Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
GPS or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Garmin Edge 800 Enduro Pack With Discoverer 1:50k Maps

Garmin Edge 800 Enduro Pack With Discoverer 1:50k Maps

Compatible with a wide range of mapping, including 1:50 Discoverer Ordnance Survey, a first for the Edge series and compatible with ANT + enabled wireless heart rate monitors, cadence sensors and power meters. Performance cyclists rely on Edge 800 to help train and race to their full potential. With real time data and GPS positioning, you know where you are and how you're doing throughout the ride. The Enduro pack includes the blue Edge 800 head unit, a premium heart rate monitor, cadence sensor, full suite of ride data acquisition so you can analyse every aspect of your performance and 1:50 UK Discoverer mapping from Ordnance Survey.
Overall rating:
4.602 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(103 reviews) 103
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 103 reviews
5 Stars
71
4 Stars
26
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
98 out of 103(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
48 Questions | 114 Answers
Customer reviews for Garmin Edge 800 Enduro Pack With Discoverer 1:50k Maps
Review 1 for Garmin Edge 800 Enduro Pack With Discoverer 1:50k Maps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wizza50
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Motivational tool

Posted05 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
This great device not only tells you details of your journey, it is a motivational training tool! It took while to learn how to use it properly, but once mastered, it is relatively easy. Would recommend to anyone interested in keeping record of what they have done, as well as anyone who is interested in improving their fitness and cycling in general.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Garmin Edge 800 Enduro Pack With Discoverer 1:50k Maps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
saladfunky
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great features, easy to use, great motivation tool

Posted02 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
This device is easy to use and set up, fits on the bike easily and with a second mount I can easily change bike. Mounts easy to fit. With the wheel sensor and gps I guess it is very accurate but the main thing is it is a great motivation tool so you can compare your rides with previous rides. Also as a way of logging all your rides for posterity. You have multiple windows which can be set to display a vast amount of information from speed, cadence, vertical speed, heart rate, temperature, direction, gradient and loads more.You just scroll throught the windows with your finger tips or gloved fingers easily. Great for navigating and I use it in the car as well as on foot and on the bike. Maps are very comprehensive. Sometimes the routes it selects aren't quite what you expect so I would check you are totally happy before just following the route. Everything is great quality. Using garmin connect for logging the data for detailed analisysis is brilliant, and you can use strava as well for comparing segments with other riders. It opens up a whole new world and makes you want to cycle more and more!! Brilliant product!!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
RAMIT
Glasgow
 
Please wait while more information about RAMIT is loaded.
Additional information about RAMIT could not be loaded.
Sounds like great product- how good is maps?
Posted 01 November 2012
Hi never had any form of GPS and read quite a few reviews now. How good are the OS map of Great Britain on the Garmin Edge 800 and for the one with the city navigator what do you get?
I am looking for a system that will allow preloaded routes but deviations if the mood and route take my fancy.
Any comments greatfully received.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 3 for Garmin Edge 800 Enduro Pack With Discoverer 1:50k Maps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jf73
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

No regrets

Posted25 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
For a long time I was unsure about buying this product because the price is so much higher than other computers, but in the end I took the plunge and I'm glad that I did.
First of all the Garmin 800 gives me access to all kinds of information which I couldn't get before (cadence, heart rate, elevation, etc.). Secondly, you can customise the screens to show exactly the information you want on each one. So, for example, I have a general riding screen showing speed, average speed, distance, heart rate, cadence and I have a climbing screen showing speed, gradient, heart rate, total climbing etc.
Best of all is the mapping function. You can plan routes in advance using Connect on the internet, then upload them onto your device and follow them. I've found this great: I can head down the most obscure country lanes and not have to worry about getting lost or stop every five minutes to get a map out. One tip: in the settings turn 'recalculate route' to 'off', otherwise if you miss just one tiny part of the preset course it will keep trying to divert you back where you should have gone.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Garmin Edge 800 Enduro Pack With Discoverer 1:50k Maps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cannonfodder04
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great riding computer

Posted05 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great, great training aid
The edge 1000 came out which made this more affordable so I took the plunge. Really pleased with it. I have leant all about training zones & cadence. I now have a training plan for a century ride. I use it for road & mountain biking. Yes the screen is a bit small & you can't plot a course on the device for off road. It will navigate to a address on the road but that is a long winded process. Your better off planing your ride before you go. If your into your ride you won't regret this purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Garmin Edge 800 Enduro Pack With Discoverer 1:50k Maps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jezzer777
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good but maps a little hard to see

Posted08 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Having just got this I found it easy to set up and good to use. The maps are a little hard to read as you are cycling along. Knowing the routes I typically ride I just have it on a screen showing stats like cadence, distance, heart rate, inclination etc.. Navigation may be tricky if you've programmed in a new route.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Garmin Edge 800 Enduro Pack With Discoverer 1:50k Maps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
heeleyman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great, but look after the data card...

