Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Northwave Celsius GTX Shoe

Northwave Celsius GTX Shoe

The natural rubber rear part had been designed to ensure maximum grip also during descents
Overall rating:
4.441 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(34 reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 34 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
17
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
34 out of 34(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer reviews for Northwave Celsius GTX Shoe
Review 1 for Northwave Celsius GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Brandfreak
from Nottingham
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Warm and dry

Posted24 January 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Having first looked at this product for my wife (she has reynards which is a circulatory problem. Cold = pain) I tried a pair for myself.
My wife has yet to complain about cold feet, deserves 5 stars really.
My experiences with this boot so far is pretty good. Riding in Wales my feet did get wet (but not cold) so probably came in through the top. A recent (wet) ride in the peaks feet were warm and dry.
I'd say these do what they say on the tin. Keep your feet warm and dry. Besides which hard soles give good power transfer and I find them very comfortable.
Try some :-)
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northwave Celsius GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
biggles10
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Warm & Dry

Posted09 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Warm & dry feet, what more could you want? looked at these for ages due to the high price, finally took the plunge. Shoes are great and worth every penny, went half a size up for a good fit. Even asked for a discount in store, and got some money off!! Great service from Brighton store.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northwave Celsius GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Large
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Chiranger
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Great commuting shoe

Posted09 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: potentially delicate lace-up system?
I use SPDs on my commuting bike for practicality, so got these for the daily winter commute (as opposed to what I guess is their true purpose is - as an off-road shoe). Overall I'm impressed, immediately feeling warmer in the foot compared to my previous SPD shoes. I've not been through any torrential rain so can't comment on their waterproofing abilities, but I'm assuming they'll be OK (having done some research prior to purchasing them).
A couple of minor issues:
> They're actually quite large. I usually aim for Euro 45 for consistency, but these feel a little larger than any other 45s. Ensuring they're nicely tight in the lace means there have been no issues, but tyr-before-you-buy!
> I've read of issues with the pull-cord for the laces, so I'm treating them with caution. No issues yet, but not being my usual ham-fisted self with them!
> Whilst warmer than my previous shoes, they're not that warm! I still used 2 sock layers on particularly cold mornings, so if it is warmth that your looking for in a shoe, possibly look at their next shoe up or another make.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northwave Celsius GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous

Posted05 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
Pros; waterproof, warm, only used these boots a few times, had to make some neoprene gaitors to stop the water going down the boot when wearing shorts, but rest of the boot totally waterproof.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northwave Celsius GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Stan65
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Ideal winter boot

Posted04 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: sole may be too stiff for walking
Bought these as had overshoes that split after one ride, and wish I had bought these from the off. Very warm and comfortable. I use them for commuting and longer rides and work perfectly. Have yet to ride in heavy rain but so far have stayed dry in wet conditions. One downside not the easiest to walk in as the sole is very stiff but then walking is not what I bought them for.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northwave Celsius GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
CHW66
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Superb winter shoe

Posted30 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
These will definitely cope with anything the British winter can throw at you.
I'm usually a 43 but the 44 was a better fit and also left space for Woolie Boolie socks.
Comfortable and reasonably light (1075g a pair including cleats) and easy to walk in off the bike.
Worth every penny
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northwave Celsius GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
rideone

Posted26 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Had the boots for two weeks still have dry warm feet, great item. Should have gone up one size for a thicker sock.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northwave Celsius GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
sealpup
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Grea Boot

Posted12 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
The boot was exactly what I was after, waterproof and warm. I haven't tried in yet in very cold weather but it kept me a dry and toasty riding in the lakes over a wet weekend in November
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Northwave Celsius GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
Slightly Wide
Wide
CallMeDave
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Warm and Dry

Posted06 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Ordered these at the beginning of the driest September on record, so couldn't really comment on the weatherproofing, until this morning. Pouring rain and 5C feet nicely warm and dry during 20km commute. also I've worn them in the dry at 16C whilst setting them up and checking the fit, feet were warm but not too hot during hour long ride.
Sizing feels similar to Adidas trainers, at least in a 44.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Northwave Celsius GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
axgax
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:St Paul's

Good boot, cheap laces, size comes up a bit small.

