Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Altura Ergofit Race Cape Jacket

Altura Ergofit Race Cape Jacket

Overall rating:
4.579 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
19 out of 19(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for Altura Ergofit Race Cape Jacket
Review 1 for Altura Ergofit Race Cape Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
spindle
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Top Teabag

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: teabag
Fantastic jacket, rode home in heavy rain and 25-30mph side-headwind yesterday,25 min ride and got home dry, only a bit damp from sweating as was hard work. Very light, and good breathability except when working really hard. Highly recommended if you want lightweight waterproof jacket and a bargain at 45 quid. But it does look like a teabag.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Altura Ergofit Race Cape Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jandoc
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

light weight

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Very lightweight looks like it might rip at any time but very durable. Fits in back pocket well but doesn't have any pockets or anything to fold into. Good high vis.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Altura Ergofit Race Cape Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
EstherH
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Lightweight and comfortable

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
excellent product and ideal for roling up in a jersey pocket so no excuse for getting caught out.
Good quality with a good reputation. If this last week is anything to go by it'll be well used and tested.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Altura Ergofit Race Cape Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
AndrewH
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Light, packable waterproof

PostedMay 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
This jacket does look a bit odd - my daughter asked me why I was wearing a paper bag. It is, however, very practical, It packs away into a back pocket or small bag and weights next to nothing. The longest spell of rain I have worn it in to date was 45 minutes and so far so waterproof.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Altura Ergofit Race Cape Jacket
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Markit
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This product is as good I expected it to be

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: packaging, product spoiled
As above, it was as expected after reading all the review from past purchasers. It shows club colours/logos which was one of the reasons for buying it + the fact that it would fold up small, that works well too...l! .
Med size was bang on, I,m 5.9 and a 42” chest.
Not used it in the rain yet but feels as if it will be fine. It was a bit wet inside when I stopped, this was caused through sweat, and this in turn made me cold once I removed it.
Down side was the package seemed like it had been opened and returned – bag was split and the left hand cuff has a mark on it. I could not return as I needed it the next day.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Altura Ergofit Race Cape Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Skygod
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A good piece of kit, waterproof/windproof .

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Spent a lot of time reading the reviews of this technical teabag before I took a deep breath and bought it, the price being the main hurdle. Since recieving it I have have had the perfect weather to test it this past two weeks as it hasnever stopped raining.The cape is a great piece of kit it has kept me warm and dry without being soaked in sweat under neath. It was expensive but and if it is durable it will have been worth it. Initially it looks like a flimsy teabag, but it folds up easy and goes nicely into the rear middle pocket. I am 6ft 40/42 chest and the XL fits just right.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Altura Ergofit Race Cape Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
chainring10
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Exellent product

PostedOctober 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, worth every penny
Cons: Expensive
This rain jacket is very comfortable to wear, your team colours can still be seen, the material it is made from is flexible, it is very compact when rolled up & easily fits into a jersey pocket.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Altura Ergofit Race Cape Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
YetiASRcLover
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Awesomely dry!

PostedJuly 16, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, super waterproof
I've always been sceptical about buying waterproof jackets, i've bought several in the past from various manufacturers and they've all let me down on the first ride. They're either not waterproof at all, not breathable at all, or fall apart in 5 minutes!
This Race Cape however, is way better than anything I could have expected. My first ride with it at the weekend made me glad to have it, as I got rained on, and man did it rain!! I got a little bit wet before I got chance to put it on so was slightly wet already, but in the hour it took to get home, I actually dried off underneath it, so that proves it's breathable, and extremely waterproof. The water doesn't bead off it like you'd expect, but it just does not let water through! Buy it, even if you do get the nickname tea bag! (due to the mesh look to it, you'll see when you get it!)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Altura Ergofit Race Cape Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tanky
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wandsworth

lightweight, small pack size, good waterproof

PostedMay 22, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Does exactly what it says on the label, its very lightweight, packs up really small, it's waterproof and looks good. All in all it works for me - as it did well for the last 2 weeks of April and the 1st 2 weeks of May! it is good value but on the expensive side.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Altura Ergofit Race Cape Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sean57
Country:United Kingdom

Briiliant!

