Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Gilets & Vests or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Altura Etape Gilet

Altura Etape Gilet

Overall rating:
4.385 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(52 reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 52 reviews
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
50 out of 52(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 29 Answers
Customer reviews for Altura Etape Gilet
Review 1 for Altura Etape Gilet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tiguy95
from Ayrshire
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great for spring

Posted24 April 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Bought in store recently, really good fit and comfort. Did the job, kept me warm but not too warm. Packs small enough for a jersey pocket. I'll be packing this for the Etape Caledonia next month.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Altura Etape Gilet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Moogsy
from South Wales
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Gilet

Posted15 April 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is probably the best bit of clothing i have bought in ages, its lightweight keeps the wind out on the cooler days great bit of kit highly recommended
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Altura Etape Gilet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
rob2213
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quality is excellent

Posted30 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Not had a chance to use this yet as I bought it for the spring/summer and it is currently January
But it fits well and is made of quality materials and appears well stitched together
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Altura Etape Gilet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
dimsum
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

My first Gilet and a great one.

Posted09 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Temperatures in western India vary, you could manage without the arm warmers and the winter wear, but on the flip side the months of December to february certainly need some protection. I was looking out for light protection, as well as something to wear above the jersey,
This Gilet was just perfect. Being an Altura ! quality is great,and it looks good too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Altura Etape Gilet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
stuiedo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great price, great item

Posted09 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I got this in the sale cheaper than elsewhere and Im very pleased. Helps keep the chill off and the back is netted to allow body to breath
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Altura Etape Gilet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jackoinmoss
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Great for chilly days.

Posted28 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: no pockets
Rolls up and fits in your back pocket. Keeps the wind off, and with arm warmers is great for this time of year.
Only complaint is that back pockets would make it more versatile.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Altura Etape Gilet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hmfcalum
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Gilet...

Posted21 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: none
Great fit, made from quality materials... Have bought another because it was such a good item...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Altura Etape Gilet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Keeps you at cooking temperature.

Posted18 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, reflective markings
Cons: not found one
This product is a nicely fitting (if you get right size) wind block. Has a membrane front and mesh back to stop and allow air movement in the right places. Allows nice maintenance of temperature as parts of the layered approach. Very lightweight and fits easily into back pocket when not in use as the day warms! Also has reflective additions to alert those pesky car drivers of your presence. Would recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Altura Etape Gilet
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
grump95
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good price ,robust ,

Posted08 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Cons: large packed size
Bought as sale item so a bit of a bargain for rapidly approaching autumn!
Not a very technical item and doesn't really pack up small enough to fit comfortably in back pocket or seat bag as I had hoped (my full sleeve jacket does ....bizarre) I'm hoping it becomes more pliable when washed a few times.
OK to start off the day but probably need to keep on if weather becomes warmer.
Overall for the price good deal
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Altura Etape Gilet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cedderz
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

a great gilet

Posted06 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, good sizing
for the price i paid(£20),this is a great gilet,.waterproof..ish,but very light and best of all,the size,most cycling clothing are made for skinny midgets,i am neither of those and it is nice to find a gilet which actually fits me,i am 6"2/100kg and the XL is perfect
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Altura Etape Gilet
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
ch1na
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Fine for price

Posted22 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Its a Gilet! Does what it says on the tin. Keeps you warm in the early morning & downhill. No frills or hidden features its a bog standard Gilet at a decent price. Easy to find zip which works well on the move. If you need to access your rear pockets with any regularity for food etc look elsewhere otherwise this will be fine.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Altura Etape Gilet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
surreytom
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fits well, packs nice and small

Posted25 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Firstly sizing, I'm 5' 10" with a 42" chest and bought a large. I've only worn it for a couple of short rides on the bike so can't comment too much on the length of the back, but the fit around the torso and neck is about spot on- non flappy bits but not restrictive.
It packs easily small enough to rolled and stuffed into a pocket, and build quality seems reasonable. Would love some pockets in the back but can't really complain at this price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Altura Etape Gilet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bobo1977
Country:USA
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

Great product!

Posted02 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Gilet is well amde and the fit is great! Price was very reasonable! Would recommend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Altura Etape Gilet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jardines
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent windproof gillet

Posted08 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I wear this on most rides. It keeps any chill breezes out and also provides a bit of protection from light rain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Altura Etape Gilet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
schmy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A must have

Posted30 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Perfect for cooler mornings to keep your chest warm and small enough to fold up into your jersey pocket when/if the sun finally makes an appearance. Mesh on the back also keeps you from overheating too much.
I've found it keeps light rain off but heavier showers you'll want something more substantial.
I took this on the London to Brighton ride. At the top of Ditchling I was a tad sweaty (read, dripping) and this helped keep the wind off on the fast descent into Brighton.
I would say this is in my top 5 cycling purchases to date.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Altura Etape Gilet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Goff
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A really light but effective garment

Posted24 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, effective
I should have bought one of these years ago. it just cuts out the chilly wind on your front whilst leaving all the other parts of your top open to breath. Good value and great performance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Altura Etape Gilet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
quiff

Simple but effective

Posted29 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Simple product, but does the job - mesh back is great for ventilation, shell at front keeps just enough wind off to ward off the chill of descents / headwinds. Easily stuffs into a jersey pocket if you get too warm.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Altura Etape Gilet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
silvershredder
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Quality gilet, bargain price

Posted21 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Great top to wear over a baselayer on those 'inbetween days' Keeps the wind out and packs down small when not in use. Only small gripe is that there is no rear pocket- but will do without one at this price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Altura Etape Gilet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Phlard

Perfect for chilly mornings...

Posted09 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
This gilet is perfect for keeping the chill off your chest. It's tight fitting and you hardly notice you're wearing it. Folds small enough to be moved to a jersey pocket once it brightens up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Altura Etape Gilet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
orprunner
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Convenient extra layer

Posted15 April 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: no pockets
An ideal extra layer that folds up small to fit in your jersey pocket. Great wind protection at the front with a mesh back. The only downside is the lack of any pockets which means that you have to stop to work things out from your jersey pockets. Overall good value for the price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>