Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tights & Trousers or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Altura Attack Waterproof Trousers

Altura Attack Waterproof Trousers

Overall rating:
4.25 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
18 out of 20(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 33 Answers
Customer reviews for Altura Attack Waterproof Trousers
Review 1 for Altura Attack Waterproof Trousers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MikeyBrownBear
from Surrey
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Warm and dry this winter

PostedDecember 19, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: no additional reflective markings
Usually my timing, both with purchases and comedy is terrible, but on this rare occasion it was almost perfect. I brought these trousers on Sunday and then needed them on Monday for my commute home from work. It was not raining heavily, but enough to warrant a pair of waterproofs.
These fit very nicely and do not ride up round the ankle so do not let water run off the bottom and into the tops of my overshoes as my previous, non cycling specific ones did. The fact that you can Velcro the bottoms to fit more snugly round the ankle is an added bonus.
They also proved very effective at keeping the chill from the wind off my legs and were not too bulky or overly warm when worn over my tights. The waistband is not elasticated which adds to the comfort level, especially if you wear bibs to not have this feeling of constriction round your middle.
I am just under 6ft and a 34/36" waist and the large size fits me like it was made for me.
These are not the cheapest waterproofs, but still very good value considering how effective they are.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Altura Attack Waterproof Trousers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
kongo

PostedSeptember 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Nice pants, a little loose by the hip, should have come with a helt.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Altura Attack Waterproof Trousers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
vince1

decent mid/top range trouser

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Having already purchased a gore set of trousers for total waterproofing i decided to get something a bit tougher for grinding mud in the winter , I thought these were a very good fit not being too tight to cause drag on your knees whilst riding , I have ridden them 4 times seen no sign of wear in the crotch /rear area due to mud and grit abrasion , the saddle area is reinforced enough without being over stiff.
Two areas that could do with an improvement are the rubbish press stud fastener on the waist and also the leg length , generally ok , however there is a function to extend the leg length by unfastening an internal turn up which seems to be a pretty good idea ,
So far they are waterproof and breathe quite well , anyone who doesnt care for waterproofs correctly will be dissapointed with even the highest end garments
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Altura Attack Waterproof Trousers
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
TrekTrev
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Bit expensive and not so waterproof

PostedJanuary 6, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, pockets
Cons: Expensive, Unattractive, Uncomfortable, bulky, don't really work
Maybe my expectations were too high but I don't rate these for the price. They're quite uncomfortable in my opinion, really bulky and you can really overheat in them, even when you're wearing shorts under them. I opted to wear shorts underneath on most wet rides and in heavy rainfall, normally got to work with a wet bottom! This is the worst part because the padding on my bib-tights takes forever to dry so it kind of defeats the object of them. Another con is that they don't stay up without the braces so you're spending even more money after buying them...! Their are some pros, the bottom of each leg has a couple of inches of material that either folds down or can be secured up with poppers, that's a nice touch because you can fold it down over your overshoes and saves your feet also getting wet. They have pockets which is nice for things like your security card for instance for when you arrive at the office, I've kept my phone in the pocket and it's stayed dry in the past. I would say that there must be alternatives that are either cheaper and do the same job or more expensive and probably do a much better job so worth shopping around. Size wise, I'm a 34" waist, 32" inside leg and the Medium was a perfect fit but they have velcro round the side so you can tighten or loosen a couple of inches. Due to all the cons listed above, I don't really bother using these anymore, it's an expensive bit of kit just to sit at the back of the wardrobe. Happy cycling!
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Altura Attack Waterproof Trousers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
chronostar
Country:Germany
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
Good trousers to keep you warm and dry, however less fitted compared to previous model which is an aesthetical drawback. Materials are top of the range and put together well.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Altura Attack Waterproof Trousers
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
GennerExcel
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Waterproof yes, but nothing special.

PostedNovember 4, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: waterproof, warm
Cons: Expensive, Unattractive
Positive
The adjustable waist and leg length means that the mediums are just right for me W32 L34. They are waterproof and I think in the coldest times of winter these will be worn daily. They are a generous fit, a bit too generous maybe, but they could work as overtrousers over baggy shorts as well.
Negative
Reading the technical info and some of the feedback I expected a pair of trousers that felt less like waterproof trousers and more like normal trousers. I also expected trousers that would be highly breathable but they are not, they get hot and sweaty. I think the price is too high for what you get.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Altura Attack Waterproof Trousers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jack29
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Very good product

PostedOctober 1, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
It is a great product, definitely water proof. I used it very efficiently under light shower and heavy rain. It is quite expensive still.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Altura Attack Waterproof Trousers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
seve1878
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

excellent

PostedAugust 13, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
excellent for commuting kept dry in heavy rain for over an hour.expensive but get what you pay for,the best waterproofs i've had in twenty years of commuting.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Altura Attack Waterproof Trousers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
burgerking1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

too hot to wear as over pants, and not enough ven

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: hot!
ROAD -too hot to wear as over pants, and not enough ventilation for a rainy, humid English summer day. better than getting covered in road gubbins though, look good.
OFF ROAD- Great off road - kept mud away through quite a wet, boggy woodland. recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Altura Attack Waterproof Trousers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RaleighGrifter
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Do the job!

