Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Altura Sirius Plus 2012 Women's Jacket

Altura Sirius Plus 2012 Women's Jacket

Overall rating:
4.467 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 30 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
29 out of 30(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for Altura Sirius Plus 2012 Women's Jacket
Review 1 for Altura Sirius Plus 2012 Women's Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Leggy2
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Excellent jacket

PostedMarch 31, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I wanted to buy one jacket that I could use for cycling to work in all weather but which I could also use for shopping and walking around town in. I bought this jacket in the purple colour and it does look very stylish. It also keeps me warm and dry in the wind and rain and, unlike my old (and cheaper) Altura jacket, it doesn't make me hot and sweaty on the hills! The material is also smarter and more comfortable on the skin than the less expensive waterproof jackets. I found the sizing to be pretty good - I am a standard size 10 and this size fitted me just right. I have long arms and I am particularly impressed with the length of the sleeves on this jacket as they are plenty long enough to keep my wrists covered when in a cycling position. All in all, an excellent jacket. My only complaint is that I would have liked more reflective trim on the back.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Altura Sirius Plus 2012 Women's Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jewels
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Stylish jacket

PostedOctober 11, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Great buy, fashionable and functionable, am now buying the mans version for my hubbie
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Altura Sirius Plus 2012 Women's Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dave6789
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Really lovely, stylish jacket which is lightweight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Altura Sirius Plus 2012 Women's Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Geraldine
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great product

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
The jacket is comfortable, breathable and having cycled on a couple of very wet days has proved to be waterproof. The pockets are a good size. The only disadvantage is that the white sections are not refective.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Altura Sirius Plus 2012 Women's Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Allergygirl
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Bargin at £49.99

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I originally bought a 12 as I'm usually between sizes but found it surprisingly rather big so exchanged it for a 10 which fitted better. Plenty of room even with a base layer and top underneath. Very comfortable to ride in with a camelback. Looks great on and off the bike.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Altura Sirius Plus 2012 Women's Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
K9kaf
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good value product

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, waterproof
Good value, well fitting and how described. The jacket is stylish and not too heavy, it is an accurate sizing is truly waterproof.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Altura Sirius Plus 2012 Women's Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sue27
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Phone

Very durable and long lasting, I've bought again.

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, waterproof
Waterproof, windproof and keeps you visible while still being stylish.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Altura Sirius Plus 2012 Women's Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
samthetam
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Phone

great value

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, plenty reflective detail
really pleased with the jacket. good fit and all the features required for a winter cycle jacket
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Altura Sirius Plus 2012 Women's Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
smartie67
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great looking jacket

PostedOctober 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Good features and looks great on. Loving the purple colour. Nice to have a choice that isn't the usual black or bright yellow!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Altura Sirius Plus 2012 Women's Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
lashel
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

good waterproof

PostedOctober 4, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: not enough reflective material
This hasn't been tested in heavy rain yet but so far has held up nicely. I like the cut which is a bit more stylish than my old Night Vision. I bought the size 12 on review recommendations (I'm normally a 10) and it's very roomy - so will work well with layers but if you're looking for more fitted you might want to go with your size.
Great value at the sale price. The only drawback is the lack of reflective panels on the back - I'm going to have to add some to be visible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Altura Sirius Plus 2012 Women's Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
upright
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Nice coat

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Nice coat, I got it in black and it does what it's supposed to. The lining inside the sleeves feels a bit like plastic, it's noisy, and does not feel breathable, so I won't be wearing this until it gets really cold, but it does keep you dry and it is windproof. I found it to be true to size.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Altura Sirius Plus 2012 Women's Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sue70
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Breathable and cool!

PostedSeptember 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I bought this jacket in the sale. What a good buy!! I had to put it on, the first time, over several layers. I was very pleasantly surprised to find that it didn't make me too hot and it certainly didn't make me sweaty!
This is the first time I have bought Altura and after this purchase, I will certainly buy from them again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Altura Sirius Plus 2012 Women's Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
cyclemania
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good quality & smart

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, stylish, attractive, flattering fit
Bought this for my autumn/winter commuting as I wanted a waterproof/wind proof jacket that was also smart/subtle enough to wear walking around off the bike after commuting. Already had a lot of compliments. The material feels a nice quality & the length & fit is flattering.
Only 2 drawbacks I find at present are the lack of hood, which is a slight shame, and also whilst I love the purple colour it is perhaps not as visible in the dark, however it makes for a much smarter overall effect so I've just added more lights to the bike itself!
I also now use it for running and it offers good movement; a good investment for runners/cyclists.
The price in the sale is also excellent!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Altura Sirius Plus 2012 Women's Jacket
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Hwin
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Great jacket - pity about the sizing issue

PostedJuly 23, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Uncomfortable, small make, poor fit
I bought the jacket off the website and was really pleased with the price and the purple colour in what I thought would be a more comfortable, slightly larger size. I unfortunately found it to be so tight and constricting (especially around the ribs), that sadly I had to return it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Altura Sirius Plus 2012 Women's Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JJ98
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

A good jacket - and a bargain at sale price.

