Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Shimano AM45 All Mountain SPD Shoe

Shimano AM45 All Mountain SPD Shoe

Overall rating:
4.727 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
22 out of 22(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano AM45 All Mountain SPD Shoe
Review 1 for Shimano AM45 All Mountain SPD Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
armo15
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Very comfortable

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Very comfortable, sizes seem exact, very practical,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano AM45 All Mountain SPD Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Darko
Country:Croatia
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent product, even for DH, best buy !

PostedMay 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought together with Shimano OE M530 SPD Trail Wide Pedals. Never rode SPD before so I wanted something cheaper for first time. Exceeded ALL my expectations! Great solid construction, good support and great comfort. Didn't have any sizing issues, I usualy wear 42-42,5 regular shoe size, bought 42 size of these and it fits perfect!
I would recommend these to anyone! (except for XC racers)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano AM45 All Mountain SPD Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FIVE0
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great set of spd shoes

PostedApril 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy
Very comfy to wear and stop your ankles from rubbing the crank arm, provide a large area of the sole to get power down more easily, quite heavy so wouldn't buy if your planning on XC riding other than that no flaws.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano AM45 All Mountain SPD Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lord
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Shoes are great, not completely waterproof but it good for cyling on those muddy trails.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano AM45 All Mountain SPD Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
pkJay

Great Shoes. Not Waterproof, Though.

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Great shoes. Good support for my ankles, comfy and looks great too...But they're not waterproof at all... in light rain 20 min my toes are wet... Never the less would still recommend. Just not in wet weather.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano AM45 All Mountain SPD Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Dex86
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

These feel great

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Unattractive
Great value. Feels great works well nothing more to say
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano AM45 All Mountain SPD Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
iansurrey
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great shoe

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Comfortable, warm, waterproof, fully supportive when pedalling, top shoe for off and on the road.
Only downside, a bit heavy for my road work, but I expected that.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano AM45 All Mountain SPD Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Joe123454321
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Strong,supportive,comfy,good looking

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
These shoes are a very sturdy pair of shoes with good looks for an spd shoe with also a great feel when riding, would recommend these to anyone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano AM45 All Mountain SPD Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dbamag
Country:Portugal
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent product - a class leader!

PostedDecember 21, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Great solid construction, good support and great comfort.
I would recommend these to anyone!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano AM45 All Mountain SPD Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
xvoidee

Great AM shoes, even for DH racing

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great AM shoes, even for DH racing. Lightweight, good protection level. Looks great.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano AM45 All Mountain SPD Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
enduroevo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great shoe for the money, very comfortable.

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy, only splash proof
A lot of friends ride with this shoe and rave about them.
At first i felt them to be bulky and slightly uncomfortable but break them in and they blend to your foot . Slightly heavy but you do forget after a while. Only neg is that they are only splash proof and when wet take an age to dry. Just spent 9 days in les gets dh and held up great no probs.good inside ankle protection.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano AM45 All Mountain SPD Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
neilbiking
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

So far so good..

PostedMay 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
very comfy, def get yourself one size bigger, i did and they perfect.
Were great value in the sale however dont think i would have paid full price.
they have kept out water splashes so far but not expecting them to be waterproof
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano AM45 All Mountain SPD Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hotdog009
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Geat shoe for its price.

PostedMay 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
This is a great shoe for trail/ freeriding. Slightly better design than the MP66, but i would say "go a size up " they are a small fitting. Not had cold feet in these yet and they keep out the rain, I was going to buy some sealskin socks but now i dont need them. Great Shoes......
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano AM45 All Mountain SPD Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pinnino1
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

comfort, stylish and professional

PostedMay 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I am happly to receive it so quick (just three day after placed order even from Hong Kong).The shoes are great looks (stylish) and comfort.
I feel more powerful when i was riding with it.Of cause it is very good price, so I place another order of another model in this line of shoe at once.Thanks Evans cycle!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano AM45 All Mountain SPD Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ioner
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Looks bulky but warm and comfortable

PostedApril 25, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
Decent shoes for the money. Keeps my feet warm and dry under occasional rain, which is all I would be looking for. Could be a little too warm for hot climates but just fine for UK spring. Looks durable as well but time will tell.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano AM45 All Mountain SPD Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bonjontaylor
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Incredibly Comfortable

PostedApril 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I was very dubious about ordering shoes that i had never tried on, put i took the plunge anyway. These shoes are as comfortable as trainers, nice and solid sole. The laces stay dry even in the hidious english weather. The thick rubber on the ride of outside edge protect you nicely from rocks. Great shoe.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano AM45 All Mountain SPD Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Oldskoolbear
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great intro into SPD shoes!

PostedFebruary 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
Been riding with flats for years, finally decided to give SPD's a go. So glad I did! These are great, fit well even with my very wide feet. flap over laces means never had a problem with dirt etc getting in. Can't recommend them highly enough
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano AM45 All Mountain SPD Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
eyeknownuffin
from Sydney, australia
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

style, function & comfort

PostedAugust 26, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
My first pair of SPDs and am I glad I bought them. Functionally perfect & aligning the cleats to my preference was quite painless. I paid heed to other reviewers who'd recommended getting a size bigger than my usual and true enough, it's a perfect fit. Build quality is excellent though yet to test waterproofness. They do look like they will withstand anything. For a functional pair of shoes, they're cheaper than casuals bought for style and these aren't slouches in that dept. Could easily pass up as basketball/street shoes. Laces tuck in nicely under the velcroed flaps though they're creasing already after only a week. All in all, very happy with the purchase. Mates are already lining up to order the same.
 
Products related to my review
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano AM45 All Mountain SPD Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Privatewire
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfy

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Been using the AM45s for a few weeks now, for a mixture of mountain and roadbike use. Initial impressions are good, I was a bit surprised that cleats werent included and mightily annoyed when i couldnt find a brand new spare set that i know ive got somewhere!
Anyway, the shoes are comfortable and easy to put on and take off, pretty much all i was looking for in fact. It remains to be seen how waterproof they are going to be over the winter as the hole for the cleat mounting is just covered by what Shimano describes as a waterproof sheet but just looks like a paper sticker to me. Overall I'm very pleased, I chose a size bigger than my last Shimanos, (45 instead of 44) and this seems wise. The shoes are comfortable enough to walk around in after cycling, overall I recommend them.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano AM45 All Mountain SPD Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ToasterZapper
from Yorkshire
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent value spd

PostedJune 4, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: can get a little warm
I've been using these for the last month and have found them extremely comfortable, hard wearing and weather resistant. The style wont be to everyones taste but I really like them.. I also got Evans to price match so got them at an even lower price!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>