Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
GPS or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Garmin Edge 800 Trail Pack With Discoverer 1:50k Maps

Garmin Edge 800 Trail Pack With Discoverer 1:50k Maps

Compatible with a wide range of mapping, including 1:50 Discoverer Ordnance Survey, a first for the Edge series and compatible with ANT + enabled wireless heart rate monitors, cadence sensors and power meters. Performance cyclists rely on Edge 800 to help train and race to their full potential. With real time data and GPS positioning, you know where you are and how you're doing throughout the ride. The Trail pack includes the white Edge 800 head unit and 1:50 UK Discoverer mapping from Ordnance Survey.
Overall rating:
4.138 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 29 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
26 out of 29(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
27 Questions | 82 Answers
Customer reviews for Garmin Edge 800 Trail Pack With Discoverer 1:50k Maps
Review 1 for Garmin Edge 800 Trail Pack With Discoverer 1:50k Maps
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Seven
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Expensive and poor user interface

Posted29 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: Expensive, unintuitive
I did quite a lot of research before buying this as it's expensive. I compared it against smartphone apps and other GPS devices and I bought this because of:
1) Good battery life compared to a smartphone app
2) It being waterproof
3) A large user community and support
4) Easy of use of the Garmin Connect website
So not really that much for the cost.
I wanted a GPS to collect stats while cycling and also to plan and navigate new routes.
The 1:50k maps supplied with the unit are pretty hopeless for navigating while cycling. The mapping is raster-based and at the scale the map zooms to for navigation the mapping is pixelated making it difficult to see where to turn. I've switched the maps off and use OpenStreetMap instead which is vector-based and provides a clear map. Therefore I wouldn't bother paying the extra for 1:50k maps. I can only see them being useful for hiking where you need to see a greater distance.
The user interface is very poor when compared against a smartphone app and the screen size is small too. There is no explanation of what the menu options do, it's difficult to find settings and the manual doesn't provide much info either.
The mounting is secure and quick to fit on the GPS. However positioning on the stem is not great and you have to look down too far, taking your eyes off the road, to see all the info on the screen. I'm getting one of the new bar extension fittings to position the unit in front of the handlebars.
What I do like about the Edge 800 is the level of information that you can get out. I like the customisation of the training pages so you just see the information you're interested in.
I would recommend testing the unit out before buying it.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Garmin Edge 800 Trail Pack With Discoverer 1:50k Maps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
flyboywales
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Purpose built bike GPS with many features

Posted18 March 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, a lot of functions, battery life (compared to smartphone with gps), good pc software support, waterproof & robust
Cons: Expensive, map cards expensive
I bought this for my commuting bike as I wanted to keep track of my fitness improvements and also because I'm a sucker for cool pieces of kit!
I initially purchased the Edge with the Discoverer 1:50k maps as I wanted to explore the local moutain trails. For route planning it is best to download Garmin Base Camp from the Garmin website (Free) as this will allow you to view the 1:50k map on the PC in 2D or 3D relief view - this is handy for planning routes as you can draw them up on the computer and then send them to the GPS.
In addition to this you can set up an accout (Again, free) on the Garmin Connect website, which is useful for keeping track of where you have been and also all you ride statistics- of which the Edge 800 can record many.
Battery life is good (Approx 10 hours with medium backlight and connection to heart rate and speed/cadence sensor). This is far longer than any GPS enabled smart phone lasts on battery when using the GPS.
The unit is waterproof and the quarter turn mount is a doddle to use and holds the unit very securerly.
Touch screen is primative compared to modern smart phones as it is a resistive display as opposed to the capacitative types used on iPhones/HTC's etc. Does this matter- No, because the menus are simple to navigate hence the touch screen does its job very well for the user interface.
No manual with the device, which is no big deal as there is an electronic version on a CD plus on the Garmin website. Likewise there are some good user websites out there which do a better job of explaining some of the more advanced features. Out of the box its pretty easy to use and you just have to play with it for a few minutes to get a feel for where different features are located.
When used with appropriate ANT+ sensors (Don't have to be Garmin, just ANT+ compatible) the unit will measure anything from Speed, cadence, heart rate, calories, power, temperature, altitude and so on. Put it this way, there are not enough pages on the device to show every single piece of information (Though it is logged in the background for viewing on a PC using basecamp or garmin connect).
I use my unit with seperately purchased Heart rate monitor and GSC-10 Speed/Cadence sensor.
My only complaint is that if you buy the unit without the 1:50K maps and decide at a later date that you want the maps, then it can be pricey as the unit without the maps is circa £280 and with the maps its circa £360, wheras the map card on its own costs circa £150, likewise more detailed maps are available at 1:25K of major National Parks but again they are not cheap at around £70 per map! An no, you can't print the maps out either from the PC through Base Camp software.
Bottom line is: the unit is very easy to use, well built and robust, has an overwhelming array of information for the rider and is very good for tracking performance/data logging of rides, albeit its a bit pricey- especially if you want to buy map cards.
Also its main competitor - Memory Map, are just GPS units with mapping, but do not have any capability to measure heart rate, speed (from wheel sensor), cadence or power. They are a bit cheaper, but if you want a GPS made for cycling (on or off-road) then the Edge range of products is the only real choice; just decide what you want to do with unit, as if you have no interest in OS mapping then the Edge 500 or Edge 300 may be a better choice.
 
