Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Northwave Fahrenheit GTX Shoe

Northwave Fahrenheit GTX Shoe

Overall rating:
4.7 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
20 out of 20(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 33 Answers
Customer reviews for Northwave Fahrenheit GTX Shoe
Review 1 for Northwave Fahrenheit GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yido
from Wiltshire
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Winter boots

PostedFebruary 26, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
A very warm and water proof boot , the locking system is great too . Did 40 miles in -1 degrees and still had warm feet . Plenty of room for thick wooly socks as well . They are great!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northwave Fahrenheit GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Toz1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great winter shoe

PostedApril 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
I have struggled with cold feet on winter days for a long time and so bought these shoes as they were reccommended. They are great, they really keep my feet warm and dry when it's raining. I wear 2 pairs of socks with them but that's mostly because the shoes are quite large. I also have very wide feet and these are a perfect fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northwave Fahrenheit GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BrendanAR4
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Awesome

PostedApril 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
OMG I have spent hundreds of dollars on socks, toe covers and booty covers all in search of warm toes. All I had to do was buy these boots, they are absolutly toasty warm. I am a size 47 in Shimano and SIDI shoes and I brought the same size in these.....They are a perfect fit.
I highly recommend these shoes if you suffer from cold toes.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northwave Fahrenheit GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HappyFeet
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

No more numb feet

PostedApril 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I have suffered getting numb feet, from the cold, for some time and wonder why I had not brought these before now. I would be warm everywhere else and overshoes would be fine for the first hour but when on 4 or 5 hour rides made it unbearable. These are just what my feet ordered ages ago. After 3 hours to my coffee stop my feet were lovely and warm. Also on my return home after 5+ hours in zero degrees they were still fine. No need for thick or extra socks.
I've used them in the rain and again they have been fine. I must admit I have not used them when it's been hammering down but I can count on one hand the number of times I've been out when it has. The lace up system and velcro straps are easy to use giving a comfy fit.
I ordered a size 45, the same size as my other cycling shoes, Specialized S-Works, and had no problem with size.
Considering I've paid more money for my summer shoes it's a no brainer to get these for cold winter days…
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northwave Fahrenheit GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
IronGoolies
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Highly recommended

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
After years of faithfully pulling on the overshoes, decided to take a punt on these. Glad I did. Well designed with a practical lacing system and extremely comfortable. Haven't done massive amount of miles in these yet but thanks to the recent weather, happy to vouch for the Gore-Tex waterproofing and no frostbitten toes after 50 miles at -5°C couple of weeks back.
I am a standard UK 11 normally. Went for a UK 12 ( 46 ) in these which leaves enough room for two pairs of socks, but based on performance so far seems that would very rarely be necessary.
Well worth the money, happy to recommend...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northwave Fahrenheit GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
g00nsquad
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Better than shoe-covers.

PostedNovember 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, warm
Cons: Heavy
These winter road shoes tick all the boxes. They are warm, waterproof (never been tested in a downpour yet, though) and appear to be well made.
I find the lace lock system very comfortable and the double velcro flaps do a good job of keeping out drafts.
They are also a lot less faff than show covers. I'm now only going to use shoe covers for wet summer days (every summer day, really).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northwave Fahrenheit GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JustJonesey
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent autumn/winter shoes

PostedNovember 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: waterproof, breathable, warm
Cons: Expensive
I've always chosen goretex walking boots /shoes.Decided to folow suit in cycle shoes having read reviews of several products I decided on the Northwave and I'm not disappointed.Expensive but pricematched by Evans, and isn't it worth paying that bit extra for quality?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northwave Fahrenheit GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pedro124
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

good alround winter boot

PostedOctober 29, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought these shoes a year ago and used them throughout winter. The boots generally keep your feet warm and dry. Ther are a few minor problems with them. Firstly the cuff at the top of the shoe does not provide sufficient protection if it rains. If you are wearing tights the water wicks down into the boot and soaks your feet. There is no hole on the sole to allow water to pour off and the boot simply fills with water. There is also another problem with the cuff when wearing tights, Care should be taken to ensure that the velcro fastening does not come into contact with the tights as I discovered when the boots wrecked the bottom of the expensive bib.tights I was wearing, In general these winter boot are a good buy and are suitable in very dry cold weather conditions. They keep your feet warm and are a far better option that the variety of fabric overshoes which are far less robust. The boots are also good for autumn and spring weather and look good when wearing shorts or tights.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Northwave Fahrenheit GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Swedo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Toasty

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, good value with price match
Cons: Expensive
Great shoe for people who either commute all year round or plan on training through the winter. I have been out on a couple of 50's over the last couple of weekends and whereas I was toasty and dry my riding buddy was complaining of cold feet after an hour. He was wearing normal road shoes with overshoes. Even on long descents the North waves keep out the chilly air and so far has stood up to the test. Not sure they are worth the full price so I would definitely take advantage of Evans price match. What you waiting for?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Northwave Fahrenheit GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Breezy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

