Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Izumi Standard Track Chain

Izumi Standard Track Chain

Overall rating:
4.812 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
15 out of 16(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for Izumi Standard Track Chain
Review 1 for Izumi Standard Track Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rich110
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

excellent item

PostedMay 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
looks a quality product at a good price well packaged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Izumi Standard Track Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lavi
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

What your looking for!

PostedApril 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Honestly felt the difference in my ride when I upgraded with this chain, good for all your needs, strong... Just fantastic =]
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Izumi Standard Track Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
trxrincon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very well made chain

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I bought this chain for my old school Bmx rebuild and it is a very good quality chain, the links were very easy to remove and it fitted no problem and it runs smoothly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Izumi Standard Track Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nakuttaja
Country:Finland
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Better than good

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
When converting my old 6-speed bicycle into a single-speed bike, I noticed that the new chain which I had planned to install was too short – rather than the gear ratio (49-18) I would blame the touring bike geometry, so this is a thing to be kept in mind if you are dealing with a similar project. So, for me the main reason to choose this chain was that it has 116 links. Izumi chains have a good reputation, so I was expecting quality. The Izumi chain used by the world’s best track and keirin racers is not this Standard chain but the NJS-stamped Izumi V chain, which might be more durable, but as it has only 106 links and would have been too short for me, I didn’t have to speculate whether it would have been worth the extra cost. After a few hundred kilometres the chain shows no signs of wear. I’m using this chain with a Miche chainring and a Shimano freewheel – the chain fits nicely and runs smoothly, and the only noise is the ticking of the freewheel. I haven’t used the connecting link, but this more common design is in my opinion better than the nut-and-bolt-fastened master link of the V chain. The chain seems to be thicker than some other 1/2 × 1/8 chains and might be somewhat heavier. At this point I have nothing to complain about this chain, and I’m expecting it to last for a long time. This might be the best chain I have used this far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Izumi Standard Track Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jugla
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Interesting .....

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
I have done just over 500 miles on this chain and it has been faultless. Interesting comparison, I tried a sram 1/8 chain when i altered the gearing on my single speed, the chain unshipped after only 10 miles ! Loads of sideways movement!!!! needless to say the sram chain is in the bin and the izumi gold is back in it's rightfull place. A great chain, looks great and works great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Izumi Standard Track Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
alpinepass
Country:Switzerland
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality and value

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Excellent quality chain at the price, split link nice and easy to install and as it says on the box it runs very smoothly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Izumi Standard Track Chain
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
K1985
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Quick to rust

PostedMarch 26, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Poor quality, Unattractive
I had a new chain put on my bike and it rusted quickly (1 week).
The bike it stored inside day and night and only wet on the commute. My previous chain took a year to show any signs of rusting.
Wouldn't recommend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
inspectorgadgets
london
 
Please wait while more information about inspectorgadgets is loaded.
Additional information about inspectorgadgets could not be loaded.
rusty with in a week.
Posted June 1, 2013
first of all just let you know that this is one of the best value track chains that you can have on the market , strong , smoth , difficult to stretch and high quality overall .
i just check the weather when you wrote this comment , the low temps in london were under 0 , thats mean that almost sure they were salt on the roads , thas why your chain get rusted.
for next time , if you ride with salt on the road ,clean and grease your chain asap.
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 8 for Izumi Standard Track Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JMT73
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wandsworth

Strong, reliable solid chain

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
This was actually a replacement for an old Izumi chain that had worn out. These chains are tough, durable and pretty much bombproof.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Izumi Standard Track Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:BMX
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fantastic Quality Chain

PostedFebruary 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Fantastic quality chain from a reputable brand, looks great once fitted, competitively priced with very quick delivery.
Perfect in all respects.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Izumi Standard Track Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
frizzierascal
Age:Under 18
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

No complaints

PostedFebruary 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
The week after i put on this chain it began to snow. The brine from melted ice and the salt used on the roads only caused minor surface rust. Even then the chain ran almost completely silently and very smoothly. Looks kind of cool in gold too if that is of importance to you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Izumi Standard Track Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GingeJP
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does its job

PostedOctober 29, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Got this to go on old school bmx. Looks good and decent price. Just the ticket.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Izumi Standard Track Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Geronamid
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A shining example of excellence in motion.

PostedApril 16, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, strong, reliable
Superbly strong chain that I have fitted to my single speed hack.
I found other chains that I've used in the past stretch too easily. Not so this one. It's wider and a little noisier than most but thats a trade-off I'm willing to pay for it's strength and reliability. Its also nice and shiny and easy to fit - bear in mind that you need a chain tool to break the chain to the correct length. The quick/snap link provided works well.
This is the only chain that I would fit to my single speed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Izumi Standard Track Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mrdarwin
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good solid hard wearing reliable chain

PostedFebruary 16, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
like i say. good solid hard weairing reliable chain. i like to ride brakeless , so my chain is as important to me as my wheels and frame. i put my faith in izumi. never let me down. change every six months or so. for 15 quid. it not a waste.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Izumi Standard Track Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
noneoftheabove
from Sweden
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Chain of the gods

PostedFebruary 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
This chain turned my bike into a V9 speed monster racer bike. With each turn unicorn tears lubricate the cogs, and angel song is the only sound it makes.
My bike now feels like I'm riding a fixed wheeled Griffin.
People turn and stare in awe at the golden magnificence of this chain as I zoom past them like a demon ghost.
This chain will change your life, all your wildest dreams will come true when you put this on your bike.
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Geronamid
 
Please wait while more information about Geronamid is loaded.
Additional information about Geronamid could not be loaded.
Best
Posted April 17, 2013
That has to be the best review for a product that I've ever read. Chapeau!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 15 for Izumi Standard Track Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Robidd
from Australia
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Izummi Standard Track Chain

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I bought this to run on my Alfine hub because I thought it would last better than the KMC narrow chain that came with the bike, a Kona Dr Fine. So far so good. I have no doubt that will do the job. Best of all it was half the price that it would have cost me in Australia.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Izumi Standard Track Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wiggie
from Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent bit of kit!

PostedApril 21, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Got this to convert one of my bikes to a singlespeed commuter. Very strong chain, and great quality. Just what you'd expect from a track racing chain.
The only down side is the weight of the chain, but still a great value product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.