Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Northwave Celsius GTX Shoe

Northwave Celsius GTX Shoe

The natural rubber rear part had been designed to ensure maximum grip also during descents
Overall rating:
4.385 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 26 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
26 out of 26(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 29 Answers
Customer reviews for Northwave Celsius GTX Shoe
Review 1 for Northwave Celsius GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Brandfreak
from Nottingham
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Warm and dry

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Having first looked at this product for my wife (she has reynards which is a circulatory problem. Cold = pain) I tried a pair for myself.
My wife has yet to complain about cold feet, deserves 5 stars really.
My experiences with this boot so far is pretty good. Riding in Wales my feet did get wet (but not cold) so probably came in through the top. A recent (wet) ride in the peaks feet were warm and dry.
I'd say these do what they say on the tin. Keep your feet warm and dry. Besides which hard soles give good power transfer and I find them very comfortable.
Try some :-)
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northwave Celsius GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
axgax
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:St Paul's

Good boot, cheap laces, size comes up a bit small.

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
These are good boots. Comfortable and keep your feet warm and dry in the winter. People said the sizes were accurate, but for me one foot came up just a fraction small. I'd recommend going one size up - especially if you want to wear thick socks. The tag on the quick laces just pulled straight of one of these shoes - annoying but not the end of the world. Overall: not cheap, but good.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northwave Celsius GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
pdf1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Seems to do the job

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
I bought these for winter commute of 40 mile round trip, today was the coldest it has been since buying these, they are certainly warmer than my previous boots, you will still start to feel the cold though after about an hour or so in zero degrees, I bought them fairly big so will use a second pair of socks next time it's as cold.
They clip on and off the pedals fine, the soles are very hard so not for walking very far in. they are comfy on the bike though and that's the main thing.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northwave Celsius GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dazwiz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

These boots change your life

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
The misery of wet cold feet is instantly removed with these great boots. They keep me warm and dry in the worst conditions and are tough. Weight is not an issue for me. Soles without clips take a bit of getting used to but no problem after a while. All round winner!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northwave Celsius GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warfield
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Warm and comfortable.

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Very comfortable shoes and very warm in cold weather. I haven't tried them down to 0, but still very warm down to about 3. Fit is very comfortable and supportive with a drawstring that fits around the foot perfectly. Only downside is that the drawstring is a bit long and could get in the way. Wet and wind do not get through. Although heavier than a summer shoe, you hardly notice it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northwave Celsius GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Steve511
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Great fit even for my wide feet. Was fantastic to have dry and warm feet after a wet and muddy ride. Not cheap but worth the investment.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northwave Celsius GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DocS
Country:Switzerland
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Warm and comfortable

PostedOctober 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
I boght this to use for comuting in the winter months. It had to be warm and water proof.
So far I haven´t tested it in extreme cold, but the first impression is certainly good. What is less good is its ability to keep water out. It suffers from the same problem as all others, water runs down the leg and into the boot. I might have expected too much, anyway the boot itself appears compleetly water proof and feets are keept warm and comfortable even when a bit a water gets into the boot.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northwave Celsius GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
eeun
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Great product that really works

PostedApril 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, waterproof, thermal
Got these boots to replace some Specialized BG Defrosters. Loved the older model Defrosters but the new ones leaked, started to smell and never kept my feel warm. The NW Celsius are great. They stay dry and keep my feet toasty. They are also very easy to clean. Only downside is the lack of removable insole.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Northwave Celsius GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jmraisanen
Country:Finland
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great shoe for winter cycling

PostedDecember 21, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, good protection from elements
I have used these shoes in snowy winter commuting and trail riding and so far I am very satisfied. Keeps my feet warm and dry! Sizing was little bit spacier than Shimano's.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Northwave Celsius GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Barti
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fulham

Good quality with this product

PostedDecember 17, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Those shoes are comfortable, warm, but only 90% waterproof that's the small issue only. You need wearing a long trousers to cover your ankle to prevent leaking from the top. By the way I highly recommend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Northwave Celsius GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TJT61
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Work well even at -4.