Posted11 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: interface could better.
Thanks to Greig at the Bristol store for sorting out my maps microSD card. Somehow the card was no longer working and after considerable investigations it seemed the data on the card was probably corrupted. Be careful not to switch your Edge on with the unit connected to your computer (Mac in my case) as it may harm the card data. I think this is what might have happened to mine. In the menu -> system -> map -> map information select map interface, it was showing the Garmin GB Discoverer 1:50k Maps, but was saying Enabled: none. This probably means your data has been corrupted and the card may need changing. Luckily I had a very helpful store manager sort me out. Great service. Thanks again Grieg.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Garmin Edge 800 Enduro Pack With Discoverer 1:50k Maps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cyclehopper
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best Cycling GPS available

Posted06 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, waterproof, long life battery
Cons: Expensive
Expensive but worth it! OS maps with turn by turn navigation.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Garmin Edge 800 Enduro Pack With Discoverer 1:50k Maps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ianglos
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Great product - instructions rubbish

Posted19 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Great product - you have to go on-line to learn how to use it. You can buy cheaper elsewhere but don't provide the confidence that Evans provide
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Garmin Edge 800 Enduro Pack With Discoverer 1:50k Maps
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Letour
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Needs refining

Posted07 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive
Purchased this mainly for heart rate/cadence features,and also for the navigation feature.
I have had the unit for approx three weeks and it as already required a reset due to not auto downloading workouts to Garmin connect ( a common problem it appears judging by all the comments on the web) I also agree with a lot of users that the screen quality is very poor for what you pay for the unit, (years behind the average smart phone display).
On the positive it makes a good training device,with Garmin connect providing lots of stats about you're workout, if Garmin sorted the screen resolution and some other minor niggles this would be a winner.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Garmin Edge 800 Enduro Pack With Discoverer 1:50k Maps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Marvin59
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

An excellent piece of kit.

Posted01 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I bought this to go with my new bike and it has been fantastic so far. It is very simple to use once you have set it up and tried it a few times. I had thought planning routes on the computer and having to upload them to the device would be a pain but it is fairly straight forward and quick. Also recording rides and looking at the results on Garmin Connect is fascinating and has added a whole new dimension to my cycling and of course you can put the info on Strava which is seriously addictive but great fun. The OS maps are great if you visit different parts of the UK or just go further afield locally and it is possible to see the screen even in bright sunlight. The only downside is the cost but once you get your head round that it is worth having and the information it generates can add to your enjoyment of cycling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Garmin Edge 800 Enduro Pack With Discoverer 1:50k Maps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sbaker68
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

All you could need from a cycle computer and more

Posted27 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Excellent product, if a bit pricey. Touch screen gives use a whole new dimension in ease of use while on the move. Micro SD card is INSIDE the standard SD card, so don't panic if you get the maps version and can't find it.... it is in there! No complaints at all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Garmin Edge 800 Enduro Pack With Discoverer 1:50k Maps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mooseman
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Basics are simple, the rest is more tricky

Posted26 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
The 800 is an excellent cycling computer, the GPS, Heart Rate Monitor and Cadence counter in this package are simple to set up, and the configurable screens for data such as speed, heart rate, calories etc etc etc etc are great.
The navigation is a little more complex, you can plot routes using garmin connect or garmin basecamp, but some complexities around course points may mean you don't get turn by turn directions unless you are careful.
Overall, a good buy, even if expensive, and unless you are a computer genius, buy maps with yours, rather than thinking you can download free-ish ones.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Garmin Edge 800 Enduro Pack With Discoverer 1:50k Maps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gazlondon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fantastic bit of kit - revolutionised my rides

Posted30 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, clear maps
Cons: Expensive, manual not great
Got this about 2 yrs ago and it really is great. I plan my routes on my laptop thru the week, upload, and then at the weekend, click on the route and I'm off. Now I ride my bike rather than stop at every turn checking my map. There's lots of features to help you navigate a route and you can log in to garmin connect and look for other peoples courses.
I've got the os maps and they're great if you do get lost and have to check the best way to get on track.
I even take it in the car with me and it keeps my kids amused watching the little blue triangle move along.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Garmin Edge 800 Enduro Pack With Discoverer 1:50k Maps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Daryll747
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

