinz or a thick thermal sock. I'm going to buy another pair to replace current ones. Only 4 stars given simply for the fact I rarely rate anything as perfect.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Specialized Sport Mountain Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lee66
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

very comfortable

PostedJanuary 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
i was recommended these by a friend and have been very pleased with the shoes. They are comfortable and look great
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Specialized Sport Mountain Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
andyjk
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Great first clip less shoe

PostedDecember 21, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
After trying several brands of clipless shoe I settled on the Specialized as they fitted well (I found others to be too narrow for me). As others have said you'll need a larger size than you would normally buy and I strongly recommend that you visit the shop to ensure correct fit. I've used these for a month now an am very impressed for what is essentially a bottom of the range shoe. I see no need to spend more money unless you need a shoe that's waterproof (these are definitely not as a half hour ride in the rain last weekend left my feet soaking wet). They are not advertised as being waterproof. As my first entry into the clipless shoe / pedal world I can't see me going back to flat pedals.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Specialized Sport Mountain Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Payney
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Superb comfort and performance

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Have had mine for 6 months and cannot fault them . I use them on my MTB and road bike and able to wear them all day in the office ready for my 29 mile commute ! With no discomfort .
Thoroughly recommend them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Specialized Sport Mountain Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Maldwyn
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedNovember 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Recently purchased these and I am pleased, they are a big improvement on my old shoes. Having read some reviews I got a larger size went for 9.5 I usually wear a size 9. They are comfortable even wearing seal skin socks. The straps give good adjustment and are comfortable to walk in, good grip even when crossing rivers. Good quality and reasonably priced.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Specialized Sport Mountain Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thurstan
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

Love these !

PostedSeptember 1, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
My first SPD shoes and have to say I am damned impressed. First off the difference made by going clipless from flats is incredible, such an improvement.
These are comfortable, fit well and look good. Clipped into my shimano M324 pedals nicely. Took some getting used to clipping in but once sorted these were great!!
Definitely recommended
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Specialized Sport Mountain Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mick13
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fantastically comfortable shoe

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I bought these shoes on recommendation from an assistant in the Evans shop. He suggested trying Specialized as I have quite long, narrow feet and was touching the end of other brands I tried, although the next size up was too large.
As this was my first experience of the 'clipless' pedal & cleat system I wasn't sure what to expect. Installing the cleats was a doddle & the shoes have been incredibly comfortable from the first ride - no 'wearing in' necessary.
The sole is stiff to aid pedalling but they're easy to walk in aswell.
Definitely recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Specialized Sport Mountain Shoe
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Esoxman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Poor quality

PostedJune 21, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive
Had these shoes last year only wore them for a few weeks as the weather turned and they were freezing.
The soles on both shoes started to come away from the bottom of both shoes after a short usage.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>