Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Northwave Celsius Artic GXT Shoes

Northwave Celsius Artic GXT Shoes

The natural rubber rear part had been designed to ensure maximum grip also during descents
Overall rating:
4.235 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
16 out of 17(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer reviews for Northwave Celsius Artic GXT Shoes
Review 1 for Northwave Celsius Artic GXT Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Large
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
gaz4885
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great winter boot but 'one size bigger' incorrect

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: sizing recommendation
A great winter boot for UK conditions. Waterproof until it comes over the top but this will happen with any boot. Only major problem I found is that the 'one size up' recommendation suggested by Evans didn't work for me. I take a 44 in Shimano shoes so after reading reviews on these boots ordered a 45. Turns out that these are too big and my foot moves around even with thick Sealskins on. An expensive mistake to make.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northwave Celsius Artic GXT Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
34505838
Country:USA
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

fits well

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
i wear a size 45 in sidi (slightly big) and i got these in 45 and they are the correct size i can fit my feet in with thick socks will probably need to get arch support insoles
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northwave Celsius Artic GXT Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Storekeeper
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
After years of cold feet in winter and spring and reading the reviews on this shoe I decided to invest in a good winter shoe. They came just in time for a holiday in Wales. The temperature was below 10 degrees all week but only using one pair of trainer socks in these shoes my feet were warm all day long, I was able to ride all day for most of the week .It didn't rain so not used in wet yet ( no rain in Wales - unusual ). I would recommend them without hesitation , I would also suggest you buy one size bigger than normal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northwave Celsius Artic GXT Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DrSweetlips
Country:Denmark
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Don't know

Keeps your feet warm in all weather conditions.

PostedFebruary 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
During the Danish winter we experience snow and temperatures -15-0 degrees celsius and NorthWave Arctic have kept my feet nice and warm. Even in wet conditions I still Don't freeze my feet.
These boots have changed my winter-season from being very short and unpleasant to just as nice as the summer!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northwave Celsius Artic GXT Shoes
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
mike100
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

Not waterproof for me

PostedDecember 29, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought these because I read they were waterproof. First outing in very heavy rain for a few hrs got back home and both feet very wet.
Also bought the Artic version because of warmth, did not find them very warm.
Will stick to Sealskinz and overshoes from now on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northwave Celsius Artic GXT Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RoadNinja
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Warm and comfy

PostedDecember 15, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
I use these boots on my road bike, as I prefer the SPD style of cleat. They are much warmer than normal shoes with overshoes. I've used them sub zero C and they were fine for a 3 hour ride. The key is not to over tighten them when it is really cold. They got slightly too warm on a 2 hour ride at 10C, nothing to worry about, but normal shoes with overshoes would have been more comfortable.
The sole is very rigid, which helps with pedalling, but makes walking harder than my other cycling shoes (but still way easier than with proper road shoes). The elastic lacing is easy to adjust and hidden behind the velcro top once adjusted. Not used in the wet, so can't comment on the Goretex, but the top will always be a weak point for water getting in.
I bought a 46, when my normal shoe size is 45 - that was fine.. The width is just okay for my wide foot, but certainly not as wide as my wide fit Shimano shoe, which are really comfortable..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northwave Celsius Artic GXT Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CrankinSteve
Country:USA
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

An Excellent Winter Shoe

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, warm
High quality material, perfect fit, very warm, and comfortable. Everything you could ever want in a shoe when the winter turns cold.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northwave Celsius Artic GXT Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mettler
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

toasty booty

PostedOctober 4, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Stop thinking about it and buy 'em! I'm a right complainer when it comes to cold so after a bit of research I decided these were the ones for me. Not disappointed so far. They fit well over a good pair of warm bike socks. They feel warm. Went out in the rain and still had dry feet.
They're not the lightest or the cheapest but feel better than any winter boot I've had before.
I've got reasonably wide feet that aren't that long so a half size bigger than normal were the right fit for me but if you want to wear 2 pairs of socks maybe go a full size over normal.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Northwave Celsius Artic GXT Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kavouras
from Austria
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

sits well, warm, good quality

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I drive it at -10° C with only one pair of socks, it keeps me warm and dry.
The price is high but it will keep at least 7-8 winters :-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Northwave Celsius Artic GXT Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
teeB
from Helsinki, Finland
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good Boot!