PostedJuly 16, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, no belt hoops
Well made,great fit, especially by the bottom part of legs ie no risk of catching chain. Its great being able to hit the trails no matter how wet or muddy, thse keep you dry. Teamed up with my specialised "defroster" boots and waterproof jacket&gloves its great.only thin i dont like is not having any belt hoops..just velcro adjusters..which work, but should you drop any serious weight, then to be able to use a belt would be nice.Also, how long will velcro last??im waist size 35 inch approx and leg 33, Large size fits great and that is using velcros to tighten, so plenty of room for me to get fat! as always bike stuff is expensive...so only 4stars as these are expensive. you can wear over shorts but ive been wearing over some padded inners from a pair of shorts to keep cooler. you dont get too hot in thses either
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Altura Attack Waterproof Trousers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
reallygoodstuff
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great fit! Great quality!

PostedApril 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I'd liken these to a quality goretex jacket for your legs. I'm normally a 30-31inch waist and 29-30 inch inside leg. I usually find things big on the waist and tight on the thigh. I ordered the small and it's a perfect fit. I still have to adjust the moveable elastic waist a little but that's what its there for (room to grow). They also have extendable bits at the bottom to cover the ankle/top of shoe whilst cycling which stows away again when walking. It's definitely more an over trouser but the best compromise in terms of waterproofing and wearability. Only down side is the large word "attack" on the side
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Altura Attack Waterproof Trousers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
North00
from Canada
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfortable, great pants.

PostedFebruary 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: none
They fit great, and I've stayed perfectly dry in slush and the rain. I would recommend these pants.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Altura Attack Waterproof Trousers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LincsCommuter
from Lincs, UK
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very waterproof. Hard wearing

PostedFebruary 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought these trousers before christmas, and have finally managed to get some weather that deserves these trouser being worn.
Great. These trousers are robust (having taken a wee tumble) and verywater/wind proof.
Travel 60mins in each direction commuting everyday, and was only damp from sweat and condensation.
Good reflective detail on legs to add to the 'driver awareness'!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Altura Attack Waterproof Trousers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
212Scotty
from England
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Ticks all the boxes

PostedJanuary 25, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
A well made pair of water proof/winter trousers with an adjustable setion on either sides of the waist. Keeps out the elements and cleans up well. Recommended
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Altura Attack Waterproof Trousers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rushdog
from Uk
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great quality for the money

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: bulky, noisy
At first I was disappointed with these trousers as they appear to be over trousers, but you can comfortably wear these as trousers on their own. The material feels very nice; they're light and thin, and soft enough for comfort but block the cold air and rain coming in and so keep you warm. The length of leg is good for me too. I'm 6'3" with 34" inside leg. I'm also impressed by the pockets and the ankle straps.
The negative side is that they are a little bulky and make a bit of noise, but I'd be amazed if waterproof / wind proof trousers weren't like this?
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Altura Attack Waterproof Trousers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TruskY
from Scotland

Excellent trousers , do not wait , just buy

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Excellent trousers. Checked today in Scotland in really havy rain , heavy wind , about 20min commuting. Ok , maybe do not have this trousers long time and DWR is still on the fabric , but today checked in real rainy enviroment :). After this 20 min still dry. They do not soak even through seams. Maybe only to hot in temperature above 10C. Adding this review looks like I am very happy with Altura Attack Waterproof Trousers!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Altura Attack Waterproof Trousers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Joppa
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Really good quality.

PostedSeptember 26, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
To be honest I would have gone for the Gore ones but decided they were too expensive considering I rarely get rained on even though I commute every day.
I opted for these as they were cheaper but still expensive enough (in my opinion) that they would be a decent pair of watrproofs.
As the old cliche goes 'you get what you pay for'!
I was immediately impressed with the quality of these before I'd even unfolded them, they just felt right. They are a great fit and with good quality finishing on seams etc.
I have worn them once in the heaviest rain I have experienced in years and they did the job admirably.
Not sure how they'd hold up on trails or for racing but for commuting they are fine!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Altura Attack Waterproof Trousers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Circuit
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent purchase

PostedJuly 11, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I commute to work evryday and I wear this trousers everyday in winter including wet days. It is the most excellent purchase I made. It keeps me warm and dry. Recommend it to anyone.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Altura Attack Waterproof Trousers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BuckleUp
from Croydon
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simply great

PostedMarch 21, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I use these on my commute to work when the weather turns bad.
They are very comfy for over-trousers, light weight, breathable and very waterproof! I bought the braces to go with them and highly recommend them - stops the trousers dropping round your waist while you ride.
Best waterprrof trousers i've ever bought!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Altura Attack Waterproof Trousers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hampton
from Kent
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Excellent wet gear

PostedOctober 29, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I commute daily bu bike, a round trip of 25 miles. I take these water[proofs with me all the time in the winter just in case the weather turns nasty, which it ha sdone plenty of times, but these will keep you warm and dry. Superb.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.