Products related to my review
 
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Garmin Edge 800 Trail Pack With Discoverer 1:50k Maps
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
muddy9mtb
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

cannon fodder

Posted11 June 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: battery life
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive, software, screen
good battery life is the only thing I say nice about this bin filler. This market needs some serious competition if this pathetic specimen is anything to go by? slow, unresponsive, takes an age to find the satellites? poor quality screen, loses course? finds courses, wanders off course far to easily. Connect using "garmin connect", make courses using Garmin Basecamp? Share using the arm under leg wiggling your ear software...I mean seriously where is the consistency in what this is doing...it thinks it can do everything in reality it's just expensive tat.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Garmin Edge 800 Trail Pack With Discoverer 1:50k Maps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dougie66
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent all rounder

Posted01 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Specifically wanted a product that had mapping and is great to use. You have to play with the features to get used to it but it's worth the effort. Did not find downloading routes too difficult.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Garmin Edge 800 Trail Pack With Discoverer 1:50k Maps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jennybear710
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Love this!

Posted10 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, good gadget
I'm still getting to grips with everything that this does!
I have use it to navigate me to a location - it beeps at you when you need to look at the instruction which is very helpful.
The OS maps are marvelous.
The online stuff is brilliant. I have planned bike rides (though yet to follow the courses), but my favorite is all the additional statistics you can get from your journey once you plug the device in to your computer. You have over all time, moving time, over all speed, moving speed, rates, weather, you can watch back your journey and view it on a map... which is brilliant if you want to see where you went when you get lost!
The one thing to be aware of is that the unit takes quite a while to find the satellites the first time you turn it on. So be prepared to leave in in the garden while you have a cup of tea! After that it only takes a few seconds to find satellites.
I am a geek and this totally satisfies my bike geekyness!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Garmin Edge 800 Trail Pack With Discoverer 1:50k Maps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purpledog
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Everything I could want in a bike computer

Posted06 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
It's going to take me a while to use all the features, but so far it's brilliant. Picks up movement very quickly (much faster than my old Garmin Forerunner 305), endless data fields to play with, maps... it's got the lot!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Garmin Edge 800 Trail Pack With Discoverer 1:50k Maps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jossman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good unit with some bells and whistles

