Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Altura Etape Windproof 2012 Jacket

Altura Etape Windproof 2012 Jacket

Overall rating:
4.267 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
14 out of 15(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for Altura Etape Windproof 2012 Jacket
Review 1 for Altura Etape Windproof 2012 Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AllezElite1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Really good product

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Highly visible in yellow; very warm over a base layer and bought XL to allow a long sleeve jersey underneath as well. Should be good on very cold days. Very pleased with this jacket. The three rear pouches are useful and safely accommodate small items.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Altura Etape Windproof 2012 Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
OGIL
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Good looking and effective

PostedJune 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I good looking and comfortable jacket that has kept the chill off in the recent bitter winds. I chose the yellow to be seen and that is certainly true! Good value for the money.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Altura Etape Windproof 2012 Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wade74
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value

PostedMay 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I bought the yellow version from a safety perspective - it's certainly bright! Great jacket though and very good value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Altura Etape Windproof 2012 Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
adlanie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

simple yet serve the purpose!

PostedApril 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
i'm kindda new in bike wear,saw this great jacket on sale grabbed and went straight to the counter (without knowing nothing about it) put it on next morning (2 degree) with my sleeveless bubbles on top and this becoming my cycle wear ever since to work! most of my friend wondering such a thin jacket to be wear at this weather yet i'm feel comfortable. two thumbs up!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Altura Etape Windproof 2012 Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Matt17
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A good product

PostedDecember 19, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Been using this for a good month now and I really like it (The yellow is really intense) and some of the materials used are really soft. Been using it in icy + windy conditions and it has been keeping me warm in temperatures as low as 5 - 7* degree's C' in the peak district (typical British winter weather) and all I wear underneath is a short sleeve T-Shirt.
I haven't been out in the rain yet, but judging by the material I doubt it will hold well to the wet, but the front of the jacket seems to hold well to splashes being thrown up off the road from the tyres, but it isn't advertised as a water resistant jacket anyhow.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Altura Etape Windproof 2012 Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Shambler
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Nice jacket, dodgy zip

PostedDecember 17, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Cons: just the zip
If you put aside the fact that the zip is quite suspect (I'm not the only one who suffers this), it's a lovely warm jacket for 0%+ riding. Nice tailored fit and plenty of bottle/gel space.
The knack with thre zip is to ensure it is properly aligned then zip up quickly. If you don't engage properly the zip splits from the bottom.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Altura Etape Windproof 2012 Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Raki
Country:Serbia and Montenegro
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Retro Style jacket, sometimes with bad zip

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, retro look
Cons: zip quality
I love this jacket. It's very light and pleasant, looks very nice (to me it's got that retro style that I love) and it's warm enough for 15 Celsius weather.
Since I got both yellow and black one I must note that the black one came with jerky zip but at least it's functional.
I'm 180cm and 78kg and I got size L. It gives me a somewhat loose fit, but not baggy at all - it's perfect for me since I hate tight fitting clothing.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Altura Etape Windproof 2012 Jacket
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Tallboy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Bad zip

PostedOctober 26, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality
I like Altura cycle clothing. Good looking, functional, value for money and in generous sizes. This jacket is all of these things. So what is the problem ? The zip is totally useless. I can't get it done up.
I have had this particular problem with Altura products before. Surely someone in Altura can sort out the quality of the zips. It can't be that hard, can it ? Altura.... why don't you spend just a little more money on this component ? It can't make the product that more expensive, can it ? I would prefer to spend a few more pounds than have zips that don't work to start with or fail after a short life.
This one's going back to Evans at my the first opportunity.
(it arrived nice & quickly though!)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Altura Etape Windproof 2012 Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hugo1st
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great jacket

PostedApril 26, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I'm really pleased with this jacket. It's great quality, light, weatherproof and looks great too. Great value.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Altura Etape Windproof 2012 Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Greengo
from Lancashire
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

good fitting and good value

PostedMarch 31, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: single colour choice
close ft, windproof panels to front of body only. Back open pockets, with openings a little high on back, but plus side will not accidentally loose anything
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Altura Etape Windproof 2012 Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Skippy1
from Stafford
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great jacket

PostedMarch 16, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great jacket. Comfortable and effective against the wind and cold. My only negative comment is that there isn't a zip on one of the rear pockets to keep valuables secure.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Altura Etape Windproof 2012 Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gogs
from UK
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent quality

PostedMarch 5, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
For the price this is an excellent bit of kit. It is warm enough for the cold days and lightweight enough to be comfortable on the warmer days. Fantastic fit, neck line not too intrusive. Well worth buying.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Altura Etape Windproof 2012 Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Seal
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Altura Etape Windproof Jacket

PostedMarch 4, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I am fairly new to cycling so please bear this in mind.
I have found this jacket to be lightweight and comfortable; I don't really notice it when it's on; although I have found that the zip creeps down slightly.
It is brilliantly breathable, sweat is a thing of the past and yet it is a great wind stopper; even in the cold weather.
It does appear pretty durable too; it has even survived my violently aggressive washing machine!
All in all, a quality bit of kit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Altura Etape Windproof 2012 Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Holden
from Perth Scotland
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Altura Etape windproof jacket

PostedFebruary 27, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Cons: zip quility
Good enough jacket but be careful with the zip. It will zip up with the end not fullt home and then the zip splits open. Mine has done this from day one.
If you are careful and make sure it is fully inserted before zipping up there's no problem though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Altura Etape Windproof 2012 Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MadRab
from Fife
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product.

PostedFebruary 27, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
This jacket is warm and windproof without having the plasticky sort of feel that many windproof products seem to have. It fits really well and as a good long back so it doesn't ride up. It has zip garages top and bottom to keep the cold out.
Its a perfect jacket to wear in the current early spring weather. I've worn it out and got soaked in a surprise downpour and it still performed well even when wet through.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.