Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
GPS or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Garmin Edge 800 Road Performance Pack With European Maps

Garmin Edge 800 Road Performance Pack With European Maps

Compatible with a wide range of mapping, including 1:50 Discoverer Ordnance Survey, a first for the Edge series and compatible with ANT + enabled wireless heart rate monitors, cadence sensors and power meters. The Road Performance pack includes the white Edge 800 head unit, a premium heart rate monitor, cadence sensor and European City Navigator mapping.
Overall rating:
4.512 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(43 reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 43 reviews
5 Stars
29
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
41 out of 43(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
40 Questions | 89 Answers
Customer reviews for Garmin Edge 800 Road Performance Pack With European Maps
Review 1 for Garmin Edge 800 Road Performance Pack With European Maps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
london0907
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:West End

Excellent User Friendly Navigation Tool

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
My husband and I tried a Garmin Edge product when renting road bikes in Switzerland (to ride around Lake Geneva). Although the maps were excellent, we regretted that there was no touchscreen feature because the manual adjustment of the screen was a bit cumbersome. So I was excited to track down the Garmin Edge 800 with the touchscreen and surprised my husband with it for his birthday. As he enjoys long distance riding, he appreciates the clear screen, long battery life and ease of use. The maps are very detailed and have good route programming. The elevation tool is a really nice feature as well. Cadence and heart rate monitor features are also good.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Garmin Edge 800 Road Performance Pack With European Maps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beardy2011
from Essex
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

What a fantastic bit of kit.

PostedJune 5, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, very useful
Cons: Expensive
Does everything it says on the tin. The heart monitor is great and can be used to help you train within different zones. The GPS is very accurate and uploading routes is simple using Base Camp. Just wish I had bought it with the GB ordnance survey card.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Garmin Edge 800 Road Performance Pack With European Maps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Granty666
Country:France
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent product, Wife loves it

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, functionality
Cons: Expensive
Nice finish, very easy to fit, only the pedal sensor placement being a little irksome, due to curved pedal section, not the Garmin.
Functionality of the mapping function and the statistics recorded, have added a new dimension to her planning her training. This coupled with the ability to simply ride randomly for a few hours down the back roads of France and then ask the Garmin for a route home, Marvelous I got major brownie points for this Xmas present.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Garmin Edge 800 Road Performance Pack With European Maps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sboy78
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

Excellent Product

PostedFebruary 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, easy to use
Think the Garmin is an must have for all cyclists who would like to explore and go places they would not normally cycle. Its really helped me vary the amount of routes I cycle and tailor each route to my needs. I was wary before I bought the Garmin as I had the impression it would be difficult to set up, however its not as hard to set up as some reviews suggest and in fact is fairly straight forward even for those not technically minded like me. Overall Great product at a good price and the staff at the National Cycling Centre Manchester were very helpful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Garmin Edge 800 Road Performance Pack With European Maps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
iwf67
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Useful kit, but not an 810 or even a 510

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I like this GPS, I waited a while before I purchased it and on the whole it was worth the wait. Technically it's about perfect, i.e. it is accurate in telling me where to go etc, signal is good.
I relied on it on a recent long and lumpy ride over the Moors and was reassured by its capacity to take me where I wanted to go.
I like its interaction with Garmin Connect, however am disappointed that software (on the iPhone App) only looks for the 810 and 510.
Maybe with a little more research I might have looked at the 810 instead. The 510 has its benefits over the 800 but overall the 800 is far more capable.
I like the way that I can design my own screens for when I'm out and about and for when on the turbo.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Garmin Edge 800 Road Performance Pack With European Maps
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
lukeyrada
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Need more time to judge it

