Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Shoes or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano AM45 All Mountain SPD Shoe

Shimano AM45 All Mountain SPD Shoe

Overall rating:
4.677 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 31 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
31 out of 31Would you recommend this product to a friend?100%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano AM45 All Mountain SPD Shoe
Review 1 for Shimano AM45 All Mountain SPD Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Just right

Posted28 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I'm reluctant to buy shoes online because they are often too narrow, but these are perfect. Very solid (a bit heavy) and good for pushing as well as riding, although not much grip in the mud.
Easy to put on and take off, waterproof, as advertised.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano AM45 All Mountain SPD Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
Slightly Wide
Wide
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great shoes...

Posted21 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
I've been waiting to replace my trusty 17+ year old Axo DH boots for a while after the sole finally gave up in the second shoe and I've seen these on and off but waited for the price to come down a bit, so when I saw the extra 10% off I went for them. I usually go for as high a boot as I can, but the prices of the shoes I really like are out of my reach, but I've had Shimano shoes in the past and they've always been OK.
These are working out really well so far (had them about a month). They are a really good fit, I take a 46/11 usually, that's what I got and they are spot on. They are pretty wide and if you are used to disco slippers these will feel like barges and they look so wide when you glance down when on the bike. But they seem tough (I use them maninly for communting) and look as if they might be reasonably rain proof with the big laces flap. That would be my only convern at the moment, maybe I have fat feet, but the cover doesn't feel like it wraps over quite as far as it could, although it's never opened on me yet, so it must be OK. They are very comfortable to walk in, even though the soles feel pretty sturdy and the power transfer, through SPuDs is noticeably better than my old 661's.
I'm just waiting for the British winter to take the shine of the while bits (they are very bright, though not reflective which would have been nice).
At the end of the day, I'm really pleased with them :-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano AM45 All Mountain SPD Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great shoes!!

Posted12 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
i have always been using the shimano AM and they always never fail me,only thing with the AM45 is,it's the exact size that you need unlike the AM41 that you have to get one size bigger,otherwise,good value for money and very comfy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano AM45 All Mountain SPD Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Shoe

Posted16 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Great shoe, though the insole is very thin and the sole is rock hard (unsurprisingly), strangely this does NOT make them uncomfortable!
Would highly recommend ..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano AM45 All Mountain SPD Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Great on the bike not so much off it

Posted15 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Feels solid and confidence inspiring
Take a while to dry out
No tread to speak of means not great for hike a biking
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano AM45 All Mountain SPD Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

Awesome shoes

Posted04 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great MTB Shoes - just as per the glowing reviews in all the mags. I am using them with flats for now but will be able to convert to SPD when for long rides.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano AM45 All Mountain SPD Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:Sweden
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good comuter shoes

Posted20 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Sized more like normal shoes instad of the slimmed down cycling shoes. Good for walking in.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano AM45 All Mountain SPD Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Very comfortable

Posted20 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Very comfortable compared with my old specialized shoes also keep feet warm and dry.good fit and would highly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano AM45 All Mountain SPD Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Posted20 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Items is comfortable its fantastic in a reasonable price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano AM45 All Mountain SPD Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Very comfortable

Posted28 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Very comfortable, sizes seem exact, very practical,
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano AM45 All Mountain SPD Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Country:Croatia
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent product, even for DH, best buy !

Posted12 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought together with Shimano OE M530 SPD Trail Wide Pedals. Never rode SPD before so I wanted something cheaper for first time. Exceeded ALL my expectations! Great solid construction, good support and great comfort. Didn't have any sizing issues, I usualy wear 42-42,5 regular shoe size, bought 42 size of these and it fits perfect!
I would recommend these to anyone! (except for XC racers)
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano AM45 All Mountain SPD Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great set of spd shoes

Posted30 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy
Very comfy to wear and stop your ankles from rubbing the crank arm, provide a large area of the sole to get power down more easily, quite heavy so wouldn't buy if your planning on XC riding other than that no flaws.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano AM45 All Mountain SPD Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

Posted16 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Shoes are great, not completely waterproof but it good for cyling on those muddy trails.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano AM45 All Mountain SPD Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Shoes. Not Waterproof, Though.

Posted30 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Great shoes. Good support for my ankles, comfy and looks great too...But they're not waterproof at all... in light rain 20 min my toes are wet... Never the less would still recommend. Just not in wet weather.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano AM45 All Mountain SPD Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

These feel great

Posted03 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Unattractive
Great value. Feels great works well nothing more to say
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano AM45 All Mountain SPD Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great shoe

Posted29 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Comfortable, warm, waterproof, fully supportive when pedalling, top shoe for off and on the road.
Only downside, a bit heavy for my road work, but I expected that.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano AM45 All Mountain SPD Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Strong,supportive,comfy,good looking

Posted03 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
These shoes are a very sturdy pair of shoes with good looks for an spd shoe with also a great feel when riding, would recommend these to anyone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano AM45 All Mountain SPD Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Portugal
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent product - a class leader!

Posted21 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Great solid construction, good support and great comfort.
I would recommend these to anyone!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano AM45 All Mountain SPD Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great AM shoes, even for DH racing

Posted20 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great AM shoes, even for DH racing. Lightweight, good protection level. Looks great.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano AM45 All Mountain SPD Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great shoe for the money, very comfortable.

Posted09 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy, only splash proof
A lot of friends ride with this shoe and rave about them.
At first i felt them to be bulky and slightly uncomfortable but break them in and they blend to your foot . Slightly heavy but you do forget after a while. Only neg is that they are only splash proof and when wet take an age to dry. Just spent 9 days in les gets dh and held up great no probs.good inside ankle protection.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>