PostedOctober 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Bought these boots after soggy feet all last winter and I can't say I'm dissappointed. Boots are very roomy and buying your normal size would still leave room for heavier socks in the winter. Tested the boots out in virtually monsoon conditions over a 100 mile run, unfortunately feet still got wet but it was from rain running down my leg into the boot, wearing tights over the cuff of the boot would have helped towards preventing this although not much would have kept the rain out that day. Have used them again in a normal wet conditions and my feet have remained warm and dry. The boots are comfortable on and the quick lace system easy to use. Would recommend these boots to anyone fed up with wet feet in through the winter months
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Northwave Fahrenheit GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nick1973
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Warm toes

PostedApril 4, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, dry dry dry!
Why oh why did I not invest in these 2 years ago when I started riding in the winter months! I've spent the last two winters riding through the winter with my summer shoes with some expensive neoprene overshoes, which left me with wet and cold toes on too many occasions.
I'd had enough of this so invested in these, at a great price I have to add, and what a difference! Been out in sub zero and in the most horrendous rain and the only water I got anywhere near my feet was round the top of the boot where my so called waterproof bib tights started to fail, feet and toes were on all occasions dry and warm. Many rides I don't even bother to wear thick socks, I just wear normal socks with these and it does not seem to matter how cold it gets, its now not my feet that are the problem. I now need to find some decent gloves since the sealskin ones I bought are awful!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Northwave Fahrenheit GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wheeledwidewebb
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Toastie until the depths of winter.

PostedMarch 30, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I bought these when they were on offer for £90 and I think the are a great boot for around the £100 mark but at full retail I wouldn't consider them, they would be up against the superb Lake 302 boot.
They offer good warmth but don't really work right into the coldest days of even a SE England winter. But on the whole they are warm, mostly waterproof and they are not as heavy as the Lake.
I would prefer to see a BOA lacing system on them but the fancy lacing system they have works very well and is fuss free.
So if you want a boot that will perform well almost all of the time and you find these around the £100 mark then go for it, they're a great buy.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Northwave Fahrenheit GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MIKSKYNOVITCH
Country:Canada
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great cold and rainy day shoes

PostedMarch 25, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Just received my order and did the tryout ,passed the canadian cold spring day -7 C with "panache" breathable and warm. A great weapon for the "slushy" water puddle
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Northwave Fahrenheit GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nuggetuno
from england
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great product

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
kept my feet lovely and dry also very easy to get on and off
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Northwave Fahrenheit GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TandemTim
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great buy

PostedAugust 19, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The shoes are great, the only issue was with matching the cleat type to my pedals.  In the end I purchased cleat adapters which worked fine.  I have tried various waterproof overshoes in the past which haven't been very successful - these waterproof shoes are much, much better.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Northwave Fahrenheit GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
StephKassa
from Sydney
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Winter shoes

PostedMay 28, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, rain proof, warm
Cons: Uncomfortable
great winter shoe have used it in mild rain and has kept the rain out, reinforecd carbon sole is great, needed a few rides to get used to the tightness of the ankle cover.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Northwave Fahrenheit GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
sada
from Japan
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

It is good.

PostedApril 16, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
I take a ride on a bicycle in the early morning in winter.
After having bought this shoes [wowo], getting cold the tiptoe became better.
I am satisfying the purchase of this shoes very much.
The person that the tiptoe gets cold as much as me is strongly recommended to buy this shoes.
I think that centimeter mark of Northwave is a little small.
Please note it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Northwave Fahrenheit GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everyman
from Vancouver, Canada
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Solid winter shoe

PostedApril 7, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, proper closure, highly water resistant
This is a solid winter shoe that fits well, keeps the water out and, unlike some other winter road shoes, has a proper lacing system and a properly sealing closure to keep out the water.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Northwave Fahrenheit GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Musicman2410
from Chippenham
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Brilliant winter shoe

PostedMarch 6, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Having really suffered with cold feet this winter I decided to invest in some more appropriate footwear (was wearing cycling shoes with a merino sock+Sealskinz sock+overshoes and I found the extra sock cut off circulation leading to really cold toes!)
I went a size up so I could comfortrably wear two pairs of socks, but found that the speed-lace "cinch" system enables you to get a good tight fit whether wearing one or two pairs of socks - a clever design.
They really work, with a windprrof Goretex layer and the boot has it's own insulation layer built in. Very comfy too, and build quality seems right up there. Haven't tried out their waterproof qualities yet but for keeping my feet warm on cold, dry winter days these really do their job. Very happy with purchase....
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Northwave Fahrenheit GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Desgobernao

The perfect winter shoes

PostedFebruary 22, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
After using the Celsius mtb boots last winter decided to buy the Fahrenheit. Both are comfortable, warm and not too heavy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.