First rate purchase

Posted02 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Having considered the Edge 810, the additional cost versus the additional features just didn't stack up.
I'm very pleased with the Edge 800 with it delivering on everything it promises. All the features work extremely well and once you get to grips with the menu's and it's nuances it is all fairly straightforward.
The free access to the Garmin Connect is a good so you can upload and review rides although I have found it to be a little tempermental at times but this maybe my broadband connection.
Conclusion, yes it's rather expensive but it is great quality product, delivers on its promises and is well worth it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Garmin Edge 800 Enduro Pack With Discoverer 1:50k Maps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
starlight
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Everything you could want

Posted01 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This product is fantastic. it does everything it says and have had no problems whatsoever with it. Very useful as a weight loss device [with you cycling however ], Hrm, pretty accurate and cadence/speed sensor very good.
Sturdy and reliable product as you would expect from Garmin and also has excellent website for analysing your data. Very easy to use.
Can`t fault it one bit. Would buy another tomorrow if I needed one.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Garmin Edge 800 Enduro Pack With Discoverer 1:50k Maps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
yanto
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

exactly the product required at a very good price

Posted08 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, usable
exactly the product required at a very good price, the product is robust and very easily usable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Garmin Edge 800 Enduro Pack With Discoverer 1:50k Maps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
rmfarran
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

All the data you could ever want.

Posted27 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Dont expect to get full use of the edge 800 as soon as you get it out of the box. Getting the settings right takes abit of fiddling and experimenting and patience is required. However when the correct settings have been entered and the use of Garmin Connect, Strava etc has been mastered; the edge 800 becomes second to none in terms of useability and functionality.
The OS maps work perfectly. The turn guidance for a route is accurate and useful. The heart rate monitor works alot better than previous models I have owned. The battery life is around 10 hours, which is more than enough for most rides. The customisable data display screens allow any combination of data to be displayed to suit any type of ride/rider.
All in all the edge 800 is a very good peice of kit, and so it should be for the price tag!
The only disadvantage I have found is that when route planning on garmin connect, the route will go round the roundabouts the wrong way- this is because garmin is an american company. Also be prepared to do quite abit of googling in order to get the settings right, however there is a vast amount of help out there so finding what you need will be easy. The autopuase function is one i have found particularly useful!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Garmin Edge 800 Enduro Pack With Discoverer 1:50k Maps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Seanyyy
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great training tool

Posted18 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought this after a lot of research and comparisons with the Bryton rider 50. After a few rides I'm so glad I shelled out and finally bought the Garmin. The navigation is such a help on longer training rides where I can now plan every route detail exactly before departing and dont need to keep stopping to check maps etc. Setting up the GPS and using Garmin Connect to plan routes and analyse a route once completed couldn't be easier also whilst riding the display is pretty clear and easy to use plus switching between screens and making selections works fine with thick winter gloves. The instructions are more a quick start guide and could be improved but I found a useful youtube video which helped with customizing the data elements. The mounts are really secure too and have been tested on some pretty rough roads, actually two mounts were included which really helps although I may still go for an out front mount in time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Garmin Edge 800 Enduro Pack With Discoverer 1:50k Maps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wodrac
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Garmin Edge 800 Enduro Pack is 'a winner'

Posted14 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Easy to fit and set up. Very clear screen when reading the different data fields. Auto scroll is brilliant, no need to take hands of bars and press screen. If you need to delete a data field or add another it is very simple to do. Top piece of equipment, purpose built for bikers wanting to know their performance. Even better when you can go to the Garmin site and download the data and study the data.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Garmin Edge 800 Enduro Pack With Discoverer 1:50k Maps
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Butty
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Frustrating at first

Posted07 February 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, good mounting system
Cons: complex
Hmmm. There is a big "BUT" in my experiences of this… and it's about Garmin's instructions. Your £300 to £400 only gets you a printed quick start guide and a link to a pdf instruction book. The pdf doesn't really tell you how to use the unit. but is more a list of functions. A better approach would have been to answer the questions a user would have.
This makes it very difficult to get started using the unit and explains why there are so many amateur websites telling you things that Garmin should have. I'm reasonably tech-savvie, but the operating system of the Garmin is not self-explanatory in the way a car sat-nab is.
After a week or two I'm starting to be able to use it for navigating (which was the main function I wanted from it) had I been able to use it before I purchased it, I wouldn't have bought this particular bundle. The OS maps are not vector based, so become very pixelated when you zoom in – the city navigator maps would have been much better for my uses.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>