PostedMay 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I have bought the rain cape as it folds into your back pocket and is ideal for long sportives where weight and performance and comfort are imperitive.
Nothing in cycling is cheap when it comes to quality so I think why spend a lot on road bikes etc then not buy a good quality top??
my answer is buy this
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Altura Ergofit Race Cape Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Elkking
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value

PostedApril 25, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
I chose this jacket as i wanted something lightweight and small enough to fit in my back pocket, and this jacket does not disappint. I'm 6ft 1 with 38 inch chest and the medium size was a decent snug fit. I was only out in light drizzle and it didn't let water in, so i can't really comment on it waterproofness but i've bought Altura before and they've all performed well.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Altura Ergofit Race Cape Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Apollo
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

excellent additional

PostedMarch 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Top additional to my wardrobe. This waterproof jacket fits in the pocket of all of my cycling jereys just in case you get could out in the rain. Looks good when on and fits pretty well. Definitely recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Altura Ergofit Race Cape Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Woldwheeler1
from Lincolnshire, UK
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Lightweight and smart at a good price

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: could be longer in back, needs a bag
Hugs the body well, but not too tight. Lightweight and excellent wind barrier. Looks smart and has a feel of quality and expect it to be quite hardwearing. Not tested it in any more than a shower, but came home dry enough.
Wish it had come with a bag and would prefer maybe 1-2 inches extra length to the body.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Altura Ergofit Race Cape Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ChrisManc
from Manchester
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Compact and Waterproof

PostedNovember 14, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
This jacket does exactly what it says in the description. It folds up to almost nothing so is perfect to stick in the back of your jersey. If like me you like to layer up in the winter rather than wearing one bulky jacket then this is perfect for you. You can just throw it on and off when needed. The sizing seems a little on the snug side but this is as expected as it is described as a race cape. Just to give an example for other jackets in the altura range I could get away with a medium whereas a large was too baggy. In this instance though a large is a good fit for me (6 foot, 40 inch chest....could do to lose 4-5 kg). For it's waterproofness I have only used it in light rain so cannot comment for it's effectiveness in torrential rain but the times I have used it it has always kept me dry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Altura Ergofit Race Cape Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bertie10
from Dunmow, Essex
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quality bit of kit!

PostedSeptember 30, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Just what you need for a long ride where unpredictable weather will feature - lightweight, wind and showerproof and it is cut in a racing fit so is slimline and avoids flapping away in the wind!!
The jacket can be folded up to fit in your back pocket without taking up too much room.
The design and look is spot on, the see through material is a real neat touch and gets comments from friends who have all think it looks expensive and not unlike something in the ASSOS range.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Altura Ergofit Race Cape Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
driver3087

great

PostedSeptember 12, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: need larger size for bigger build, bag to put it in
great lightweight waterproof jacket,im large build and a xxxl would been good if made but cant fault jacket.could done with bag too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Altura Ergofit Race Cape Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dudley
from Country side comuter
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Rain jacket

PostedAugust 27, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is a great value jacket & does just what says it will. It fits in my back pocket & is very light. I would say this is a good buy!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Altura Ergofit Race Cape Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GIANTDAVE76
from MANCHESTER
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A must for your back pocket

PostedJuly 4, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great Jacket, light, good fit, looks good too, keeps you cool as well as dry, cant fault it its the best rain jacket I've ever bought. It packs away well but would be better if it had a bag, got one for my wife too
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Altura Ergofit Race Cape Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TheAlien
from Rochdale
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A must for the kit bag

PostedJune 25, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I wore the Altura ergofit race cape jacket for the first time in the middle of June, riding for just under four hours, climbing and descending in the Pennines and West Pennine Moors in that horrible 'mizzly' rain. I didn't cook on the way up or freeze on the way down. It was highly breathable...nobody gave me a wide birth when I took it off in the coffee shop if you know what I mean! I didnt experience any leaks through the zipper and the cut meant I could ride comfortably in and out of the saddle without it rolling half way up my arms or back..Mind you, I did have to buy a size up from my usual medium. It's not microscopic so it does bulge a bit in the biggest rear pocket of my jersey but for the price, it's one of my best buys.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.