Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Specialized BG Sport Road Shoe

Specialized BG Sport Road Shoe

Overall rating:
4.631 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(65 reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 65 reviews
5 Stars
45
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
62 out of 65(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
23 Questions | 50 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized BG Sport Road Shoe
Review 1 for Specialized BG Sport Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JuniorRay
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A very comfortable and good value entry level shoe

PostedApril 19, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Tried on loads of different shoes before buying these. They were the best fit by far. Snug on the foot but extremely comfortable. Quite small sizes so I went one up from my size in other brands. Recommend trying before buying to get your size right.
Good rigidity for power delivery. Velcro straps make them quick and easy to get on and off and give plenty of adjustment. Loads of ventilation keeps your feet cool. Probably not the lightest shoe on the market but they feel pretty light to me. I doubt a few grams makes a lot of difference unless you're pro. Lastly, they look pretty sharp too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Specialized BG Sport Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HappySnidge
from Suffolk
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Efficient and comfortable

PostedApril 15, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I always thought my old Diadora shoes were good but these are far far better.
Stiff sole makes for efficient cycling. Vents work well and are in fact quite refreshing when my feet get hot.
Straps work well and overall find these shoes as comfortable as my running trainers.
Also pleased that they are wide enough and only one metric size up from normal shoes.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized BG Sport Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TheBigAndy
from Dorset
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfortable and good-looking!

PostedFebruary 16, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
As i've only had these shoes a week a can't comment on durability etc. However, I can say that I need not have worried about buying shoes online. I went for the size 47 (my normal shoe size) and I have to say I was fairly apprehensive as I usually have a tough time finding shoes that fit properly, however, these fit perfectly and it appears you don't have to worry about buying a size larger as is recommended for other shoes.
These were the first cleat-style shoes I have ever bought but I encourage anyone unsure of making the transition to just take the plunge, I feel I can go faster for longer with these on! But watch out as the up-stroke, whilst giving that extra bit of power has to be something to let your muscles get used to!
In summary some pretty sweet shoes that should help you Raise that average speed in style!
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized BG Sport Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Umen
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Overall good product

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
While reading my review remember I'm an amateur rider. This is my first bike shoe and overall I found it satisfactory. Not sure how tight a bike shoe should be but after sticking the velcro at full power they hold by feet quite tight. However in pull action I kind of find them bit stretchy, not sure if these shoe are meant to do that but hey I searched the entire web n I found these best at the offered price. Good to start with.. I would recommend these for new riders or someone who just wanna step in cleat pedal system. Yes I can't walk in these shoe more than 20m, very slippery and they are not meant for walking.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Specialized BG Sport Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FITZY53
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

VERY GOOD VALUE!!!!

PostedJanuary 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: none!!!!
GREATY PRODUCT, GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY AND EFFICIENTLY DISPATCHED, THANK YOU.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Specialized BG Sport Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
rubellus
Style:Road Cyclist

Good entry level pair of road shoes.

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
Good durable pair of road shoes. Well aerated, but does mean not great during cold winter months or during wet rides. The shoes look good, and are comfortable. Could possibly used in triathons due to velcrow only straps. Straps allow good adjustment for fit. Build quality is good, and the stitching hasn't come undone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized BG Sport Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Scott76
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
These shoes are great value for money, very comfortable and look great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Specialized BG Sport Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ianswuk
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very light (in weight and price)

PostedOctober 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: can't think of any
This is my second pair of clipless pedal compatible shoes, the first being a pair of mountain bike specific Shimanos for use with SPD pedals which I bought primarily so I could walk around in them when necessary. These did me well as a first foray into the world of clipless pedals but after suffering with a bit of 'numb foot' on a 50 mile ride I decided to take the plunge and go for a 'proper' pair of road shoes and I'm glad I did!
These are so light compared to my Shimanos that it feels like I'm not wearing shoes at all. The ventilation is good and the strap fastenings give a good fit.
When I first put these on I felt a bit of pressure on my instep but don't be put off by this, they feel very comfortable when worn on long rides. I've not worn them for more than 30 miles yet but feel confident that they will perform well when I do.
As for sizing, I'm a UK size 10 and after trying on a pair in store, I went with the advice of the staff and got a size 45 which are a comfortable fit.
All in all I'm very pleased and will be buying a pair of the touring version at some point so I can walk in them too.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Specialized BG Sport Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Alex1231
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Shoes were Brilliant

PostedSeptember 19, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
The shoes were fantastic. I bought them becasue i was doing a cycle from Manchester to London and they fitted and felt comfortable. Had no problems with them even wearing them over 6 hours a day for 3 days!
Would definitely recommend them
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Specialized BG Sport Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Top Product

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
First pair of road shoes i have purchased, they are superb, very comfortable and easily adjustable!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Specialized BG Sport Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JonnyH30
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

comfortable and reasonably priced

PostedAugust 31, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This was my first pair of cycling shoes, I tried many different ones and these were by far the most comfortable. Been riding with them for several weeks now and I am extremely pleased with them
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Specialized BG Sport Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MadCatJasper
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent shoes

PostedAugust 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: none
This is my first foray into using clipless pedals and shoes and I must say they have enhanced my riding experience no end.
The shoes are very well fitting and secure and look great!
Used in conjunction with the Shimano SP-5700 pedals has provided me with a very high quality improvement to the previous clipped pedals I have been using. Highly recommended combination of kit.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Specialized BG Sport Road Shoe
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Adam59
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Slightly poorer quality than previously, but value

PostedAugust 13, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, durable
A repeat buy of the same part number as two years ago. Heels now plastic, rather than rubber composition, and I expect better durability. Time will tell. Greatest difference, however is that they appear to be of slightly lower quality: thinner straps, different web. Small points, but I suspect this why they have held the same price for two years. Still a very good shoe for my road training needs that I have no hesitation in recommending to those on a similar mission. I got 7,500 miles out of the previous pair.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Specialized BG Sport Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GStort
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value

PostedAugust 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Very comfortable and compatible with various cleats. Rigid sole. Great value for money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Specialized BG Sport Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mhorgsy1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good entry level shoe

PostedJuly 25, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
These were a gift for my husband and he has been thrilled with them. They are very comfortable and good value at the price.
He did need a size bigger than his usual shoe size but they fit perfectly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Specialized BG Sport Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
makyn
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

great product

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought this product as a birthday presant for my boyfriend. He was very happy and still is :-) These shoes r very light fit perfect and he like the colour asd well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Specialized BG Sport Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dmoblay
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fit like a glove!

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Look good, were excellent value, brilliant construction, easy to fit toe plate and performs exactly as I would expect. Always bought shimano shoes in the past, these are easily as good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Specialized BG Sport Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tim52
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

very good.

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
First pair of proper cycling shoes I've had and they have proven comfortable and easy to use. They really seem to help to get the power down. No aches and pains after 25 miles in the Dales.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Specialized BG Sport Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
schofi
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great shoe

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is the first shoe of this type I've used and bought them after reading the reviews. I have not been disappointed and they are really comfortable. I wouldn't normally buy shoes without trying them on first but my shoe size worked perfectly.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Specialized BG Sport Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
iSamurai
Country:Australia
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good for the money

PostedJuly 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Pretty good entry level shoes. I liked the white one more and it looks really good. Walked around in those and the sole seems to be very tough. Fits perfectly, true to size. Though looking back I would've probably picked a more expensive pair with buckles...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>