Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Camelbak Podium Big Chill Bottle

Camelbak Podium Big Chill Bottle

CamelBak's mission is to continuously reinvent and forever change the way people hydrate and perform. They'll not stop pushing the limits of hydration, so you can continue to push your own
Overall rating:
4.476 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
19 out of 21(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer reviews for Camelbak Podium Big Chill Bottle
Review 1 for Camelbak Podium Big Chill Bottle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wiz7y
Country:Slovenia
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The best there is

Posted06 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: nothing i can think off
Camelbak is the only thermal bottle which i really trust. Not only that my contenct will be warm/cold but everything is made really good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Camelbak Podium Big Chill Bottle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PippaJ
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Excellent insulated bottle in this warm weather

Posted20 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
This is a great drinks bottle. The extra insulation doesnt take up much room so it's not much bigger than a normal 750ml bottle but it keeps your drink cooler, especially if you add ice cubes. The non drip twist top does what its say's and prevents any accidental dripping when the bottle's not on the bike. You can only taste your drink and not your bottle...an added bonus in my book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Camelbak Podium Big Chill Bottle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wiseman82
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Quality, but expensive

Posted13 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
This bottle is on the expensive side - especially when they are selling a mud cap separate. It's good quality though - jet valve is a unique design and works great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Camelbak Podium Big Chill Bottle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ckraven
Country:Greece
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

What is chilled stays chilled

Posted22 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
It keeps all liquids chilled for the longest compared to anything I had before this. Its a bit tricky to fit in the cage while riding since its quite big but thats minimal compared to the fact that what is chilled stays chilled for a fairly good amount of miles
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Camelbak Podium Big Chill Bottle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dunc00
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

fantastic

Posted22 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Great purchase, would recommend to anyone. great when pulled up at traffic lights and don't have long!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Camelbak Podium Big Chill Bottle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RobMintheAlps
Country:France
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great waterbottle

Posted20 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Yet another good quality hydration product from Camelbak. Large volume, light, somewhat insulated and great valve system avoiding leaks and drips. Quality vs price very good. Bought two of these one or myself and one for wife. Easily fits Toppeak and Specialized cages. Recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Camelbak Podium Big Chill Bottle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
speedfun
Country:Cyprus
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best bottle out there.

Posted10 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: less capacity than non chilled
This is the best bottle out there. It keeps drinks cool for up to 2 hours if you use a few ice cubes on preparation or just use cold water to enjoy your drink cool for up to 1 h. You don´t even have to bite the cap to open, just squeeze the bottle and it goes from fully closed to fully open. Completely tasteproof plastic. I always choose these when I reach the cupboard for 4 years now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Camelbak Podium Big Chill Bottle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
INspektormoors
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy en fast

Posted17 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Really easy to use.
Also on the upside, is that drinks are kept cool for a good long time.
Doesn't drip.
Sometimes I like to shake my drinks while riding. With this bottle it's easy to do so.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Camelbak Podium Big Chill Bottle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
muke
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

easy pourer, keeps warm on long colder days

Posted08 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
i usually make a hot drink straight from the kettle, which stays warm enough after 2 hrs , down in 4c weather.
find it easy to use and, easy to drink from.
its best to twist the top before taking it out of bottle cage.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Camelbak Podium Big Chill Bottle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brendan13
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Don't taste the bottle

Posted27 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
You can drink your water without tasting the bottle. Simple leak free nozzle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Camelbak Podium Big Chill Bottle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JohnPumpkin
Country:Finland
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Camelbak bottles are the best

Posted25 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, doesn't add taste of plastic to drink
I've tried some other bottles but have to addmit - Camelbak bottles are the only ones which indeed don't add bad plastic taste to your drinks.
Does this chill bottle keep drinks hot/warm? I tried it yet on 1 hour ride at +5C. if you keep valve closed, you can maintain drink partly warm, so it kind of works on short rides.
This bottle perfectly fits in Bontrager RL bottle cage that I use.
So I highly recommemend Camelbak bottles!
 