Posted02 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
After a few weeks of use I'm finding the Edge 800 a useful tool for both navigation and help with training and performance monitoring. The included UK 50k maps are an indispensable addition giving great coverage for both cycling and walking.
Issues that could detract are the contrast/brightness of the screen when in map mode. It is often hard to see the route on the screen.
Also - the online Garmin connect website is dreadful, for example it if you create a route and download it, the GPS then routes you the wrong way around roundabouts! Whilst I appreciate that one should know which way to go around a roundabout it is very annoying for the GPS to be bleeping and complaining I'm off course when I'm not. Fortunately there are a few other websites which are much better ie www.bikeroutetoaster.com
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Garmin Edge 800 Trail Pack With Discoverer 1:50k Maps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Peter76
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product

Posted28 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought this for a recent coast to coast route. Was great for tracking progress and keeping us on track. Would highly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Garmin Edge 800 Trail Pack With Discoverer 1:50k Maps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
f32mark
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

excellent GPS for a bike

Posted24 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, acurate real-time tracking
I don't do off-road (unless you count pavements, naughty me) but for road cycling the 800 has been faultless. Once it's locked on to the GPS signals (which is pretty quick) it sticks to it like glue. I'm mainly using it at the moment to follow pre-set routes for sportifs and the guidance is brilliant, with warnings before turns etc so you can get in the right position in the road. You can easily create your own routes as well and upload them to the unit.
I've also got a habit of going out in a vague direction & just 'following my nose' and the OS maps make this so easy to do, especially as pubs are marked.
Over-all, I'm well pleased with the product, even the mounting seems pretty solid, with no fears of it jumping off as I navigate the pot-holes of London.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Garmin Edge 800 Trail Pack With Discoverer 1:50k Maps
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
DEK1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

manual unhelpful

Posted01 June 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, difficult to use
The edge 800 is a powerful navigation aid but the manual and the operation of the unit and Basecamp is difficult. It is frustrating and disapointing that prints of rides cannot be made with the Discovery OS mapping. I hope that OSM and memory Map will be better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Garmin Edge 800 Trail Pack With Discoverer 1:50k Maps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tongo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

I've only scratched the surface of its cabilities!

Posted11 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, endless possibilities
Having received this as a Christmas present (lucky I know!) initially I was a little overwhelmed by the Garmin's potential. However within a couple of rides I quickly began to master the basics and in only a couple of weeks I've really started to unlock its possibilities. An awesome product - I now know what all the fuss is about!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Garmin Edge 800 Trail Pack With Discoverer 1:50k Maps
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Andy428
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great potential, but poor maps

Posted03 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, garmin connect is good to plan routes
Cons: Expensive, poor maps, gps does not recognise cycle paths, american logic - yuk!, 25k maps limited coverage
I bought the Edge 800 as a navigation tool for London city and SE England trail cycling. It has health monitoring features that are impressive but I'm not interested. It was a hassle getting signed up to Garmin Connect online, but this is the best feature by far - being able to plan courses online, and download to the Edge. Online maps are quite good in the city but lacking cycle paths outside London. Following courses on the Edge is easy. The 'where to' GPS system wants to take me down main roads, and seems ignorant of cycle paths - so best to plan routes in advance online. The 50k maps are not really good for much. 25k might be better, but are only available for national parks - shame. Don't buy the optional handle bar fixing - it's already in the box.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Garmin Edge 800 Trail Pack With Discoverer 1:50k Maps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BigAl2
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The Garmin is a must if you want to explore.

Posted31 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: hopeless manual
I received this as a gift as I have a tendency to get lost when exploring on the mountain bike. It gets a little getting used to, as the manual is as useful as a chocolate teapot but that is the only downside and is easily remedied through googling Garmin edge 800, which is why I have given it 5 stars.
The unit is high quality and waterproof, I have used it in heavy rainstorms without any issues. Once you have mastered how to input courses into the unit it is easy to use and operate giving clear directions. If you intend to use it off-road get the bundled pack that includes the OS maps. There are a number of websites that enable you to input your own routes as well as download other people routes that have been uploaded.
Once you have completed a route you can download and view the ride stats and if you do a regular training route you can compete against a virtual rider.
If you do go exploring it will direct you back to where you started from. Highly recommended and I haven't got lost whilst using it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Garmin Edge 800 Trail Pack With Discoverer 1:50k Maps
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
martin1984
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Okay but poor instructions

