Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Shimano R087 2011 Road Shoe

Shimano R087 2011 Road Shoe

Overall rating:
4.641 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(39 reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 39 reviews
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
37 out of 39(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
25 Questions | 45 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano R087 2011 Road Shoe
Review 1 for Shimano R087 2011 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fatandslow
from Hampshire
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Road Shoes

PostedAugust 28, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
The transition from MTB to road continues. I have used clipless pedals before so not new to this. The bigger cleat and more rigid shoes is enough of a change to make me concentrate when clipping in and out.
Had these for a month now and already covered some serious miles and hills around the South Downs.
No complaints. No hotspots, no blisters or pinching. I have a wide foot, so was a little concerned about buying before trying. I am also between two UK sizes 8 & 9 so can have difficulties with shoes. Got the 43 and it is spot on. You get a real secure fit when you do them up and after a 57 mile ride this week there was no movement.
Not sure how white they will be in a few months.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano R087 2011 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
natwil129
from Devon
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedMarch 26, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Amazing pair of shoes!!! These are super comfy, stylish and sturdy. These shoes easily clip into my pedals!! Also the buckle is amazing so easy to use. Would thoroughly recommend these !!! :)
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano R087 2011 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
kev16
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedMay 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Good quality item , excellent price , will recommend to others
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano R087 2011 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vidall
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Super shoes

PostedMay 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I was pleasantly surprised when my R087's arrived, the picture makes them look like a kind of dull grey colour and in fact they are a sparkling white and black, apart from the cosmetics these shoes really are comfortable, I ordered my regular shoe size, and they fit perfectly, I know its kind of a unspoken rule that you should buy a size bigger, but my advice would be try a pair on if you can, as this is not always the case. The velcro straps and adjustment band give you a nice level of fit, and my cleats were easy to install there is a nice set of cleat setup lines on the soles too, so you can get perfect alignment with a minimum of fuss, overall ,very pleased.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano R087 2011 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Maltesers1981
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Good first shoes

PostedMay 4, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Bought these as first road shoes as they were within budget. Really comfy and do the job well, thoroughly recommend for anyone just starting out!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano R087 2011 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
finmeister
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

shimano looks and fits great

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought these shoes online - my first proper road shoes to fit cleats. As other reviews have said, the picture is a bit misleading - you open the box and wow, these are bright white and black, a really neat looking pair of shoes. It took me a bit of time to open the top fastener (because I didn't look at the instructions!); once done it's easy. I also worried about sizing - talk of Shimano being a little on the small size so buy a size up. I didn't have any problems - I'm a shoe size 8 (42) and so I chose a 42 and they fit snug but not tight. I would have rather done that than bought a size up, 43, and had the chance of having clown feet on my bike! The sole is hard and really firm so I think these will help me with the climbs! A good, really smart looking pair of road shoes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano R087 2011 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nolight
Country:Singapore
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
First time on clipless pedals so no previous reference. Shoe feels very solid. This model seems to be the best value for a beginner like me since it is the cheapest road shoe with micro-adjust ratchet and I probably don't need carbon sole at least for a first shoe. I find the ratchet quite essential to tighten the shoe.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano R087 2011 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Henry1982

good pair of entry level RB shoe

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy
very decent build, not as good as those expensive sidi i have, but good enough for beginner.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano R087 2011 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ZIGGY123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

GREAT, LIGHTWEIGHT CYCLING SHOES

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, easy to get on and off
Cons: can't walk in them so can't nip to shops on bike.
ONE OF THE STAFF AT EVANS SUGGESTED THAT I BUY A PAIR OF SPECIAL PEDALS AND SHOES TO MATCH. THESE HAVE CLEATS BOLTED ONTO THE BOTTOM AND CLIP INTO THE PEDALS. IT MEANS YOUR FEET DO NOT SLIP OFF THE PEDALS, WHICH DID HAPPEN ON OCASSION ON MY OLD BIKE. I WAS NOT DISAPPOINTED. THE SHOES ARE EXTREMELY LIGHTWEIGHT AND VERY COMFORTABLE ON A RIDE. THEY DO TAKE GETTING USED TO BECAUSE YOU HAVE TO MANOUVRE YOUR FEET IN A CERTAIN WAY TO DISENGAGE FROM THE PEDALS. I FELL 3 TIMES ON MY FIRST 2 RIDES. SO, PRACTICE FIRST BUT THEY ARE WORTH HAVING. MAKE SURE YOU PRACTICE AWAY FROM TRAFFIC AND ONLY VENTURE ON THE ROAD WHEN YOU ARE CONFIDENT. ALL IN ALL, A GOOD BUY AND I MANAGED TO GET MY SIZE (UK SIZE 14). THE ONLY NEGATIVE THAT I HAVE ABOUT THESE TYPE OF SHOES IS YOU CAN'T REALLY WALK IN THEM. IT MEANS YOU CAN ONLY USE YOUR BIKE AS A MEANS OF TRAINING: YOU CAN'T REALLY NIP INTO THE SHOPS WITH THESE ON, UNLESS YOU CARRY SOME SHOES WITH YOU.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano R087 2011 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Juggler
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

good shoes, fit well and light weight

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
These were my first pair of cycling shoes and so far I cannot fault them. They fit me well and have increased the efficiency of my riding. Make sure you try before buying, I'm normally a size 42, but had to get 43 in these shoes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano R087 2011 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FastCarver
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great shoes

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
These are my first pair of clip in cycling shoes and I've been really impressed at what a difference it makes. Pedalling jsut seems easier!
I would agree that these shoes come up on the small side. I'm a UK 9 and I ordered a 44 which fit perfectly. The ratchet fastener on the top strap is great and really make syour foot feel snug.
One thins I was pleasently suprised about was the colour. The image makes them look grey and silver but they are bright white with black detailing which I think looks great (and matches my bike perfectly).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano R087 2011 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ANTommo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good product.

