Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
GPS or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Garmin Edge 800 Road Performance Pack With European Maps

Garmin Edge 800 Road Performance Pack With European Maps

Compatible with a wide range of mapping, including 1:50 Discoverer Ordnance Survey, a first for the Edge series and compatible with ANT + enabled wireless heart rate monitors, cadence sensors and power meters. The Road Performance pack includes the white Edge 800 head unit, a premium heart rate monitor, cadence sensor and European City Navigator mapping.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(50 reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 50 reviews
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
48 out of 50(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
40 Questions | 90 Answers
Customer reviews for Garmin Edge 800 Road Performance Pack With European Maps
Review 1 for Garmin Edge 800 Road Performance Pack With European Maps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
london0907
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:West End

Excellent User Friendly Navigation Tool

Posted20 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
My husband and I tried a Garmin Edge product when renting road bikes in Switzerland (to ride around Lake Geneva). Although the maps were excellent, we regretted that there was no touchscreen feature because the manual adjustment of the screen was a bit cumbersome. So I was excited to track down the Garmin Edge 800 with the touchscreen and surprised my husband with it for his birthday. As he enjoys long distance riding, he appreciates the clear screen, long battery life and ease of use. The maps are very detailed and have good route programming. The elevation tool is a really nice feature as well. Cadence and heart rate monitor features are also good.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Garmin Edge 800 Road Performance Pack With European Maps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beardy2011
from Essex
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

What a fantastic bit of kit.

Posted05 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, very useful
Cons: Expensive
Does everything it says on the tin. The heart monitor is great and can be used to help you train within different zones. The GPS is very accurate and uploading routes is simple using Base Camp. Just wish I had bought it with the GB ordnance survey card.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Garmin Edge 800 Road Performance Pack With European Maps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hahny
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Lots of features and simple to use.

Posted10 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Easy to set up, easy to connect to computer to download maps and upload routes. With the performance pack there are loads of features.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Garmin Edge 800 Road Performance Pack With European Maps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Phil20
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

Overall - a great product.

Posted20 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Ideal for what I need, which is primarily a navigation/recording device. Still getting to grips with all the features.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Garmin Edge 800 Road Performance Pack With European Maps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
tracksidedad
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

So easy to set up

Posted01 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
Its great I bought this Garmin to monitor my daughters performance in time trials and road races . It does it all and more its so easy just load the data in to your computer and its all there
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Garmin Edge 800 Road Performance Pack With European Maps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
OverTheEdge
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Upgrading the cycle computer.

Posted29 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, a little complicated
Cons: Expensive
This is an excellent piece of kit. It is quite different to other cycle computers I've used. I was using CycleMeter on the iPhone and this has a very good GUI, the Garmin takes some getting used to, but I'm getting there slowly. I find the HRM very useful, and after setting it up correctly, one ride on the flat had the computer suggesting my HR was too high(!!), it now reads sensibly. I am still fighting to get the cadence meter to register, and having looked on the internet, it seems people have a lot of trouble with this! I haven't used the maps a great deal as I know where I'm riding, but it might be an idea to click on the 'Get me Home' facility to see how good it is. I have a lot more riding to do to see how comprehensive this device can be.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Garmin Edge 800 Road Performance Pack With European Maps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jack7491
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

This product does everything...almost...

Posted25 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
So you want an all-singing, all-dancing computer that tells you almost everything except how to make a decent cup or coffee? And you want speeds, cadence, heart rate (all current or averages), plus a riding 'partner' to test yourself against? And then you want it simple so you don't cycle into the nearest tree whilst pressing the buttons? Well, this is for you....and some...
Me? Of course, I too wanted the above but also the GPS as I like to suddenly go off course if I like the look of a road and don't want to get completely lost. And if I suddenly find that I liked the route, then I can download it when I get back. If I've gone round in circles, I can also change all this so I've got a great ride for next time.
Fixing it to the bike is easy as is setting it up. And if you use a trainer, it's all done through the rear wheel so you still get all the information you need. But you will need more than the base map if you go so far off the main roads as I do. Euro maps is essential. Now, do I turn left or right at the Eiffel Tower? Mind you, Garmin have a very good website where all your rides can be stored.
A tad expensive I admit, but when you think of all the inclusions in that one little computer perhaps you can understand why. But...I still can't find that coffee button....poor show...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Garmin Edge 800 Road Performance Pack With European Maps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gofbang
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Glad I bought this in the end