PostedFebruary 13, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Been using the Celsius Arctic GTX shoe for a month now in temperatures ranging from -5 to -20 (midwinter Helsinki, Finland). They perform great for my realtively short commute.
Admittedly we had a week with temperatures from -15 to -20 and as one would expect it got a bit nippy in the toes. If you intend to wear them in under -10 for longer than on hour a time just get them big enough (+1 or even +2 sizes) to comfortably fit an extra pair of wolly socks.
Sizewise they seem a bit on the small side (normally wear 42, have these in a good fit at 43). As my world is still frozen solid I really cant say much about the waterproofness but they breathe ok and keep my feet dry. After just a months use they seem durable - but that remains to be seen.
Respect on the stiffness, these made me realize I have to upgrade my basic shimano-shoes come summer.
As to the name, I'd say these shoes are in no way "Arctic" but nevertheless a good and versatile buy - the seem to be a good compromise on lightness, stiffness and warmth. Anyways these added loads of warmth and comfort to my commute - no complaints!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Northwave Celsius Artic GXT Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
britinoz
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great boots

PostedFebruary 16, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Here in oz it never gets too cold, but i just tried these in summer and they are great - even in 25 degrees my feet feel fine, breathability is good. I was cught in a torrential storm (40mm in 40minutes) and eventually my feet did get wet, but thats not surprising when i had litres of water running down my leg. as with any boot if your socks get wet it will wick in, however, even when soaking my foot was still warm. For me fitting was goood, i was worried as i take a 6/39 so ordered 40 but that was perfect for me. I think a 39 may have been ok, but at least a 0 lets me wear thicker socks in winter. Laces are a pain (have to cut them down and then where do you put them when tight?), however thats the only negative. Overall in anything but the heaviest rain they work well and wear your leggings on top will help keep most water out of them
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Northwave Celsius Artic GXT Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gerrarrd
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fantastic shoes

PostedJanuary 19, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, easy put on
In cold -12°C great, still feel feet warm. In rainy weather feet in dry. Shoes are fit for my wide feet. For me fantastic choice I dont need overshoes anymore.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Northwave Celsius Artic GXT Shoes
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fredders
from Bedfordshire
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Made for wide tyres-n-narrow feet

PostedDecember 30, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, good stiff soles
Cons: Uncomfortable, hard plasticy soles.
WELL MADE BOOT, but I ride narrow tyres and have wide feet "G"
and wanted a warm cleated boot to wear when cycle training which involves a lot of standing around. The sole also did not look fit for this purpose, so item returned.
Good boot for the intened purpose
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Northwave Celsius Artic GXT Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Silvio
from Alkmaar
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A great buy.

PostedDecember 27, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
This shoe is really comfortable and warm. I tested it in snowy conditions by -7C! In january I shall participate in a beachclassic-race (Egmond-Pier-Egmond in Holland)) and then I hope to expirience that they are waterproof as well! I think it's a great wintershoe and although they are expensive it looks as they are worth every penny!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Northwave Celsius Artic GXT Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
shedrat
from Western Maryland, USA
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Shoes

PostedDecember 22, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, warm and dry
I live in northwestern Maryland USA where temperatures routinely drop into the single digits fahrenheit and there is usually snow on the ground. Have worn the shoes for about a month now and they are great. My feet stay warm and dry, the sole grips well on the rocks. The sole pattern seems to shed mud and ice so my cleats do not jam up as often either. Highly recommend the shoes.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Northwave Celsius Artic GXT Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wildwing
from Freiburg, Germany
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Northwave Celsius Artic GTX Shoe

PostedDecember 8, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Having used this boot in temperatures of around 0°C on wet roads I find it is considerably warmer than summer shoes used with neoprene overshoes. This is certainly due to the fact that the sole is insulated and there are no openings there. However, I can't see how the things to which the cleats are fixed could be replaced if necessary. The boot is comfortable and easy to put on.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Northwave Celsius Artic GXT Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Phelo
from Hull, East Yorkshire, UK
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Northwave Celsius Artic GTX Shoe

PostedNovember 5, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I've cycled for a few years now predominantly MTB Off-Road and every winter I brave the conditions with summer shoes & Gore-Tex overshoes which has helped but not totally kept my feet 100% dry & warm.
I've recently purchased the Nothwave winter boot and cycling in any adverse weather condition is a vast improvement, I'm now able to concentrate on cycling rather than how I'm unable to feel my feet through the cold & wet. These boots are a must if you're planning on cycling through the rain & snow; I'm looking forward to my rides out over the winter season now.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.