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Cons: Expensive
I haven't used the Garmin extensively or to it's full capability.
I've used it mostly during my short commute (7miles) to monitor timings, heart rate, calories burned, averages, cadence, gradient, etc.
I decided to purchase it as I intend to do some long bike rides in the future (Lands End, Coast to Coast) and wanted a Navigation tool/cycle computer. Hence I got this version with European Maps.
Only once so far have I attempted to plot a route/course, using Garmin Connect, to a destination I was unsure how to get to. It didn't go too well and seemed to be mis-directing me to the point where I cancelled the course. However this could've been my error and I will try and plot a course, send it to the Garmin then follow the navigation again. It did fare a little better when I looked for a location (train station) on the Garmin and used the go to function. I can't plot courses on Garmin BaseCamp as annoyingly my operating system isn't deemed new enough to enable that function (Mac OSX 10.6.8).
If anyone knows of any better ways or sites to plot routes please let me know! Ideally I'd like the option of selecting a start point & end point and then the best route to be automatically calculated, with preferences included (avoid A Roads, busy roads, etc)
The mount wasn't very good and whilst out riding the Garmin fell off and was scratched which is really annoying. It would've been on the Out Front rack but I had to order one as Evans were out of stock that day. Consequently I went out with the in box mount and the Garmin got damaged. The mount stayed attached to the frame but the Garmin came loose and fell. I now have the Out Front rack and it's very secure, it's just too bad my screen is now scratched.
The unit is easy enough to work out and operate once you've read, watched some reviews and the Heart Rate Monitor is as comfortable as it can be. No issues with the cadence/speed sensor either.
The only other issue I've had is that 2 of the longest rides I have done not long after I got it weren't recorded. Again that is very annoying when you want to look at your stats after a long ride. In the interest of fairness it may have been my fault, may have done something wrong or not done something. However I did successfully log my activities before and after these instances so I'm pretty sure it was a problem with the Garmin. It works fine now though.
It's vastly overpriced.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Garmin Edge 800 Road Performance Pack With European Maps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Progers23
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

PostedMay 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Not the easiest user interface. Some issues with leaking..great features by far the best cycle gps apart from the 810. Very accurate with good battery life. Over all pleased with the purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Garmin Edge 800 Road Performance Pack With European Maps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SMBC
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent navigation

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: hard to upload a pre-planned route
Great piece of kit, used it on a fundraising cycling event from Cardiff to Heathrow and didn't let me down
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Garmin Edge 800 Road Performance Pack With European Maps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Williemc
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fantastic piece of kit

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Great price for the bundle. Only beginning to get to grips with the unlimited features
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Garmin Edge 800 Road Performance Pack With European Maps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gnasher59
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Worth Every Penny

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, motivational, reliable
I hesitated for quite a while, wondering if this was a) worth the money, b) too complicated and "glitchy" and c) really necessary.
I needn't have worried. It's straight forward to use, reliable and an invaluable motivational/guidance tool. The heart monitor is great and can be used to help you train within different zones, the GPS is very accurate and uploading routes is simple using Base Camp and its compatible with both PC AND Mac (unlike the Mio).
Its not cheap, but it IS very good value for money.
You get what you pay for, and I have no hesitation in recommending it :-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Garmin Edge 800 Road Performance Pack With European Maps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
stanley01564
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great bit of kit!

PostedJanuary 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Wanted one of these to help me with my training, and it works!
Motivated to beat my own times, and helps me take my understanding of performance to another level with the use of the heart rate and cadence outputs!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Garmin Edge 800 Road Performance Pack With European Maps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ghost1971
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Excellent GPS and Monitors

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, accurate
I use the 800 whether I'm out riding or when using rollers inside, the GPS is excellent when out and the heart rate monitor and cadence monitor are an excellent addition when doing indoor training, they are especially handy for use with sufferfest training videos as you can monitor your cadence very accurately. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this product. Make sure you are careful when attaching the cadence sensor as it can be a little tricky to install, once its on it works brilliantly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Garmin Edge 800 Road Performance Pack With European Maps
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Londoner362
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

Great stats but tricky to get to grips with

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Cons: not enough help for new users
First the negatives.
I found the instructions skimpy and understanding the Edge has been a matter of trial and error. For example I managed to reset the altitude once when I came across it but haven't been able to find the screen again.
After my first ride with it even though I started and finished at the same point my start and finish altitudes were different! There is something on Garmin Connect about normalising altitudes that changes the altitudes dramatically but it isn't clear why.
When Ioaded a ride into Garmin connect it has great stats but the system doesn't link points on a graph such as heart rate to points on a map. Strava manages to link stats to the map.
I find the map on the Edge to be very poor. Roads aren't clear and directions to turn left or right would be a lot easier than being told to head to points of the compass! It may be something I am doing but the instructions are so poor that I can't tell so I'll have to try and find a more experienced user......
On the plus side the display is clear and informative. The rides up loaded easily and quickly giving a wealth of information on the computer.
So in summary I would say that it is a good bit of kit but Garmin need to work harder to help new users get the best out of it and become champions for the brand,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Garmin Edge 800 Road Performance Pack With European Maps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ant419b
Age:55-65
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

The ultimate bike computer

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, the best on the market
If Garmin's Edge 800 isn't the ultimate on bike computer I don't know which of its competitors is. With full European mapping it is with me where ever I go. Functionality is good and it can integrate with power meters and upload with many GPS based mapping websites such as Strava. Top notch.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Garmin Edge 800 Road Performance Pack With European Maps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Woody456
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Simple and easy to use with lots of great features

PostedAugust 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Already had the Garmin 500 but had done a couple of organised rides that were not signed. The 800 is fantastic at keeping you on course without reverting to paper directions. A really good purchase
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Garmin Edge 800 Road Performance Pack With European Maps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mrguillemot
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Product, but...