Posted03 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
These are good boots. Comfortable and keep your feet warm and dry in the winter. People said the sizes were accurate, but for me one foot came up just a fraction small. I'd recommend going one size up - especially if you want to wear thick socks. The tag on the quick laces just pulled straight of one of these shoes - annoying but not the end of the world. Overall: not cheap, but good.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Northwave Celsius GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
pdf1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Seems to do the job

Posted30 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
I bought these for winter commute of 40 mile round trip, today was the coldest it has been since buying these, they are certainly warmer than my previous boots, you will still start to feel the cold though after about an hour or so in zero degrees, I bought them fairly big so will use a second pair of socks next time it's as cold.
They clip on and off the pedals fine, the soles are very hard so not for walking very far in. they are comfy on the bike though and that's the main thing.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Northwave Celsius GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dazwiz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

These boots change your life

Posted28 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
The misery of wet cold feet is instantly removed with these great boots. They keep me warm and dry in the worst conditions and are tough. Weight is not an issue for me. Soles without clips take a bit of getting used to but no problem after a while. All round winner!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Northwave Celsius GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warfield
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Warm and comfortable.

Posted31 December 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Very comfortable shoes and very warm in cold weather. I haven't tried them down to 0, but still very warm down to about 3. Fit is very comfortable and supportive with a drawstring that fits around the foot perfectly. Only downside is that the drawstring is a bit long and could get in the way. Wet and wind do not get through. Although heavier than a summer shoe, you hardly notice it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Northwave Celsius GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Steve511
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Posted30 December 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Great fit even for my wide feet. Was fantastic to have dry and warm feet after a wet and muddy ride. Not cheap but worth the investment.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Northwave Celsius GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DocS
Country:Switzerland
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Warm and comfortable

Posted06 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
I boght this to use for comuting in the winter months. It had to be warm and water proof.
So far I haven´t tested it in extreme cold, but the first impression is certainly good. What is less good is its ability to keep water out. It suffers from the same problem as all others, water runs down the leg and into the boot. I might have expected too much, anyway the boot itself appears compleetly water proof and feets are keept warm and comfortable even when a bit a water gets into the boot.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Northwave Celsius GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
eeun
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Great product that really works

Posted03 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, waterproof, thermal
Got these boots to replace some Specialized BG Defrosters. Loved the older model Defrosters but the new ones leaked, started to smell and never kept my feel warm. The NW Celsius are great. They stay dry and keep my feet toasty. They are also very easy to clean. Only downside is the lack of removable insole.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Northwave Celsius GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jmraisanen
Country:Finland
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great shoe for winter cycling

Posted21 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, good protection from elements
I have used these shoes in snowy winter commuting and trail riding and so far I am very satisfied. Keeps my feet warm and dry! Sizing was little bit spacier than Shimano's.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Northwave Celsius GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Barti
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fulham

Good quality with this product

Posted17 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Those shoes are comfortable, warm, but only 90% waterproof that's the small issue only. You need wearing a long trousers to cover your ankle to prevent leaking from the top. By the way I highly recommend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Northwave Celsius GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TJT61
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Work well even at -4.

Posted12 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I commute into London 14 miles every day, this morning when I set off from Epsom Downs it was -4.
44 minutes later (slow I know but it was icy!) my feet were pretty much warm - my old shoes with over shoes would not have coped any thing like as well.
These have proved superb for my winter commute - fit my wide feet well even with two pairs of socks.
I am not sure that any shoe can deal with prolonged rain as the water creeps in from the top?
I went for the mountain bike version as I have a bit of a walk from where I leave the bike to my office (on marble type floor) - which works well for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Northwave Celsius GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
AndYc1999
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice shoes good value Gore-Tex

Posted11 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought these shoes online in June because they always seem to be out of stock come the autumn. Gave them a quick try out round the block and they seem really comfortable. Good value I thought as well for Gore-Tex. Anyway, will have to see how warm they are later in the year.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>