PostedSeptember 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This was my first pair of road shoes with cleats and after a lot of browsing different products, I decided to go for these and I am glad I did. These are lightweight and look good. They are comfortable, but I did buy one size larger after reading most of the reviews (so I would recommend buying one size bigger than your normal size). I fully recommend this product and the fantastic service that Evans provided.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano R087 2011 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MrLes
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Top quality cycling shoe

PostedJune 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I am really pleased with this shoe. It's top quality and very confortable.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano R087 2011 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TomE22
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great for summer!

PostedMay 22, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, good ventilation
Just brought a pair of these for summer and due to the hole under the toes and the construction of the shoe, ventilation is great. Today I cycled in the lovely 27 degree heat and my feet were the coolest part.
The clip and buckle system works easily, the sole of the shoe is solid, and unlike many other shoes which require the small metal tab for the cleats to attach to, these have one for both SPD and SPD-SL pedals already fitted.
Regarding sizing, many people seem to have problems, but the trick with Shimano shoes is too take your British size, add 1 and find the equivalent Euro size that Evans cycles provide on all of the shoes.
All Shimano shoes I have had are great quality and made well; great value for the fairly low prices.
All I can say is, if you're riding in the rain or dirty roads, wear your overshoes!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano R087 2011 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Welwynbee
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfortable and lightweight

PostedMay 20, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought these to replace a pair of MTB shoes that I'd been wearing on my road bike for years. I wear size 6 1/2 UK shoes and went for a 40, which turned out to be too small, so so swapped for a 41 in one of the Evans shops, these are now fine. I was a bit concerned about using the 'floating' cleats (having been used to zero movement) but thy're fine even when pulling hard on the big ring up hills. Like all shoes they took a bit of breaking in, so don't buy them the week before that big Sportive. Having now done 150 miles in them, they are perfectly comfortable. Also, easy to get on and off with the ratchet mech. All in all, a good looking and comfy shoe.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano R087 2011 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
NicR
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it says on the tin!

PostedMay 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
comfortable, well made, economical.
I had a pair of their earlier version, and they were very tough - did about 16K miles with them before the ratchet gave way.
New pair look great, they are nice and roomy if you need that extra pair of socks to keep your feet warm, but tighten down if you don't.
Delivery fast, shoes in great condition - have done about 500 miles on them now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano R087 2011 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Woking

Overall fab shoes

PostedMay 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
These are my first pair of propper cycling shoes. I was debating between these and some with three velcro staps, I'm very glad I went for these, the top strap allows you to get them nice and tight. I'd reccomend buying one size larger than you actually are (Shimano have small feet.) I had a few tumbles when I first started using them but that is not the fault of the shoes, I just didn't release my feet in time. When they are done up tightly the shoes become reasonably water resistant which is nice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano R087 2011 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
speedyracer2
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

same features as the ro86 good

PostedMarch 30, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: wrong sizing
nice shoe. easy release locks. keeps feet in well. good price. my only down side is the sizing. they come up very small. (43,44 ) didn't try the 45 on as it felt like i would have flippers on. sizing not right at all, if they were then i would have bought them but sadly they had to be returned. unable to say if i would recommend as they were no good for myself.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano R087 2011 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JC100
from Australia
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Love at first wearing!

PostedFebruary 17, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: none
My first pair of bike shoes and purchased online from Australia without ever having tried on for size. A rather nerve wracking experience as returning them if they had been the wrong size would be slow and expensive. I read every review before ordering and noted that most reviewers said that they ran to the small side. So I took a punt and ordered one full size larger than I normally would. 45 instead of 44. What a great decision as they fit perfectly. I don't mean good enough, I mean perfectly. I have narrow feet and the tightening system is great . The 2 Velcro straps are quick and easy and the ratchet top clip is a triumph as you can tension them to exactly how you want them and also it's easy to make sure that both shoes are done up to the same tension as they have index marks on the strap that makes this easy. They are light and I think look great. How long they'll stay white for I don't know but are unmarked so far. Getting the cleats set up equally and just right takes a little fiddling but is quite easy to do.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano R087 2011 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pntaylor
from Bristol, UK
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Pair of Shoes

PostedDecember 15, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
These were my first pair of road shoes and I've been most happy with my purchase. As others have pointed out they are very comfortable to wear even on long rides. The mix of ratchet and velcro straps means you get a very good and tight seal around your foot which I feel allows for a good transfer of power.
One recommendation before purchasing online is to go in to any cycling shop and try a pair of Shimano shoes to get a sizing idea. For these I'm wearing one size down from what I normally wear for everyday shoes but this by no means the rule. At least if you go in and try a pair you'll know which size to buy.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>