PostedJune 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Garmin make great GPS units, which when they are fully operational are fantastic. I am hopeful that the Edge 800 is better than my Forerunner 210, which eventually Garmin sorted.
Now if you are interesting in shelling out the near £400 for this piece of kit I would suggest that you take the bike that you want to use this with into the store when you go to purchase. Why? Well the GSC10 unit may not necessarily fit properly to the chainstays depending on the design of the chainstain and the distance from it to the wheel spokes. I attached my unit to my Focus Cayo Evo which has a carbon frame the chainstays of which are tapered. There is also minimal (a mm or so) space between the in place GSC 10 and the spoke magnet - however because of the tapering the GSC 10 moves as the bike moves and so the magnet hits the swing arm. I am sure this can be resolved with some double sided tape or similar, but is not ideal, esp given the cost of the unit. And yes this is the only position on the bike where the unit can be mounted. So get it checked by one of the guys in store if you are unsure. A big plus point is that they come supplied with 2 bike mounts, so if you have 2 bikes you could interchange the head unit...but you would need a second GSC10 to be singing and dancing.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
mrguillemot
Woking Surrey
 
Please wait while more information about mrguillemot is loaded.
Additional information about mrguillemot could not be loaded.
updated to first post
Posted October 15, 2012
I still like the unit and the info is great, HOWEVER, it has a bad habit of dropping the signal and then switching off when on long routes. It is absolutely hopeless when under alot of tree cover so no good for forest/offroad sections. Also the battery life on very long trips is not good. Used on the London to Brighton offroad and it ran out of battery at 6 hours 45. Still think there are improvements that could be made!
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 17 for Garmin Edge 800 Road Performance Pack With European Maps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jsmith147
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedMay 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Excellent bit of kit , a must buy for any regular rider !!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Garmin Edge 800 Road Performance Pack With European Maps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Slaphead44
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Product, pricey but worth the money

PostedMay 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I was really really nervous to buy the Garmin. I had just emotionally decided to pay out for the 705 when the 800 was launched at a higher price. Having finally taken the plunge and bought the 800 I'm very pleased with it. Excellent tracking of metrics, lots of choice on screen layout, excellent mapping. I'm a member of www.Aukweb.net and was pleased to see that most of their events have download courses available, which as I'm not good at following a printed route sheet is a major win.
High price shouldn't be confused with value in my opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Garmin Edge 800 Road Performance Pack With European Maps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SillyWoodenToy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Expensive but great!

PostedApril 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
This is a function packed little unit that does way more than you would expect.
I live out in the sticks and don't know my local area very well so got the Garmin 800 with the performance pack and EU Maps package as for me its primary purpose would be to give me directions as I try to explore my local area and all the information out there confirms how the gps directions is next to useless unless you buy the maps.
To this end it generally does a great job in directing me on route's but the really great feature for directions is using the Garmin Connect website to create a course to then follow and then uploading and comparing your runs of the course on the Garmin Connect website.
I had a bit of trouble with unit not giving course directions at first but that's sorted now I have found that you have to set each course settings to give you directions first!
There are some really good detailed write ups published on the internet, both providing assistance in its use and sharing opinions so if like me you like data before handing over cash make sure you have a good nose around first.
My summary, while its functions are fantastic it is hard to justify its cost. If you are a serious athlete I can see how this could be one of the best training aids you buy, if not you better become one to justify the spend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Garmin Edge 800 Road Performance Pack With European Maps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
acfacey
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Easy to use, excellent data.

PostedMarch 7, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, all the data you need
Cons: Expensive
Even though its expensive it is worth its weight in gold.
The data you get out of it is brilliant and priceless, download using Garmin connect and then you can use other software products to really analyse your data.
It is only when you check your power output vs the pros that you realise that you actually couldn't have made it and you need to work harder, great motivating tool.
Works with the bulikiest winter gloves brilliantly and the map functionality is brilliant.
Garmin have got it spot on again!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>