Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Shimano R106 2011 Road Shoe

Shimano R106 2011 Road Shoe

Overall rating:
4.417 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
12 out of 12(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano R106 2011 Road Shoe
Review 1 for Shimano R106 2011 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MJJackson
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very comfortable and look great

Posted17 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
These are my first ever road shoe, and I couldn't be happier. I bought them on a Saturday and rode a 104 miles the day after – so comfortable, and they look great. I can highly recommend.
I bought a little large for my feet, which was prudent!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano R106 2011 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SteveS
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Value for this shoe

Posted12 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: don't keep feet warm on cold days
You can really feel the quality of these shoes. I can't imagine your average non-competitive cyclist needs to spend any more. Not the warmest on very cold winter days but looking forward to wearing them for the summer!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano R106 2011 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
paul132

Posted31 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
A smart, comfortable pair of cycling cleats, reasonably priced too.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano R106 2011 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Elmo2
Country:Australia
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Value for money cycling shoe

Posted28 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is a 2011 model shoe and as such should not reflect on current models. However it is value for money and ideal for the purposes for which it was bought - regular recreational road cycling
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano R106 2011 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cycleplus1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very good budget shoe

Posted07 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Have used these for the last 4-5 months & all seems to be OK, good fit, good comfort, good quality for the price (purchased during an Evans sale). Still unsure about the white finish. So far I have managed to keep them relatively clean, although these have not been used in the worst conditions.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano R106 2011 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jerh48
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good shoes, well made

Posted27 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: slightly narrow fit
I have had a pair of Shimao R099 shoes for the last few years and have had no problems at all with them but they are looking a bit tired so I bought these R106 shoes.
The feel of the shoes is good - definitely good quality. It looks smart (I bought white ones with red details). The sole is stiff and light and the ratchet closure system works really well.
The two velcro closers work fine but I don't get a feeling that they pull the shoe together quite like I did with my R099 shoes. However this may be because the general fit feels quite a bit narrower than the R099's. In fact my toes feel a bit squashed together in these shoes whereas that wasn't the case in my old ones. I'm hoping that some wear will make them give a bit.
Overall though, I'm pleased with them and would recommend them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano R106 2011 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ludo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good Value

Posted10 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
Having worn a number of DHB shoes including the carbon soled version, I was surprised how solid the sole of this shoe feels. The components are high quality and I will now only buy Shimano shoes as the sizing is so good. I'm 11.5 normally and size 47 was tight but perfect for what I like. Highly recommended
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano R106 2011 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stephen21
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Do not hesitate it is a better riding experience !

Posted16 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Purchased these on the basis of value for money and the recommendation of other reviews and was not disappointed. Comfortable, lightweight and a joy to ride in.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano R106 2011 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
26MileRunner
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

First Road Shoes

Posted23 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought these as my first road shoe and love them, the sole is stiff enough to make the difference with power transfer to the pedals. They are extremely light and easy to adjust to get a good fit and found that the Shimano cleats were easy to fit to the shoes and are perfect with the SPD SL pedals.
Being a runner I ordered online the same size shoes as my running shoes which are (Euro 43) and found they fitted perfectly, bought the white pair to match my bike colour and they certainly look the biz.
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano R106 2011 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mothersanchez
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Superb shoes

Posted06 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Fit very well if you buy a size smaller than usual
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano R106 2011 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
TheEnthusiast
from London
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfortable

Posted23 May 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Comfortable pair of shoes. Good quality. Fit well (maybe could do half sizes but the straps are easily adjustable to secure your feet). Have ridden in them for 4 hours and they haven't caused any concern yet.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano R106 2011 Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Col1969

Good looking pair of shoes

Posted17 February 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
great pair of shoes, built to Shimano's usual quality. However, come up slightly smaller than the more expensive versions. maybe 1/2 size smaller
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.