Posted22 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I ummed and ahhed as to whether I really needed it but I'm glad I bought it.
Its really useful to have the route in front of you, even on relatively familiar territory, so you can change routes as you go along and not end up lost or further from home than you thought.
I didn't think I'd use the cadence monitor, but now I've started, I do look to see how I'm doing along the ride.
I'm a big Connect and Strava user - uploading is dead easy and the data it gives is good to review.
These things definitely fall into the 'don't really need' category, but since when was that a criteria anyway?
Now the Edge 1000 is around, I think the reduced priced 800/810s are great value for money
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Garmin Edge 800 Road Performance Pack With European Maps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MikeH243
Country:Switzerland
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great mobile features

Posted10 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Great, so good bought 2, one for me one for son.
Loads of analysis material and really helped with last training before and then climbing Mont Vontaux.
Love the facility to plan rides on computer and download, but frustrating if it then just tells me I am off route?
Son joined his with Strava premium and now much happier with maps and planning.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Garmin Edge 800 Road Performance Pack With European Maps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Granty666
Country:France
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent product, Wife loves it

Posted06 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, functionality
Cons: Expensive
Nice finish, very easy to fit, only the pedal sensor placement being a little irksome, due to curved pedal section, not the Garmin.
Functionality of the mapping function and the statistics recorded, have added a new dimension to her planning her training. This coupled with the ability to simply ride randomly for a few hours down the back roads of France and then ask the Garmin for a route home, Marvelous I got major brownie points for this Xmas present.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Garmin Edge 800 Road Performance Pack With European Maps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sboy78
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

Excellent Product

Posted01 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, easy to use
Think the Garmin is an must have for all cyclists who would like to explore and go places they would not normally cycle. Its really helped me vary the amount of routes I cycle and tailor each route to my needs. I was wary before I bought the Garmin as I had the impression it would be difficult to set up, however its not as hard to set up as some reviews suggest and in fact is fairly straight forward even for those not technically minded like me. Overall Great product at a good price and the staff at the National Cycling Centre Manchester were very helpful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Garmin Edge 800 Road Performance Pack With European Maps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
iwf67
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Useful kit, but not an 810 or even a 510

Posted01 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I like this GPS, I waited a while before I purchased it and on the whole it was worth the wait. Technically it's about perfect, i.e. it is accurate in telling me where to go etc, signal is good.
I relied on it on a recent long and lumpy ride over the Moors and was reassured by its capacity to take me where I wanted to go.
I like its interaction with Garmin Connect, however am disappointed that software (on the iPhone App) only looks for the 810 and 510.
Maybe with a little more research I might have looked at the 810 instead. The 510 has its benefits over the 800 but overall the 800 is far more capable.
I like the way that I can design my own screens for when I'm out and about and for when on the turbo.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Garmin Edge 800 Road Performance Pack With European Maps
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
lukeyrada
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Need more time to judge it

Posted11 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Cons: Expensive
I haven't used the Garmin extensively or to it's full capability.
I've used it mostly during my short commute (7miles) to monitor timings, heart rate, calories burned, averages, cadence, gradient, etc.
I decided to purchase it as I intend to do some long bike rides in the future (Lands End, Coast to Coast) and wanted a Navigation tool/cycle computer. Hence I got this version with European Maps.
Only once so far have I attempted to plot a route/course, using Garmin Connect, to a destination I was unsure how to get to. It didn't go too well and seemed to be mis-directing me to the point where I cancelled the course. However this could've been my error and I will try and plot a course, send it to the Garmin then follow the navigation again. It did fare a little better when I looked for a location (train station) on the Garmin and used the go to function. I can't plot courses on Garmin BaseCamp as annoyingly my operating system isn't deemed new enough to enable that function (Mac OSX 10.6.8).
If anyone knows of any better ways or sites to plot routes please let me know! Ideally I'd like the option of selecting a start point & end point and then the best route to be automatically calculated, with preferences included (avoid A Roads, busy roads, etc)
The mount wasn't very good and whilst out riding the Garmin fell off and was scratched which is really annoying. It would've been on the Out Front rack but I had to order one as Evans were out of stock that day. Consequently I went out with the in box mount and the Garmin got damaged. The mount stayed attached to the frame but the Garmin came loose and fell. I now have the Out Front rack and it's very secure, it's just too bad my screen is now scratched.
The unit is easy enough to work out and operate once you've read, watched some reviews and the Heart Rate Monitor is as comfortable as it can be. No issues with the cadence/speed sensor either.
The only other issue I've had is that 2 of the longest rides I have done not long after I got it weren't recorded. Again that is very annoying when you want to look at your stats after a long ride. In the interest of fairness it may have been my fault, may have done something wrong or not done something. However I did successfully log my activities before and after these instances so I'm pretty sure it was a problem with the Garmin. It works fine now though.
It's vastly overpriced.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Rich58
Lincoln
 