Posted31 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive, not easy to use
Have yet to really try this out on a serious cycle but initial impression is that the Edge 800 is not intuitive and could do with far better instructions if (like me) you are using a cycle GPS for the first time. It is not like a car SatNav and requires time to 'Google' websites that explain how to download a route or create and upload your own. I expect that with some practice this will all sort itself out but strange that Garmin have not invested in decent easy to follow instructions for a piece of kit this expensive.
The maps are also a little small for off road mountain biking but probably okay for road cycling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Garmin Edge 800 Trail Pack With Discoverer 1:50k Maps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Alkempo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent

Posted26 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: none
After reading reviews and watching all the adverts on the Internet I decided to purchase this unit, I wish I got it sooner ! Would not be without it now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Garmin Edge 800 Trail Pack With Discoverer 1:50k Maps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
kaneblueskies
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

This Product Is Great with download maps

Posted21 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I am very happy with my new purchase. I find that is has been most useful having downloaded routes that other people have set up on Garmin Connect. There are not as many as I would like but the ones I have used have been great. As I have been out in the rain and mud I bout the silicone protector and then just wrapped the unit in cling film, this kept it clean and water tight.
Easy to follow instructions and maps. The virtual training partner has been useful. The information analysis of the ride is great. reviewing the ride data and having aerial (Google Earth) or road map overlay with all the information on display is awesome.
Very useful to set a start point if your heading into the forest and then want to find your way back to your car at the end of your exploration.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Garmin Edge 800 Trail Pack With Discoverer 1:50k Maps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
1947coot
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brentford

This is the best on the market for cycling

Posted14 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, long battery life, can creat and upload your own routes
Great product, excellent for cycling/touring, loads of features. Screen could be bigger but all in all ideal. This is my 5 Garmin device and they just get better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Garmin Edge 800 Trail Pack With Discoverer 1:50k Maps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ghop
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Three things you need to know about the Edge 800

Posted02 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, fit for pupose
Before purchase, I really did not know what to buy. Even researching widely on the Internet left me undecided and needing to know the answer to the following questions:
Was the edge 800 worth the price?
Although expensive the product is excellent. You can configure many of the options. There is a wealth of data available both during the ride and afterwards. Routes can be saved also uploaded/downloaded to/from the Garmin website. The product is definitely worth the price.
Would I be able to use it without stopping?
The unit is very easy to use. It has a good clear display and touchscreen which can be operated without removing your glove. The menu is intuitive and options usually available after only a few choices.
Would I be able to read the display as I use reading glasses?
This was my big worry - I even visited the store to test this (inevitably their unit was not charged). No problem, I can use all the options including the SatNav without stopping.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Garmin Edge 800 Trail Pack With Discoverer 1:50k Maps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great abilities

Posted20 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Great sat nav with proper OS maps bundled in the price. Very complicated to use, can download manual but it is more a list of features than how to use it. Will take a number of rises to get to grips with it fully.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Garmin Edge 800 Trail Pack With Discoverer 1:50k Maps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Davydipshoot
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Garmin Edge 800 Trail Pack

Posted04 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Received this unit as a "special birthday" present! The unit is very accurate and the screen resolution quality is ok but do not expect ipod/iphone retina display quality!
Very easy to set up and use straight out the box but is a steep learning curve to set up and fine tune all the parameters.
Unit locks on the to the GPS satelittes very quickly and the detail on the Ordnance Survey maps is excellent.
The mounting arrangement is very secure and esy to use and I have used it many times on my moutain bike with no issues.
The basecamp software is garbage and would not waste my time or bandwitdth downloading it, but the web based Garmin Connect program is very good.
Overall a good unit,very accurate but price is expensive-if looking to buy wait until the next 10% off everything promotion!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>