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I commute into London 14 miles every day, this morning when I set off from Epsom Downs it was -4.
44 minutes later (slow I know but it was icy!) my feet were pretty much warm - my old shoes with over shoes would not have coped any thing like as well.
These have proved superb for my winter commute - fit my wide feet well even with two pairs of socks.
I am not sure that any shoe can deal with prolonged rain as the water creeps in from the top?
I went for the mountain bike version as I have a bit of a walk from where I leave the bike to my office (on marble type floor) - which works well for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Northwave Celsius GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
AndYc1999
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice shoes good value Gore-Tex

PostedJune 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought these shoes online in June because they always seem to be out of stock come the autumn. Gave them a quick try out round the block and they seem really comfortable. Good value I thought as well for Gore-Tex. Anyway, will have to see how warm they are later in the year.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Northwave Celsius GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
schrami
Country:Switzerland
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedMay 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
This product keeps the promise of being one of the best winter shoe on the market. it is light and comfortable.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Northwave Celsius GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Robidd
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good weatherproof shoes,

PostedApril 21, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I have only worn these a couple of times, but my feet stayed dry and they are very warm. Also much easier to put on than shoes and overshoes.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Northwave Celsius GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
urbanachiever
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fill your boots! Don't ignore the sizing advice.

PostedApril 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, waterproof, breathable
These boots are waterproof and breathable, well worth buying if, like me, you ride in all weathers and all seasons. I wish I'd done this years ago instead of working my way through sets of shoe covers. My only gripe is that they are not sized the same as the equivalent summer shoes. I have a 44 in the summer version which fits perfectly but had to go for a 45 in these after a return and they are still a little narrow. So - a fine product but go a size up even if you have other Northwave shoes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Northwave Celsius GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
graeme52
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kendal

good winter shoe

PostedApril 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
A good winter, wet weather training shoe, well constructed with a good firm sole. Backed up with winter socks for reasonably warm feet in cold conditions. The closure system while easy and quick to use can cause pressure points on the ankle.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Northwave Celsius GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yemtrav
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

Light, stiff sole, easy to clean

PostedMarch 7, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
The shoe replaced my 5-year old Northwave gortex boots(sole came off after repeated wet riding). The new model is lighter, stiffer and easier to clean and dry off. The riding experience is different (more power transfer), the older boot was easier to walk in (more flexible sole). For winter riding it stays drier - so warmer, but thick socks are still needed in low temps. Recommended.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Northwave Celsius GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
alrider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The final answer?

PostedFebruary 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Having suffered with cold feet when winter riding for decades I took the plunge with these shoes as overshoes are just not the answer for me. On my first outing at a temperature of 1C, excluding the windchill, with sealskinz socks it was difficult to notice any improvement on a 2 hour ride. My next outing was at 6C or so and they were great for a good 3 hours. As a real sufferer with very cold temperatures I need to experiment with more layers of liner socks underneath my sealskinz but I am pleased overall with my purchase.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Northwave Celsius GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
davydipshit
from UK
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Winter Shoe!

PostedDecember 5, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great, waterproof
Waterproof and when combined with sealskinz socks, the ultimate winter weather shoe.
Sizing is a bit odd-ensure that you order a size larger than normal.
Shoes are very comfortable and look great also.
Highly recommended.
As usual-delivery very quick.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Northwave Celsius GTX Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fattybeavis
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

no more white toes

PostedMarch 29, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I wore these boots for 4 days during a recent trip to the lakes in Winter. feet have never been so warm and dry.
Feet got a bit wet the 4th day but weather was terrible so can't complain as I wasn't able to dry the boots overnight. Sole a bit stiff for walking over rough ground, but that's the only downside. others may like the stiffness. Overall very good value purchase. After the trip both my friends went out and bought some. Enough said!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>