Please wait while more information about Rich58 is loaded.
Additional information about Rich58 could not be loaded.
Route Planning
Posted 01 August 2014
I quickly tired of the irksome base camp and now use with mapmyride or ride with gps. Both are dead easy to use and downloaded gpx files work well with the Garmin Edge 800
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 14 for Garmin Edge 800 Road Performance Pack With European Maps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Progers23
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Posted11 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Not the easiest user interface. Some issues with leaking..great features by far the best cycle gps apart from the 810. Very accurate with good battery life. Over all pleased with the purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Garmin Edge 800 Road Performance Pack With European Maps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SMBC
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent navigation

Posted12 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: hard to upload a pre-planned route
Great piece of kit, used it on a fundraising cycling event from Cardiff to Heathrow and didn't let me down
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Garmin Edge 800 Road Performance Pack With European Maps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Williemc
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fantastic piece of kit

Posted27 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Great price for the bundle. Only beginning to get to grips with the unlimited features
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Garmin Edge 800 Road Performance Pack With European Maps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gnasher59
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Worth Every Penny

Posted26 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, motivational, reliable
I hesitated for quite a while, wondering if this was a) worth the money, b) too complicated and "glitchy" and c) really necessary.
I needn't have worried. It's straight forward to use, reliable and an invaluable motivational/guidance tool. The heart monitor is great and can be used to help you train within different zones, the GPS is very accurate and uploading routes is simple using Base Camp and its compatible with both PC AND Mac (unlike the Mio).
Its not cheap, but it IS very good value for money.
You get what you pay for, and I have no hesitation in recommending it :-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Garmin Edge 800 Road Performance Pack With European Maps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
stanley01564
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great bit of kit!

Posted05 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Wanted one of these to help me with my training, and it works!
Motivated to beat my own times, and helps me take my understanding of performance to another level with the use of the heart rate and cadence outputs!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Garmin Edge 800 Road Performance Pack With European Maps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ghost1971
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Excellent GPS and Monitors

Posted03 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, accurate
I use the 800 whether I'm out riding or when using rollers inside, the GPS is excellent when out and the heart rate monitor and cadence monitor are an excellent addition when doing indoor training, they are especially handy for use with sufferfest training videos as you can monitor your cadence very accurately. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this product. Make sure you are careful when attaching the cadence sensor as it can be a little tricky to install, once its on it works brilliantly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Garmin Edge 800 Road Performance Pack With European Maps
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Londoner362
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

Great stats but tricky to get to grips with

Posted01 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Cons: not enough help for new users
First the negatives.
I found the instructions skimpy and understanding the Edge has been a matter of trial and error. For example I managed to reset the altitude once when I came across it but haven't been able to find the screen again.
After my first ride with it even though I started and finished at the same point my start and finish altitudes were different! There is something on Garmin Connect about normalising altitudes that changes the altitudes dramatically but it isn't clear why.
When Ioaded a ride into Garmin connect it has great stats but the system doesn't link points on a graph such as heart rate to points on a map. Strava manages to link stats to the map.
I find the map on the Edge to be very poor. Roads aren't clear and directions to turn left or right would be a lot easier than being told to head to points of the compass! It may be something I am doing but the instructions are so poor that I can't tell so I'll have to try and find a more experienced user......
On the plus side the display is clear and informative. The rides up loaded easily and quickly giving a wealth of information on the computer.
So in summary I would say that it is a good bit of kit but Garmin need to work harder to help new users get the best out of it and become champions for the brand,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>