PostedApril 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: magnetic flap gets in the way
Much better quality and much more stylish than my old cheaper Altura Nevis jacket. Purple colour is striking without being garish, white details look nice - although there could be more on the rear - I add hi-vis straps on night rides. Sleeves are nice and long with shaped cuffs so the backs of your wrists are more protected. The collar is slightly dipped to sit below the chin so not too stuffy, although it might need some more neck protection in winter winds. Decent sized pockets for tucking hands into when off the bike rather than the bulky chest pocket on other Altura jackets. Good venting - sides unzip. The lining is not the loose mesh that you get on cheaper Altura jackets - it's a better quality polyester. As my old Nevis jacket's waterproof lining disintegrated on first washing, this is a big plus point.
On the minus side, one star off as the fabric rustles when you move and the magnetic collar flap, although handy when the jacket is done up, gets in the way and flaps closed when you wear the jacket open so leaving the front zip part open for venting doesn't work so well. It's quite breathable for a waterproof but is still more comfortable with long sleeves than short so perhaps not a summer jacket. I haven't worn it in a downpour yet so can't comment on waterproofing. Watch out - sizing is true rather than the huge sizing with other Altura jackets - I am a size 12-14 and needed a 14 in this.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Altura Sirius Plus 2012 Women's Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
katunia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Superb quality and stylish too!

PostedApril 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Keeps me warm, dry and comfy during rides in the cold London weather. Very stylish too and fits nicely for a woman's figure, not boyish as some can be.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Altura Sirius Plus 2012 Women's Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
metronome
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
I have been looking for a wind resistant rain coat that wasn't too bulky or heavy for a while, this fits the bill!
Not yet tested rain durability but kept me toasty warm at the weekend whilst being a comfortable fit on the bike and looking good off the bike!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Altura Sirius Plus 2012 Women's Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orange5custom
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Female
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

A great waterproof jacket. Good fit, good looks

PostedJuly 20, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought this jacket as a waterproof for wearing primarily on the trails and on commutes. It's exactly what I wanted. Very high quality and a good fit (not too baggy). It also looks great off the bike too (in black). I thought the big white reflective pannel would look too odd to wear it off the bike but actually, it looks loads better on. The fit is just right for on the bike, great sleeve length. Enough room to add a layer or two but still a slim, female fit. I'm a 10 and ordered a 10. The underarm vents are easy to open while your riding too which is a major plus for me- even when I had a rucksack on.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Altura Sirius Plus 2012 Women's Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Judi
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Invaluable item; well cut, stylish and functional.

PostedMay 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
A beautifulstylish jacket; totally windproof and looks stylish whilst having 100% functionality for cycling. I really wanted to look smart whilst obtaining really excellent cycling kit and this has proved invaluable. I can cycle for hours and then go into a smart cafe for coffee (and well deserved cake) without feeling embarrassed. It is slimline, well cut with useful pockets and smart black and white colourway. Very lightweight and lovely to wear.
I am a small size 6 and it was a good fit in XS so buy a bit larger than usual.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Altura Sirius Plus 2012 Women's Jacket
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Lindz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Not good for a day in the rain

PostedApril 29, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive, not waterproof enough
I was lucky enough to get this jacket half price in the sale. It is very stylish and I have had several compliments, although it is a little tight around my generous hips! It doesn't look like a typical cycling jacket if you want to walk round town in it. It is also windproof.
However, yesterday I went to the Big Ride in London and it rained constantly for the entire day, not a heavy downpour but constant drizzle. When I took the jacket off the arms of my sweater underneath were quite wet. Today I cycled round the park, again in constant rain, for about an hour and a half and I was pretty damp underneath by the end.
I think it's fine for commuting and if you avoid spending the entire day in the rain, but I wouldn't recommend it for anything more than that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>