Products related to my review
 
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Camelbak Podium Big Chill Bottle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
goldenboy
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good big bottle

Posted02 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, big!
Cons: Expensive
ive had my old sis bottles for a while and decided to get rid and go for the big chill as they were reduced on evans. first ride with them... a clapham to brighton 50 miler was a good test and although not cold throughout they performed well and 2x 710ml seemed to be just right for the ride. took a while to get used to the on off switch and you still have to squeeze the bottle to get a proper slug of liquid when you need it but so far so good. they are a standard fit and also fit my bontrager "rockets" saddle bottle cage which was my main worry. dont think anyone has cracked the true taste issues as they all taste plasticky but im happy to recommend them to anyone looking for a high end water bottle
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Camelbak Podium Big Chill Bottle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
bikeboy73
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great bottle but not cheap.

Posted25 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
I got this as a sale item at £10 but wouldn't want to pay more as I think that's enough. It is a good bottle though, big capacity for long rides, comfortable to hold and easy to grip. No dribbles down your chin and no nasty plastic taste so pretty good all round. It doesn't keep drinks cold for long but it's not a flask so can't really complain! Overall it's a great bottle but expensive for what it is.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Camelbak Podium Big Chill Bottle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stem
Country:Lithuania
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

perfect bottle

Posted25 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Large capacity, but not bulky. Very easy to drink, pleasant and comfortable use, ergonomic grip and really holds the drink cold for longer time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Camelbak Podium Big Chill Bottle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JonnyT81
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brentford

Camel Bottle Big Chill Water

Posted02 April 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
A mate of mine recommended i get one of these Chill Bottles for the long rides, he has one and says they are great so out i went and bought one.
I think its great and keeps the fluid cold for a long time i went on a 3 hour bike ride and the water was still cold when i had finished, granted the water was cold when i filled the bottle but after a 3 hour bike ride and in hot weather i thought that was good.
The Valve is a good to a jet valve works great no problems with it at all.
The only thing i would say that was hard to take in was the Price but in my eyes you pay for quality and for what you want
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Camelbak Podium Big Chill Bottle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Seano
from Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

How to drink more water

Posted20 October 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, large capacity
Cons: Expensive
Bought the Big Chill on the recommendation of a riding buddy. Then I bought another. The best thing about the bottle is the Jet Valve which eliminates the 'breathless suck' that comes from trying to breathe and take in water at much the same time. I find I take on much more water more often which is a good thing when riding in an Australian summer. It fitted every bottle cage I have (Velocity, Lezyne) and every bike (26 MTB hardtail, 29 MTB dual, road & hybrid) with no problems. Even on bikes with two bottle cages.
My only negative observations are that the insulation is a bit of a gimmick (it's too thin to be effective for more than an hour and how many start their ride with chilled water anyway) and the bottle itself is on the pricey side considering it'd cost less than a dollar to make...
But that Jet Valve and the sheer capacity of the bottle still make it a happy purchase however next time I'll spend half the dough and grab a plain 710mL Podium bottle instead.
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Camelbak Podium Big Chill Bottle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Oh so good

Posted05 October 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
So easy to use kept the drinks cool and believe me the weather was so hot !!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Camelbak Podium Big Chill Bottle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
FatManRiding
from Suffolk, London
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Useless at keeping drink cold....

Posted10 September 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: poor insulation
Useless at keeping drink cold....
My old insulated bottle was from halfords, and was excellent.
I bought 3 of these for me and my partner, believing that they could only be better quality than my Halfords one.
WRONG.... These camelbak bottles are useless. Drinks stay cold for all but 20 min, about the same as a £5 standard bottle. Total waste of money.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Camelbak Podium Big Chill Bottle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
StanfromUSA
from California
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good big bottle

Posted03 September 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Bought this for a long ride It holds plenty and does a good job of keeping my drink cold if I put Ice in it at the start
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Camelbak Podium Big Chill Bottle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AustrianAlps
from Kaprun Austria
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cooler and Larger drink bottle

Posted30 July 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
This bottle is actually larger than the other camelbak bottles. It even kept my fluids cooler than I expected.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>